2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

I thought you can either trade your( future 1st) or (2nd 3rd 4th) but not both scenarios. Now that we traded our future 3rd we aren't able to trade our future 1st
From the AFL site

- If a club trades a future first-round selection, it may not trade any other future selection from that same draft. But if a club keeps its future first-round selection, it can trade any of its future selections from other rounds.

So you are correct. Maybe because we swapped our 3rd with a 4th it doesn't count as an actual trade because we still have the same number of picks in the draft.

If we can keep our first pick next year and upgrade to pick 9 wowee that would be robbery.

I think something like this works:

13 plus WC 1st and 2nd 2018 picks

for

9, 25, 30 and Dogs 2018 1st

Stringer(25,30) for 13 which is overs.

They back themselves in to climb (and WC to slide), give 9 this year for an upgraded first and a 2nd in the so called superdraft.

We back ourselves to finish higher than the Dogs

Can people please stop referring to next years draft as stronger

We hear it every year,
Either show some evidence of this or shut up please!!!

We hear it every year,
But someone said it's a superdraft, bro! Don't you know what that means? It's super- and it's a -draft, so...a superdraft!

We hear it every year,

Already been done:

Read AsterixTheGaul post # 13150 on page 526.

Spells it out as per Championship Data.

That aside its "your call" if you don't believe that next years draft is a ripper.... no big deal .... its an opinions based forum so alls good.

But someone said it's a superdraft, bro! Don't you know what that means? It's super- and it's a -draft, so...a superdraft!

Haha
Dude the top 10 this year is equivalent to the top 20 next year, can half you guys even name 10 players eligible for next years draft ??

Already been done:

Read AsterixTheGaul post # 13150 on page 526.

Spells it out as per Championship Data.

That aside its "your call" if you don't believe that next years draft is a ripper.... no big deal .... its an opinions based forum so alls good.

My point was I hear the same thing every year!
If you recall this time last year this was suppose to be a stronger draft then last year.....

Anyone else think it's a bit of a insult to trade this year's first for someone else next year's first?

It kinda feels like they're snickering as they think we're gonna slide and they'll reap the benefits of it.

Haha
Dude the top 10 this year is equivalent to the top 20 next year, can half you guys even name 10 players eligible for next years draft ??

SA : * Lokosius, * Rainkin. These two would be 1 & 2 in available in this years draft.

WA : Miller, * Hill, Cox, Stack.
Vic Metro. ** King twins Max & Ben
Vic Cty: Williams, * Caldwell, * Walsh.

* All touted first rounders rated in the top 10 .

So not that difficult to name 10 if you actually follow the State Championships.

SA : * Lucocouis, * Rainkin. These two would be 1 & 2 in available in this years draft.

WA : Miller, * Hill, Cox, Stack.
Vic Metro. ** King twins Max & Ben
Vic Cty: Williams, * Caldwell, * Walsh.

* All touted first rounders rated in the top 10 .

So not that difficult to name 10 if you actually follow the State Championships.

Is this the super draft your talking about mate?

Not that I want to get on either side of the debate but 12 months ago the talls in this years draft were meant to be awesome. Now, not so much.
Don't think this is true, aside from Brander, who wasn't that highly rated, talls have never been in the mix for high picks this year, not a long way out at least.

I think chances are most people have misheard and mixed up the drafts, 12 months ago this draft wasn't talked up particularly highly, the Superdraft with Lukocious and Rankine was being hyped up even then. It isn't said every year, casual viewers feel like they hear it every year.

Anyone else think it's a bit of a insult to trade this year's first for someone else next year's first?

It kinda feels like they're snickering as they think we're gonna slide and they'll reap the benefits of it.

That's exactly why we should do it. We should be doing all we can to sell it to them in that way too. Who cares if its an insult?

Back ourselves in next year to make them pay.

It's not really an insult but if that's the thinking and it increases the value of our picks then I reckon we should embrace it.

So if I understand this correctly, this is what the trade could be:

OUT: 13, 2018 first and/or second
IN: 9, 25, 30 and potentially 28

This ensures we get Brayshaw/Higgins/Clarke, Kelly, Ryan and someone like Allen. However, we'll effectively be trading out of next years "super draft" unless we give up a player like Gaff.

Monocle AsterixTheGaul ROYAL EAGLE while we should always pick best available, apart from Ian Hill, how's the Top WA talent looking?