List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Personally I hope Carlton go Lukosious and we can pick up Walsh and Smith/Rankine at 2 and 3. Our issue is we can't get it into our forwards. We can have the best forward line in the league but if we can't deliver it in there what is the point. I'm not massive on Causbolt but I can understand why the link would be there. A big forward who can clunk a mark. Just leave him one out in the forward 50, especially with these starting positions and it may not be the worst business. But I would only give a 4th rounder or worse for him, don't want to be using any sort of currency for him.

Hard to split Walsh/Lukosius so under no circumstances am I dealing with the Blues to give something up to move up to #1. Lukosious doesn't need to play key forward initially - he could play the Jake Lever role or you could play him out on a wing, the kid is that mobile.

Casboult would cost absolutely nothing in terms of draft picks - the Blues are flush with key forwards and would be pushing him out the door to get out from the last year of his contract - if we paid his full wage (reported $350k-$400k) they would have to give us a pick.

Whats Walshes and Smiths forward craft like.

What happens to Martin Swallow Ainsworth Bowes Scheer and Brodie if we pick up 2 more gun midfielders.

Ainsworth can push forward as can Martin but the rest are midfielders who dont show much anywhere else on the ground.

For bowes a likely top 5 pick.. he deffinetly isn’t showing it by playing him out of position

What happens to Martin Swallow Ainsworth Bowes Scheer and Brodie if we pick up 2 more gun midfielders.

Ainsworth can push forward as can Martin but the rest are midfielders who dont show much anywhere else on the ground.

For bowes a likely top 5 pick.. he deffinetly isn’t showing it by playing him out of position
I would think that mids would rotate between half back, wing, mid and half forward. I think the KK’s, Lemmens and AChees are the ones likely to find a spot hard to get

I'd like to see Bowes up forward actually
We don't have many that are good finishers around goals. That nice snap in the Carlton game showed that maybe he has that skill.
Nothing to lose the rest of this year.

I'd say Martin is made for high forward / wing as long as a couple of bulls are getting the ball out to him. Ainsworth in the forward pocket at this point. Swallow stay in the middle with Brodie and (hopefully) two new guns. Bowes is a question mark as is Scheer I'd think, Certainly don't want Bowes down back - maybe another tough forward pocket as per Richmond.

Totally agree - maybe KK goes back to take Rischa's spot in defence but Lemmens will find it difficult to hold a spot and I've said elsewhere Ah Chee might be a good trade bait player back to WA in a swap with a harder nut if there is one over there looking for a move.

Always an interesting time of year for clubs that will not be participating in finals.

Strong believer the most important person at an AFL club is your List Manager , look at Wells (Geelong) Wright (Haw) they have that ability to
find those diamonds in the draft. Maybe it is the extra resources or genuine gift not sure.
We are in a position where it is likely we will have possibly 7 picks in the first 35 we need to utilize these picks to our fullest advantage.
Tough decisions will have to be made to make enough spots available.
Lynch -gone
Hall - gone another pick possibly future
Barlow - retired
Rosa -retired
Rischitelli - retired - grand warrior but got nothing left to offer
Lonergan ?
Leslie ?
KK ?
Willis Delist
Wigg ? Not sure of contract status.

Reckon only academy player we choose in those early picks will be Bailey Scott if he chooses us.
Others academy late picks or rookie.
even rookie list will need changes to open a couple of spots.
Heron Macpherson Dawson all similar players cannot see us keeping them all.
Maybe the AFL will grant us a couple of extra spots to help us retain our local boys.
Above all we must make changes to improve our list.

I'd say Martin is made for high forward / wing as long as a couple of bulls are getting the ball out to him. Ainsworth in the forward pocket at this point. Swallow stay in the middle with Brodie and (hopefully) two new guns. Bowes is a question mark as is Scheer I'd think, Certainly don't want Bowes down back - maybe another tough forward pocket as per Richmond.
With additional 4-5 kg over preseason I foresee Bowes running more through midfield or spend more time on flank. Fiorini will be a regular midfielder too. I don't think midfielders we draft will spend a lot of time inside while developing bodies. As much as I like Walsh he is only 68 kg or 74kg depending on reports. If we draft him he will probably plays all over the place first year, probably like Bowes.

What would Gold Coast give up to get Jake Kolodjashnij? Would Geelong take pick 20 the assumed priority pick?

Would seem a good policy to try and get brothers together, could add to this with the King brothers in the draft and change the ethos of the club to the being the family club.

What would Gold Coast give up to get Jake Kolodjashnij? Would Geelong take pick 20 the assumed priority pick?

Would seem a good policy to try and get brothers together, could add to this with the King brothers in the draft and change the ethos of the club to the being the family club.
I suspect we'd take any senior player who wants to come to us at this stage & be happy to pay overs for them as well. We can't keep fielding a team full of Under 21's like last weekend. I could easily see us spending pick 20 on Jake Kolodjashnij if he wants to join us. If he does want to join us though, last year would have been easier, when he was out of contract & Ablett was going to Geelong.

Maybe the AFL will grant us a couple of extra spots to help us retain our local boys.
Above all we must make changes to improve our list.

We need extra spots to use the draft picks we have already collected

Only top 10 picks on opening night - only take 40 mins to do that followed by 2 hrs of interviews

Sorry if this has already been discussed but Cal Twomeys road to the draft podcast talks about us taking Lukosius and Rankine at 2-3 as they know each other very well, seems to make sense. I haven't watched either play so I am in no position to comment but Lukosius at 194cms seems short for a key forward (his he quick , athletic, big tank???), would we be happy with these two picks?

Also if we get another win and pass the Lions and Saints we would have 4-5, would we then go for the King twins? I hope we don't as obviously they will take time to develop and are Vic Metro boys but you need to take the best available and this seems likely if we fall to these picks.

You'd wonder how many clubs would be interested in pick trading with you guys. If (when) you get Pick 3 for Lynch and an end of 1st round compo, there are a lot of picks. Following the GWS model of quality over quantity in the last few years, you may be able to turn 3 of the late first/early second round picks into a top 10 pick.

Not that you guys probably want to deal with them due to the Weller trade, but I'd imagine Freo, (given their lack of early picks) could be interested in Pick 6 for 16, 20 and 28/29. Still keeps them ahead of the Eagles for picks and trade currency if Tim Kelly was available.

Essendon or Bullies might be the other two clubs who would be interested.

Just a thought anyway provided you (like us) are unable to attract any big names.

You'd wonder how many clubs would be interested in pick trading with you guys. If (when) you get Pick 3 for Lynch and an end of 1st round compo, there are a lot of picks. Following the GWS model of quality over quantity in the last few years, you may be able to turn 3 of the late first/early second round picks into a top 10 pick.

Not that you guys probably want to deal with them due to the Weller trade, but I'd imagine Freo, (given their lack of early picks) could be interested in Pick 6 for 16, 20 and 28/29. Still keeps them ahead of the Eagles for picks and trade currency if Tim Kelly was available.

Essendon or Bullies might be the other two clubs who would be interested.

Just a thought anyway provided you (like us) are unable to attract any big names.

You would hope Freo would be generous after the Weller trade, I think we would want something late back to help us with our academy players

Draft trading is from trade week right up until draft and on draft night/day.

Only top 10 picks on opening night - only take 40 mins to do that followed by 2 hrs of interviews

I heard on fox footy its the entire 1st round is selected in the thursday night.

Sorry if this has already been discussed but Cal Twomeys road to the draft podcast talks about us taking Lukosius and Rankine at 2-3 as they know each other very well, seems to make sense. I haven't watched either play so I am in no position to comment but Lukosius at 194cms seems short for a key forward (his he quick , athletic, big tank???), would we be happy with these two picks?

Also if we get another win and pass the Lions and Saints we would have 4-5, would we then go for the King twins? I hope we don't as obviously they will take time to develop and are Vic Metro boys but you need to take the best available and this seems likely if we fall to these picks.
Lukosious is a very athletic running forward would play roaming up the ground and CHF.
Rankine is a classy small forward/mid 17er has likened him to a akermanis type player. Both would be superstars and packaging them up would help eliminate go home factor.

If we go 4/5 king brothers is the logical choice but bailey smith isnt too far behind walsh as an impact mid however you wouldnt want to take just 1 king twin as its almost a guarantee he'll request a trade back.

Martin should be played forward. If we had a competitive midfield I don't think he'd be in there very often.
Walsh more of a wing anyway. Strong runner with good speed but he's more outside than inside at the moment. Still only 74kgs
Ainsworth/bowes would likely be on a mid/fwd rotation. Swallow and Brodie always in the middle.

Would look a little like

FB: Kolodjashnij Thompson Harbrow
HB: Scrimshaw May Weller
C: Walsh Brodie Fiorini
HF: Martin Wright Bowes
FF: Macpherson Crossley Ah Chee
R: Witts Swallow Ainsworth

IC: Day, Lyons, Hanley, Miller
E: Scheer/Dawson/Joyce/Powell

Mark Stevens saying North Melbourne are heavily into Aaron Hall.
So what players could we get from them ? ( don't need another draft picks - have heaps).
Suggestions ??