List Mgmt. 2018 AFL draft

Make no mistake, these are Ken Hinkley picks. You can see Duursma replacing Sam Gray/Travis Boak in the secondary midfield/high forward role, Rozee replacing Wingard as mid-forward and Butters replacing Polec as the outside mid and the system being exactly the same as it was.

Contemplate that on the tree of woe.

I really don’t understand how people can get worked up based on limited footage.

To your point here though, I would have thought replacing the Wingard/Polec roles was pretty critical. Butters for Polec seems about right, I see Rozee as able to play a Wingard role to a degree, but much more flexibility - watch his SANFL finals intercepting across half back - has a lot more urgency than the current version of Chad.

I really can’t see how you align Duursma and Boak/Gray. It feels like your clutching at straws to argue a point.

Again I’ve only seen a little, but good height inside/outside mid with good pace according to the reports. If he does have inside/outside and can carry the ball from the I side he could be critical.

Gold Coast might fold before their contracts finish up.
The only certainty with Luko and Rankine is that they will both nominate either Port or the Crows in a trade period in the near future. I wish Dew had held out longer for a better job.

Looks like we drafted the exact types of players our list needs. Duursma over RCD was a bit strange but if he becomes that big bodied midfield monster he can be, then we'll be laughing.

There will still be question marks over our outside run as we have kids + other players filling a role but I think we'll be good for 2019.

so what do we do tonight? what can we do tonight?

are we in the position to future trade picks to get into the 2nd or 3rd round of the draft so we can someone who slides?

Does anyone think Luko or Rankine will stick it out at GC? Dew needs a miracle

The smart play for the Suns was to take the King twins at 2 and 3 (or at the very least Max at 3 and Ben at 6). They would unlikely to be a flight risk in that scenario, and if they did want out, it would be near impossible to facilitate a move to the same club in the same season. I think the Suns dropped the ball... again.

I'm super impressed by all the lads we've selected.
All have speed, great foot skills and genuine courage.
I can see Butters starting in a forward pocket/half forward, Rozee straight into the guts and Duursma across half back. All will make their debuts this coming season.

so what do we do tonight? what can we do tonight?

are we in the position to future trade picks to get into the 2nd or 3rd round of the draft so we can someone who slides?
It all goes down at lunchtime today...the rookie draft is tonight

2018 NAB AFL Draft - Round 2 onwards
When: Friday, November 23 12:00pm
Where: Marvel Stadium, Melbourne
TV: Fox Footy (Channel 504) 12:00pm
Streaming: AFL Live Official App 12:00pm
International: WatchAFL.com.au
Radio: SEN 1116
Online: AFL.com.au Draft Tracker

2018 NAB AFL Rookie Draft
When: Friday, November 23 6:00pm
Online: AFL.com.au Draft Tracker

Power: Im pretty happy who we picked with our selections and think we chose the best players available that fit our needs at those selections. However i honestly haven't seen much of these players play, just highlights and reading forums and articles. Im just happy we picked one of the big 7 and didn't throw any curv balls at pick 5.

Gold Coast: I reckon they have shot them selves in the foot a bit and would have benefited selecting max king at pick 3. (Better chance of retention)

I think the biggest winner of the draft was Carlton... I dont think Carlton will be as crap as everyone thinks next year. They have some good players coming back like docherty, they have big Mitch in the forward line and all their previous high draft picks will have another preseason in them. I see them finishing 10-12 next year and set to suprise alot of people. I could be wrong but I think the crows made a bad decision here. If the power did what the crows did i would be angry!

Just my opinion, thoughts?

Power: Im pretty happy who we picked with our selections and think we chose the best players available that fit our needs at those selections. However i honestly haven't seen much of these players play, just highlights and reading forums and articles. Im just happy we picked one of the big 7 and didn't throw any curv balls at pick 5.

Gold Coast: I reckon they have shot them selves in the foot a bit and would have benefited selecting max king at pick 3. (Better chance of retention)

I think the biggest winner of the draft was Carlton... I dont think Carlton will be as crap as everyone thinks next year. They have some good players coming back like docherty, they have big Mitch in the forward line and all their previous high draft picks will have another preseason in them. I see them finishing 10-12 next year and set to suprise alot of people. I could be wrong but I think the crows made a bad decision here. If the power did what the crows did i would be angry!

Just my opinion, thoughts?
Lay off the crack - I hate the crows more than most I know but great deal for them. Can't see carlton getting out the bottom 3 next season and if PAFC got offered that sort of deal and didn't take it I'd be dumbfounded.

Looks like we drafted the exact types of players our list needs. Duursma over RCD was a bit strange but if he becomes that big bodied midfield monster he can be, then we'll be laughing.

There will still be question marks over our outside run as we have kids + other players filling a role but I think we'll be good for 2019.
I was keen on RCD once he kept sliding, but I can see why the club didn't draft him. He doesn't get a lot of the ball. That might change with good development, but I can see why the club would be worried about a big guy who doesn't get much of it.

Lay off the crack - I hate the crows more than most I know but great deal for them. Can't see carlton getting out the bottom 3 next season and if PAFC got offered that sort of deal and didn't take it I'd be dumbfounded.

Cool story Champ,

Im not a Carlton fan however they have a strong list and had a bad run of injuries. I can only see them improving and suprising the league next year. I'm not saying they will make finals but i see them winning 8-10 games with their young guns constantly improving.

I really don’t understand how people can get worked up based on limited footage.

To your point here though, I would have thought replacing the Wingard/Polec roles was pretty critical. Butters for Polec seems about right, I see Rozee as able to play a Wingard role to a degree, but much more flexibility - watch his SANFL finals intercepting across half back - has a lot more urgency than the current version of Chad.

I really can’t see how you align Duursma and Boak/Gray. It feels like your clutching at straws to argue a point.

Again I’ve only seen a little, but good height inside/outside mid with good pace according to the reports. If he does have inside/outside and can carry the ball from the I side he could be critical.

Duursma is a guy who can run all day and can add secondary support to the midfield from the forward line. It will take him a few years to get enough strength to be an inside/outside mid in the AFL.

I’m talking about what roles they can fill next year and the year after to help us win a flag. He might very well end up as a permanent mid, but for now his role should be as high forward.

Gold coast had to pick whoever they deemed the best at the time. Retention shouldn't be in their minds because no matter who they pick it'll be an issue.

The AFL are apparently giving GC a big cash injection this year to improve their facilities and off field spend.

I don't think GC will fold. The AFL will stick it out. Aside from Tassie it's the only option for growth of the league, so they will stick it out possibly forever.

Rubbish, Carlton will not finish bottom 3 next year!

Gold coast had to pick whoever they deemed the best at the time. Retention shouldn't be in their minds because no matter who they pick it'll be an issue.

The AFL are apparently giving GC a big cash injection this year to improve their facilities and off field spend.

I don't think GC will fold. The AFL will stick it out. Aside from Tassie it's the only option for growth of the league, so they will stick it out possibly forever.

I thought they had a new training base built for them a couple of years ago?

List Mgmt. 2018 AFL draft