List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

I’m very disappointed in Scrimshaw.
I expressed during the pre-season that I was very concerned about Scrimshaw lack of growth over the summer and I got absolutely pummelled and told how wrong I was by stacks of Board Members.
I should go back sometime and see who they were. You should listen to Mr Bods people. My strike rate is quite good.
He had some setbacks during the season but nonetheless he should have gotten himself to a level where he was good enough to get selected this season.
He’s been paid incredibly well by us, in saying that I mean not just the club but us members all contribute to his salary.
Now he just seems to want to join the bedwetter list and go take the easy option.
It’s extremely disappointing.
In his defence - he's been paid no more by us than any other top 10 draftee anywhere has been. First year and Second year draftee salaries are set.
The only difference is match payments - those that play more get paid more. Scrimshaw only played four games...
Scrimshaw should be given credit for wanting out now if he is not invested - after all he could see out his contract which would appear much more costly to us.

In his defence - he's been paid no more by us than any other top 10 draftee anywhere has been. First year and Second year draftee salaries are set.
The only difference is match payments - those that play more get paid more. Scrimshaw only played four games...
Scrimshaw should be given credit for wanting out now if he is not invested - after all he could see out his contract which would appear much more costly to us.

Thanks for those points-I’m just disappointed is the overall thought. You have such high hopes for top ten picks.

Agree its a disappointment - but not every draft selection works out.
From all reports Scrim is a great kid and I hope he does well where-ever he goes.

“He pretty much needs 24/7 babysitting”. Yes, youre right, thats not a flip! Its just trash.

Of course you saw Lloyd talking to him for 5 mins in 2017 so that means he knows what happened since at GC.

You seem to have better insights than me so you would know Dew had his first one on one with Scrim round 19 and during exit interview he was told he just needs to get his body right and play more consistantly.

Hardly great communication or good reason not to play him when the entire team was inconsistent and certainly not what is expected from a senior coach given the task to develop talent.

But as Ive said before, I appreciate he had a lot on his plate and Im sure he will learn from it.

Never at any time has any of his coaches told him he is lazy or any issue with his work rate but you believe what makes you feel good mate! We will let next season figure it out but Im pretty sure Clarkson and Wright have a little more cred than you and me and you would also know they have watched almost every game hes played in the last year.

Ill take their opinion, you take yours is fine by me!

You only know what is told to you by Jack and you clearly have a strong emotional invested interest which is fair enough.
I’ll back in our Club, our Coach, our environment and our management’s judgement.
He can either grit his teeth, honour his commitments and stick it out or take the easy option.

I would expect Suns were not impressed when Scrimshaw talked to other clubs midseason. That's probably the reason why he did not get opportunity late in the season when some of his games in NEAFL were pretty good. My guess is Suns put line through him. I think he will do well at Hawks, he got a lot of talent. Just not sure if he has enough competitiveness, drive in him. He looks a bit too laid back. Good luck, Jack.

Jonathan o'rourke, Liam Sumner,Daniel godridge ,Jimmy toumpass , KK( unsure) , Nathan Freeman , Jarrod Pickett ( unsure yet ). Nakia ? Not every top 10 work out , that is why I prefer max three Top 10 .

Don't mind getting reasonable Future pick for KK and Scrimshaw and wish them all the best . Need to think about next year GC academy players , I think their value could go up if they play well in U18 and Tac cup next year .

“He pretty much needs 24/7 babysitting”. Yes, youre right, thats not a flip! Its just trash.

Of course you saw Lloyd talking to him for 5 mins in 2017 so that means he knows what happened since at GC.

You seem to have better insights than me so you would know Dew had his first one on one with Scrim round 19 and during exit interview he was told he just needs to get his body right and play more consistantly.

Hardly great communication or good reason not to play him when the entire team was inconsistent and certainly not what is expected from a senior coach given the task to develop talent.

But as Ive said before, I appreciate he had a lot on his plate and Im sure he will learn from it.

Never at any time has any of his coaches told him he is lazy or any issue with his work rate but you believe what makes you feel good mate! We will let next season figure it out but Im pretty sure Clarkson and Wright have a little more cred than you and me and you would also know they have watched almost every game hes played in the last year.

Ill take their opinion, you take yours is fine by me!
You always seem to have a lot of excuses ready to back Scrim up and that's ok that's what family should do.

You say scrim had his first one on one meeting with Dew at round 19 I call b******* on that.
I'd say scrim probably sleep through the other meetings that's why Dew hasn't given him the time of day because that's all we have been hearing in the media is how he's the only one of the 4 top 10 picks In the same draft that has struggled with the demands of being a professiona athlete.

You can continue to bring up all these excuses you want but at the end of the day that will not help him in anyway.

Anyone willing to have a crack at what's ahead for the next 3 days for us?
I'll have a dip

1. May to Melbourne for pick 5.
2. Martin stays
3. Scrim, Hall & KK all gone as stated already.
4. Lonergan delisted
6. GHS to us.

From left field.Taylor Duryea to us in the Scrim deal.
or
Newman or Finlayson in - Leslie delisted.

You always seem to have a lot of excuses ready to back Scrim up and that's ok that's what family should do.

You say scrim had his first one on one meeting with Dew at round 19 I call b******* on that.
I'd say scrim probably sleep through the other meetings that's why Dew hasn't given him the time of day because that's all we have been hearing in the media is how he's the only one of the 4 top 10 picks In the same draft that has struggled with the demands of being a professiona athlete.

You can continue to bring up all these excuses you want but at the end of the day that will not help him in anyway.
All young players have access to development coaches and welfare. It's really a key area for us. Happy to hear Haines that new Personnel Excellence dept will have 5 people (most in AFL) lead by Hart. But it's not like we start from nothing. I still remember interview with Brodie after he got second opportunity this year. He said he was working hard every week with Malceski and Hart on his deficiencies, spending hours together watching video, etc.

a lot of hasty assumptions being made here about a 20 year old kid, especially when probably the person closest to jack without actually being jack is trying to provide a reasonable side to things. i'd like to give benefit of the doubt to the people in the know, not us armchair experts. let's see what happens over the next 3 days. i doubt hawthorn have much trade value to play with if they're going to get scully and wingard, here's hoping jack sticks with us and forges out a spot in our best 22 next year to prove the doubters wrong.

I'll have a dip

2. Martin stays
4. Lonergan delisted
6. GHS to us.

or
Probably very close just not sure about your left field. Latest Carlton are interested in Newman - after being delisted. You forgot 1 more preselection - it must be selected also this Wed - Pickett?

I'll have a dip

2. Martin stays
4. Lonergan delisted
6. GHS to us.

or
If we get Dureya then I have no faith in the recruiting staff - complete spud

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'll have a dip

2. Martin stays
4. Lonergan delisted
6. GHS to us.

or
All of the 5 I agree with except I reckon May stays IMO.

I'll have a dip

2. Martin stays
4. Lonergan delisted
6. GHS to us.

or
I like Finlayson , other I passed , still hope GC pull out going for GHS . May stayed , pick 5 tempting but I am content with Lukosius , Rozee, Liam Stocker /chayce Jones , McLennan /valente, Duursma/O'Halloran's

a lot of hasty assumptions being made here about a 20 year old kid, especially when probably the person closest to jack without actually being jack is trying to provide a reasonable side to things. i'd like to give benefit of the doubt to the people in the know, not us armchair experts. let's see what happens over the next 3 days. i doubt hawthorn have much trade value to play with if they're going to get scully and wingard, here's hoping jack sticks with us and forges out a spot in our best 22 next year to prove the doubters wrong.

Oh yeah but feel free to say whatever you want about the professionals trying to build our club in our footy and welfare departments.
That’s why I’ve jumped in on this matter after biting my lip bloody hard for weeks now.

Hall can go and register for both ND and pre season Draft .

I’ve had a glance at other boards and the smugness and certainty of the Hawks, North and Dees fans about taking Scrimshaw, Hall and KK for steak knives makes the stomach churn

I think if we end up with 3 top 8 draft picks. And we on trade either 2 or 3.
Then the club will be aiming to be cute and try and bring in the king twins plus a mid walsh/smith/rozee.

I wouldnt be against it as i rate all the elite 8 but would prefer the SA pair or trio of luko, rankine and rozee.

I’ve had a glance at other boards and the smugness and certainty of the Hawks, North and Dees fans about taking Scrimshaw, Hall and KK for steak knives makes the stomach churn
Lets face it - the club (or the players themselves) have made decisions meaning they are surplus to needs.
I'm not concerned if they go for "steak knives " so long as they provide list space for others wanting to play for us long term , and ensuring we still have sufficient draft capital to get the players we want in the draft.
We are well set for the draft this year - so maybe future draft picks is the go in these trades...