List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Old dodgey mate Ricky Nixon hearing it will be Josh Thomas in the Pies deal to try & secure May. Presumably with their Rd1 pick included (even though Thomas re-signed earlier in the year)...

Not taking pick 16* and josh thomas for May.

For one we are losing our captain and one of our top 3 players.
Getting in a kid who is tempted by drugs.. and bringing him closer to home. Where he prob has more dodgy mates.
Plus pick 16 where after the top 10 the next 20 kids are same same

Getting in a kid who is tempted by drugs.. and bringing him closer to home. Where he prob has more dodgy mates.

Agree. We get Compo next yr if he stays. Probably Pick 3-6. Plus one more year out of Steve, while our younger kids mature around him. So they would need to get us Pick 5 this year, just for us to even think about it. Then once they've got that pick 5, then they can add a player to get the deal done.

I have some mutual Qld friends. By all reports he’s a really intelligent guy.
In saying that these friends are also intelligent guys who may occasionally get up to no good..

Steven May can go wherever he likes next year because he will be an Unrestricted Free Agent, as will Jarrod Harbrow, David Swallow, Tom Nicholls, Rory Thompson and Sam Day. There will be a market for all of those players and only Harbs is contracted (yeah, Swallow too, but as far as I see he just said he wants to extend). There are 23 players out of contract now or at the end of 2018, with some of those due to extend now or be traded/delisted. There will likely be a high number of players leaving from that group between now and the end of next year's Draft. With good management, Craig Cameron can get the balance right with trades and drafting to capitalise on the talent drain and reboot the list.

The good news is that in 2020 the GWS foundation begin to enter Unrestricted Free Agency, like Patton and Cameron, with several getting into Tom Lynch territory next year, like Shiel, Tomlinson, Haynes, Coniglio and Buntine. If GWS doesn't have a good year next year I suspect we'll be reading headlines about their best players being raided.

Josh Thomas is 27 and is not a 'kid' but the qustion needs to be asked is he the type of player the suns really need ? small foward with limited midfield ability and not really elite speed ? Think Langdon would be a better fit for the suns

Maybe Tom Langdon in part of the deal for May, and hit Freo for Ed Langdon, as a replacement for Hall.......

This sounds like a load of rubbish. We don’t like to hear fake rumours when it’s about players leaving but when it’s about one coming to us it’s okay? Nixon said just a week ago that Scrimshaw has met with Carlton during the season which we know is false.

Nixon is a grub of the highest order how does he even have any media space?

Josh Thomas is a local. He and Dayne Beams knocked the Suns back on offers to play in the 2010 pre-AFL Suns side. Do the Suns need a true small forward with goal sense? Yes. Does he want to come. No.

Technically I wouldn’t even call him a local. He’s from Redlands which means he’s closer to being a Brizzo.

Thomas owns a house in Brisbane. Has for few years.

Don’t think any indication there’s any thought of moving back to Qld though.

Top 8 pick or keep him, the compo would be better than this next year anyway

Apologies for the intrusion but that's they way I see it. Dont get me wrong he'd be a ripper pick-up but even if he drops the bottom lip initially, he may enjoy next year under the tutelage of Dewy for another year and change his mind.
I remember when Crawf wanted to leave and in the space of one footy season he went on to play another 8yrs.

North desperately trying to improve their outside run / experience with Polec, Hall and Gaff.
I've been told he is gone l don't personally know for sure
That’s the power of social media. Everyone has a voice
And that's what will cause it to cannibalise itself.
This is the only media forum l've ever been on l would last 2 minutes on Fakebook.

I've been told he is gone l don't personally know for sure

And that's what will cause it to cannibalise itself.
This is the only media forum l've ever been on l would last 2 minutes on Fakebook.

I lasted longer than 2 minutes on FARCEBOOK..lol!...... but not on it anymore.....nor on any of the other ones.

Yes it is false

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...e/news-story/e92d3a1bf95ce39478116848021d8ca7

“The Collingwood players have been told May is coming.”

“These deals have a history of getting done, particularly when the Pies’ list manager — Ned Guy — is your old player manager and you remain friends.”

Let’s see what the Pies come up with.
Maybe Darcy Moore’s trade pick plus their 1st this or next year?

P.s. Hope my posting of the quote and article link is correct? :/