List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Why Suns would want him if he does not run both way? Richmond you better improve your offer or we match :) Who else do you suggest?
Lol we gave you are best offer but ill give you a list pick which you want

Corey Ellis , Anthony Miles , Sam Llloyd , Nathan Drummond , Shai Bolton , Jacob Townsend

Not sure about that. They need a contested midfielder desperately. I actually think Barlow would fit there but obviously Lions going after Neale. Wallis is also on their interest list. Keays has talent with flaws. If I remember correctly his kick is terrible.
He is behind Berry and Mathieson on the inside department for sure. Regardless it seems in the article Keays is interested in us not the other way round.

I am always a fan of looking at local talent.

The list above would all be starting 22 at Calton ;)

Ohh ok you can also have pick #3
You better convince one of your best 22 that it's a dream to move to GC and play for Dew. This is the last warning or we deal with Clarko. Even Roughhead would probably be more useful to Suns than any player on your list :) Carlton, who cares about Carlton.

5 kids shouldn't be too hard. With the Lynch compo you should have 7 picks in the top 42 before priority picks are issued from last count. Surely you would be gunning for some established players in that mix as well yeah?
Agree, take the best elite kids pick 2&3 (Luko and Rankine) then offer up pp and Eagles first for established players, use the 2nd, 3rd rounders on academy boys.

Mate i've enjoyed our convo so please dont take this the wrong way, but your forward line produced the lowest points for in the AFL last year and they are getting worse this offseason with the departure of Lynch. I think you might need to look seriously into getting more mobile and dynamic talls into that forward line because Sam Day and Peter Wright are both too slow to be really devastating KPF's IMO. 2MP could be a very good 2nd ruck/forward, but relying on him as a lead out FF against #1 defenders is a big ask for the guy.

I agree Luko would be a great pickup for you guys, but I think he would also find it hard to walk into an AFL team and play the hardest position in the game at too high a level straight out of the gate.

I'm not saying MM is the guy, but I think it would be silly to dismiss a guy like that when he's so gettable.

Just my opinion though.
Not taken the wrong way, genuine discussion and opinions is what makes this website interesting

you need to look the injury problems of this season more than what they produced overall though (BTW Peter wright is actually quite quick on a lead and has an excellent aerobic capacity.)

of the first choice forward line I just listed:
Sam Day - 12 games (11 goals) coming off a dislocated hip that kept him out for all of 2017
Peter Wright - 7 games (5 goals) coming off a calf injury that had him sidelined til mid year and was injured late season early Q1 also.
Darcy Macpherson - 5 games (4 goals) was got injured round 5 in the first quarter after having 2.1 to his name at that point in the game.
Ben Ainsworth - 16 games but played more midfield this season due to injuries.
Alex Sexton - 22 games (28 goals) kicked 20 of them after round 13 as he improved
Jack Martin - 15 games (14 goals) played 50% of games in defense.

then there was Aaron Young who played 22 games (20 goals) due to how many people we had out consistently
and Nick Holman who was moved forward after Lynch got injured in round 14 and kicked 13 goals in the 9 games he played at the end of the year

Only 3 players of this list played 22 games - 2 of which were fill in forwards (Young and Holman)

this was also done with the second least inside 50's in the league. 122 less than Adelaide for the season and only 39 more than Carlton.

McGovern isn't going to fix us and long term, which club would rather McGovern > Lukosius?

Our club needs development from our current midfielders more than it needs a slightly above average forward like McGovern. Thats where the improvement is going to come from. The coaching clean out we've had will definitely help with that

Not sure about that. They need a contested midfielder desperately. I actually think Barlow would fit there but obviously Lions going after Neale. Wallis is also on their interest list. Keays has talent with flaws. If I remember correctly his kick is terrible.
Brisbane have also shown some interest in Lonergan.

Not taken the wrong way, genuine discussion and opinions is what makes this website interesting

you need to look the injury problems of this season more than what they produced overall though (BTW Peter wright is actually quite quick on a lead and has an excellent aerobic capacity.)

of the first choice forward line I just listed:
Sam Day - 12 games (11 goals) coming off a dislocated hip that kept him out for all of 2017
Peter Wright - 7 games (5 goals) coming off a calf injury that had him sidelined til mid year and was injured late season early Q1 also.
Darcy Macpherson - 5 games (4 goals) was got injured round 5 in the first quarter after having 2.1 to his name at that point in the game.
Ben Ainsworth - 16 games but played more midfield this season due to injury.
Alex Sexton - 22 games (28 goals) kicked 20 of them after round 13 as he improved
Jack Martin - 15 goals (14 goals) played 50% of games in defense.

then there was Aaron Young who played 22 games (20 goals) due to how many people we had out consistently
and Nick Holman who was moved forward after Lynch got injured in round 14 and kicked 13 goals in the 9 games he played at the end of the year

Only 3 players of this list played 22 games - 2 of which were fill in forwards (Young and Holman)

this was also done with the second least inside 50's in the league. 122 less than Adelaide for the season and only 39 more than Carlton.

McGovern isn't going to fix us and long term, which club would rather McGovern > Lukosius?

Our club needs development from our current midfielders more than it needs a slightly above average forward like McGovern. Thats where the improvement is going to come from. The coaching clean out we've had will definitely help with that
Thanks for the info, I don’t doubt you know a lot more about it then me.

Was just an outsiders perspective looking in but feel like I’ve got a better vibe of your direction now.

Mate i've enjoyed our convo so please dont take this the wrong way, but your forward line produced the lowest points for in the AFL last year and they are getting worse this offseason with the departure of Lynch. I think you might need to look seriously into getting more mobile and dynamic talls into that forward line because Sam Day and Peter Wright are both too slow to be really devastating KPF's IMO. 2MP could be a very good 2nd ruck/forward, but relying on him as a lead out FF against #1 defenders is a big ask for the guy.

I agree Luko would be a great pickup for you guys, but I think he would also find it hard to walk into an AFL team and play the hardest position in the game at too high a level straight out of the gate.

I'm not saying MM is the guy, but I think it would be silly to dismiss a guy like that when he's so gettable.

Just my opinion though.

I like MM, would happily take him. A genuine top 22 player for us who is the right age.
We don't need him like we need gun mids or AA level players, but he can play.

But in no way would a Luko pick be on the board.
We traded pick 2 last year. All top 10 picks this year will be used, you can bank that.

Got the Eagles pick and 2 seconds if we need to trade for a player.

And we are a couple of years away from having a competitive midfield. Luko can take a year or 2 to find his feet and his best form, with his good mate Charlie Ballard.

He is behind Berry and Mathieson on the inside department for sure. Regardless it seems in the article Keays is interested in us not the other way round.

I am always a fan of looking at local talent.
Keays is a great kid, my son played with him at Morningside and he is a hard working little bugger, alway played a few years above his age so he played in the same team as his older brother. On his kicking it pretty good just has a habit of ducking his head at that last moment to watch the ball onto his boot, I guess for a running target that might mean he is a split second out but if he plays inside mid that won't really matter. I personally would like to see him stay given I go and see him play with my kids who know him. If we do get Neale and possibly Wallis from the dogs he is a long way back then in our 'depth' for a young bloke it may be 2 or 3 years before he gets a look in. We must remember Zorko, typical Queenslander that seems to come on later than the Southern kids, so did Josh Drummond. Not sure Benny is worth that much yet in a trade, i think unfortunately the poor bloke might be fries with some other deal. He is honest as the day is long so hope we keep him but happy to see him play at the suns where we would get to see more of his games.

Pretty good write up. Will be interesting to see if this progresses as the trade period gets closer.

Thanks for the info, I don’t doubt you know a lot more about it then me.

Was just an outsiders perspective looking in but feel like I’ve got a better vibe of your direction now.
No worries :thumbsu:

It's a bit frustrating for us as supporters how little acknowledgment there has been on our injuries this season from the media when teams like Collingwood, Carlton and even Adelaide were constantly discussed as having such bad injury problems. In our last NEAFL game there were only 4 AFL listed players. It's been a shitshow, but expect significant improvement from us as our younger guys improve and if we can keep our players on the field all season. Defenders we need though - I'd give up pick 2 for Rory Laird in a heartbeat

No worries :thumbsu:

It's a bit frustrating for us as supporters how little acknowledgment there has been on our injuries this season from the media when teams like Collingwood, Carlton and even Adelaide were constantly discussed as having such bad injury problems. In our last NEAFL game there were only 4 AFL listed players. It's been a shitshow, but expect significant improvement from us as our younger guys improve and if we can keep our players on the field all season. Defenders we need though - I'd give up pick 2 for Rory Laird in a heartbeat
You can have Rory Atkins?

I hate the word 'rebuild' as a Lions supporter we have had 11 years of it - we are young, we are rebuilding, you get flogged sometimes thats just what happens to young teams - Give me a break. I prefer the word "stabilisation". The Suns have lost enormous talent, there is no true equalisation in the competition. The Suns like Brisbane 3 or 4 years ago are continually raided. Caddy, Prestia, Abblet, Lynch, Saad put them back and it's a different team. Compensation picks are like playing snakes and ladders you get up to 99 then your on that long snake right back to 2. Your not out of the game and the AFL thinks thats equalisation. Getting an extra kid when you loose a 7 years investment to the premiers is no compensation its the old one step forward and 2 backwards. They should give the Suns the same deal Essendon got - a free pick of any and ever player not under contract with a AFL club. Give the Suns and extra 12 list spots and the AFL pay a basic wage for a year to those guys until the Suns see who is going to make it. Still get all your draft picks but extra for being raided or unequalised.

Now to Stabilisation - Brisbane stabilised their off field management first, stopped players leaving and stabilised welfare. Stabilised their injuries - sent Burton back to the Crows and look at them now. Stabilised our coaching and stabilised our recruiting where we had a plan and just didn't take anyone on offer. Reality is we now have promised but on wins and losses we are still on the bottom. To me the Suns just need to stabilise - your injury list was terrible. Need to stabilise the players leaving, no easy matter but has to be done. Your underway on your coaching. I hope you guys match and match Lynch's offers until clubs are paying an absolute fortune and every player manager knows you are no longer a transport lounge. If May wants out, same.

I love footy in Queensland, I want you guys to succeed. I think you have a good forward line potentially, a good spine down the middle but have just lost too much mid 20's talent from the middle of the ground. Thats where you need to concentrate and get the supply back to the forwards. Good luck to you guys, hope you make the best of this trade/draft season and stabilise your team.