2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

Fasolo wants to stay at Collingwood, despite keen interest from home town club West Coast.
I suspect that the club knew that Fasolo wasn't coming here, and Matera was headed to Fremantle, when they signed LeCras for another year. The acknowledged holes in our forward line will be filled by Rioli (pocket) and Venables (HFF) in 2018, and we can look to trade or draft a LeCras replacement going forward.

You do have to feel for the Crows losing all their players. On the flip side Adelaide is the biggest shithole in Australia. If you were a young rooster with a load of coin and a bag of wild oats to sow its gotta be Melbourne yeah?

**** no, Gold Coast, Perth and even Sydney have much better looking women, so if you're young and wanting to sow your oats you dont go to Melbourne.

Arguable, Perth due to the lifestyle i noticed a lot more fit biddies. Always thought Perth had the best but there's some naughties over here

Just a few thoughts so far:

- I dont think any team will offer us a good enough trade for Gaff, who is likely to be a dual AA by the end of his career. I would keep at this stage
- I would go nowhere near hartung. I have watched him butcher the ball time and time again this year, the last thing we need is another midfielder who craps the bed constantly under the pressure.
- Ah Chee would definitely be worth a late 3rd rounder. Its probably only a 20% success rate in hitting a good player around this time in the draft, especially given this year's draft is supposedly quite weak. Ah Chee has been a victim of being played out of position at port, i bit like reddo was in his first year here. You can see how good reddo was a brisbane in a permanent position on the ball, and his games this year with no priddis or mitchell were very good
- This will still leave us with decent first and second round picks where we can hopefully pick up hunter and kelly

The more I think about it Hawks2018 first plus Hartung for Gaff I think should tempt us.

Next years draft is very strong. IMO Hawks will finish in the bottom 6. Go look at their list profile.

We wait and see who else they get as FA's which is very thin now.

Next years pick 5 plus Harthung is a sh!t load better than an end of 1st round pick. And even if we force a trade will anyone offer better than a bittom 6 pick?

With Gaff Hawks May be a chance for top 8 I can’t see a bottom 6 Pick coming our way ..

Yeah with the way the Hawks go about it i wouldn't be surprised if they shot back up to the top 8. I do not like the idea of trading future first rounders. Second rounders i am fine with as its less risk.

If we trade Gaff it has to be with the Saints and their pick 7 or 8. Waiting till next year is a massive risk and we hear it every year next year is a better year.

We are in a good position with Gaff in that:

A: The Saints give us a first rounder plus steak knifes sort of deal this year giving us two first rounders

B: He leaves RFA next year giving us a first rounder to go along with our first rounder for 2018.

C: He stays and is young enough to be used to re-build the midfield.

I am in the option A camp in that we have been screaming for a way to rebuild the midfield for years and why not kick start it now when we still have JK ,Darling, Shuey, A returning Nic Nat, Gov, Yeo ect in their prime?

Teams like Adelaide, GWS, Geelong, Bulldogs have traded out some of their top talent and are always able to contend because they are given the opportunity to bring in players with quality picks. Gaff is A grade at his best but he is no match winner and plays a position that can be easily replaced. We cant keep pottering about mid table and hoping to pick up gun mids with picks 13-14 all the time. We have a solid list and all it needs is 1-2 A grade Inside/Outside mids and this year is a perfect opportunity to do so.

To replace Gaff we can always use Masten for a year or so ( yes i know not a great player) but he has the same sort of player in that he can run both ways. No Priddis and Mitchell means any new kids coming through will be given some pretty decent time in the middle.

Pull the pin WC do it!!

Option A is my preferred choice and the advantage of playing Masten and the youth is we may be able to mini rebuild by losing enough games to get a top 5 Pick in 2018 super draft ..

Are you Assuming lever likes women! For all we know he could be into Bunnings sausage rolks over fish tacos.

Ah Chee can be another Yeo for us. They both have similar height, age, and skill. Ah Chee‘s long handball can be vital for us to clear balls from a tight pack, which we found difficult in the past. Michell probably can architect some good set plays using his long handball as our future midfield coach.

Is Kelly worth a mid second round pick? He looks good but is he that good?

None of the players anyone is talking about are the champions we really want but bottom line is the players we have now are not that good so bringing in some new faces is what it is about. It is about turning over the list as you move along.
Get what you can in the draft and cross your fingers he can play a bit and trade in and out players you hope can play a role in the side.

Arguable, Perth due to the lifestyle i noticed a lot more fit biddies. Always thought Perth had the best but there's some naughties over here

I lived there for three years mate and there wasnt anything i saw that really rivalled the beauties from here, although it doesnt matter where you get them from they're all mental anyway. :P

None of the players anyone is talking about are the champions we really want but bottom line is the players we have now are not that good so bringing in some new faces is what it is about. It is about turning over the list as you move along.
Get what you can in the draft and cross your fingers he can play a bit and trade in and out players you hope can play a role in the side.
Agree but the question was more around whether it's likely the club will consider him worth a second rounder, or whether they'll try and wait to use their third.

Has anyone other than this board actually got any idea of his likely 'value' in the draft?

Agree but the question was more around whether it's likely the club will consider him worth a second rounder, or whether they'll try and wait to use their third.

Has anyone other than this board actually got any idea of his likely 'value' in the draft?

Kelly has been invited to Afl Draft combine and I think 4 or 5 clubs have to nominate a player , so the interest is there and will depend on testing and interviews and who jumps in first ..
He may be early 2 nd rd at a guess..

Kelly has been invited to Afl Draft combine and I think 4 or 5 clubs have to nominate a player , so the interest is there and will depend on testing and interviews and who jumps in first ..
He may be early 2 nd rd at a guess..

I could see someone like North going early for a player like Kelly

With Gaff Hawks May be a chance for top 8 I can’t see a bottom 6 Pick coming our way ..

Hawks list is thinning out. They are a couple of injuries to key players to finishing bottom 4. They've lost a lot of leaders in the past two years eapecially in the midield and across half back.

Thats my veiw and only time will tell.

We should be asking Gaff to extend now. If not trade him now.

Nothing wrong with the standard of females in Melbourne, Perth or Adelaide.

If you have any doubts, have a look at the young ladies on the arms of the players at the Brownlow.

Now lets be clear, there is nothing more likely to have a player settle in a state than to find a local lady. If you can't find something decent in any of the main AFL cities, then you need to have a cold hard look at yourself.

Can confirm. Victoria is like the inverse Perth. In Perth you see smokin hot trash bags with stodgy loud, badly dressed bogan boyfriends. In Melbourne you see greasy hipster frumps, with tall well groomed male arm candy.

The plus side is girls are both nicer, more approachable and mostly more interesting.