List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

BTW if you want some good reading get on the Crows board, talk by some ( minority) that they will demand pick 2 for MM but then release Francou from his coaching contract. Stating the Weller trade as evidence we will overpay ( certainly did ourselves no favours there)

Also We are desperate as we have no forwards with Uncle Tom leaving, ummm 2MP, Crossley and Luko

Geez where do we sign
Yeh, the MM and Polec threads are hilarious. A lot of deluded SA fans posting unrealistic trade demands.

Baru kicked 16.3 this year in the NEAFL in forward lines often lacking any other KPP or even resting ruckmen. Worth a Category B spot.

Foster is another worth a spot, especially given his versatility and extra season in the NEAFL. As good as Heron and Dawson.

Both these guys and 8 other U19s will leave the Suns system, which is a good argument for extra list spots, even if they are just extra Category B spots to retain Academy talent and allow them to develop longer.

Mav Weller apparently wants to go back to GC with family and play with Lachie. Would be interesting after being delisted by you guys previously, you'd get him for a bag of peanuts. What's the opinion of you guys on him coming back? Remains out of contract at the Saints so definitely something up + hasn't been delisted yet.

Yeh, the MM and Polec threads are hilarious. A lot of deluded SA fans posting unrealistic trade demands.
Plenty of talk on their board of us handing over pick 2 and I can’t blame them as we all want a win for our clubs but there’s not even a hint of any interest coming from our club. He’s.going to Carlton and even if he wasn’t we would be talking about hen Eagles pick we have not 2 or3

THE AFL draft is nearly upon us and there are a host of young Gold Coast footy players hoping to achieve their dream of joining an AFL club’s list.

The Suns increasingly have more talent coming through its academy and while not all will join Gold Coast, some may find themselves picked up by rival clubs.

We rank the top five draft prospects coming out of the Gold Coast ahead of next month’s two-day event, to be held on November 22 and 23 at Etihad Stadium. The rookie draft will also be held on November 23.

1. Bailey Scott:

Height: 186cm

Weight: 64kg

Position: Midfield

Club: Broadbeach

2a78fc2935c798b4a3f5e688a14603fc

Bailey Scott (right) is the most highly rated draft prospect on the Gold Coast. Picture: Richard Gosling.
This gut-running midfielder leads the pack of potential Gold Coast draft picks. The Allies under-18 representative has a huge decision to make before the draft. He is son of former Cat and Kangaroos player Robert Scott, who played 132 games for Geelong and 111 for North Melbourne.

It means Scott, who will attend the national combine, can opt to align with either Victorian club through the father-son rule or the Suns via his academy links. All three want the skilled on-baller who can play at half-forward and finish well in front of goal.

2. Dirk Koenen:

Height: 194cm

Weight: 87kg

Position: Key position

Club: Palm Beach Currumbin

6f477dfc74b018b0552391b93107f812

Dirk Koenen (left) has proven to be a rising key position player. Picture: Richard Gosling
The second Suns academy player set to attend the national combine. Strong and tall for his age, Koenen is already developed physically and has proven to be adept at intercept marking while his skills are also impressive. Originally from the Magnetic Islands, Koenen started with the Suns through its Townsville academy before shifting south to play football and finish school at Palm Beach Currumbin State High. Koenen, who represent the Allies under-18 representative team this year, played five NEAFL games for the Suns in 2018, averaging 3.4 marks and 3.8 tackles.

3. Caleb Graham:

Height: 194cm

Weight: 84kg

Position: Tall defender/key position.

Club: Palm Beach Currumbin

9ff772849e676e9e141b5d69501b2a65

Gold Coast Suns academy player Caleb Graham. Picture credit: NEAFL.
Likened to Brisbane Lions forward Eric Hipwood, Graham doesn’t hesitate to launch himself at the footy while he runs hard and competes harder.

SUNS 2018 REPORT CARD

Graham, another Allies under-18 representative, can play at either end of the ground but it’s his versatility that probably left him a little unsettled in 2018 where he has been thrown in numerous different positions. He is quick, has good closing speed and his contested marking is among his best quality.

4. Brodie Foster:

Height: 178cm

Weight: 78kg

Position: Small midfielder/defender

Club: Surfers Paradise

33915e09f81c3c2e9278e2201da8994d

Gold Coast Suns academy member Brodie Foster earned a NEAFL Rising Star nomination in Round 13 of the 2018 season. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL
Foster has had an outstanding year for the Gold Coast Suns NEAFL team, playing in all of their 18 games throughout the season while averaging 22 disposals, 4 marks, 3 inside 50m entries, 4 tackles and 3 clearances. Foster was nominated for the NEAFL rising star award in Round 13 after impressing against Redland.

The Surfers Paradise junior has been part of Gold Coast’s academy for five years and is a gifted ball user with a reputation for his hand skills and accurate kicking.

5. Emmanuel Baru:

Height: 188cm

Weight: 81kg

Position: Forward

Club: Labrador

bcc279c8cce72e09bde4e836f7ec694e

Gold Coast Suns academy player Emmanuel Baru (Suns) is one of multuple players hoping to secure a place on an AFL list this year. Picture: Richard Gosling
A small forward with enormous x-factor and elite speed. The Allies under-18 player benefited from spending time training with the Gold Coast Suns senior team this season, taking the lessons he learnt onto the field for the club’s NEAFL side where he kicked 16 goals in 14 games, including seven in two weeks.
From what I’ve seen i reckon Scott if he chooses us will be the only one we get in the draft at about pick 20-40 and Koenan and graham possible rookie picks. Unfortunately not as good as other years for the academy

Mav Weller apparently wants to go back to GC with family and play with Lachie. Would be interesting after being delisted by you guys previously, you'd get him for a bag of peanuts. What's the opinion of you guys on him coming back? Remains out of contract at the Saints so definitely something up + hasn't been delisted yet.
List spots will be a premium so rookie list would be his only shot

I mean I don't think any of us would have an issue getting him but agree with Iva - List spots wouldn't really allow us to bring him in on the main list. Would have to be rookied IMO.

If the Rookie list is good enough for Rischa, Mav's gonna hafta cop it too. Could always earn a list spot by playing the majority of the season and he'd provide excellent depth.
From what I’ve seen i reckon Scott if he chooses us will be the only one we get in the draft at about pick 20-40 and Koenan and graham possible rookie picks. Unfortunately not as good as other years for the academy
Experts disagree with you. Koenen at least will attract a bid and that's fine because it will be 3rd round or later and he'll come cheap for us to match. IF Scott chooses elsewhere, both Graham and Koenen have to be prioritised because they will both be AFL players and their size is potential Steven May clone. Koenen has been invited to the National Draft combine, which means at least 4 AFL clubs nominated him, while Graham will go to the State Combine because 3 clubs nominated him. Ideally, the Suns can get 3 to 4 picks inside the 1st round and then concentrate on 2 to 3 Academy players, which depends on Scott's choice. If Koenen and Graham made it to the Rookie Draft then Dawson and/or Heron can be upgraded to make way.

If the Rookie list is good enough for Rischa, Mav's gonna hafta cop it too. Could always earn a list spot by playing the majority of the season and he'd provide excellent depth.

Experts disagree with you. Koenen at least will attract a bid and that's fine because it will be 3rd round or later and he'll come cheap for us to match. IF Scott chooses elsewhere, both Graham and Koenen have to be prioritised because they will both be AFL players and their size is potential Steven May clone. Koenen has been invited to the National Draft combine, which means at least 4 AFL clubs nominated him, while Graham will go to the State Combine because 3 clubs nominated him. Ideally, the Suns can get 3 to 4 picks inside the 1st round and then concentrate on 2 to 3 Academy players, which depends on Scott's choice. If Koenen and Graham made it to the Rookie Draft then Dawson and/or Heron can be upgraded to make way.
I think for the past we’ve seen rookie picks not go as high as first thought. Scheer and crossley as an example. Just because they are at the National combine doesn’t mean much to me clubs just don’t put priority in academy players unless they will go top 10. List spots are tight like always and I think a lot of those middle range picks will either be bundled together for something better or exchanged for a future pick especially if we get another for May

I cant remember where I saw it today, but I saw it said that Jack Lonie might be headed up to the Gold Coast. Not sure how people feel about this.

I think for the past we’ve seen rookie picks not go as high as first thought. Scheer and crossley as an example. Just because they are at the National combine doesn’t mean much to me clubs just don’t put priority in academy players unless they will go top 10. List spots are tight like always and I think a lot of those middle range picks will either be bundled together for something better or exchanged for a future pick especially if we get another for May
Yes, we made that mistake with Weller and probably should have gone harder at Preuss. Williams went at 36 when we were committed to Scheer, who would probably have gone earlier but for other clubs knowing he’d be matched - but of a free kick really.
We have to pick 3 to 4 Academy players because they have zero go home factor. We have a good crop too. Not really able to be compared in terms of types of players. Could be something in the argument that it might be Koenen or Graham, but for mine they are both essential picks. Look at Richmond’s backline! All talls. Need these rawboned big boys to give us some grunt down back.

Yes, we made that mistake with Weller and probably should have gone harder at Preuss. Williams went at 36 when we were committed to Scheer, who would probably have gone earlier but for other clubs knowing he’d be matched - but of a free kick really.
We have to pick 3 to 4 Academy players because they have zero go home factor. We have a good crop too. Not really able to be compared in terms of types of players. Could be something in the argument that it might be Koenen or Graham, but for mine they are both essential picks. Look at Richmond’s backline! All talls. Need these rawboned big boys to give us some grunt down back.
Scheer over Williams seems a success so far. Williams isn’t on a list and scheer seems to be developing nicely. In an ideal world all players would have no go home factor and would be starts but unfortunately we have to pick and choose while the academy builds.

Watching Jaeger and Dion tonight is pretty sad. Makes you think what could’ve been if we had recruited a better team for them to stick around.

Roughead is going better than I’ve seen him this year. Is he really a potential target? Wouldn’t mind him in Suns colours...

The story goes according to the media flogs in Melbourne is that Hawthorn have offered him 1 year, but are encouraging him to look and see if he can get a better deal for himself. Though if Hawthorn miss on Lynch they may want to offer him the 2 years.

Scheer over Williams seems a success so far. Williams isn’t on a list and scheer seems to be developing nicely. In an ideal world all players would have no go home factor and would be starts but unfortunately we have to pick and choose while the academy builds.
Not suggesting Williams should have been picked over Scheer at all. Just a year where the priority was the 4 top 10 picks and it was always Scheer. I’d like to see Williams get picked up in the Rookie Draft by us. He’s got a tonne of potential and you can’t help but think he was getting a bit homesick and the Roos are doing a ruthless clean out. One of the fastest players in the AFL.

We do specialise in slow inside mids though
Boom tish! My point exactly. J-Bomb got out classed tonight and I find it hard to envision him being a long term player considering he is just another knee away from significant time out of the game.

THE AFL draft is nearly upon us and there are a host of young Gold Coast footy players hoping to achieve their dream of joining an AFL club’s list.

The Suns increasingly have more talent coming through its academy and while not all will join Gold Coast, some may find themselves picked up by rival clubs.

We rank the top five draft prospects coming out of the Gold Coast ahead of next month’s two-day event, to be held on November 22 and 23 at Etihad Stadium. The rookie draft will also be held on November 23.

Hi guys just so we know, i’m going to start comibg down in people not following the rules of copyright/plagiarism

If an article can not be accessed die to a paywall it’s for a reason. You should all know the rules by now.

Posting links and a BRIEF run down of what the article is about is ok

Copy and pasting entire articles is not