2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

I'll be happy to trade Gaff and darling. Gaff doesn't break the lines or even break a tackle. Darling should be doing more with the attention JK gets.
Get Mitch McGovern and draft mids and quick forwards.
Out of interest, what do you believe Darling and Gaff would nett on the trade table?

Trade Gaff. Get a midfielder with heart, that can kick on both feet. Gaff is the epitome of flat track. Such an overrated player on these forums. Let's not settle for more mediocrity until its too late like we did with Masten.

He's really dropped off in the past fee games for some reason.

It would need to be a good deal.

Out of interest, what do you believe Darling and Gaff would nett on the trade table?
I reckon someone like clarko would recognise darlings true calling and get aa out of him

We consistently misuse him

Of course we would get total unders for him as a result of misusing him

If you beat Essendon next Sunday you get 10 -20 % discount .

Gaff and Darling would not be cheap ie a first round pick for each player ....Darling has shown his ability when JK was injured performed well .

Both important and required players and Jack signed a four year deal recently .

Yeah Nah I see where your going but one thing we can do is pick and develop key position player's.......No doubt we would trade him for a midfielder who would come over and go backwards......

We need to back the kids in we have and go to the draft top up player's just don't seem to work unfortunately...

I'm for trading Gaff we have got the best out of him and if he was thinking about heading home like some people suggested now is the best time for both parties...... A trade to St kilda involving Acres would be the go.....

So you wouldnt trade Barrass plus 9 for Kelly at GWS?

Gaff plus Darling to Norths for pick 3, Goldstiegn and Anderson. Lamb could be steak knives.

Lycett gets traded to Port, Goldie is at least durable.

Vardy takes Darlings forward spot.

Pick 9 plus 28 to Crows for McGovern plus 17/18.

We end up with pick 3, 18, a second rounder from Port, McGovern, Goldstiegn and Anderson.

Get rid of the dead wood including the coach and we can start the year with a good young team even with the players we currently have on the list.

Sheppard Barrass Cole
Duggan McGovern Hurn
Gaff Redden Lamb
Sheed Darling Partington
Rioli Kennedy Waterman

Ruck: Natanui Yeo Shuey
Int: Lycett Venables Watson Jetta
Coach: Sumich

This may be an unpopular opinion, but lately I have been dreaming about what Bolton could do with our list. He is not on a contract and I am sure we could pay him way more than Carlton can. He has got that team playing some very good football.

Another club to look at is Collingwood. They will be desperate to make finals in 2018 and again will look at trading in players who can impact straight away.

Of interest to us they have pick 6, Grundy and also Fasolo who may look for a return west, Fasolo with depression issues and an inconsistent form line is steak knives in any deal.

Pies need to shore up their KP Defense and also support for Moore up forward.

Gaff, Darling and Schofield to the Pies for pick 6, Grundy and Fasolo. Again Lamb could be steak knives.

I would also enquire about Aish as he seems to be on the outer and he'd be a reasonable Gaff replacement.

Well by your logic, we could pick and develop another one... ;)

Without going down that path though, Barrass would be worth way more currency than Gaff. Gaff, 150 games, Barrass, 25 and already a near-on A-grader at 21 years of age. I wouldn't be too defeatist about recruiting a midfielder who's going to go backwards, btw. After all, we're not a bunch of life-hating nihilists like our neighbours south of the river. Keep it in perspective mate.

Like I said though, trading Barrass would only be to get a Josh Kelly-level trade. I don't know about you, but I would take one of those star mids from the Giants we saw running around yesterday in our team in a second. And the draft is always a good idea, but like the point was made earlier in the thread, if we're serious about challenging for a flag, doing it while we have JK at full forward is a better bet than going for the 4-5 year rebuild.

I'm not against trading Gaff btw, but off the back of his form this season, we possibly wouldn't get as much for him as the value we'll get from him over the next 4-5 seasons, not to mention the midfield leadership, which we do still need.
Geeez some people are hard to please Gaff has had a few bad games but he's had a pretty decent season what more do you want from him ? Well yes if we can trade Barrass for Kelly go for it or maybe even Dangerfield !

Lol at people wanting to trade Gaff.

Wasn't he top 5 in the Brownlow last year?
Brownlow is a real poor measure sometimes and that is a perfect example. He gets noticed by umpires due to getting so many disposals. He will probably top our count this year even though he wouldnt be in the top 5 players for us this year.

Get rid of the dead wood including the coach and we can start the year with a good young team even with the players we currently have on the list.

Sheppard Barrass Cole
Duggan McGovern Hurn
Gaff Redden Lamb
Sheed Darling Partington
Rioli Kennedy Waterman

Ruck: Natanui Yeo Shuey
Int: Lycett Venables Watson Jetta
Coach: Sumich
You keep some deadwood and employ an idiot as coach - innovative I guess

I think we need more from the group we have rather than a saviour. Almost all our midfielders have had down or in consistant years. There all capable of allot more.

Also need Duggan to really lift next year, he should be demanding midfield minutes not on a HB line

yeah but he shanked a few kick in the past few games so TRADE IMMEDIATELY!
What's wrong with having some intelligent discussion regarding Gaff?

As far as players with trade value on our list, he's a bit one dimensional. A la Darling. At the very least I'd be interested in seeing what other sides would be prepared to offer.

The issue with Darling nowadays is not standing up in big moments and games. Waterman's likely development makes him a bit more expendable.

Why hasn't he been drafted yet?
Skill issues maybe?
Think it is mostly skill issues and also the fact that barely any mature age players get drafted now!

I think there are some big exaggerations in this thread lately, once Nic is back we should improve massively!

What's wrong with having some intelligent discussion
On this board?

Nowadays?

lol.gif

I think we need more from the group we have rather than a saviour. Almost all our midfielders have had down or in consistant years. There all capable of allot more.

Also need Duggan to really lift next year, he should be demanding midfield minutes not on a HB line
Duggan lacks agility, speed or the power to play inside midfield, will that change?

His best position may be a back flank unfortunatly.....just like Sheppard.

Duggan lacks agility, speed or the power to play inside midfield, will that change?

His best position may be a back flank unfortunatly.....just like Sheppard.

Agree with this, nothing I see in Duggan is A grade midfield. Has had a reasonable output on the half back line and he should be given the chance to make it his own. Like him a lot but never seen a player ever have so many of his kicks smothered.