Hollow Knight
Imperfect vessel
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions

- Other Teams
- Scuderia Ferrari, Dallas Cowboys
What’s the skinny on Marsh and Matthews?

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
As long as he isnt Mrs, all good.At 178 and nimble Marsh is more Stumpy than Swampy.
Bastinac and Allison will take our last two rookie spots. Which may mean we intend to draft or match a late bid on Coleman. He was invited to the combine so at least 5 clubs are interested.http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-11-20/afl-reveals-list-of-fathersons-and-academy-draft-nominees
Looks liks Casey Voss won't be with us as a rookie...
Brisbane:
#21 Curtis Taylor
#34 Ely Smith
#35 Connor McFadyen
#53 Tom Berry
A few fan favourites made their way to Brisbane in the draft, with Cam Rayner’s best mate Curtis Taylor seeming a good selection at pick 21. With Xavier Duursma off the board, Taylor is another one the Lions are rumoured to like, and he adds a point of difference inside 50 with plenty of scope. Then they targeted big bodies, with Ely Smith and Tom Berry – brother of Jarrod – while also matching the bid on Academy prospect, Connor McFadyen. They are at the stage where they do not need to fill too many holes, and just beefed up their midfield and forward lines with some bigger bodies who have versatility as well.
its really disappointing ! he's a very very late blooming kid, who i thought had done enough.suspect he will be a loss in time.http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-11-20/afl-reveals-list-of-fathersons-and-academy-draft-nominees
Looks liks Casey Voss won't be with us as a rookie...
It is disappointing that the son of a past champion won't be joining us but generally speaking the clubs get these calls right. If his name wasn't Voss I would seriously doubt he would even be in the conversation. Not enough interest from clubs to get invited to the Combine, which is not conclusive but again a fair indication of how he is viewed more widely. He did OK in the few NEAFL games but so did a few of our academy boys and most of them won't get a look in either.its really disappointing ! he's a very very late blooming kid, who i thought had done enough.suspect he will be a loss in time.
Matthews played half back in NEAFL from memory and looked solid, Marsh as small forward. Neither of them played all Allies games, I think. Interesting that they play positions of need and are probably possibilities if other players are taken at our last pick.What’s the skinny on Marsh and Matthews?
All our first preferences would have to be off the board you would reckon (including Coleman) for us to draft any of these kids. We have no rookie spots either if we re-draft Basti and Allison.Matthews played half back in NEAFL from memory and looked solid, Marsh as small forward. Neither of them played all Allies games, I think. Interesting that they play positions of need and are probably possibilities if other players are taken at our last pick.
Jack Tomkinson, Ben Sloan and Jesse Quint our Allies players who were not listed.
I am impressed by Ely's power,acceleration and fast hands,no worries, I'd take him.Come in peace, just in regards to the club info, if I remember correctly you said that you were happy for Ely Smith at our first pick, is this a personal choice or some inside info.
Just on that for those who do have info (supposedly) it'll be nice to hear some of it even if in general to who might look at.
What impressed me watching him at the Nationals ,was his ability to influence games and situations ,much as Zac did last year.McFadyen does look pretty untidy at times from what little I've seen (his low DE by hand and foot supports this) but he looks pretty raw and it's hard not to be excited by his capabilities. Looks pretty good in traffic, can burst away from a contest and seems to compete very well in the air. I can see why the Allison hype might throw people off here, but I think Allison's height got him more attention than he otherwise would've received (it's basically a non-factor in his game) whereas McFadyen's style of play is a lot more physical.
I won't be surprised if Allison is drafted by another club late in the National Draft. *cough* Geelong *cough*.Bastinac and Allison will take our last two rookie spots. Which may mean we intend to draft or match a late bid on Coleman. He was invited to the combine so at least 5 clubs are interested.
All our first preferences would have to be off the board you would reckon (including Coleman) for us to draft any of these kids. We have no rookie spots either if we re-draft Basti and Allison.
Disagree. The draft will be very much influenced by where the bid comes on McFadyen .We are looking for linebreaking back half talent,but if they are not there when our first bid happens we'll move on.There are no Witherdon or even Cox quality in that category. Therefore we will be looking at best available, and Ely is certainly in that area,great acceleration, power and hands.AFL Draft Central have released their Phantom. Looks like another that didn't really look at our needs - just picked the familiar faces.
https://www.afldraftcentral.com.au/2018/11/19/2018-afl-draft-central-phantom-draft/
I'd be surprised given it's easier to take them as a DFA, even if technically waiting gives them more information about who'll be available at their late pick. My expectation is that he'll be on our list next year.I won't be surprised if Allison is drafted by another club late in the National Draft. *cough* Geelong *cough*.
There are a few clubs who are committed to drafting academy or father son kids with multiple later picks. These clubs are going to have quite a few picks shuffled to the back end of the draft. They might be looking at some of the delisted, mature age, and 19 year old TAC cup players with these picks.
AFL Draft Central have released their Phantom. Looks like another that didn't really look at our needs - just picked the familiar faces.
https://www.afldraftcentral.com.au/2018/11/19/2018-afl-draft-central-phantom-draft/
I won't be surprised if Allison is drafted by another club late in the National Draft. *cough* Geelong *cough*.
There are a few clubs who are committed to drafting academy or father son kids with multiple later picks. These clubs are going to have quite a few picks shuffled to the back end of the draft. They might be looking at some of the delisted, mature age, and 19 year old TAC cup players with these picks.