List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

We all really value your contribution.
There is no expectation to fill a void left by sunbhoy.
I’ve enjoyed your posts so keep posting!
More a tongue in cheek comment, I'm sure no one can come close to that walking encyclopedia of footy knowledge

Last season Suns had only 38 players on senior list two short of maximum.
Holman and MacPherson have been upgraded to senior list taking those two spots.
Loss of
Lynch Rosa Hall Barlow Rischitelli opens up 5 spots.
Add likely trades (delisting) of KK and Lonergan gives us a total of at least 7 spots on senior list.
Reckon first 4 will be used for best young talent -our first four picks.
Three late picks on probably Miles Ellis and Horlin-Smith.
Any trades for Hall and KK will need to future draft picks.
May and Martin decisions would change things appreciably.

Screw Richmond

You guys can have

2018 1st round pick, 2019 1st round pick, Josh Thomas, Brody Mihocek for Steven May, and don't match us on Lynch.

GC
Out: Tom Lynch, Steven May
In: Pick 3, 2018 1st round pick, 2019 1st round pick, Josh Thomas, Brody Mihocek

Probably heaps better than whatever you guys were going to receive from Richmond anyways

We already had cash for Lynch, delist Blair (300k), trade Fasolo (350k), delist Crocker (220k), delist Smith (250k), instant 1.1 mil cleared up

Screw Richmond

You guys can have

2018 1st round pick, 2019 1st round pick, Josh Thomas, Brody Mihocek for Steven May, and don't match us on Lynch.

GC
Out: Tom Lynch, Steven May
In: Pick 3, 2018 1st round pick, 2019 1st round pick, Josh Thomas, Brody Mihocek

Probably heaps better than whatever you guys were going to receive from Richmond anyways

We already had cash for Lynch, delist Blair (300k), trade Fasolo (350k), delist Crocker (220k), delist Smith (250k), instant 1.1 mil cleared up

And then you woke up and you were all wet................

Quote from May last night. Maybe he stays which I would be happy with.

"It's no secret the club wants a long-term commitment from me. But I haven't said I'm leaving, I've just said that if I'm going to sign a long-term deal I just need to assess all of my options because it's probably one of my last contracts.
Being on the Gold Coast, we're a bit hidden and you guys don't get to see the young guys week in, week out. But we're definitely heading in the right direction

I'd say he'd have been desperate to get an AFL Contract of any description after 3 years of failing to crack the starting 22 at Adelaide. He reportedly showed up at the Suns overweight and quickly injured himself during preseason. When he returned to the NEAFL in Round 1 (which was Round 3 AFL) he played 3 games averaging 20 touches a game and then got injured, season done. But apparently he's a nice bloke. Good mates with Lynchy too. Toodle-loo, Wiggy.
It was 2 years when we signed him

I really doubt Wigg is going to go this off season, I really don’t understand the animosity towards him by a few posters here. He had a year ruined by injury, how about give the bloke a chance to get right this off season and show what he has this coming season. He was recruited to us for a reason give him a chance ....

Will likely re-rookie him , cant see anyone want a player not playing all season .

I am reliably told by Suns staff he is still got a year to run, I may be wrong but he is under contract I think

Does anyone else get annoyed by the flippant and casual nature players agents talk about their client (players) future direction

Talking about staying or going and they offer up yeah we will catch up for a chat in the coming weeks or have a coffee and see where that goes, drives me ****ing nuts how blase they are

Its only the club future and the players career yet they talk like its a 100 dollar purchase

“He hadn’t been given a game by Adelaide and Gold Coast was very keen on him the year he was drafted (2014) and have monitored his development.

“He was basically the next player on the Suns’ draft list when Adelaide took him (at pick 35 from SANFL club North Adelaide) and they like his leg and the fact that he can play both as a midfielder and a defender.

Wigg, 180cm and 78kg, is currently holidaying in Canada. He has agreed to a two-year deal with Gold Coast.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/c25aaaa540b4fdfa55eb99d0ed27e270

Suns would be silly to pre-list 3 mature players and not give Wigg opportunity to show what he has especially when he is under contract. Not his fault that he broke and re-broke his ankle. In preseason Dew praised his elite kick and decision making and asked him to have a big preseason (he did turn up a bit fat). Wigg was an emergency on multiple occasions in his last year with Crows. I watched him against Lions in NEAFL when he re-injured his leg and he had a great kick.

How can a new recruit turn up fat to his new club. That’s honestly shocking to hear; I can understand having too much muscle before pre season starts but fat? Baffling to hear and for a fringe player it reeks of ill discipline which is weird as I thought he was a hard working in and under mid

I have found a few stats sites that say Wigg is out of contract, but the one with the most cred was this article https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...8/news-story/fa31f2dcd98d7846ab02a13c6363c83d

I am happy to be wrong on this, but it has been variously reported as both one and two years, so even the Media don't know for sure. The Fox article lists all Suns players coming out of contract this year and it seems pretty accurate. I wouldn't be surprised if Young, Holman and Wigg were all given one year deals with two year options, hence the confusion. All three are listed as out of contract of sites like Footywire, although we know that Holman was extended and it appears he remains on a Rookie deal.

I have found a few stats sites that say Wigg is out of contract, but the one with the most cred was this article https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...8/news-story/fa31f2dcd98d7846ab02a13c6363c83d

I am happy to be wrong on this, but it has been variously reported as both one and two years, so even the Media don't know for sure. The Fox article lists all Suns players coming out of contract this year and it seems pretty accurate. I wouldn't be surprised if Young, Holman and Wigg were all given one year deals with two year options, hence the confusion. All three are listed as out of contract of sites like Footywire, although we know that Holman was extended and it appears he remains on a Rookie deal.
A lot seems to be wrong with that article. Witts and Lyons have another year as does Young http://aflnation.com.au/2017/10/19/aaron-young-traded-to-the-gold-coast-suns/
The place reporting Wigg for 2 years was an article website which would have a vested interested in the story as he played for Adelaide so they are more likely to do their research.

A lot seems to be wrong with that article. Witts and Lyons have another year as does Young http://aflnation.com.au/2017/10/19/aaron-young-traded-to-the-gold-coast-suns/
The place reporting Wigg for 2 years was an article website which would have a vested interested in the story as he played for Adelaide so they are more likely to do their research.
The article says Witts and Lyons have been extended, which is in line with what we know. Again, the confusion could be because the contracts have 2nd or 3rd year extension options.