List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

If GC keep pick 2 and get LDu and Weller stay in Fremantle and play ok , will GC still need to let go of pick 5 this year . Nobody know how Weller will perform at Freo if he stayed there .

Have you ever here of the saying ‘don’t mention the war”, well for the Suns it’s don’t mention the Weller trade, now shhh before the blitzkreig begins

Andy otten
Kane Williamson
Josh Thomas
Brayden sier
Josh begley
Billy stretch
Aaron vandenburg
Brandon Ellis
Jacob Townsend
Shari Bolton
Sam Lloyd
Rowan Marshall
Nic Newman
Dahlhaus
Wallis

Don’t know any contract details and not a massive fan of all of these guys but thinking they are some of the crop we could throw out a small offer to.

Not many getting consistent games.

Will take any player who has played a meaningful role in a team that finishes top 8.

Plenty of room in our team for any type of player that has done that.

The problem can't be fix in one draft and trade period because some players actually contracted , I hope people don't try to fix one big problem in one go . Let kids and list clogger play the season out .

Pardon the intrusion, but couldn't help noting that people seem to be recommending a GWS style build. Not sure why. GC aren't a start up club and GWS have won nothing while leaking just as hard as GC.

You want sustained success?

Hire from the two clubs with the best recent sustained success.

Guess what? In Evans and Dew, GC has done precisely that. Including a guy in Dew who knows all about retaining players in a non footy state. Something the Swans have been incredible at....unlike GWS.

These guys aren't mugs. One of the first things Evans did was axe Clayton who was the root cause of GC''s plight. Clayton is the only recruiter who could challenge SOS for burning first rd picks.

So IMO your off field key posts are in place.

Some thoughts:

- Lynch goes and that isn't the end of the world
- You finish bottom 3 in a superdraft. Get a comp pick for Lynch. Get a priority pick for being f&cked. 3 top 5 picks in a superdraft. Look out.
- Bugger recruiting one year players like McVeigh. Get fair dinkum and recruit high character proven youngish players with leadership from clubs experiencing recent success. Sadly close to one on my list would be Mitch Wallis. Gettable. Id go after Jong from the Dogs as well. High character who is an ordinary user but a big body to help the youth.
- trade a top 5 pick to Hawthorn and see what you can get. Bruest or Gunston (offer his old man a job like Scully but a real job)
- if rumours true, Syd may need to clear cap - go after Rampe hard, go after their head of development as well.

Anyway, some thoughts.

Pardon the intrusion, bit couldn't helo noting that people seem to be recommending a GWS style build. Not sure why. GC aren't a start up club and GWS have won nothing while leaking just as hard as GC.
You made some good points. Off field the pillars are in place after the errors of previous regime.
We aren't a start up club and we have a lot more pieces in place than a start up club with Lynch, May, Martin, Thompson, Wright, Miller, Ainsworth etc. But we've been torn a new one by clubs that have quality midfields and depth in their midfield. We also have a list that has an extraordinary amount of guys who can't kick the ball.
We need to hit the draft hard for AFL midfielders who have endurance and have the skill. One of those traits alone is not enough. Extra cap space and list numbers will benefit that process and still allow us to be remotely competitive. It's a slow burn but it has to be done correctly. The list cloggers can't keep coming here and making us continually poor.
Wallis yes, Long maybe, McVeigh maybe, Rampe no. We have sufficient tells, we need midfielders and lots of them. The right ones.

Pardon the intrusion, but couldn't help noting that people seem to be recommending a GWS style build. Not sure why. GC aren't a start up club and GWS have won nothing while leaking just as hard as GC.

You want sustained success?

Hire from the two clubs with the best recent sustained success.

Guess what? In Evans and Dew, GC has done precisely that. Including a guy in Dew who knows all about retaining players in a non footy state. Something the Swans have been incredible at....unlike GWS.

These guys aren't mugs. One of the first things Evans did was axe Clayton who was the root cause of GC''s plight. Clayton is the only recruiter who could challenge SOS for burning first rd picks.

So IMO your off field key posts are in place.

Some thoughts:

- Lynch goes and that isn't the end of the world
- You finish bottom 3 in a superdraft. Get a comp pick for Lynch. Get a priority pick for being f&cked. 3 top 5 picks in a superdraft. Look out.
- Bugger recruiting one year players like McVeigh. Get fair dinkum and recruit high character proven youngish players with leadership from clubs experiencing recent success. Sadly close to one on my list would be Mitch Wallis. Gettable. Id go after Jong from the Dogs as well. High character who is an ordinary user but a big body to help the youth.
- trade a top 5 pick to Hawthorn and see what you can get. Bruest or Gunston (offer his old man a job like Scully but a real job)
- if rumours true, Syd may need to clear cap - go after Rampe hard, go after their head of development as well.

Anyway, some thoughts.
How this losing combo pick if you get another free agency work ?

Diliuted. If you get comp for Lynch you'd have to trade in FAs. So get the Pies to cough up their 19 first rd for say Hall (really Lynch) and on trade that to the Dogs for Wallis (overpaying slightly but disincentivises Dogs to retain)

Was just thinking some more. Lose Lynch to the Pies. Allow him to go via RFA. That is a massive free kick for the Pies and could give McGuire a legacy flag. In return I'd be getting him to lobby on your behalf.

For instance, for five years, no soft (admin) cap plus AFL grants for Northern state clubs not making the eight for five years running. So Brissie and GC can spend what they want off field to get their shit together (no soup for Syd or Gws).

Diliuted. If you get comp for Lynch you'd have to trade in FAs. So get the Pies to cough up their 19 first rd for say Hall (really Lynch) and on trade that to the Dogs for Wallis (overpaying slightly but disincentivises Dogs to retain)

Was just thinking some more. Lose Lynch to the Pies. Allow him to go via RFA. That is a massive free kick for the Pies and could give McGuire a legacy flag. In return I'd be getting him to lobby on your behalf.

For instance, for five years, no soft (admin) cap plus AFL grants for Northern state clubs not making the eight for five years running. So Brissie and GC can spend what they want off field to get their shit together (no soup for Syd or Gws).
Too much of third party involve like McGuire , look very political , promise every thing and give you nothing when they get to their position .

Will take any player who has played a meaningful role in a team that finishes top 8.

Plenty of room in our team for any type of player that has done that.
Josh Thomas is a Gold Coast boy. In red hot form in a team currently inside the 8. 20 goals as a smallish half forward / mid and still only 26. Surely we can coax him away with extra $$$ than what Collingwood can afford.

Too much of third party involve like McGuire , look very political , promise every thing and give you nothing when they get to their position .

Before trade period, there is nearly four months of the national footy show and Mcguire's daily top rating brekkie show in which McGuire can highlight the plight of QLD footy and call for additional comp like priority picks and more funding...make him earn Lynch.:rainbow:

Andy otten
Kane Williamson
Josh Thomas
Brayden sier
Josh begley
Billy stretch
Aaron vandenburg
Brandon Ellis
Jacob Townsend
Shari Bolton
Sam Lloyd
Rowan Marshall
Nic Newman
Dahlhaus
Wallis

Don’t know any contract details and not a massive fan of all of these guys but thinking they are some of the crop we could throw out a small offer to.

Not many getting consistent games.
Brandon Ellis - Contracted 2019 - Pick Range #15-#25
Jacob Townsend - Out of contract this year -Pick Range #35-#50
Shari Bolton - Its Shai But also out of contract - Pick Range #15-#20
Sam Lloyd - Out Of Contract - Free to good home
Anthony Miles - Out of Contract - Free to good home

Jacob Townsend
- Out of contract this year -Pick Range #35-#50
Shari Bolton
- Its Shai But also out of contract - Pick Range #15-#20
Sam Lloyd
- Out Of Contract - Free to good home
Anthony Miles -
Out of Contract - Free to good home

Here we go again...
Must be getting a cut on the transfer fees or something ..?

Jacob Townsend
Shari Bolton
Sam Lloyd
Anthony Miles -
Sorry , getting tired of fantasy trade , maybe after a win against St Kilda will try to reply .

Just replying to the suns supporter about their contracts and rough value to Richmond

Thanks for a reasonable answer from a list of players to look at.
Bolton on the money, still has a lot of potential as a 20 yo. Would not come cheap. But we would probably be better off going to the draft with a pick in that range.

We are kinda stuck, tbh.

What we need most of all are really good players. Realistically, the only way we will get them in the next few off-seasons is to draft and develop them.

Need to take as many swings at that as possible. If we take on players that are fringe best 22 elsewhere just to lift up our current team, we reduce the number of swings (list spots) we can take.

Got to be super careful in the fringe best 22 market, which is where I would put players like Miles and Ellis.

We took on Lyons and Witts and they have generally played better than fringe best 22 in a good size. But most examples of that type of player don't improve and end up clogging the list. The Lions took on Bastinac, Josh Walker and Tom Bell as mature players and they all had deals that went at least 1 year too long. For us, I think Rosa has had 1 year too many and he cost a 2nd rounder.

I think we would be better off taking a veteran runner on a 1 year rookie deal (eg Sam Gibson this year) than have to give a 3 year deal to fringe player that is a decent chance to only be a fringe player for us, especially in 2 or 3 years.

You can find veterans with great work ethic and leadership without giving up 2nd round picks and 3 year deals, which is what we did with Rosa and what we would have to do for someone like Ellis. Use the 2nd rounder and take a veteran with a rookie pick. Please!!

Can we steal geelongs recruiting manager already.

Menegola pick 66
Tim kelly pick 24
Mark bilcavs pick 54 rookie draft
Harry taylor pick 17
Tom stewart pick 40

All mature aged talent.

Not to mention the duncans and guthries all second rd or later picks.

Prob find only 2-3 first rd picks on the Cats list.

We have about 5 in the NEAFL
FML

Jacob Townsend
Shari Bolton
Sam Lloyd
Anthony Miles -
I don't think you wold get anywhere near 15 - 20 for Shai Bolton. Pick 29 from 2 years ago and has only played 8 games most of which were poor. early to late 30's maybe.
Brandon Ellis the same. Has been dropped a few times this season alone. likely 20 - 30
Townsend for a pick in the 35 - 50 range would be a steal though imo

Can we steal geelongs recruiting manager already.

Menegola pick 66
Tim kelly pick 24
Mark bilcavs pick 54 rookie draft
Harry taylor pick 17
Tom stewart pick 40

All mature aged talent.

Not to mention the duncans and guthries all second rd or later picks.

Prob find only 2-3 first rd picks on the Cats list.

We have about 5 in the NEAFL
FML

Ben..

Yes we have done well with some late picks and there are others ..like SavRat (not sure if you saw much of him before he got injured but he was promising for a young KPF picked at p40 something) , Henry who although a local kid was a Rookie pick etc.

They are not all the same..some from wafl , some from local GFL etc. but to balance that we have misses and sometimes with early talent. Sometimes with R1 picks.. Guys like Smedts , Mitch Brown and going back a bit Tenace. Lang has been moved on and perhaps Thurlow will look at options at years end. R1's vary from year to year ..but we have not had a pick earlier than 7 in 12 years so.. the backend of R1 can be very different year to year..

Elite talent alone will not work. The comp is too hard. My underlying belief is you don't set a club up to be a strong side to win a flag , you set a club up to be a strong club. In a way its the adage about feed a man fish or teaching him to fish. High on any AFL agenda at the start should have been developing and maintaining whatever talent you had. Facilities , personnel off field etc.. and once up and going keep adding to it. Listening to TonyC yesterday you have good facilities now so thats good.

Stephen Wells and his team has been trying to fight the equalisation system for a long time finding bargains late ...but its the system they are put in as much as who we have picked. And some luck of course.. Father Sons are luck more than planning but then you develop them and hopefully you get a player. Bews was taken a while for example and was no R1 but looks a good solid player now. Simpson is in development taken as a rookie. We have Brownless at years end prob a late pick ..(Scott will probably go to GoldCoast).