2018 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Don’t forgot we have just signed Irish recruit James Madden who has broken the 20m combine and agility all time record. He was chased by at least half a dozen club ms and has come to us. Whilst he will need to hone his craft when you have elite speed and agility like that it just buys you time to make
Decisions. Reckon could be a serious player . On another note what are people’s thoughts on Mayes . Would Gold Coast or Carlton be interested at all if we packaged him and pick 5 IMO a
Deal or does he have no currency anymore ? Surely a solid body at Carlton or gold
Coast with elite foot skills would
Be handy .

Madden definitely an exciting prospect but can't be planning our list as though he's a sure thing imo. Also can't see any team being keen on Mayes currently, even as steak knives. Currency is very, very low. Hopefully he has a chat to Fages, a big pre-season and we find a role that he can excel in. He was very good two years ago in defence but I think that's done now. After such a backwards year I'd say that many developing guys would be ahead of him in those roles.

Its still a long way to go to the draft. Trade period could possibly see us trade up or even back in the draft. Am hoping we can add a second selection in the first round via a crafty trade. Our needs certainly revolve around improving our midfield and finding our next quarterback type half back.

Isnt that Witherden?

Assuming Walsh, Lukosius and Smith are gone, who do you guys pick do you think? Based on what you need, and what kind of player your drafters tend to like, and how likely they are to pick needs vs best available? Could you see them taking a King as best available despite not really needing talls? Does the fear of a go home factor stop you taking Rankine? Sorry, heaps of questions but for me you guys are the big mystery, and you pick one or two spots before us so I'd love some kind of read on it. Thanks in advance.

Just seemed like a win without a purpose we were flat , players looked flat . It was a rubbish match , all we did was slip from the top elite draft picks perhaps , nothing gained . Pick 5 will bring a high quality player accepted but maybe not the player of a generation that picks 1-3 could do if you believe the experts

Let's hope someone slides or smith or rankine are still available at our pick
Just left a bit flat after that game next week and we do it all again , give the Eagles a taste of Gabba hell.
The purpose of the win was a win. That’s the ultimate point of playing the game. Discussing “slipping” in the draft order is bullshit.
Read the match review thread and people are pissed off. If we’d gone down by a few points, then it would have been a backward step. Winning by a few points is a forward step.

Before Hodge came up Andrews was filling the "organiser" role, I assume that is more what you mean by QB role?

Basically. Someone who can not only direct play but create it. I don't a "QB" really exists in the AFL, nor is it necessary, as you highlighted you can essentially fulfil what that role would encompass through team work and currently I'd imagine we'd see Harris overseeing defensive structure and one or two distributors, be it Witho, Cox or Allison, creating the movement from the back.
Having one player like Hodge or Hurn that can do both is basically a luxury. Not all teams have one.

Assuming Walsh, Lukosius and Smith are gone, who do you guys pick do you think? Based on what you need, and what kind of player your drafters tend to like, and how likely they are to pick needs vs best available? Could you see them taking a King as best available despite not really needing talls? Does the fear of a go home factor stop you taking Rankine? Sorry, heaps of questions but for me you guys are the big mystery, and you pick one or two spots before us so I'd love some kind of read on it. Thanks in advance.
Don't worry, we've got no idea either.

Assuming Walsh, Lukosius and Smith are gone, who do you guys pick do you think?

Rankine, Blakey bid (which will be matched), Rozee or trade back.

Based on what you need, and what kind of player your drafters tend to like, and how likely they are to pick needs vs best available?

They've openly stated they're looking for midfielders. Doubt they'd see value in a KPP given our stocks and academy.

Could you see them taking a King as best available despite not really needing talls?

No.

Does the fear of a go home factor stop you taking Rankine?

Doubt it, didn't stop us with Rayner. Schache was thought to be immune to the go home factor and look how that turned out, nothing is guaranteed.

Will more then likely be mids and more mids . We have more then enough talls. Skinner , Paine, ballandeen , fullaton as young keys . Think we are set in back half aswell with guys like Mayes, cox etc not able to be regulars. We need to take the best mid available at 5 IMO and then hope we can nab someone with our second before a bid on McFayden comes in . I reckon
A club like Gold Coast who has so many picks may be keen to offload a second rounder this year for our second next year to give them more flexibility.

Rankine, Blakey bid (which will be matched), Rozee or trade back.

They've openly stated they're looking for midfielders. Doubt they'd see value in a KPP given our stocks and academy.

No.

Doubt it, didn't stop us with Rayner. Schache was thought to be immune to the go home factor and look how that turned out, nothing is guaranteed.
Cheers. That bit about wanting mids I wasn't aware of, that makes it clearer. I reckon clubs usually take best available, but if they're coming out and saying they're after mids they musn't rate the talls they think will be there that high anyway. I bet if Lukosius was there they'd pounce though. For what it's worth my shot in the dark is you bidding on Blakey and then taking Rankine.

I bet if Lukosius was there they'd pounce though. For what it's worth my shot in the dark is you bidding on Blakey and then taking Rankine.

You're probably right, Lukosius is incredibly highly rated by a lot of experts. I can see us doing that, not sure Rankine makes it to us though. His performance in the championships looks top 2 worthy.

I reckon he'll slip a touch, he's too risky for top 3. Questions over attitude, inconsistency, and he's pretty one-sided. His best is the best in the draft IMO but I reckon top picks are often spent on safer choices. Also it sounds like he may pull the "want to stay in SA" thing, which I don't think means he'll last to Adelaide but might scare the teams with top picks away a bit.

Cheers. That bit about wanting mids I wasn't aware of, that makes it clearer. I reckon clubs usually take best available, but if they're coming out and saying they're after mids they musn't rate the talls they think will be there that high anyway. I bet if Lukosius was there they'd pounce though. For what it's worth my shot in the dark is you bidding on Blakey and then taking Rankine.
On a recent podcast with Twomey, our recruiting manager Stephen Conole told Twomey we are after mids, a small/medium defender (to take over the Hodge role), and that with our first pick we'll pick best available talent.

I'm one of those fans who really does not want one of the King twins, but if Max or Ben is best available on board at our pick, I can see our recruiting team selecting a King. Really does depend on what Gold Coast do with their two picks, and if St Kilda go a mid or Max King.

There are a few of us here who are keen on Bailey Smith and really hope he falls to our pick 5.

I'm a massive, massive Rankine fan, but have soured on him somewhat, as he really hasn't interviewed well from a non SA team (Adelaide) perspective. If Rankine was the kid available at pick 5, I'd genuinely be hoping we can do a trade with Adelaide, swapping our first two picks for Adelaide's first two picks on draft night trade.

If the first four kids drafted are, Walsh, Lukosius, Smith and Rankine, and we aren't offered a trade that we like, then I'm all for drafting Connor Rozee, even though he hasn't had the season many were hoping for.

I reckon he'll slip a touch, he's too risky for top 3. Questions over attitude, inconsistency, and he's pretty one-sided. His best is the best in the draft IMO but I reckon top picks are often spent on safer choices. Also it sounds like he may pull the "want to stay in SA" thing, which I don't think means he'll last to Adelaide but might scare the teams with top picks away a bit.
I would say he's in our top 3 of Walsh, Lukosius and Rankine and if he was to slip till our 5 we would pounce IMO. I believe the Suns will hold the keys to what happens in the draft with their probable picks of 2 and 3. I've read somewhere they're wanting 5 picks in the top 30. If Wash goes 1 and Crows really do want him then there actually could be an opportunity for 5 picks in the top 20.
On a recent podcast with Twomey, our recruiting manager Stephen Conole told Twomey we are after mids, a small/medium defender (to take over the Hodge role), and that with our first pick we'll pick best available talent.

I'm one of those fans who really does not want one of the King twins, but if Max or Ben is best available on board at our pick, I can see our recruiting team selecting a King. Really does depend on what Gold Coast do with their two picks, and if St Kilda go a mid or Max King.

There are a few of us here who are keen on Bailey Smith and really hope he falls to our pick 5.

I'm a massive, massive Rankine fan, but have soured on him somewhat, as he really hasn't interviewed well from a non SA team (Adelaide) perspective. If Rankine was the kid available at pick 5, I'd genuinely be hoping we can do a trade with Adelaide, swapping our first two picks for Adelaide's first two picks on draft night trade.

If the first four kids drafted are, Walsh, Lukosius, Smith and Rankine, and we aren't offered a trade that we like, then I'm all for drafting Connor Rozee, even though he hasn't had the season many were hoping for.
I reckon Saints go Max King. But that could change with the Suns picking so you never know they might go Ben King.

With Rankine I reckon we would back ourselves but can understand the trepidation. Maybe Port could be an option especially if Polec goes to North.
Where do u see Clarke getting drafted ? His rebound footy looked very integral to wa lineup.
Clark is certainly someone we rate highly.
I would say late first early second, all depends on teams wants and needs around those picks. But as cotter101 and bristoon point out we are interested and he fills an area of need. It's evident in today's game that players with footskills who can direct play out of their backhalf.
Will more then likely be mids and more mids . We have more then enough talls. Skinner , Paine, ballandeen , fullaton as young keys . Think we are set in back half aswell with guys like Mayes, cox etc not able to be regulars. We need to take the best mid available at 5 IMO and then hope we can nab someone with our second before a bid on McFayden comes in . I reckon
A club like Gold Coast who has so many picks may be keen to offload a second rounder this year for our second next year to give them more flexibility.
This is actually a very good idea and something to look at on the night or earlier.

Well that muddies the waters somewhat, knowing that the comment about mids was meant for the general draft and not for the first pick. Although it does make more sense to me, I've always thought clubs go best available with early picks.

Live trading will make this all more interesting. Does Adelaide try to trade up pre-draft, or wait and see what happens on draft night and act then? I think it'll mean clubs who might want to trade down will wait for draft night too - when the Dogs traded down in 2015 it was because they expected Dunkley, who they liked at our first, would be available later, and they were right. But they liked Curnow a heap more, and because of the drink-driving charge he slipped to where we could have drafted him.

It would be a real shame if Rankine really does try to get himself to SA. Too much of that happening these days. You guys probably aware of that more than most.

I dont see us beating the eagles next week (stranger things have happened tho) and if st kilda beat north (form against the hawks suggest they can) then i think we are still a chance at pick 4. I'll be cheering for the saints next week, is that wrong.

I doubt Caldwell would be in contention for pick 5, especially as he has been out injured so much recently. Like almost everyone I expect Jack Lukosius/Sam Walsh to be the first 2 picked, probably Max King the 3rd. jason pm I think you are right that we take which every one of Bailey Smith/Izak Rankine/Connor Rozee that St. Kilda don't pick. Probably Bailey Smith.

IF we picked up Wallis through FA, does it change the type of player we draft given Wallis should become our starting inside mid? If so then I think we pick either Rankine or Rozee.

But once PP's, trades, U18's etc. are all said and done, who knows what the landscape will look like :)

Rozee rated higher than Smith now??

A loss last night may have netted that by way of a end of first round PP.
I think the AFL would have waved us off with "you already got one two seasons ago". They would've press released it as "the bottom three have all received priority picks in the last two seasons".

I don’t think the AFL would give a club that finished above one club a priority pick over another at all irrespective that ‘all’ three clubs received one over a 3 year period.

All moot now due to our benefcial win on the weekend.

Don’t forgot we have just signed Irish recruit James Madden who has broken the 20m combine and agility all time record. He was chased by at least half a dozen club ms and has come to us. Whilst he will need to hone his craft when you have elite speed and agility like that it just buys you time to make
Decisions. Reckon could be a serious player . On another note what are people’s thoughts on Mayes . Would Gold Coast or Carlton be interested at all if we packaged him and pick 5 IMO a
Deal or does he have no currency anymore ? Surely a solid body at Carlton or gold
Coast with elite foot skills would
Be handy .

Personally, I don't see Mayes as part of our team moving forward unless it is as a depth player. I would be happy to include him in a trade with either Carlton or GC to move up the draft order. The issue I see is that I don't think he is worth much right now. Can't get a game in our team and I think far from best 22 right now. We may be able to move from 5 to 4 or 4 to 3 with Mayes and our first pick, but I doubt that GC would be interested in that at all.

A couple of people I think would have more value that Mayes are Keays, Allison and Cox. All young and improving. Though I don't see us moving them on at all. Walker is another option as he is versatile but I think with what he has shows since he returned, we would want to keep him as well.

I don’t think the AFL would give a club that finished above one club a priority pick over another at all irrespective that ‘all’ three clubs received one over a 3 year period.

All moot now due to our benefcial win on the weekend.
I am sure the AFL breathed a collective sigh of relief after the result on the weekend.