2018 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

From the AFL website, Twomeys prediction for our first pick:

Pick 18: If the Lions could nab Chayce Jones with their first pick at the draft it would be the icing on top of their deal that landed them Lachie Neale. Jones is a worker: he powers through games in the midfield but will likely start as a smaller forward or back. Has good skills, is tough and was the best performed player at the NAB AFL Draft Combine.

Around the mark: Zak Butters, Liam Stocker, Jackson Hately

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2018-10-21/your-clubs-first-pic
I'd take Chayce Jones and not look back.

When you look who might be realistically available at our first pick, Jones is a fantastic outcome. He might be on the shorter side, but he's very athletic and mobile, and would do very well to model his game on Lachie Neale.
I do like Chayce Jones and does show an ability to play inside and out. I wonder if Sam Sturt could be an option at our first especially when it will be pick 20/21 and I would also look at Xavier O'Halloran at that mark as well. Reason I raise Sturt up as an option is that foot speed will be taken into account for our draftees which Noble has said will be a factor which Sturt does possess even though not a midfield option.

Don't think his height will be an issue at all for us. Nobes already said in the latest RD podcast on the topic of big-bodied midfielders that we wouldn't necessarily take a bigger body over someone smaller we thought was more talented, which made me think of Jones. In terms of big bodies for the midfield we're probably set anyway. Berry will be there full time and it's likely that two or more of Rayner, Starcevich and McFadyen will either be there full time or rotating through the mid and forward line. Jones is a good fit.

I'm hoping after the draft we've got any two of Jones, Duursma, O'Halloran or Stocker along with McFadyen. Clark would be a perfect fit and my ideal first choice but probably unlikely we'll trade up to be in a position to grab him.
I believe it's unlikely that we manage to pick up two of those kids. I think our second and third picks get pushed back four or five spots with academy and father son bidding, and the four kids you mention here are comfortably in the top 20 to 25 kids in the draft.

McFadyen might be the fourth or fifth kid bid on, so best case is our pick 30 is pushed out to pick 33 before we have to use it to match a bid on McFadyen, or a bid comes between our second and third picks.

I'd be happy with a mid/defender or a winger to go with McFadyen with our first two picks. Otherwise I'm wondering if the the club takes a flyer on Dandenong bolter Sam Sturt. He doesn't fit a need, but in terms of talent he falls somewhere between Jaidyn Stephenson and Will Hayward. Our first pick just falls around that grey area for me where I'm just not a fan of the kids most often spoken about in that area.

I do like Chayce Jones and does show an ability to play inside and out. I wonder if Sam Sturt could be an option at our first especially when it will be pick 20/21 and I would also look at Xavier O'Halloran at that mark as well. Reason I raise Sturt up as an option is that foot speed will be taken into account for our draftees which Noble has said will be a factor which Sturt does possess even though not a midfield option.
lol's.

I had the same thought. It took me almost 3 hours to make my post below yours, having to go change a nappy, feed a baby and run out to the shop, then come home and finish the post without checking for updated posts.

Saw him twice during the nationals,and he was outclassed.One paced with very average skills,just what we dont need.

Hey Len S, could you be a little more specific on who you saw as jjami15 mentioned 3 players there.

Who did you like out of the kids you saw at the Nationals?

Genuine question. How does it matter that our picks get pushed back by academy or father son selections?
It doesn’t really! Does it?
Still only the same kids available in the open pool!

Is there any chance that the Lions would actually bid on Quaynor at 18?
Only if we rate him highest on our board at that point!
Certainly possible.

Genuine question. How does it matter that our picks get pushed back by academy or father son selections?
It doesn't in practice but when using our pick number to figure out who might be there using mock drafts the mock draft creators just slot in the to-be-nominated players, so you do need to bear that in mind.

It doesn’t really! Does it?
Still only the same kids available in the open pool!
Well it doesn't really.

However when you look at media or BF draft watchers draft boards, they list their top 25 or 30 kids, and include the father son and academy kids on their draft board. So if we have pick 18, and some one goes and looks on the various kids rated at 18 on the different draft boards, they're not really looking at the kid/s who might be available at our first pick if it's pushed back 21.

Most of the media and draft watchers say the decent talent runs about 30 deep in this years draft. Twomey has 7 father son and academy kids in his top 30 (including our own Connor McFadyen at 25). AFL draft central also has 7 in their top 30 (not all the same towards the back end as Twomey) and 9 in their top 35 (including Connor McGadyen at 34). So that makes it about 23 kids available in the "open" draft pool.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-10-14/cal-twomeys-phantom-form-guide-october

https://www.afldraftcentral.com.au/2018/10/01/afl-draft-central-power-rankings-october-2018/

If you look at the current draft order, almost every team with a father son or academy kid has traded out of the zone where they believe their top academy or father son kid/s will be bid on, with the possible exception of the Bulldogs with Rhylee West whose first pick is in the zone where a bid might come for him.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...updated-as-information-comes-to-hand.1179329/

This will potentially push picks in the 25 to 30+ range back 3 to 5 spots, but also see picks in the 50+ range potentially move up 5 places as the picks in-between are "used up" matching bids. It also means Sydney, North and Collingwood are likely to have a heap of picks at the back of the draft.

I somewhat agree. Doesn't play like he tested at the combine, looked rushed. More a trier than a talent IMO. Still will be a good player though but can't see him having the tools to be anything more than a B grader at best.

Disagree that Jones is one paced, I think he's got good acceleration and he can run at high speed for long periods.

Also the thing I noticed about him that isn't always mentioned is his courage and attack on the footy, he really throws his body around for a little fella. As hard as a cats head.

Agree his kicking needs to be tidied up a touch. He's a good kick a lot of the time but shanks it pretty often when under the pump. Lovely set shot though.

Hi Len,
From memory you have a pretty good grasp on underage talent.
Who do you rate in this draft class and more importantly who do you think the lions will consider?

Hi Len,
From memory you have a pretty good grasp on underage talent.
Who do you rate in this draft class and more importantly who do you think the lions will consider?
Thanks mate,love your pseudonym!McFadyen, will be covered,wherever he is bid on and that makes good sense,he's very exciting .Hope I'm not wrong there. Otherwise , I think a running,line breaker off half back/wing,and another versatile mid....as Noble has forecast.I honestly dont know who they will be at this stage....its a great draft though,and we will find the right talent ,have great confidence in Conole and co.

ho do you rate as the better of those types of players in this draft? Duursma would be up there.

I believe it's unlikely that we manage to pick up two of those kids. I think our second and third picks get pushed back four or five spots with academy and father son bidding, and the four kids you mention here are comfortably in the top 20 to 25 kids in the draft.

McFadyen might be the fourth or fifth kid bid on, so best case is our pick 30 is pushed out to pick 33 before we have to use it to match a bid on McFadyen, or a bid comes between our second and third picks.

I'd be happy with a mid/defender or a winger to go with McFadyen with our first two picks. Otherwise I'm wondering if the the club takes a flyer on Dandenong bolter Sam Sturt. He doesn't fit a need, but in terms of talent he falls somewhere between Jaidyn Stephenson and Will Hayward. Our first pick just falls around that grey area for me where I'm just not a fan of the kids most often spoken about in that area.

It might be unlikely, just some of the guys I'd like that have been spoken about in that range. Don't know how much the academy bids will impact the open selections but there's always a slider or two so never know.
Sturt seems exciting with his finish to the year but as you said I don't really see him filling a need but happy to add talents like him. If he was focusing on cricket for most of the year you'd think with his athleticism there's even more scope for development once in a proper system. Wouldn't mind if we went for him with our first though it'd be a little surprising.
Disagree about our first pick being in a grey area though, I reckon there's a lot of awesome talent there that's getting a little ignored because so many people are focusing on the top 8. I was hoping before Neale became a thing that we'd be able to add another pick around in that late first/early second or so. To get Neale along with the chance to add one from there and maybe a slider before McFadyen is an absolutely awesome result imo.