List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Hell no, he's clapped out. His best years of footy are well and truly behind him. No more old duds who aren't capable of making a significant difference to our on field best 22 team and aren't capable of getting a game at another club.

Lol ok. That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard all day

Glad you found it so amusing. If you think he would be valuable for us you really have no idea. It would be THE worst thing possible for the Suns to make a play for Hannebery. He has gone backwards significantly since the 2015 and 2016 seasons where he was worth looking at and elite imo averaging over 30 disposals a game. Now he is a washed up injury prone hack who is held together by cotton wool and clag glue. He has never been the same player after his PCL injury in 2016 in the GF since then he has had continual groin injuries and an osteitis pubis injury in 2017 which is something that is still plaguing him now. He is on the decline and the below stats prove he is a washed up has been. Based on the below and above its a big fat NO from me. image.jpg

If you can get to around 25 disposals a game, I reckon that is pretty serviceable for a midfielder. His kicking isn't amazing but his handballing is elite, the amount of times I have seen blokes miss simple handballs is infuriating.

FWIW If we could guarantee Hanners getting fit and back to his best he is totally worth it. However, in his current state and what the Swans will probably ask for, it is probably a miss from me unless we can pick him up for a 3rd rounder or something I would look at it. Swans would be better off keeping him and hoping he can find his best form.

It's baffling that he has great first halves in the NEAFL and then goes completely missing.

Dew would know by now if he has the goods - happy for him to make the call if he can recover some sort of reasonable value and use the list spot on someone who can offer more.
Best you check the stats on that! Not true at all! Against Sydney 28 poss in 1st half, then moved deeper back and tagged for 0 in 3rd and 6 in final qtr total 34 poss, most other games even stats in all qtrs. Not many defenders get tagged!

Scrimshaw, Brodie and Ainsworth were best friends right? I think that was part of the reason they got drafted together. I agree his progression is good but it’s the rumours of him wanting to go home after 2 years with 2 years left on his contract that has me concerned
Jack played Vic Metro and Sandy Dragons, best friends with Tarranto, Florent, McGrath and Polson. He was AFL academy and lives with new mates Brodie and Ainsworth (Vic Country) and previously Jack Bowes. He gets on well with everyone, a very likable kid. Doesnt want to go home but didnt go there to play NEAFL...

Exactly, every time I watch Scrimshaw at NEAFL I can see his class. He reads game beautifully, makes good decisions and has a great kick. So it takes longer to build his tank. Quite understandable considering his injury history before draft and again bad luck this year. I wish people would get off his back.
Spot on! Good assessment!

Jack played Vic Metro and Sandy Dragons, best friends with Tarranto, Florent, McGrath and Polson. He was AFL academy and lives with new mates Brodie and Ainsworth (Vic Country) and previously Jack Bowes. He gets on well with everyone, a very likable kid. Doesnt want to go home but didnt go there to play NEAFL...
Love scrim and sounds like he's got a good head on his shoulders but he's gotta earn his spot.
Let's hope he gets a call up this weekend and can hold his spot for the rest of the year

Do we have another players father stopping by ?

Great to here Scrim is happy to stick it out and earn his spot[/QUOTE 20+avg disposals and 90% efficiency would suggest he has earned his spot. “Happy” is not the word, more like “prepared”.

Cal twomey spoke some positive things about scrimshaw and brodie on the latest GCSUNSCAST check it out if you ou havent yet. It filled me with hope that these 2 still have what it takes to play at the highest level and contribute.

Great Podcast mate, first time i listened to GCSUNSCAST and will be looking forward to the next installment!

Link?

It's good to hear this from someone who is obviously very 'in the know' with Jack. Things get so diluted on Bigfooty, and rumours circulate out of nowhere all the time, like other clubs telling us he's in discussion with them to be traded home and doesn't like the Gold Coast etc.

Great to hear that he's committed to earning his spot and obviously has a good head on his shoulders. Hope he gets the call up this weekend.

Wernt we saying this about Brodie 2weeks ago... next minute he is averaging 25 touches a game
It's good to hear this from someone who is obviously very 'in the know' with Jack. Things get so diluted on Bigfooty, and rumours circulate out of nowhere all the time, like other clubs telling us he's in discussion with them to be traded home and doesn't like the Gold Coast etc.

Great to hear that he's committed to earning his spot and obviously has a good head on his shoulders. Hope he gets the call up this weekend.
I'm not sure you can show me a player who is not committed to earning their spot.

Glad you found it so amusing. If you think he would be valuable for us you really have no idea. It would be THE worst thing possible for the Suns to make a play for Hannebery. He has gone backwards significantly since the 2015 and 2016 seasons where he was worth looking at and elite imo averaging over 30 disposals a game. Now he is a washed up injury prone hack who is held together by cotton wool and clag glue. He has never been the same player after his PCL injury in 2016 in the GF since then he has had continual groin injuries and an osteitis pubis injury in 2017 which is something that is still plaguing him now. He is on the decline and the below stats prove he is a washed up has been. Based on the below and above its a big fat NO from me. View attachment 536319
Does that show the true picture of why his disposal down? How many balls ups did he attend? Could it be the emergence of other up coming midfielders attending them? Sydney have a stacked midfield rotation. But yeah, thanks for the laugh

Swans will take Hall off your hands in return for Newman.

If the Suns are moving Hall on, and we don't know if that is the case, but if they are, why would we let Hall go for Newman. They're like for like imo, except Hall has more run and carry. So we would be getting someone similar to the one we would be letting go. All clubs need to improve their list when trading. His run and carry would give you blokes something you're lacking, except for Rohan, who's hardly on the park and we get someone who doesn't defend but has kicking ability, so no advantage to us. That would be a definite step backwards for mine....

Was that SunnerSS saying Cripps not in the best 12 mids in the comp?

3/16 coaches who participated in the coaches survey said he is the league mvp

So 13 thought he wasnt?
Yes 13 coaches said he wasn't the best player in the league
3 did

Of midfielders
- Cripps 3 votes
- Dusty 1 vote
- Danger 1 vote
- Gaff 1 vote
- Fyfe 1 vote

So think it's fair to say that he is thought of as a pretty good player.