List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

We should be looking at getting Simmington. Overager Academy player this year but going well in the NEAFL as our only tall forward. Had a few injuries but is good when he gets on the park:

Report on him:

HARRY Simington still holds hopes of making it to the AFL after reaching the highest point of his return to football.

Simington has been plagued by injuries over the past 12 months but kicked four goals in Gold Coast’s 11.16 (82) to 10.10 (70) loss to the Brisbane Lions in Round 17 of the NEAFL at Metricon Stadium on Saturday.

The 19-year-old had his dreams to be drafted last year shattered. Simington played for both the Allies in the under-18 national championships and Suns in the academy series before suffering a hamstring injury in his first NEAFL game back from representative footy.

Simington managed to gather some fitness before the draft combine but was overlooked by the Suns and other clubs despite initial interest.

He rebuffed offers from VFL and WAFL clubs in favour of staying in the Suns academy for his final year before a stress fracture in his foot, suffered during the preseason, set him back further.
Saturday’s game was his fourth match back and Simington said he hoped to put a body of work together that would help him get drafted at the end of this year.

“It’s been good to get back out there,” Simington said.

“I was out for so long and there is only so much you can do on the sidelines. The more I can build consistency the better footy I’ll play.

“I still think my best footy is yet to come.

“I’ve had limited opportunity to show what I can do but hopefully over the past few years the clubs, specifically the Suns, have seen something they like and hopefully that results in being drafted.”

If Ah Chee wanted to leave and we got a top 10 pick I wouldn't mind
He's pretty much covered by other players
There is only one team stupid enough to give up a top 10 pick for Ah Chee, and you support it

We should be looking at getting Simmington. Overager Academy player this year but going well in the NEAFL as our only tall forward. Had a few injuries but is good when he gets on the park:

Report on him:

HARRY Simington still holds hopes of making it to the AFL after reaching the highest point of his return to football.

Simington has been plagued by injuries over the past 12 months but kicked four goals in Gold Coast’s 11.16 (82) to 10.10 (70) loss to the Brisbane Lions in Round 17 of the NEAFL at Metricon Stadium on Saturday.

The 19-year-old had his dreams to be drafted last year shattered. Simington played for both the Allies in the under-18 national championships and Suns in the academy series before suffering a hamstring injury in his first NEAFL game back from representative footy.

Simington managed to gather some fitness before the draft combine but was overlooked by the Suns and other clubs despite initial interest.

He rebuffed offers from VFL and WAFL clubs in favour of staying in the Suns academy for his final year before a stress fracture in his foot, suffered during the preseason, set him back further.
Saturday’s game was his fourth match back and Simington said he hoped to put a body of work together that would help him get drafted at the end of this year.

“I was out for so long and there is only so much you can do on the sidelines. The more I can build consistency the better footy I’ll play.

“I’ve had limited opportunity to show what I can do but hopefully over the past few years the clubs, specifically the Suns, have seen something they like and hopefully that results in being drafted.”
I watched Simington with interest on the weekend. Good leading to the ball and mostly strong marking - he got stiffed on two marks I thought he had enough of that weren't awarded and was knocked around a lot. Could have had 6 goals. This is the right direction for the Suns with a rookie pick if he clears the draft. I would like to see as many as 3 Category B Rookies from the Suns Academy, but whether that continues to include Heron and/or Dawson I don't know.

This year's Under 19s will come under consideration, while the top 3 U18s Scott, Graham and Koenen appear to be under scrutiny for National Draft bids. If Graham does slip out of the Draft, do we allow him to marinate in the Academy another year and select him in the 2019 Draft, even if its a highish bid? Hopefully Scott chooses us (anybody who saw him orchestrate a chain of handpasses from halfback flank to goal would agree) and it appears that 4 or more clubs are interested in Koenen given his Combine invitation.

If Ah Chee wanted to leave and we got a top 10 pick I wouldn't mind
He's pretty much covered by other players
We wouldn't get a top 10 pick for him but reckon he'll be off soon so should get what we can. If he stays then we hope he continues to develop 'cos he ain't there yet.

This will be an unpopular opinion but I actually really like Ah Chee and what he brings to our side.

He's only 20 years of age and still maturing into an AFL player.

We have to remember that this season he hasn't been playing out of his natural position where he spent the majority of his junior footy with colts football and South Fremantle in the WAFL playing in a midfield/half forward line role. As this season we have played him in a half back role for the majority of this season which I believe he has shown glimpses of being an exciting prospect in this position, his intercept marking, elite ball use, efficiency and ability to read the play off the half back line has been great especially against Sydney. He clearly has the football smarts required to succeed at an elite level.

I think with someone of his calibre and the raw talent he possesses we have to be patient and wait for the fruit to bare. I believe he will sign an extension with us but I am worried long term about retaining him. I don't think a family related move to play with his brother would influence him as his brother Brandon is on the brink of being delisted by west coast anyway.

That's not an unpopular opinion. I really like Ah Chee too.

Given his posts on insta after the Sydney win I would say he's very invested. We have to be careful about over-analysing little things here and there given the losses.

Story on Joyce's younger brother:

COREY Joyce has ambitions to follow brother Jesse into the AFL and the talented teenager already has one up on his older sibling.

Joyce, 17, made his senior QAFL debut for Palm Beach Currumbin in the club’s 13.7 (85) to 9.13 (67) win over Broadbeach at Salk Oval on Saturday in another learning experience for the Gold Coast Suns academy player.

Jesse made his Lions debut at the age of 16 but lost to Mt Gravatt.

The Suns defender, now 20, was on hand to present Corey with his guernsey before Saturday’s game and has formed the inspiration behind his younger brother’s push to follow in his footsteps.

“It was really surreal,” Joyce said of his debut.

“I never really thought I’d be playing seniors at this club this year after coming from Coolangatta last year.

“It was pretty incredible. I idolise Jesse in a sense. He is driving me to be better. He is my brother and I don’t want to be in his shadow. I like to think I have a bit more pace than him but we have some similarities.”

Among those similarities is an elite kick, according to Palm Beach Currumbin coach Chad Owens who has now mentored both brothers.

“This kid can play,” Owens said.

“His skills are as good as his brother’s and they are both elite kicks.
“He is a backman but we played him at forward. He has to learn more roles if he wants to go to the next level.

“He was good early (against Broadbeach) and then his light body exposed him. He is a smart kid and kept getting into good spots but at this stage his lack of body strength meant he got bumped off the ball too easy.”

This will be an unpopular opinion but I actually really like Ah Chee and what he brings to our side.

He's only 20 years of age and still maturing into an AFL player.

We have to remember that this season he hasn't been playing out of his natural position where he spent the majority of his junior footy with colts football and South Fremantle in the WAFL playing in a midfield/half forward line role. As this season we have played him in a half back role for the majority of this season which I believe he has shown glimpses of being an exciting prospect in this position, his intercept marking, elite ball use, efficiency and ability to read the play off the half back line has been great especially against Sydney. He clearly has the football smarts required to succeed at an elite level.

I think with someone of his calibre and the raw talent he possesses we have to be patient and wait for the fruit to bare. I believe he will sign an extension with us but I am worried long term about retaining him. I don't think a family related move to play with his brother would influence him as his brother Brandon is on the brink of being delisted by west coast anyway.
I really don't get it why people are so harsh on young players who were in the system 1-3 years especially at the bottom team who had crap development system. It takes min 3 usually up to 5 years to develop. Maybe people should check numbers of players like Josh Kennedy, Dangerfield early in careers. They played just 2-3 games first year. Just a month ago some people were happy to trade Brodie for 2nd round pick. Not saying that Brodie will turn into next Kennedy but he got much better numbers than both of them at the same stage.

Report on him:

I only watched the second quarter of the neafl game and he kicked 3 goals that qtr I believe.
Found space in the right areas and looked like a reliable shot for goal with an actual routine.
Unsure of athletic abilities though.

Does anyone think that any other team would want schoenfeld, lemmens, brad scheer, Mackenzie Willis?

I know we only just signed up Lemmons and Schoenfield this year but we might realistically be better off still delisting them and coming to a financial arrangement if we can’t find them other homes. so we can replace there list spots with kids or other players who will be part of our long term plans, especially schoenfield I can’t see him part of the bigger picture at all.

Realistically, how many on our list do you think will remain in 24 months time?
I can only see a maximum 16-18 of the 38 being here. Dew will be counting down the days until round 23 ends I feel

Some people here really have unrealistic expectations of young players in here. Very rarely are payers the finished product at 21, only the superstars of the competition are, a small percentage, and even then most players only really hit their peak at around 24.

The likes of Joyce and Ah Chee are not superstars, but they are solid to good role fillers at the moment. Then who knows at 24 they could really hit their straps and make the next step.

Some people here really have unrealistic expectations of young players in here. Very rarely are payers the finished product at 21, only the superstars of the competition are, a small percentage, and even then most players only really hit their peak at around 24.

The likes of Joyce and Ah Chee are not superstars, but they are solid to good role fillers at the moment. Then who knows at 24 they could really hit their straps and make the next step.

So Sean Lemmens will be 24 in November this year - so this is pretty much as good as gets?

Sadly I think so.

Has the tools but can’t put it all together.
Sorry no offence but what tools does he possess apart from running around like a headless chook with absolutely no game awareness.?
And when by sheer fluke he ends up with the ball he completely butchers it.

Sorry no offence but what tools does he possess apart from running around like a headless chook with absolutely no game awareness.?
And when by sheer fluke he ends up with the ball he completely butchers it.
Has a decent turn of pace, has a decent size, has the tackling technique but he lacks on the game awareness side and crisp disposal. If he could get a bit of game awareness about him he would be a lot more valuable, but he always seems to turn up where the ball doesn't. No matter how gifted you are, if you aren't where the ball is, you're not much use.