2018 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

“It was a tough call, but the Lions said to me I could have the (2018) pre-season with them and train with the AFL club. As soon as they said that, I knew this was my chance to make a career out of footy.”

Bookmark this line.

Northern state academies working their magic.

Academies in heartland states get brothers of existing AFL players. Academies in frontier states get the kids of professionals from other sports. The latter is an essential part of the game's success, the former is a political boondoggle.

Pfft, let's not let the facts get in the way of a good story. :)

He wanted to go to the Lions, that counts...doesn't it?
He wanted to play with his mate Schache, to reunite the highest scoring U18 Champs pairing.

But yes, he did say he wanted to be drafted to the Lions in a Cal Twomey interview.

He wanted to play with his mate Schache, to reunite the highest scoring U18 Champs pairing.

But yes, he did say he wanted to be drafted to the Lions in a Cal Twomey interview.

Don't think he got on very well with Schache. I think it was others at the club he was more keen to connect with.

Hey guys, just finished the phantom draft we had going on the tigers board. Unfortunately missed on Berry as I waited too long.

22. Brisbane - Curtis Taylor 186cm 79kg Midfielder/Forward
32. Brisbane - Connor MacFadyen 190cm 88kg Utility - Matched Bid From Gold Coast
36. Brisbane - Ely Smith 188cm 86kg Inside Midfielder
40. Brisbane - Fraser Turner 186cm 75kg Outside Midfielder
55. Brisbane - Tom Lewis 179cm 80kg Midfielder

One campaigner was bidding on all father sons and academy players. Let me know what you think!

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2018-phantom-draft.1207595/

Hey guys, just finished the phantom draft we had going on the tigers board. Unfortunately missed on Berry as I waited too long.

32. Brisbane - Connor MacFadyen 190cm 88kg Utility - Matched Bid From Gold Coast

One campaigner was bidding on all father sons and academy players. Let me know what you think!

Wouldn't mind Ely Smith at pick 36. He can be our (mini me) Patrick Cripps.

huge focus on mids, and can see us taking a HBFer or two. Think it's a decent haul though! Well done!

Yeah I think Taylor will mainly be a Forward with small stints onball and hoping Turner would be groomed as a HBF. Smith as a huge midfielder along with MacFadyen and Lewis was best available with huge upside.

Where did pick 40 come from?

We currently only have 3 list spots, and hoping to take 4 to the draft.

Basically said when the team were so shitty on and off the field he didn't particularly want to be there. Who would? But now he sees it is a team and group with a lot going for it and he would love to be part of it. Nothing wrong with any of that.
And the point he has been in the academy for 10 years, like us supporters for the last 10 years, we also had our doubts at times if we would ever come back. I think he is just reflecting public opinion of the Lions journey since our grand finals. I'd be betting some kids in the Suns academy would also be thinking if they have a future there or elsewhere.

Good effort, at 22 Taylor is not a need especially as you have matched on Macfadyen. Zak Butters is more of what we will be looking for at 22. Tom Lewis at 55 is a good selection. I read an article his coaches reckon he is Lachie Neale mk2. We also don't have pick 40, how did you end up with it?

I had a look at the phantom on your board, we wont end up with 5 selections you would have thought but of the players still available at those selections I would have went for.
22- Jez McClennan.
32- Connor McFadyen.
36- Sydney Stack.
40- Tom Berry.
55- Michael Gibbons.

And the point he has been in the academy for 10 years, like us supporters for the last 10 years, we also had our doubts at times if we would ever come back. I think he is just reflecting public opinion of the Lions journey since our grand finals. I'd be betting some kids in the Suns academy would also be thinking if they have a future there or elsewhere.

Yep, the underlying message is that respect has to be earned and finally we’re on the road to actually doing that. We can’t get sand in our underpants at the notion that players were wondering if there were better places to ply their trade in previous years... because there clearly were.

We have the luxury as fans of fully investing emotionally. For players it’s a career decision that can shape the rest of their life.

Yep, the underlying message is that respect has to be earned and finally we’re on the road to actually doing that. We can’t get sand in our underpants at the notion that players were wondering if there were better places to ply their trade in previous years... because there clearly were.

We have the luxury as fans of fully investing emotionally. For players it’s a career decision that can shape the rest of their life.

And as an added bonus we look from the outside and think things are shaping up but have only the public feed to work from ... he came to the same conclusion from the inside and with warts and all information and certainly not rose coloured glasses!

This article is on afl.com:

Steep learning curve suits 'old-school' son of a Lion
Riley Beveridge
Nov 6, 2018 11:34AM

609324-tlslargelandscape.jpg

James Rendell competes in the ruck for Vic Metro at the NAB AFL U18 Championships

IT HAS been a year of learning curves for James Rendell.

From being shifted into different on-field roles, to stepping into new leadership positions, the draft hopeful has taken the numerous challenges thrown at him in his stride.

Clubs believe Rendell is one of the most 'no-fuss' and 'old-school' prospects in this year's NAB AFL Draft crop, both in terms of his personality and the way he goes about his football.

That professionalism is an indication of why the 199cm and 90kg ruck-forward improved steadily throughout the year, adapting to the new roles set for him by coaches and the prospect of stepping into the position as stand-in captain of the Sandringham Dragons.

NAB AFL DRAFT HUB Latest news, video and more

Being asked to skipper the Dragons was an unexpected promotion for Rendell, who was charged with filling the role due to the APS commitments of the otherwise regular captain Bailey Smith, as well as an Achilles injury that ended his year early.

But like with most things, Rendell chose to view it as a chance to grow and improve himself.

"I feel like it's really developed me as a person off the field and given me a lot of confidence on the field," Rendell told AFL.com.au.

"We were a pretty reliant team on bottom-agers this year due to a lot of injuries, so I had to fast-track my leadership pretty quickly to ensure we were still getting performances on the field."

Rendell's family history puts him in an intriguing position ahead of this month's draft.

His father, Matt, was a two-time best and fairest winner and club captain throughout his 177-game career with Fitzroy and the Brisbane Bears throughout the 1980s and 90s. It makes Rendell eligible to the Brisbane Lions as a father-son prospect later this year.

But his father was also a successful recruiter, spending more than five years as Adelaide's recruitment manager, while he currently occupies a position as a scout at Collingwood.

Matt's knowledge of the draft has enabled him to pass on some handy advice to his son, though Rendell believes it's what his father has left unsaid that is just as important.

"It's a bit unique, with dad being in the industry and a recruiter as well," Rendell said.

"He's given me a few tips and pointers as to what to say in interviews and stuff. For the most part, I pretty much just learn as I go.

"He doesn't really overload me with too much information, which is a good thing. You get so much feedback from a lot of different coaches, but he just gives me a few tips and some advice – to take it week by week and to not get too fussed about the end result."

While the Lions are yet to commit to taking Rendell as a father-son prospect at the draft, the youngster is willing to go anywhere to fulfil his lifelong ambition of playing in the AFL.

"I've been speaking to Brisbane, but at this stage they've kept their cards close to their chest and haven't really given away too much just yet," Rendell said.

"I'd just be stoked if I got picked up, it doesn't really faze me the prospect of moving interstate. As long as I'm playing footy, I'll be happy."

A solid season with Sandringham has certainly boosted Rendell's draft hopes, with the teenager demonstrating his ability to play both forward and through the ruck.

He kicked 14 goals in 13 games with the Dragons, but it's as a mobile ruckman where Rendell believes he excels. He averaged 14.4 disposals, 15.4 hit-outs and nearly five tackles per game in the TAC Cup this year, proving he could find the footy and get his hands dirty.

Rendell's history as a midfielder has held him in good stead at ground level. Picture: AFL Photos

1TPFDSSD18MD0158.JPG

"I played in the midfield up until about under 14s," Rendell said.

"I guess that's probably why my main strengths now are my ability to win my own footy on the deck, my follow-up work and my repeat defensive efforts.

"Playing in the midfield as a junior etched those traits into my game from a young age, but I still think I'm growing as well.

"I measured at 198cm at the start of the year and I'm about 199cm now. But I'm still having growing pains, so hopefully I can keep growing. Who knows how tall I'll end up?"

Rendell's season culminated in two impressive TAC Cup finals performances, rounding out a satisfying campaign for the promising big man.

He won 20 disposals, 19 hit-outs and took six marks in an elimination final win over Murray, before gathering another 18 disposals, 23 hit-outs and seven marks in Sandringham's preliminary final loss to Dandenong.

Now, the youngster is hoping it results in him ending up on an AFL list come November 23.

"It's a bit of a nervous time for me, because I'm not really too sure how the cards are going to fall," Rendell said.

"I'm just prepared either way. Hopefully I'll be given an opportunity, because it's been a dream of mine to play in the AFL ever since I was a young kid.

"It's been one of the most important things in my life, so if I'm fortunate enough to get drafted then I'd seize that opportunity."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-11-06/steep-learning-curve-suits-oldschool-son-of-a-lion

Any inside word on this kid?

Good effort, at 22 Taylor is not a need especially as you have matched on Macfadyen. Zak Butters is more of what we will be looking for at 22. Tom Lewis at 55 is a good selection. I read an article his coaches reckon he is Lachie Neale mk2. We also don't have pick 40, how did you end up with it?
I think what happened is when I matched MacFadyen I got pick 40 back but they never took my other pick away from me

I dunno know - I'd like to think after 10 years of investment in him by the lions he'd be wanting to play for us and help us climb up again. I mean, isn't the point of the academy to get kids bonded to us so they stay with us when they hit the big time? Removing the go home factor is one part of that but surely not the only link we are trying to develop.

Not this instance particularly but I prefer the kids that are grateful to be drafted at all rather than the ones that feel they can pick and choose. Might be an Aish hangover but if at 17yo and pre-draft they already are willing to turn their nose up, does it make them more likely to jump elsewhere when things don't go to fairy-tale script?

The Suns 2017/18 are same same as us in 2016/17. Our draftees during this period all said and showed they wanted to be part of making the club relevant again and it's that attitude that has helped us show the improvement that we are seeing. And why we love them. There is the chicken/egg argument re coaching causing commitment but I believe a lot of that is internal to the character of the player, and I want to draft and trade in players that want to make a difference, not players that want to go and become a cog in an already great team. Again - I'm not specifically meaning McFadyen.

I dunno know - I'd like to think after 10 years of investment in him by the lions he'd be wanting to play for us and help us climb up again. I mean, isn't the point of the academy to get kids bonded to us so they stay with us when they hit the big time? Removing the go home factor is one part of that but surely not the only link we are trying to develop.

Not this instance particularly but I prefer the kids that are grateful to be drafted at all rather than the ones that feel they can pick and choose. Might be an Aish hangover but if at 17yo and pre-draft they already are willing to turn their nose up, does it make them more likely to jump elsewhere when things don't go to fairy-tale script?

The Suns 2017/18 are same same as us in 2016/17. Our draftees during this period all said and showed they wanted to be part of making the club relevant again and it's that attitude that has helped us show the improvement that we are seeing. And why we love them. There is the chicken/egg argument re coaching causing commitment but I believe a lot of that is internal to the character of the player, and I want to draft and trade in players that want to make a difference, not players that want to go and become a cog in an already great team. Again - I'm not specifically meaning McFadyen.
I'm hearing you but the kid is 17, hardly had a lot of media and/or image training. I would be thinking he has just not quite said what the other more experienced kids at the club are saying, "we are on the right track now, heading in the right direction, we are a close bonded group". We have to only look at the off season movement of players where most choose to move up the ladder to successful clubs, being those with a chance to play continuous finals. He will get better.

Your right, look at Beams and Zorko. Both went to school together and played on the Gold Coast. Zorko chose the offer to stay local at the new Suns and Beams chose the national draft and ended at Collingwood. Funny how the story has gone for both since but neither had a career with their local team.

Not a great example as Zorko was overlooked in successive drafts by everyone. Pretty sure he’d have gone anywhere had someone called his name out.

Zorko never got an offer to stay at the Suns. He got passed over until the Lions traded the Suns for him via prelisting - it's unlikely the Suns would've picked him up off their own right.