List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

I was at my son's Auskick today and was speaking to a relative of an experienced listed player from a Melbourne club.

Told me that his relative was in discussions with the Suns about coming up next year.

Without saying who the player was it was a key position player in his late 20s who wouldn't be a sexy pick (sort of like Witts) but has a big mature body and could provide a target and fill the breach until players like Graham and Koenan are ready in 2-4 years. I imagine the player would not cost much in terms of a trade and cash, but would probably get at least a 2 year deal to get him up to the Coast.

Also told me that 2MP was being heavily courted by the Hawks but he had knocked them back and was going to be at the Suns for the long haul.
What a tease!

Just read that Ryan O'Keefe was let go after 4 years as an assistant with the Crows - said in the article he was willing to relocate to anywhere in Australia for another assistant coaching gig.

Dew was an assistant at the Swans for 4 years while O'Keefe was there (O'Keefe won a Norm Smith in 2012 in the premiership year). Get McVeigh across as well.

Dew
Stone
Malceski
O'Keefe
McVeigh

Get Roos in as a consultant as well

Is he actually a good Coach though?

Who knows - got let go so you could safely say he is not the next Paul Roos

We have a few openings and depending on what sort of relationship he had with ROK he could be an option. If he is trying to implement a Swans style game plan it makes sense to bring in a guy who knows it.

I can see someone like Schoenmakers filling a role for a couple of years.
Other key forwards in Melbourne that could fit the criteria:

Levi Casboult, Cameron Pedersen, Ben Reid and Tim O'Brien.

I would look at someone like Pedersen. Can play forward or back and not getting a game for the Dees.

EDIT: Pederson is 31. Nevermind that.

I would look at someone like Pedersen. Can play forward or back and not getting a game for the Dees.

I like Pedersen too - unfortunate about his age

Id really like us to have a crack at atkins seems like he could be that good ball user we need. Maybe add adelaides and Melbournes 1st pick and jenkins for pick 2.

lets get Mark Evans working on a deal to get Cyril Rioli on a fly in play fly out contract country footy style

Also told me that 2MP was being heavily courted by the Hawks but he had knocked them back and was going to be at the Suns for the long haul.
Probably scared of having to answer to Touk & justifiably so from what we've heard.

I was at my son's Auskick today and was speaking to a relative of an experienced listed player from a Melbourne club.

Told me that his relative was in discussions with the Suns about coming up next year.

Without saying who the player was it was a key position player in his late 20s who wouldn't be a sexy pick (sort of like Witts) but has a big mature body and could provide a target and fill the breach until players like Graham and Koenan are ready in 2-4 years. I imagine the player would not cost much in terms of a trade and cash, but would probably get at least a 2 year deal to get him up to the Coast.

Or pedersen?

After watching the young Lions get there shit together in the back half of the year really gives hope the suns might eventually get there. The difference a few top draft picks like Raynor and mcluggage make is incredible. They seem to have a philosophy to always draft the best footballer not always the best potential pipe dream talent like we seem to. We really need to get our picks right this year especially the potential few in the top 5.

Yeah follow the Lions model I think. Get a few solid citizens like Josh Walker at the Lions, get an experienced premiership leadership type and put them to the backline to direct traffic, then load up in the draft on the highest quality kids. If we have a season like the Lions are having now, I would take that with both hands.

Also don’t let a Zorko slip when you have one in your hands ;) Lions have had a tremendous season on the injury front too, I’d love us to have the majority of our best players on the field all year. Reckon we’d end up with a few more wins with some team continuity.

Exactly, Lions got virtually one injured best 22 - Cameron for half season, Andrews was out for 5 weeks and that's about it. Unbelievable run. They should had won more games. If missing 6-9 best 22 they would be the same rubble like us.

I disagree I don’t think our issues are only injury related, the lions have continually picked the right kids at the draft, true footballers which has been the reason they are improving. There big lift this year has been on the back of there 2-3 year players berry, mcluggage, witherdon etc all having breakout years, the suns on the other hand have been relying on our 4-7 year players to keep us afloat and half competitive.

Just curious the obsession on here with getting McVeigh? Thought we’d had enough people come up over the years for their retirement package! Probably end up being like Malceski

I'd take him.
He's had a good year should be able to get 2 maybe 3 years out of him then move into coaching.

Go get McVeigh, Lloyd and Newman

jenkins is shit
only good in a good team
Jenkins was pretty fantastic tonight. Has consistently been one of the best tall forwards in the AFL for the last three years.

But we're not giving you pick 8, pick 11, Atkins and Jenkins and just getting pick 2. Get real ...

Jenkins was pretty fantastic tonight. Has consistently been one of the best tall forwards in the AFL for the last three years.

But we're not giving you pick 8, pick 11, Atkins and Jenkins and just getting pick 2. Get real ...
Wow Hahahaha :drunk:
Jenkins is trash he plays on the 3rd sometimes 4th best defender and pinches all his goal from his teammates hard work by always sitting in the goal square looking for a cheap handball over the top

I don't mind the idea of a veteran key forward coming in for a year or two while we develop our tall stocks in Caleb Graham and Dirk Koenen. I'm also warming to the idea of Maysie swinging forward more often to help out 2MP and/or Crossley. That also open the door for Leslie/Scrimshaw to solidify a spot in our best 22 as a key defender.

Mate Jenkins has zero value , He will be 30 years old next year and never gets the best defender and chokes when its his turn as well as being on big dollars
He would be whats described as steak knives at best

I don't mind the idea of a veteran key forward coming in for a year or two while we develop our tall stocks in Caleb Graham and Dirk Koenen. I'm also warming to the idea of Maysie swinging forward more often to help out 2MP and/or Crossley. That also open the door for Leslie/Scrimshaw to solidify a spot in our best 22 as a key defender.
I hope we keep Leslie in for the rest of the year and move May forward for the last 3 games

Some here severely underrate Jenkins. Yes he'll never be your number 1 forward... although he did pants Rance earlier this year, no small feat. And with his age wouldn't want to pay a lot for him. But if he was keen to come I'd take him. 2MP likely to get the number 1 defender. Jenkins to get the number 2 tall. Also his work rate is huge. He doesn't get the gimme goals by luck.. We works up the ground taking a defender with him. Then charges back to the goalsquare. Some might call them cheap. But he earns them .