2018 Draft thread

Rankine screams flight risk. Id rather look elsewhere. If we end up with pick 5 and out of Walsh range id maybe try look to trade for an extra pick.
A lot were screaming Cam Rayner was a flight risk last year, hes already signed an extension. A few years ago everyone was saying we must take Josh Schache he'll be a long term player for us, no flight risk with Schache.

IMO pick who you rate the best player available at your pick and back your welfare/footy department/players to make them feel welcome.

Note- I'm listening to SEN chatting about yesterdays games and Andy Maher says he's sure the Blues would take Sam Walsh with pick 1.

Was wondering if anyone might have any indication out of Lukosius or Rankine that Adelaide would have more of a preference to trade up for?

A lot were screaming Cam Rayner was a flight risk last year, hes already signed an extension. A few years ago everyone was saying we must take Josh Schache he'll be a long term player for us, no flight risk with Schache.

IMO pick who you rate the best player available at your pick and back your welfare/footy department/players to make them feel welcome.

Note- I'm listening to SEN chatting about yesterdays games and Andy Maher says he's sure the Blues would take Sam Walsh with pick 1.

Yep, and in the end we have some really good people in charge of recruiting and will do everything they can to make sure we draft the right personality and talent combinations. Pretty confident we will pull the trigger on the right guy.

This... Great call. Rankine is unbelievable. If he's there at 5 you take him. If we start to become a great side, he won't go anywhete

So not only do we face the prospect of our first pick being pushed back one spot, the Carlton board are starting to talk a lot about a priority pick (regardless of what their Chairman game out and said earlier in the year).

I would really be pee'd off if our first pick got pushed back another spot by a beginning of first round PP for Carlton.

Won't happen. End of first round at best.

He hasn't been right on a lot of his predictions....If yesterdays game is anything to go by ....I reckon their spine needs major work rather than add to their midfield..

They need help everywhere and the media flogs are finally admitting it. All of these young players they traded for from other clubs (GWS) to accelerate the rebuild haven't improved and as a result they have a future list of B-C graders.

In 2020, if we’re not a top 8 team then Rankine is free to go. But we should be and hopefully the Crows and Power will be struggling and we’ll have the culture to keep anyone.

At a glance the blues have pick one sewn up and I can see us and the Suns being a close thing for pick 2 they would need to beat us to achieve that , both clubs have some tough matches to finish. Walsh seems to be our most wanted draftee but the two south Australians are great gets as well. Be handy to get inside Gold Coast draft wise with the possibility of a priority pick for lynch but winning games is essential as well

Be interesting how it ends up

Adding a player with the level of talent that Rankine has to the likes of Hipwood, Rayner, Andrews, McCluggage, Berry, Cameron, Cutler, Witherden ect. is very exciting to think about. I agree that if he is available at our pick we back ourselves to take him. Might end up out of our range though.

If we picked up Rankine and he wanted to leave, he'd very likely carry some strong trade currency as well you'd think.

Jade Gresham is an absolute gun playing in a poor Saints side. There was some talk among the commentators in the Port v Saints game yesterday about how much damage he'd do in a top 4 side. I liken Rankine as a similar player as that sort of 178-180cm tall, fast, agile skilful player who can play up the ground but also rest forward and kick some miraculous goals. Comparing the two at junior level, however, and Rankine is a far superior prospect. If he can fulfil his potential at senior level he'll be an absolute weapon in the Gresham mould but probably better and with it looking likely that we'll start to rise/improve over the next two seasons he could be the perfect icing on the cake type player that the likes of Berry/Rayner/McCluggage can feed it out to alongside Zorko, Cameron and Taylor.

I still like all the other prospects being talked about in the top 5ish range though and think whoever we end up with will be a terrific addition to our young core. Bailey Smith for example would compliment our current midfield group really nicely with his consistent ball winning inside and outside of the contest and his tackling ability wrecking havoc alongside Bailey, Berry and Rayner.

If we’re missing on Walsh and Lukosius. I’m all for taking the gamble with Rankine at 5/6 if he’s available.

If Walsh and Smith are gone and Rankine is there I think our recruiters would be ******ed to pick anyone else.

They need help everywhere and the media flogs are finally admitting it. All of these young players they traded for from other clubs (GWS) to accelerate the rebuild haven't improved and as a result they have a future list of B-C graders.

Especially at selection....This weekend their magoos had the bye....With Harris Andrews out for us... It seemed very odd to drop Casboult.

Carltank!

2018 Draft thread