List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Both Dahlhaus and Wallis would be great pick ups both are in the right age bracket and both are goal kicking midfielders just what we need and don't have to trade for them

You must be thinking of yesteryear mate.
Dahlhaus has kicked 2 goals this year.
Last year he kicked 13 in 22 games which is not exactly beams-like

Thats highly excessive and I'm not usually one to be against overpaying to recruit players. That can't be true.

Also I'm kind of half pregnant on Wallis. I'm not sure he is a solid fix to any of our iasues but if it's not a costly acquisition it's worthwhile. I feel like I struggle to get a consistent read on where he's at and what he provides.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
If Lynch does go to Richmond Lambert is one of players to ask the question. At the moment excessive offers is the only way to attract players. We got plenty money to burn.

Does anyone know how many years Fyfe has left on his contract with Freo. Doesn't seem to be as fixated on the glory and profile ...or the money and he'd dig the surf up here for a few years and then go home to the farm. We need a fish like him or Kennedy (SYD), Viney (MEL) that will take a lot of loot....if Lynch goes, we have it. Might not be 2019 but we should be going fishing with a big lure!

Fyfe signed a 6 year deal last year, so will be at Freo until end of 2023

On ZTE T84 using BigFooty.com mobile app

You must be thinking of yesteryear mate.
Dahlhaus has kicked 2 goals this year.
Last year he kicked 13 in 22 games which is not exactly beams-like
who's comparing him to beams haha that's just silly.
Beams has only kicked 13 goals in 16 games nothing special anyway.

And noticed you conveniently left out Wallis who's kicked 16 goals that would have him 4th on our goal kicking ladder

who's comparing him to beams haha that's just silly.
Beams has only kicked 13 goals in 16 games nothing special anyway.

And noticed you conveniently left out Wallis who's kicked 16 goals that would have him 4th on our goal kicking ladder

You called them both 'goal kicking mids'
I was highlighting the fact that Dahlhaus has not been that.
Clearly my omission of Wallis indicates that I don't have an issue with his inclusion within that statement. Although, I haven't watched a ton of the bulldogs games this year I think he has been playing true forward a fair bit.

I suggested Beams (averaging a goal a game for his career and 4 goals every 5 games this year - I'd say pretty good) as a true goal kicking mid
I could have said Dusty, Danger, Zorko, Parker, Menegola
Wouldn't say that Dahlhaus is in the goal kicking calibre of any of those

I do agree with you that goal kicking mids are something that we need. Although you could question how much of it is a product of winning games.

Lyons - does ok but not this year
Miller - not the type
Ainsworth - has potential to be
Brodie - unlikely
Fiorini - should be with more continuity
Weller - should do more

Let's remember that this time last year we had no idea Young, Holman and Weller were coming and they have played all 18 games so far. We also don't win against Sydney without them. Point is who ever we pick up this trade period, we probably don't even know about them yet.

You called them both 'goal kicking mids'
I was highlighting the fact that Dahlhaus has not been that.
Clearly my omission of Wallis indicates that I don't have an issue with his inclusion within that statement. Although, I haven't watched a ton of the bulldogs games this year I think he has been playing true forward a fair bit.

I suggested Beams (averaging a goal a game for his career and 4 goals every 5 games this year - I'd say pretty good) as a true goal kicking mid
I could have said Dusty, Danger, Zorko, Parker, Menegola
Wouldn't say that Dahlhaus is in the goal kicking calibre of any of those

I do agree with you that goal kicking mids are something that we need. Although you could question how much of it is a product of winning games.

Lyons - does ok but not this year
Miller - not the type
Ainsworth - has potential to be
Brodie - unlikely
Fiorini - should be with more continuity
Weller - should do more
You have to kick 300+ goals a season to be contenders, 350+ to have a chance of top 4. Where are these goals going to come from? It is fair to say you would expect the forward line to kick a decent proportion of the goals, probably somewhere in the neighbourhood of 200 goals. We aren't remotely close to 200 with our best 6 but could be at around 100 by year's end if recent form continues. Having Lynch, Day and Wright out for significant parts of the season has severely dented our chances of kicking winning scores, but there are encouraging signs from the goal a game flankers and forward pockets, Young, Holman, Sexton etc and I reckon we have midfielders who can step up to those kind of numbers.

Gary Ablett is a "goal-kicking midfielder" and he only averages a goal a game, so that should be the metric. Jack Martin averages close to a goal and Brayden Fiorini has it in him too. Lachie Weller rarely gets into forward 50, but with increased opportunities he could also become more prolific on the scoreboard. Jarryd Lyons can kick a goal a match, but we aren't going to get much more than 50% accuracy out of him. Touk Miller may not kick a tonne of goals, but he is one of the leaders for goal assists. Brodie and Ainsworth don't have a big enough sample size and you can say the same for Bowes even though he could be an amazing goal-scoring winger/half-forward flanker.

One you missed is Jesse Lonergan, who a lot of people love to hang shit on but is actually one the quiet achievers in terms of kicking a winning score. Over the past 83 games the Suns have played, Lonergan has played 45 and yet he's been in 12 wins and a draw in that time with the Suns only managing 7 wins in the 38 games without him. This year, Jesse has played 3 games for 2 wins and a loss, going for a 75% win rate today. I'm not saying we lose because he's out, just saying we're better when he's in.

Speculate about free agents all day and night, but don't sell the players on our list short. There are far more answers on our list to be found for our deficiencies which are currently hampered by two things: youth and injury. Next year, with another preseason and some alterations to the list, this team will be again at full fitness and this time that year older so we can truly see what some of these kids can do.

You have to kick 300+ goals a season to be contenders, 350+ to have a chance of top 4. Where are these goals going to come from? It is fair to say you would expect the forward line to kick a decent proportion of the goals, probably somewhere in the neighbourhood of 200 goals. We aren't remotely close to 200 with our best 6 but could be at around 100 by year's end if recent form continues. Having Lynch, Day and Wright out for significant parts of the season has severely dented our chances of kicking winning scores, but there are encouraging signs from the goal a game flankers and forward pockets, Young, Holman, Sexton etc and I reckon we have midfielders who can step up to those kind of numbers.

Gary Ablett is a "goal-kicking midfielder" and he only averages a goal a game, so that should be the metric. Jack Martin averages close to a goal and Brayden Fiorini has it in him too. Lachie Weller rarely gets into forward 50, but with increased opportunities he could also become more prolific on the scoreboard. Jarryd Lyons can kick a goal a match, but we aren't going to get much more than 50% accuracy out of him. Touk Miller may not kick a tonne of goals, but he is one of the leaders for goal assists. Brodie and Ainsworth don't have a big enough sample size and you can say the same for Bowes even though he could be an amazing goal-scoring winger/half-forward flanker.

One you missed is Jesse Lonergan, who a lot of people love to hang shit on but is actually one the quiet achievers in terms of kicking a winning score. Over the past 83 games the Suns have played, Lonergan has played 45 and yet he's been in 12 wins and a draw in that time with the Suns only managing 7 wins in the 38 games without him. This year, Jesse has played 3 games for 2 wins and a loss, going for a 75% win rate today. I'm not saying we lose because he's out, just saying we're better when he's in.

Speculate about free agents all day and night, but don't sell the players on our list short. There are far more answers on our list to be found for our deficiencies which are currently hampered by two things: youth and injury. Next year, with another preseason and some alterations to the list, this team will be again at full fitness and this time that year older so we can truly see what some of these kids can do.

I'm not sure I was selling our mids short.

I would say goal scoring mids are 15+ goals a season.. so at least 0.75 goals a match.

I said above that Fiorini and Lyons have that in them but continuity has stifled Fiorini and Lyons hasn't had the opportunity to play any fwd line minutes (where he is quite good) as he is required full time inside mid at the moment.

Weller could get there but hasn't looked like doing it consistently so far, same with Ainsworth after he went into the middle.

Don't think Miller, Brodie, Swallow are those types of players

I didn't mention those that play in the forward line (sexton, Holman, Young)
Didn't mention Lonergan as I don't see him as a permanent member of our best 22 midfield.

I think if fully fit and up and running we could hope for:

Wright: 40 goals
Young: 30 goals
Martin: 30 goals
Sexton: 25 goals
Fiorini: 20 goals
Ainsworth: 20 goals
Day: 20 goals
MAcpherson: 20 goals
Lyons: 15 goals
Holman: 15 goals

Then 5-10 goals for: Swallow, Miller, Ah Chee, Weller, Kolodjasnij, Witts, Powell, Crossley

Thats about 300.

Gee I want josh Thomas. So clean around goal and a threat every time he has the ball. Exactly what we need. I hope lynch goes so we can go after him hard
I can't see this match wanting Lynch to stay. Others maybe as well. Just so hard to compete against this type of footy and that type of crowd.

I'm not sure I was selling our mids short.

I would say goal scoring mids are 15+ goals a season.. so at least 0.75 goals a match.

I said above that Fiorini and Lyons have that in them but continuity has stifled Fiorini and Lyons hasn't had the opportunity to play any fwd line minutes (where he is quite good) as he is required full time inside mid at the moment.

Weller could get there but hasn't looked like doing it consistently so far, same with Ainsworth after he went into the middle.

Don't think Miller, Brodie, Swallow are those types of players

I didn't mention those that play in the forward line (sexton, Holman, Young)
Didn't mention Lonergan as I don't see him as a permanent member of our best 22 midfield.

I think if fully fit and up and running we could hope for:

Wright: 40 goals
Young: 30 goals
Martin: 30 goals
Sexton: 25 goals
Fiorini: 20 goals
Ainsworth: 20 goals
Day: 20 goals
MAcpherson: 20 goals
Lyons: 15 goals
Holman: 15 goals

Then 5-10 goals for: Swallow, Miller, Ah Chee, Weller, Kolodjasnij, Witts, Powell, Crossley

Thats about 300.
I'm not suggesting you are selling our players short, I'm saying that anybody who thinks we don't have the majority of the answers on the list already is chasing unicorns. In fact, you've done a fairly conservative job here of mapping where 300 goals might come from where I'd be tempted to boost the numbers to find 350. You haven't included Lynch, which is understandable, but there's the extra 50. If Lynch leaves, I'd expect to see some goals from whoever is drafted/traded for to replace hime.

Disagree about Lonergan, except you're probably right as far as the Match Committee is concerned. My opinion on him is that he's best 22 when there is an opponent for him, which is radical selection policy that this current group has shown an aversion to thus far. Last week, Dew put Lonergan on Kennedy in the second quarter and it turned the tide. This week he'll go to Cripps and similarly ****** his influence, as he's done before on Cripps. His shoulder problems wiped him out for most of the past 2 years, but if you've seen him play this year he's got the broadest shoulders of the entire team and looks strong as an ox.

Commentators on triple m during suns v blues is saying we should match any offer and squeeze the most we can out of rival club.

The afl is still expected to push lynch to stay.

Gee I want josh Thomas. So clean around goal and a threat every time he has the ball. Exactly what we need. I hope lynch goes so we can go after him hard
Ive liked him for a quite a while. And pretty tough too, does get the hard ball.

Offer the pies pick 3/lynch compo for him maybe.

just bring in whoever Miles, Wallis , Llyod , Dahlhaus .This club players don't have soul .

You need to be selective. Cant just drag anyone in. Thomas would add a bit of heart and soul imo.

Thomas don't want to come , money can't buy success , one player can't do it all either .

If Lynch does go to Richmond Lambert is one of players to ask the question. At the moment excessive offers is the only way to attract players. We got plenty money to burn.
I fully agree on overpaying to get mature quality in but that's actually just over the top and completely crazy. Lambert isn't worth anything remotely close. He also wouldn't look nearly as good in a shit side. I'm all for doing whatever it takes but that's just laughable to discuss that kind of money for Lambert. In saying that though it's more than likely fake gossip. He wont leave Richmond.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Was lucky last night to sit in a corporate box and listen to Mark Evans plans , was very honest and spoke for about an hour about where we are at.
Not confident at all Lynch will stay , hasn’t opened talks on contract at all , seemed disappointed that the captain was doing this.
Said we will be younger next year , Barlow and Rosa will be delisted , rischitelli will be given a new contract , Harbrow will re-sign along with a few younger guys.
We will be looking at 2 mature players in off season , said could be from state league or another club , Suns have not spoken to Jake Lloyd there is no contract in front of him he said , all media talk , got the feeling we will go heavy into draft.
A lot of media spec regarding Swallow , said he will be going no where , is a lifer with the suns but didn’t seem as confident regarding May , said they are going to sit down with him at end of season cause they don’t want the Lynch fiasco next year.
There was a lot more I can’t think of the top of my head atm , but a great thing for members to witness to listen what’s happening in he innner sanctum.

Was lucky last night to sit in a corporate box and listen to Mark Evans plans , was very honest and spoke for about an hour about where we are at.
Not confident at all Lynch will stay , hasn’t opened talks on contract at all , seemed disappointed that the captain was doing this.
Said we will be younger next year , Barlow and Rosa will be delisted , rischitelli will be given a new contract , Harbrow will re-sign along with a few younger guys.
We will be looking at 2 mature players in off season , said could be from state league or another club , Suns have not spoken to Jake Lloyd there is no contract in front of him he said , all media talk , got the feeling we will go heavy into draft.
A lot of media spec regarding Swallow , said he will be going no where , is a lifer with the suns but didn’t seem as confident regarding May , said they are going to sit down with him at end of season cause they don’t want the Lynch fiasco next year.
There was a lot more I can’t think of the top of my head atm , but a great thing for members to witness to listen what’s happening in he innner sanctum.

That sounds about the best we can do given the circumstances. Unfortunately I can't see it getting us out of the bottom 2-3 sides next year unless we also recruit a gun strength and conditioning team to keep these players on field and get their bodies up to AFL standard.

I want you to be honest here. For all that came out of his mouth which all might sound wonderful etc....Was He Passionate???

I ask because I’m very dubious about what those amazing genius’ at VFL House send to us up here.

It’s a full blown rebuild. How Ashcroft & Clayton were allowed complete control of the footy department for 7 years is simply mind boggling. For the picks that bloke had and just wasted them is out of this world.
I’m seething. And to think some wanted to keep Clayton around. FMD