List Mgmt. 2018 Draft thread.

“We need a gold statue of SOS by the time he’s done”

Holy shit he’s got them fooled.
You need to remember that this is the one night of the year these guys have any joy when it it comes to football. Literally the only piece of joy these guys have been allowed over the past 18 years is drafting promising 18 years.

Which is a really great thing imo.

The only reason SOS even has a job is because he is best mates with his fellow Xavier fan boy LeGiudice! Seriously even when you speak to him he is so dumb. I’m enjoying the fact the scum think he is good at what he does.

It's one of the best parts of watching modern footy:

First, Mick and Daisy;

now, SOS and, erm, Daisy.

12pm tomorrow I’ll be busy with the draft watching.
I’m a sucker for it.
Then watch the rookie draft.
Day activity set up then.

Same Here Mate

It's gamble he has taken.

Probably feels the list is ready to mature and move up the ladder, might also feel that Adelaides fall will continue.

Not sure I'd be brave enough to take this gamble with that clubs recent history.
I admire the part where they back themselves to improve enough to make it worthwhile, but predicting which way Adelaide go is an absolute gamble. I wish them bad luck

You know what really gets me excited? waking up every morning and thanking the lord i was never a blues supporter.
giphy.gif

Isn't there a point in the National Draft where players that are nominated by their clubs prior to the draft occurring can instantly be taken without there needing to a match?

So for instance, we go into deficit to get Kelly, but should Atu fall to say, pick 60, we don't need to actually match if we want him?

Isn't there a point in the National Draft where players that are nominated by their clubs prior to the draft occurring can instantly be taken without there needing to a match?

So for instance, we go into deficit to get Kelly, but should Atu fall to say, pick 60, we don't need to actually match if we want him?
Yep, pick 56 onwards.

Pick 55 is the last potential nomination point with any value attached.

Was the Carlton trade really that bad?
Pick 19 securing a player they highly rate plus Crows future first for their future first.

Depending on how the Crows perform next year it could end up being a steal.

I reckon our Murray trade was 10 times dumber
Not sure if serious.

Pick 38 for pick 51 & Murray

Versus

Pick 19 & likely pick 13/14/15 (have a look a Crows fixture. Top 4 chance) for likely Top 5 pick.

Plus it’s Carlton, Stocker will probably turn into a plodder.
Even Walsh.
I’m sure if healthy he’ll be a terrific player but it’s like they went for Luke Ball over Nick Riewoldt.
Luke Ball was a terrific player no doubt, gun. OP hurt him too. Totally professional. Terrific.
But he is just not Riewoldt.

Carlton keep making plodding errors.

Bless.

Spreading the draft over 2 nights?? WTF? Precedent set - 2019 Brownlow count set to run over the 7 days leading up to the GF. Gunna be rivetting.

Collingwood matched a bid for academy player Isaac Quaynor, costing them the points from picks 40, 42 and 53.

The position of the bid for Quaynor at 13 and no bid coming for father-son prospect Will Kelly in the first 22 picks called on Thursday night means Collingwood will not go into deficit to get Kelly unless a bid comes for him in the first two picks when the draft resumes for the final rounds on Friday. Even then they would only move at worst one place in the second round of next year's draft.

The above is a snippet from The Age.
So at worst, we lose one spot next year in the second round if we go into deficit and Kelly is bid on in the first two picks tomorrow.

And everyone was stressed about it.

It's funny how the live trading works.
Carlton traded in a player they had rated inside their top 10 apparently in exchange for what could be a top 1-3 selection next year if they struggle.

It had me thinking, this was Derek Hine last year...

The Magpies had considered using Pick 6 on the versatile young forward, before settling on talented midfielder Jaidyn Stephenson with their opening selection. Murphy then slid beyond a number of keen suitors throughout the night, ultimately falling to Collingwood at Pick 39.

However, initially projected as a first-round pick, when Murphy fell past the Western Bulldogs and Richmond at Picks 16 and 17 respectively, Collingwood’s recruiting team held discussions about whether or not it would have moved back into the draft using live trading.

“What we tried to do throughout the night was look at different scenarios in terms of future trading,” Collingwood list boss Derek Hine said.

“When Nathan started to roll back into the draft, we were having some discussions at around Pick 18 or 19 that at this point in time we’d go and trade in.

“We would have tried to get a pick to facilitate bringing him in. We clearly rated him highly.”

Is it creative genius or luck with these recruiters?

Spreading the draft over 2 nights?? WTF? Precedent set - 2019 Brownlow count set to run over the 7 days leading up to the GF. Gunna be rivetting.
I think the GrandFinal should be played over 4 Saturday’s (one quarter played each Saturday)
More people get to see the GrandFinal.
Selection changes can be made for each quarter.
I’m pushing this one all the way...