News 2018 AFL Fixture

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/10/31/lyon-blasts-afl-over-friday-night-blues/

Ruccuito was also whinging on Adelaide radio this morning, and his dopey sidekick mate chimed in with the fact that it's a disgrace because we are "a basket case".

I love it.

Fair enough too, the Crows would never put in a poor performance in a primetime slot.

images

Quite the over reaction from the media with the four Friday night games, we are a good chance to win three of them for a start, Sydney away on back to back 6 day breaks is poorly scheduled.

I'm far from embarrassed and we are definitely no longer a basket case. We are building a fantastic young list and coaching & development staff to match. Bring on 2018, let's silence some of the haters!

Its happening folks

Media (hates us) but are being more obvious about it now -- almost time to get the swagger back out folks (after 2020 please)

Also one thing - please please please please dont expect us to be good next year or the year after......I was a bit gutted about this fact that we as a club have written off the next two years as developing - and im fine with that. I know others might not be.

But, strap on the ride is about to get bumpy before we are dominating all those pleb teams like how we used too.

Als re the draw - plebs forgot our better years prior to all those fri night debacles. Apparently they will cry if we do earn them or not. so **** em.

Totally OTT from the media, but i also would prefer us not to be on primetime next season. The friday night game is always over analysed by the media and supporters. In saying that i think all of our Friday games are very winnable.

Its happening folks

Media (hates us) but are being more obvious about it now -- almost time to get the swagger back out folks (after 2020 please)

Also one thing - please please please please dont expect us to be good next year or the year after......I was a bit gutted about this fact that we as a club have written off the next two years as developing - and im fine with that. I know others might not be.

But, strap on the ride is about to get bumpy before we are dominating all those pleb teams like how we used too.

Als re the draw - plebs forgot our better years prior to all those fri night debacles. Apparently they will cry if we do earn them or not. so **** em.

Since Mick got flicked half way through 2015 we have been in full rebuild mode. Bolton has shed almost every player from the Malthouse era with only a handful remaining.. This is now BB's team and even without Gibbs I expect improvement.. Not expecting a top 4 finish but do not see any reason why we shouldnt be challenging for a spot in the 8..

Yeah, the Sydney one could get real ugly.

I'd back us to beat Collingwood, Bulldogs and St Kilda, 3 mediocre teams.
I tend to agree.
We could certainly beat those 3 teams, and hopefully Buddy won't kick 10 on Jones again this time.

Surely this is the Lethlean draw? Gillon’s way of saying “I know you’ll take some heat from Caro and the rest of the media for appointing my mate, so I’ll schedule you on Friday night so you don’t lose sponsorship”.

Anyway, I reckon we will do fine in those games. We’ll beat Collingwood for a start, and I have the Dogs, Tigers (hangover), and Saints as coin tosses. Garry Lyon says Carlton supporters would be embarrassed to have this draw. Not one bit, I say.
I can think of more than a few things Gary Lyon should be embarrassed about...

Since Mick got flicked half way through 2015 we have been in full rebuild mode. Bolton has shed almost every player from the Malthouse era with only a handful remaining.. This is now BB's team and even without Gibbs I expect improvement.. Not expecting a top 4 finish but do not see any reason why we shouldnt be challenging for a spot in the 8..

I expect a more attacking game style as its one of the few things we haven't really developed in the last two years (defense is set just about) -- thats the only improvement you will see next year. Anything more and you are only setting yourself up for massive heartbreak.

I see your point but the club has pretty much written off Micks doing and started afresh. Yes I know Cripps was recruited by malthouse, but the moment the club traded Gibbs they basically have written off finals for the next 2-3 years IMHO (and that is something they CANT market and or sell)

Don't think the Saints game will be easy, they have have given it to us a few times of late. Lyon is a toenail, why would we be embarrassed seeing our team play on the big stage. I think we can take the pies and the dogs, the other two not so sure.

Surely this years draw with the Friday nights games etc, is just the AFL's way to make up for all the average timeslots/short breaks we had in 2017.

"Just cop an average 2017 fixture and we take care of you the year after". Nothing wrong with that I dont think.

Looking a fraction below the surface seems a bit difficult for the media these days.

You watch, we win 3 out of those 4 games, say sydney do us by 21 points and the media will be all over it with the friday night fail etc etc. flipping morons they are. If we are at full strength i see no reason we cant push Sydney and go 4/4 and really throw it back at them.

I expect a more attacking game style as its one of the few things we haven't really developed in the last two years (defense is set just about) -- thats the only improvement you will see next year. Anything more and you are only setting yourself up for massive heartbreak.

I see your point but the club has pretty much written off Micks doing and started afresh. Yes I know Cripps was recruited by malthouse, but the moment the club traded Gibbs they basically have written off finals for the next 2-3 years IMHO (and that is something they CANT market and or sell)

Totally disagree, the mantra will still be to play and develop the kids but the natural development of our kids like Charlie, JSOS, Cunningham etc who are into there 3rd season and SPS, Pickett as well as Cripps and Docherty becoming elite players should see us turn a few of the losses into wins and see us challenge for the 8. Its not being impatient but it is about not accepting complacency.

Its happening folks

Its just funny how the AFL, who wanted us on the bottom for years, are now desperately hurrying along our rebuild so we can return to the top...

Think the light-bulbs have just turned on that a healthy Carlton makes a healthy AFL. Not that the other clubs can see it though who are just plain jealous:DEspecially Lyon, first he comes out and says "Carlton's no longer a bit 4 club" and then he spits the dummy on this!! His whole anti-Carlton agenda is not going to plan...

The media see us losing Gibbs so in their simplicity see us falling backwards in the short term. Hence the outcry with the draw.

Their lack of insight is incredibly poor for media personalities. Only injuries to key players will see us not improving in 2018.

Has anyone done analysis on 5/6 day turnarounds? They are the killer in modern day footy. I'm sure it was the Pies (maybe Bombers) last year who had two short turnarounds before they met us. Whether you like to admit it or not, that was a guaranteed win for us. If a team has two short turnarounds, they have lost the match before it kicks off.

Back to back 6 day breaks before the Sydney Round 11 Friday night match may be a problem as we had leading up to the Port Adelaide match.

We have seven 6 day breaks, and 3 of these are with an interstate leg:
Rounds 10-11, 16-17, 18-19
which is rather tough as the season goes on.

Might make the trip to GC in July. How hard is it to fly with a 9 month old?
If you get a flight while baby sleeps all is good. Should be ok with a bottle handy for feed, nappy changes, etc. have a toy or somethings for distraction. We did reasonably well doing nighttime flights to and from Phnom Penh a few years ago. Check if flight has bassinet. Stroller is easier than pram ...

News 2018 AFL Fixture