List Mgmt. 2018 Draft thread.

Knightmare ... Bailey Williams worth taking with pies now late 1st rd pick? Looks like pies not getting Lynch, so we still need some key position talent. Could be a back up to Cox perhaps... or good enough you think to play full forward in a couple of years time?

Depends where the Pies are picking. If it's around 15, it's too early. Around 20, I'd consider him though probably pass on him.

He's a freak athlete - he has the leap to jump over guys, reads the ball in flight well and attacks it aerially. He's one who can as with playing forward easily be plugged into the ruck and get his share of hitouts and followup reasonably. He's high impact per possession.

What he can't do is kick - his conversion on goal is terrible - for some reason the stats have disappeared online, but he'd have probably 6-7 more behinds than he does goals. I find his marking is also while sometimes good, woefully inconsistent - regularly dropping chest marks. If things aren't going his way - he can lose focus/get frustrated. Can lack consistency from game to game.

In terms of readiness to play, he's a three - four year project. He's good, but raw.

--
Overall this year, outside Lukosius. I'm all about experienced talls.

Lewis Johnston (ex Swan/Crow) as a rookie I like in that Tom Lynch (Adelaide) style role. Sam Collins (ex Docker) I like at CHB as a Reid successor.

Justin Westhoff I'd make a big play for as a free agent key forward. Scott Thompson, Heath Grundy, Michael Johnson and Dale Morris I'd look to secure at least one of as a key defender, in that order.

Jarryd Roughead I'd make a play for if Hawthorn aren't sure they want him. Steven May I'd consider during the trade period for the right price.

The key with all these guys is they're not costly additions, but they're all walk into the best 22 types who can help greatly in Collingwood's positions of most pressing need.

Collingwood could pretty easily add x2 of those forwards and x2 of those defenders and improve at each of those positions considerably.

Knightmare ... Bailey Williams worth taking with pies now late 1st rd pick? Looks like pies not getting Lynch, so we still need some key position talent. Could be a back up to Cox perhaps... or good enough you think to play full forward in a couple of years time?

I am a Fan and I would love to Draft Him as I reckon he has Big Upside

Liked him last year! He can do some special things.

On a side note thread title needs a change. As some flat out refuted last year the 2018 draft will not be a “superdraft”! Like any draft there are guys that slide as they realise they will make it on to AFL lists and others bob up.

Let’s take Ian Hill. This time last year he’s a top 5 lock and the latest speculation on AFL.com has him sliding towards the back end of the 1st round. In two months who knows where that’ll be. The theory of any one draft being better than any other is absolute crap because no one knows how these kids will develop in 12 weeks time let alone 12 months.

Rant over.

Yep... nevertheless next years draft will be dubbed ‘super’ at some stage..

Depends where the Pies are picking. If it's around 15, it's too early. Around 20, I'd consider him though probably pass on him.

He's a freak athlete - he has the leap to jump over guys, reads the ball in flight well and attacks it aerially. He's one who can as with playing forward easily be plugged into the ruck and get his share of hitouts and followup reasonably. He's high impact per possession.

What he can't do is kick - his conversion on goal is terrible - for some reason the stats have disappeared online, but he'd have probably 6-7 more behinds than he does goals. I find his marking is also while sometimes good, woefully inconsistent - regularly dropping chest marks. If things aren't going his way - he can lose focus/get frustrated. Can lack consistency from game to game.

In terms of readiness to play, he's a three - four year project. He's good, but raw.

--
Overall this year, outside Lukosius. I'm all about experienced talls.

Lewis Johnston (ex Swan/Crow) as a rookie I like in that Tom Lynch (Adelaide) style role. Sam Collins (ex Docker) I like at CHB as a Reid successor.

Justin Westhoff I'd make a big play for as a free agent key forward. Scott Thompson, Heath Grundy, Michael Johnson and Dale Morris I'd look to secure at least one of as a key defender, in that order.

Jarryd Roughead I'd make a play for if Hawthorn aren't sure they want him. Steven May I'd consider during the trade period for the right price.

The key with all these guys is they're not costly additions, but they're all walk into the best 22 types who can help greatly in Collingwood's positions of most pressing need.

Collingwood could pretty easily add x2 of those forwards and x2 of those defenders and improve at each of those positions considerably.
May, Thompson, Westhoff and Johnston thanks

I wouldn't pick Hill either, though my objection isn't on the basis of go home factor.

He's someone I wouldn't pick because he's a small, low production player who hasn't improved since this time last year. It's the same story as Ben Kennedy at the same age/stage and isn't a formula for success with those types generally not improving.
Saw him play in Nationals in Geelong and even though he played well and kicked some goals it was only as a forward pocket. Also wanted to fight veryone and carried on like flog when he kicked a goal.

I saw it also.

I don't find myself gravitating to him.

If I want someone who gets excited about a goal, I'd rather Jarrod Cameron, not that the Pies would be able to get him as he's tied to the WCE Academy.

Overall, I find my evaluation of Hill and Cameron to be the reverse of how most scouts are seeing it.

I think it's a call they'll ultimately get wrong, valuing the wrong guy with Cameron doing a lot more even while playing injured.

Knightmare do you rate Sydney Stack over Ian Hill?

I liked what I’ve seen of Sydney Stack.

Stack is my top rated WA prospect. He remains inside my top 20. He's more productive and for mine a better talent at a more appealing height who is showing greater improvement.

I keep reading Quaynor this, Quaynor that... the guy is 178-180 cms tall.. what’s the story ? Sure he has a well developed physique but do we really need a slightly shorter Taylor Adams ?

He doesn’t play midfield, so he’s not in anyway Taylor Adams.

He’s a running defender that can also play shut down roles. While I don’t think he should be a first rounder because that’s pretty much the only position he’s played over the past two years. I still think he can be a very handy pick up.

He doesn’t play midfield, so he’s not in anyway Taylor Adams.

He’s a running defender that can also play shut down roles. While I don’t think he should be a first rounder because that’s pretty much the only position he’s played over the past two years. I still think he can be a very handy pick up.

So he’s a slightly shorter Levi Greenwood ? Handy I can take, but to listen to some on here Isaac is the second coming of... oh I dunno Bruce Doull or John Rantall...

182cm, 82kg.

He's something like a shorter Lumumba in a Collingwood context.

He's a nice to have who may make it/be able to play a role down back. Not a pressing need.

So he’s a slightly shorter Levi Greenwood ? Handy I can take, but to listen to some on here Isaac is the second coming of... oh I dunno Bruce Doull or John Rantall...
He’s a highly rated prospect that continues to climb the ranks. I’m really missing your point here.

Seems to me most of the comments are fairly modest on his abilities. He’s getting overrated by the media like most Collingwood FS etc.

182cm, 82kg.

He's something like a shorter Lumumba in a Collingwood context.

He's a nice to have who may make it/be able to play a role down back. Not a pressing need.

He is a pressing need now that Murray is leaving the building.

He can play on blokes quite a bit taller than him so can cover medium and small forwards. Pretty powerful unit.

Body ready made for senior footy so can debut in his first year.

List Mgmt. 2018 Draft thread.