List Mgmt. 2018 Draft Thread

you are kidding right?
just cause the so called pros in the media dont know who the **** some of the draftees are doesnt mean a scouting team led by Taylor just plucked a ******* name out of the phone book.
fixed all of our holes while letting Hogan go home and dropping a load of rubbish players.
May is gonna be awse
Kolo is gonna surprise the **** out of everyone
we have back up for Gawn
we added speed up forward and a better mid sized defender.
all i see us losing was Hogan the rest were past it, rubbish or couldnt stay on the park
In regards to the draft i totally agree, as i said in my post, in Taylor we trust, he hasn't made many mistakes and I have total faith in him nailing picks but I think we missed a key need. I was just a bit surprised by our 2 earlier selections as there were guys on the board who were rated really highly and whom on paper looked like good picks and really good fit in terms of filling what we need. But as you said, J Taylor and his recruiting team are obviously more knowledgeable than the media and they've done a fantastic job so far.

The May trade is the part I don't love, there's been a pretty weird narrative going on around here about how Hogan was surplus to needs and how we we're stacked for key forwards just because Weid played 2 good games. Apart from Weid we have T Mac and um, oh yeah THAT'S IT. Now look at our key back stocks, we have O Mac, Frost, Lever and Petty. (whom the club is very high on and who was highly touted as a junior) So we had 3 very good key forwards and 4 key backs, 3 of which are young and developing nicely who will only get better. So with that said I just don't see why we took a deal that was obviously unders for Hogan just because of this so called need for May. Now i get Hogan wanted to go home and would've left next year anyways, i'm not that bummed out about him leaving but i'm bummed out we took such unders for him, we pretty much got less for a generational 23 YO key forward about to hit his prime than Carlton got for a 28 YO Gibbs, hell even Freo got almost as much for Lachie freaking Weller it's madness. Hogan will be kicking 60+ for the next 5-10 years for Freo, there is maybe 2-4 key forwards in the game on his level and he was not expendable trash, you don't just trade generational key forwards for cents on the dollar like that just to put a bandaid on an area that barely needs a bandaid. Freo had the nerve to trade 5 while in the middle of talks on Hogan because they knew we would bend over and we did which was the weakest move of the year. I will agree with you on Kolo, getting KK in the deal is the only reason the deal was ok and he fills more of a need than May does.

So now we've left ourselves very thin up forward in terms of Tall timber, we still only have 2 rucks on our list to go with out 2 key forwards, so if the opportunity arose at the draft to grab a hybrid KPF/ruck type then surely we should've looked at it. B Williams who is EXACTLY that type of player would've been awesome for ruck/KPF depth was there for both our picks and instead we took a guy who wasn't even on mocks. Not to say Jordan won't be good but he surely would've been there with out 3rd pick and we could've addressed a pressing need by grabbing Williams. Overall from my perspective, (and yes I'm aware i'm just a spectator and supporter and am not armed with the same knowledge as those at the club) it just feels like we've made a few blunders and misjudged our list needs. With all that being said I think Preuss and KK will be great additions to the team and I really hope that May surprises me and shows himself to be as elite as everyone keeps saying he is because for this off season to not be a total disaster he has to be elite and one of the best few key defenders in the comp, he has to be a big upgrade on the 3 key defenders we have (Not counting Lever as a KPD as he really is more of a 3rd tall and i think we all know that and a big part of the trade was allowing him to go back to his natural role). I haven't seen anything special from May when i've watched him but obviously a lot of being a good KPD isn't noticed and I also haven't watched tons of GC games.

Anyways, this isn't a melt post i did that after trade week, this is just my opinion and analysis of our off season. I hope i'm proven wrong I really do. I would love nothing more than to rock back in in a year and say hey BTW BF fam, about all that shit i was spouting last off season, can someone please wipe the egg off my face? We're in a good position for a change, it's time for Melbourne to not f k it up this time and from where i'm sitting we're certainly doing our best to f k up our good position.

Sparrow looks alright. Seems like the standard type of player we're going for these days - work rate, wins his own ball, tackling unit, hard at it. Looks to have bit of pace as well.

Jordan looks one-footed and one-dimensional to me. Didn't seem to get anywhere near the goals - would've thought a mid would pop up with the odd shot at goal on his highlight reel. Were a few nice kicks in it but otherwise just looked a relatively neat player.

Nietschke... another utility type.

Hore looks like solid backup for the Pig and maybe Lever.

Bedford has a nice highlights package but doesn't get a lot of ball. Probably fine given the number of inside 50s / long bombs in a typical game.

Kade Chandler - guess our scouts only look at the SANFL, VFL and O&M.

Rubbish Pretendergast never chose midfielders that's why we were in the mess we were in. Taylor is a gun in his profession How dare you question him? Hang your head in shame.
Haha i certainly wasn't comparing the 2, Taylor is a gun, BP was one of the worst there ever has been. But this draft is headscratching and the Jordan pick in particular is just bizarre. Again prove me wrong Melbourne I'll take great joy in being proven wrong. I will hang my head in shame but nothing to do with my posting here :p

Remember we are hoping none of these guys play aside from maybe Hore. They are all in the bottom ten at the club. The goal here is development time.

I would not expect to see any of Sparrow, Jordon, Nichke(?), Bedford or Chandler in 2019, nor Bradtke or Walker. It will only be in a situation where we are 15+ players down that we see them. All of Keilty, TSmith, Maynard, JKH etc get a game before those guys.

Remember we are hoping none of these guys play aside from maybe Hore. They are all in the bottom ten at the club. The goal here is development time.

I would not expect to see any of Sparrow, Jordon, Nichke(?), Bedford or Chandler in 2019, nor Bradtke or Walker. It will only be in a situation where we are 15+ players down that we see them. All of Keilty, TSmith, Maynard, JKH etc get a game before those guys.
Nah, They're all guns. If they don't debut round 1 then they're spuds

In regards to the draft i totally agree, as i said in my post, in Taylor we trust, he hasn't made many mistakes and I have total faith in him nailing picks but I think we missed a key need. I was just a bit surprised by our 2 earlier selections as there were guys on the board who were rated really highly and whom on paper looked like good picks and really good fit in terms of filling what we need. But as you said, J Taylor and his recruiting team are obviously more knowledgeable than the media and they've done a fantastic job so far.

The May trade is the part I don't love, there's been a pretty weird narrative going on around here about how Hogan was surplus to needs and how we we're stacked for key forwards just because Weid played 2 good games. Apart from Weid we have T Mac and um, oh yeah THAT'S IT. Now look at our key back stocks, we have O Mac, Frost, Lever and Petty. (whom the club is very high on and who was highly touted as a junior) So we had 3 very good key forwards and 4 key backs, 3 of which are young and developing nicely who will only get better. So with that said I just don't see why we took a deal that was obviously unders for Hogan just because of this so called need for May. Now i get Hogan wanted to go home and would've left next year anyways, i'm not that bummed out about him leaving but i'm bummed out we took such unders for him, we pretty much got less for a generational 23 YO key forward about to hit his prime than Carlton got for a 28 YO Gibbs, hell even Freo got almost as much for Lachie freaking Weller it's madness. Hogan will be kicking 60+ for the next 5-10 years for Freo, there is maybe 2-4 key forwards in the game on his level and he was not expendable trash, you don't just trade generational key forwards for cents on the dollar like that just to put a bandaid on an area that barely needs a bandaid. Freo had the nerve to trade 5 while in the middle of talks on Hogan because they knew we would bend over and we did which was the weakest move of the year. I will agree with you on Kolo, getting KK in the deal is the only reason the deal was ok and he fills more of a need than May does.

So now we've left ourselves very thin up forward in terms of Tall timber, we still only have 2 rucks on our list to go with out 2 key forwards, so if the opportunity arose at the draft to grab a hybrid KPF/ruck type then surely we should've looked at it. B Williams who is EXACTLY that type of player would've been awesome for ruck/KPF depth was there for both our picks and instead we took a guy who wasn't even on mocks. Not to say Jordan won't be good but he surely would've been there with out 3rd pick and we could've addressed a pressing need by grabbing Williams. Overall from my perspective, (and yes I'm aware i'm just a spectator and supporter and am not armed with the same knowledge as those at the club) it just feels like we've made a few blunders and misjudged our list needs. With all that being said I think Preuss and KK will be great additions to the team and I really hope that May surprises me and shows himself to be as elite as everyone keeps saying he is because for this off season to not be a total disaster he has to be elite and one of the best few key defenders in the comp, he has to be a big upgrade on the 3 key defenders we have (Not counting Lever as a KPD as he really is more of a 3rd tall and i think we all know that and a big part of the trade was allowing him to go back to his natural role). I haven't seen anything special from May when i've watched him but obviously a lot of being a good KPD isn't noticed and I also haven't watched tons of GC games.

Anyways, this isn't a melt post i did that after trade week, this is just my opinion and analysis of our off season. I hope i'm proven wrong I really do. I would love nothing more than to rock back in in a year and say hey BTW BF fam, about all that shit i was spouting last off season, can someone please wipe the egg off my face? We're in a good position for a change, it's time for Melbourne to not f k it up this time and from where i'm sitting we're certainly doing our best to f k up our good position.
Anybody who has watched Hogan play the last few years or shit going on outside footy can tell he wasnt happy and was eventually gonna go home. We never would have let him go if he was truly happy. Hogan asked if we could get a deal done could we get him home we had opportunity to bring in May and Kolo for him yeah we blinked first but i reckon it pays off in the long run when other players start seeing us as other players see Hawks. Drafted players im going with Taylor he is a gun i loved he picked players 'experts' were like wtf over. i reckon our ins are better than our outs. yeah forward line is few injuries away from being short but its better than the backline with our gameplan. Our biggest problem for a few years has been getting monstered by FF thats now not a problem with May he is a gun so can relax on thinking he isnt. we are no where near ****ing this up we've kept all our picks for next year so basically reset after trading out our first for a couple years. got players to develop and got rid of players who had reached their ceiling. I guess some still have that feeling that we are gonna **** this up cause its all we've known for how long.

Few things.
I don't know why people still get confused about the trade deals. We got way more than Carlton got for Gibbs. We got more than Adelaide got for Lever. Hogan was 2 feet out the door desperate to leave. He was a bad influence on the group every year half living in Perth and had we kept him Weid would be ineffectual. Of players around his age I rate Lynch Daniher Darling Brown and Curnow as similar talents at FF. Plus there's Hipwood. Being one of 7 forwards doesn't make you generational.

Who gives a shit about a mid draft rated project ruck. If we had injuries that kid would be so far away from playing AFL anyway. If weid wasn't picked in the side next year we would have lost him.

Maybe we think Petty can play forward. Maybe we will use Preuss and Gawn rotating forward if Tmac is injured.

Collingwoods tall forward options suck ass and they were a kick from the flag. Really makes no difference in September if you have a 19 year old untried reserve forward.

We got way more than Carlton got for Gibbs. We got more than Adelaide got for Lever.

You'd certainly hope so, given Gibbs was a 28 or 29 year old A Grade but not dominating midfielder and Lever an intercept defender with one good season and a growing injury history behind him. No one is confused, some of us just think we rolled over and gave Hogan up cheaply... because we did.

we pretty much got less for a generational 23 YO key forward about to hit his prime than Carlton got for a 28 YO Gibbs

He's not the first to get this so wrong either.

Plus what did you want us to do with Hogan then?
He wanted to leave.
We knew it, Freo knew it.
He had 1 year remaining on his contract.
He has had back issues at a young age and now a navicular injury all of which points to him not exactly playing well past 30.

We dig our heels in an say nah we want more and freo go ok next year it is.

Hogan continues to be hot and cold and destabilizing around the club. Weids development is stalled further as he plays a 3rd tall then reserves off an on as he struggles with a terrible role.
Steven May signs with colligwood as we couldn't get a deal done. We think freo is likely to rise up the ladder next year with Lobb secured and Fyfe getting back to full fitness.

Freo offers us pick 7 and that's it next year, we say no and they say no worries pre season draft it is then. With NO leverage at all we give them Hogan for 7 and 43 and with no good trade options on the table have to take them to the draft. We have now wasted 2 years where we haven't optimised our flag chances as Omac and Frost continue to struggle to find top level consistency.

Given his histoim trusting Taylor to get at least a couple of these picks right. When you head into the 40s onwards it can be a bit of a lucky dip. But Taylor seems to find a few gems.
He said he looked to boost the midfield stocks. Given the amount of actual key forwards taken it seems he wasn’t taking a risk on one he didn’t rate.

once Blakely didnt get bid on in the top 6 they had enough points with their late picks so they traded 24 out knowing that he was going to be bid on b4 that pick and itd be wasted so as soon as someone bid on him they used their later picks they then traded back into the 20s. so if they kept 24 they would have lost it. im not the person to try explain shit hahaha
Ah OK so they key to all of this is the rule that you have to use your best pick when others have bid. Thats why they got rid of their pick 24 after GW$ bid on him. Then after they got him, offered West Coast another 2nd rounder to get back into the 2nd round this year.

That is pretty darn clever if you ask me. Probably a touch unfair and not really what the academy set-up is all about but they are the rules so 'fair' game I guess.

I’ve never heard of any of them so they’re definitely all guns and we won the draft.

I enjoyed the Jack Viney phone video conference hook-up with the draftees on the Melbourne website. Thoroughly pleasing display of blokey inarticulacy by all.

Ah OK so they key to all of this is the rule that you have to use your best pick when others have bid. Thats why they got rid of their pick 24 after GW$ bid on him. Then after they got him, offered West Coast another 2nd rounder to get back into the 2nd round this year.

That is pretty darn clever if you ask me. Probably a touch unfair and not really what the academy set-up is all about but they are the rules so 'fair' game I guess.
they got rid of 24 before the bid came after it didnt come in the first 6 but yeah rest is right.

I’ve never heard of any of them so they’re definitely all guns and we won the draft.

I enjoyed the Jack Viney phone video conference hook-up with the draftees on the Melbourne website. Thoroughly pleasing display of blokey inarticulacy by all.
love how media has already done a who won the draft articles like how the **** does anybody know that yet

Few things.
I don't know why people still get confused about the trade deals. We got way more than Carlton got for Gibbs. We got more than Adelaide got for Lever. Hogan was 2 feet out the door desperate to leave. He was a bad influence on the group every year half living in Perth and had we kept him Weid would be ineffectual. Of players around his age I rate Lynch Daniher Darling Brown and Curnow as similar talents at FF. Plus there's Hipwood. Being one of 7 forwards doesn't make you generational.

Who gives a shit about a mid draft rated project ruck. If we had injuries that kid would be so far away from playing AFL anyway. If weid wasn't picked in the side next year we would have lost him.

Maybe we think Petty can play forward. Maybe we will use Preuss and Gawn rotating forward if Tmac is injured.

Collingwoods tall forward options suck ass and they were a kick from the flag. Really makes no difference in September if you have a 19 year old untried reserve forward.
I really don’t get how people can’t wrap their head around the Hogan trade.

Bloke wanted out, we got a deal done. Based on points, which i know aren’t the be all but are at least it’s objective, showed the Hogan trade as one of the biggest in the last decade.

I really don’t get how people can’t wrap their head around the Hogan trade.

Bloke wanted out, we got a deal done. Based on points, which i know aren’t the be all but are at least it’s objective, showed the Hogan trade as one of the biggest in the last decade.

Because people are happy to get worked up without doing research and it's all over Bigfooty.

Gibbs was 2 first rounders is the one and people hear that and lose their mind because the average fan doesn't understand that pick 1 and 18 are both first rounders yet very different picks.

Carlton got 10 16 and 73 (2017) and 27 ( 2018)

Adelaide got Gibbs 77 (2017) and 19 and 37 ( 2018)

So essentially

16 and 19 cancel each other out
77 and 77 cancel each other out

So it was 10 and 37 for Gibbs and 27

So Gibbs was worth 10 and a 10 pick downgrade.

Not even close to 5 and 23.

love how media has already done a who won the draft articles like how the **** does anybody know that yet
Yeah I was having a bit of a laugh on Thursday night about how everyone is a superstar etc, truth is (and I'm sure most know it, but talk it up for the occasion) so many of those players will either be traded, delisted, or wearing thin the patience of their team in 5 years time.

Looking at the the 2013 Draft ...
1. Tom Boyd - Traded, still only played one good game, luckily a GF
2. Josh Kelly - Star
3. Jack Billings - Inconsistent
4. Marcus Bontempelli - Star
5. Kade Kolodjashnij - Traded
6. Matthew Scharenberg - Injury ravaged ... which he was at the time he was drafted
7. James Aish - Traded, inconsistent/average
8. Luke McDonald - Good without being great
9. Christian Salem - Good without being great
10. Nathan Freeman - Traded and delisted
11. Dom Sheed - Premiership star, but was dropped this year for a few weeks
12. Ben Lennon - Delisted
13. Patrick Cripps - Star
14. Cam McCarthy - Traded, absolute potato
15. Zak Jones - Good without being great
16. Darcy Lang - Traded to Carlton, so basically delisted
17. Michael Apeness - Delisted
18. Luke Dunstan - Fringe player ... for St Kilda ... so ...
19. Blake Acres - As above
20. Jack Leslie - Okish, hard to tell when you're a defender for the Suns

So 3 players out of 20 have lived up to the sort of hype that gets thrown around on Draft night.

He's not the first to get this so wrong either.

Plus what did you want us to do with Hogan then?
He wanted to leave.
We knew it, Freo knew it.
He had 1 year remaining on his contract.
He has had back issues at a young age and now a navicular injury all of which points to him not exactly playing well past 30.

We dig our heels in an say nah we want more and freo go ok next year it is.

Hogan continues to be hot and cold and destabilizing around the club. Weids development is stalled further as he plays a 3rd tall then reserves off an on as he struggles with a terrible role.
Steven May signs with colligwood as we couldn't get a deal done. We think freo is likely to rise up the ladder next year with Lobb secured and Fyfe getting back to full fitness.

Freo offers us pick 7 and that's it next year, we say no and they say no worries pre season draft it is then. With NO leverage at all we give them Hogan for 7 and 43 and with no good trade options on the table have to take them to the draft. We have now wasted 2 years where we haven't optimised our flag chances as Omac and Frost continue to struggle to find top level consistency.

"So wrong"... because having an opinion that we roll over at the negotiating table is clearly wrong?

Hogan can smother himself in gravy and turn up as your Christmas turkey for all I care. Our football department clearly does their homework and have a good gauge of the talent out there, but they can't negotiate for toffee.

Interesting story above. Please paint your picture for next season so I can appreciate your foresight with something that might actually happen.

I just decided to check out the 2012 draft to see what difference that extra year makes to your Lang's, Dunstan's and Acres'

1. Lachie Whitfield - Star
2. Jonathan O'Rourke - Traded, then delisted
3. Lachie Plowman - Traded, solid
4. Jimmy Toumpas - Traded, then delisted without a single pair of jocks not soiled
5. Jake Stringer - Became a star, then a dud, then traded
6. Jack Macrae - Very Good
7. Ollie Wines - Very Good
8. Sam Mayes - Traded
9. Nick Vlastuin - Very Good
10. Joe Daniher - Star, despite shocking head
11. Troy Menzel - Traded then delisted
12. Kristian Jaksch - Traded then delisted
13. Jesse Lonergan - Delisted
14. Aidan Corr - Solid
15. Taylor Garner - Injury prone
16. Jackson Thurlow - Traded
17. Josh Simpson - Delisted
18. Brodie Grundy - Star
19. Ben Kennedy - Traded then delisted
20. Tim Broomhead - Injury prone, but only ever so so
21. Nathan Hrovat - Traded
22. Dean Towers - Delisted
23. Marco Paparone - Delisted.

9/23 delisted, 10/23 traded, 7/23 have actually become best 22 players, and only 3 of them fulfilling the hype and

I just decided to check out the 2012 draft to see what difference that extra year makes to your Lang's, Dunstan's and Acres'

1. Lachie Whitfield - Star
2. Jonathan O'Rourke - Traded, then delisted
3. Lachie Plowman - Traded, solid
4. Jimmy Toumpas - Traded, then delisted without a single pair of jocks not soiled
5. Jake Stringer - Became a star, then a dud, then traded
6. Jack Macrae - Very Good
7. Ollie Wines - Very Good
8. Sam Mayes - Traded
9. Nick Vlastuin - Very Good
10. Joe Daniher - Star, despite shocking head
11. Troy Menzel - Traded then delisted
12. Kristian Jaksch - Traded then delisted
13. Jesse Lonergan - Delisted
14. Aidan Corr - Solid
15. Taylor Garner - Injury prone
16. Jackson Thurlow - Traded
17. Josh Simpson - Delisted
18. Brodie Grundy - Star
19. Ben Kennedy - Traded then delisted
20. Tim Broomhead - Injury prone, but only ever so so
21. Nathan Hrovat - Traded
22. Dean Towers - Delisted
23. Marco Paparone - Delisted.

9/23 delisted, 10/23 traded, 7/23 have actually become best 22 players, and only 3 of them fulfilling the hype and

Would be interesting to filter out some of Silvagni's shocking work at GWS. Their talent accumulation and burn rate is going to skew the stats some, but there's also no saving potatoes like O'Rourke and Jaksch.

Yeah look, it's the draft thread not the trade thread but ill say this. We seem to have had a knack of boxing ourselves in during the last couple of trade periods. Our trading partners have had leaverage over us in key trades. If it continues questions will need to be asked about our strategies.

In isolation we can put a positive spin on each trade (ive done it) but over time we're bleeding picks/pick upgrades. It catches up over time.

The simple fact is teams would have gone harder than us over the last few years, even with Watts. Our starting position was "please take him".

I suspect they tried with Hogan but the lead up and execution was poor.

Regarding our draftees, im underwhelmed but I have nfi anyway. Hoping Taylor hasn't got too cute. We'll see.

List Mgmt. 2018 Draft Thread