List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

The story goes according to the media flogs in Melbourne is that Hawthorn have offered him 1 year, but are encouraging him to look and see if he can get a better deal for himself. Though if Hawthorn miss on Lynch they may want to offer him the 2 years.
Actually I think he has one year left on an existing contract but they are intimating he should consider options because they wont be offering him another year, would not surprise me to see him here next year

Good to see my accuracy of the facts matches the media type boffons.

I hope I’m wrong but heard that Bailey Scott is leaning towards Geelong.

Graham and Koenan are worth pick 50-60 or rookie spots and I’d put Kwaby Boakye as a cat b rookie as I reckon he has serious upside.

Scott would be better off picking us where he could get games faster, get drastically overpaid, and leave to a club in contention of his choice by the time he’s 21. :(

I haven’t heard much about Hall? IMO a fit Hall is definitely what we need,think we should keep him or Trade?

Hi guys just so we know, i’m going to start comibg down in people not following the rules of copyright/plagiarism

If an article can not be accessed die to a paywall it’s for a reason. You should all know the rules by now.

Posting links and a BRIEF run down of what the article is about is ok

Copy and pasting entire articles is not
For what it’s worth, I can usually access paywalled links on my phone that are blocked on my computer.

Guys, wanting informed opinions on Tom Bell I though he was a big tough bastard when he started at The Lions and is now delisted what is the current issue with him?
Bad user of the ball and really just a bit ordinary as a player - never really came close to his 2015 form at Carlton. If you need depth/a senior body to help protect kids he might be good for a year or two - but he really shouldn't be playing regularly for any AFL team. If you're going to look at any of our delistings I'd recommended Jake Barrett who was a little bit of a surprise - I'd have kept him for another year but mainly because we could have kept him on the rookie list rather than take up a valuable senior spot for another year still.

If all this talk around May is legitimate we have to hold May to his contract, there is no way known we will get a similar quality player back or a top 5 pick this year as he is going to want to join a top club if he leaves. Next year we will be getting minimum a top 5 pick through free agency.

He's getting out of Dodge

Plenty of talk on their board of us handing over pick 2 and I can’t blame them as we all want a win for our clubs but there’s not even a hint of any interest coming from our club. He’s.going to Carlton and even if he wasn’t we would be talking about hen Eagles pick we have not 2 or3
You guys should be holding pick 2 and 3 unless Adelaide or Port come to you with a God Father offer. Adelaide would have to offer up someone like M Crouch or Sloane plus picks.

If all this talk around May is legitimate we have to hold May to his contract, there is no way known we will get a similar quality player back or a top 5 pick this year as he is going to want to join a top club if he leaves. Next year we will be getting minimum a top 5 pick through free agency.

I hate to see him go but now is the time for a fire sale - we need to amputate the rot out of this team, and anyone not committed enough to extend their contracts now should be sold off.

We can’t have another year of major players sulking around the ground and meeting with clubs mid-season - it has to stop at all costs.

I hate to see him go but now is the time for a fire sale - we need to amputate the rot out of this team, and anyone not committed enough to extend their contracts now should be sold off.

We can’t have another year of major players sulking around the ground and meeting with clubs mid-season - it has to stop at all costs.
If we could get quality players back I would say yes but we can't have half team draftees.

If we let May leave with no real solid remuneration it will hurt our performances next year which will create a much much bigger issue with a hell of a lot of good players coming off contract at the end of next season. We need to show improvement next year for a lot of them to stay I’d say otherwise we could have another mass exodus

If we could get quality players back I would say yes but we can't have half team draftees.
Depend on how you want to pick the team , you can pick up Hugh Goddard , Brendon goddard (I Myself dont want him but use as an eg) and Kieran Collins (DFA) as temporary replacement ,

As I said, if we get can quality mature players who will be best 22 - yes. Brendon Goddard - big no for me personally.

Where did you hear about Scott "leaning towards Geelong"? Cal Twomey said he thought the Suns were frontrunners but not home yet. Local sources say the family is keen on him staying on the Gold Coast.

Dirk Koenen will probably attract a bid in the 3rd, which is actually good for the Suns because they can easily match it with late picks. To prepare for the possibility of Caleb Graham going at around the same time, it will mean the Suns Draft picks will need to be rearranged. The wisest move would be for the Suns to go into the Draft knowing exactly how many draft picks they are going to need to pick their Top 30 - then trade out of the second and third rounds entirely. Say the Suns lined up 4 or 5 picks in the 60s, worth about 500 points, then Koenen was bid on at #45 and Graham at #50, with the 20% discount those bids could easily be matched. Those are high bids, but even then still cheap considering the merchandise.

The beauty of live trading is that if a club is done drafting in the 3rd round and still has picks on the board, those picks can be traded for future picks. If the Suns go in with as many picks as predicted, they will trade up as much as possible, but may also choose to trade back and into next year's draft. While we don't want to see a repeat of the West Coast pick disaster, trading for a future 2nd or 3rd isn't anywhere near a risky. There are a LOT of clubs with a low number of draft picks and the Suns will be the prettiest girl at the dance.

As for Academy talent, if I was Craig Cameron I would elevate Heron and Dawson to Category A Rookies and draft in three local guys. Emmanuel Baru, Brodie Foster and Kwaby Boakye would be at the top of my list because they are all 19 and have served long apprenticeships. Harry Simington and Timakoi Bowie are two other 19 yos you'd have to consider. There are a couple of decent 18 yos too, like Lachlan McDonald, Matthew Smith and Matthew Conroy, but as they are unlikely to be drafted by another club, they will benefit from as season as topagers and give themselves every chance of being picked up second time around. In fact, this is something that the Suns can use to their advantage because it raises the average player age on the senior list while players who would have been playing NEAFL anyway can get an extra year in the Academy after which other clubs aren't particularly interested.

Where did you hear about Scott "leaning towards Geelong"? Cal Twomey said he thought the Suns were frontrunners but not home yet. Local sources say the family is keen on him staying on the Gold Coast.

Dirk Koenen will probably attract a bid in the 3rd, which is actually good for the Suns because they can easily match it with late picks. To prepare for the possibility of Caleb Graham going at around the same time, it will mean the Suns Draft picks will need to be rearranged. The wisest move would be for the Suns to go into the Draft knowing exactly how many draft picks they are going to need to pick their Top 30 - then trade out of the second and third rounds entirely. Say the Suns lined up 4 or 5 picks in the 60s, worth about 500 points, then Koenen was bid on at #45 and Graham at #50, with the 20% discount those bids could easily be matched. Those are high bids, but even then still cheap considering the merchandise.

The beauty of live trading is that if a club is done drafting in the 3rd round and still has picks on the board, those picks can be traded for future picks. If the Suns go in with as many picks as predicted, they will trade up as much as possible, but may also choose to trade back and into next year's draft. While we don't want to see a repeat of the West Coast pick disaster, trading for a future 2nd or 3rd isn't anywhere near a risky. There are a LOT of clubs with a low number of draft picks and the Suns will be the prettiest girl at the dance.

As for Academy talent, if I was Craig Cameron I would elevate Heron and Dawson to Category A Rookies and draft in three local guys. Emmanuel Baru, Brodie Foster and Kwaby Boakye would be at the top of my list because they are all 19 and have served long apprenticeships. Harry Simington and Timakoi Bowie are two other 19 yos you'd have to consider. There are a couple of decent 18 yos too, like Lachlan McDonald, Matthew Smith and Matthew Conroy, but as they are unlikely to be drafted by another club, they will benefit from as season as topagers and give themselves every chance of being picked up second time around. In fact, this is something that the Suns can use to their advantage because it raises the average player age on the senior list while players who would have been playing NEAFL anyway can get an extra year in the Academy after which other clubs aren't particularly interested.
I've been told his parents what him to experience AFL bubble in Melbourne.

As I said, if we get can quality mature players who will be best 22 - yes. Brendon Goddard - big no for me personally.
If May Gone - his position can be replace by Sam Day , Sam Day forward position will be vacate for Crossley .

B- Joyce Thompson Harbrow
HB- Ah Chee Sam Day Scrimshaw /Wigg / ballard Hebron/Leslie /potential in - Sam Collins ,Koenan ,Graham etc
C- Martin Swallow L Weller ( Potential in - Miles , Marlion Pickett )
HF - N Holman B Crossley Sexton
F - B sheer , Bowes , Young ( Potential in Lukosius, Rankine )
Follower Witts Florini Miller
Interchange :Lemmann/McPherson , J Lyons ,Risca , Dawson /Nutting .
potential in (DFA , Mature age , Academy players , players that are best 25 in other teams that want to come (eg Ellis ,Llyod ).

If May Gone - his position can be replace by Sam Day , Sam Day forward position will be vacate for Crossley .

HB- Ah Chee Sam Day Scrimshaw /Wigg / ballard Hebron/Leslie /potential in - Sam Collins ,Koenan ,Graham etc
potential in (DFA , Mature age , Academy players , players that are best 25 in other teams that want to come (eg Ellis ,Llyod ).
That forward line is all over the shop mate.

More likely to be

HF: Martin - Wright - Sexton
FF: Ainsworth - Crossley - Macpherson

I reckon Brodie can slot in there somewhere as well.

That forward line is all over the shop mate.

More likely to be

HF: Martin - Wright - Sexton
FF: Ainsworth - Crossley - Macpherson
Agree , getting sloppy towards the end . Just show that Injuries management are very important , Wright , Martin , Ainsworth , MacPherson all absent towards the end of the season . You can have your best 22 but hardly all of them play together , Prestia only play 12 games this year , but he is been Managed well to be available for finals series .