2018 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Could think trading out for future picks could be of interest, in an effort for them to spread the pick surplus across drafts. Wouldn't be against trading our future first for one of theirs this year if it was a good deal and our recruiters rated this draft...particularly if we lose our current top pick in trading for Neale.

Yeah agree with this. Would not be against trading next years first for a pick in high teens this year or perhaps even one in teens and one in early twenties. Suns will have surplus picks this year, possible they will be interested.

If you listen to Noble in his most recent interview with Fay and Whiting he has definitely softened on the idea of trading future picks.

You never say never, especially if something was to present itself this year. But overall they dont like doing it because you dont really know the true value of the pick for the following year. Think this year for example high picks are worth extra with it being a strong draft and high interest in a few of the players. So you know the worth of the pick.

True although again he said that these days they spend a lot of time valuing future picks for that very reason which is one of the more recent developments in drafting/trading practice.

When you look at the Re-do the 2014 draft thread on the draft board you will see that Harris Andrews is consistently rated in the top 3 of that year with De Goey and Heeney. He went pick 61. There is no way we should not match for McFadyen. Hipwood is another example of local talent going for bargain picks. Payne will be another one.

And virtually not one poster disputed him in the top 3 (many had him at pick 1) One or two had him at pick 6 or so.

When you look at the Re-do the 2014 draft thread on the draft board you will see that Harris Andrews is consistently rated in the top 3 of that year with De Goey and Heeney. He went pick 61.

And virtually not one poster disputed him in the top 3 (many had him at pick 1) One or two had him at pick 6 or so.

To be fair though, he was bid on at #34 by North. We matched bids on him and Dawson (bid by Richmond at #31) who we just delisted.

Chayce Jones had a super Combine to go with his very good performance across the Champs. Wonder where he sits on club's rankings?

Poor mans Connor Rozee. :);)

Rozee definitely put in an impressive combine, didn't he? Didn't think he was impressive at the Champs aside from the last game where he was okay but apparently finished the year in the SANFL really well which is obviously a step above Champs. Him and Lukosious going at 2 and 3 has to be pretty likely.

Just keep an eye on Darcy Marsh when the state combine occurs. I can imagine he might be a surprise rookie selection for us.
Leftie forward?

Chayce Jones had a super Combine to go with his very good performance across the Champs. Wonder where he sits on club's rankings?
The Tassie factor is a selling point as well. Would be fairly high on multiple clubs rankings I'd imagine. Wouldn't surprise me if he went as high as early teens now after excelling at the combine.

Poor mans Connor Rozee. :);)
Nothing poor about Chayce Jones. More damaging than Walsh when the Allies played Vic country. His standing and running vertical leaps suggest he will be good overhead and mitigate his size, which from memory is 180. If he slips to pick 22, if we still have it, we should pounce. Much better option than Berry who has a surname that appeals, but not the form. Tassy mids not seen as much and not hyped as much, but Jones will be a 200 game player for mine. Would love us to draft him.

I was being facetious hence the wink, I like Chayce Jones as well although I'd have him behind Connor Rozee.

Yeah I knew you were joking, just jumped on an opportunity to praise Chayce. Reckon he would be a great get for us. Rozee definitely ahead and will go in top 12 I think, but given our record with SA mids I'd be nervous about drafting Conor. I really liked what I saw of Jacob Kennerley off the half back flank, and he fills a need for us, would be interested in him at 22 and definitely our third round. Given SA's dominance at the champs, I think of lot of their players will be drafted this year.

I think with berry, it is not so much the surname (although it does help), but l remember before his injury and when he was playing midfield, he was best on ground or close to for a number of consecutive matches. He was like a beast and remember saying at the tie that there is noway he is going to last to our 2nd round pick (although form and injury did drop him).

Might as well shut this thread down! Won't have any picks left after trade week....

;)

I’d like to think we’d somehow get the other Berry. The thought of having brothers play together at a footy club makes me insides tingle.

We’d also still have picks, just not any high ones.

I’d like to think we’d somehow get the other Berry. The thought of having brothers play together at a footy club makes me insides tingle.

We’d also still have picks, just not any high ones.

I have a feeling we may look to make sure we have a pick around 16-20 in order to take a Berry.

I doubt Tom Berry goes top 30 at the moment. Maybe not even top 40. Not much talk about him at all.

Yeah I knew you were joking, just jumped on an opportunity to praise Chayce. Reckon he would be a great get for us. Rozee definitely ahead and will go in top 12 I think, but given our record with SA mids I'd be nervous about drafting Conor. I really liked what I saw of Jacob Kennerley off the half back flank, and he fills a need for us, would be interested in him at 22 and definitely our third round. Given SA's dominance at the champs, I think of lot of their players will be drafted this year.

I dont mind JK, also just broke 2km time trial record at draft combine.