List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Since the Lions have taken themselves out of the top end of the draft for this year and next, I'm living vicariously through you, taking a keen interest in what you guys end up doing (and also because I want you to succeed for the good of Queensland football, we're all in this together).

Three picks in the elite eight is more than enough for this draft, and two top SA boys is enough, there's no need to collect the whole set. Both Rankine and Rozee have strong ties with Lukosius so you can't go wrong with either of them. If I were making the decision there's no question about it, what Rankine did at the championships and last year's all star game is just freakish. He might be the next Andrew McLeod, and he's moved up to senior footy and not disgraced himself. You don't pass up talent like that unless he does a Wingard and intentionally bombs the interview. I wonder if the Suns are thinking the same, because otherwise why would they use a mature selection on his teammate Burgess, when everyone and their mother knows they want Pickett? There has to be a reason why they're leaving themselves open to having him snatched out of their grasp like Geelong did to the Eagles with Tim Kelly.

Pick 6 might net Smith who is rated by some as better than Walsh. I think you guys are in a great position and should resist any offer for a pick trade. There's always next year to grab more top prospects. That draft looks mint, with Rowell dominating the group as hard as Rankine did, and you'll be well stocked between your pick and ours.

This this this.

Rankine is that one player every epic team has had. A freak talent with swagger. Dude knows hes better than everyone hes ever stepped on a field with and do not underestimate how far that level of self belief takes you. The AFL needs to stop demonising people for being self confident.

If we don't take this dude I will be pissed off. He is a once in a generation talent.

This this this.

Rankine is that one player every epic team has had. A freak talent with swagger. Dude knows hes better than everyone hes ever stepped on a field with and do not underestimate how far that level of self belief takes you. The AFL needs to stop demonising people for being self confident.

If we don't take this dude I will be pissed off. He is a once in a generation talent.
So is Bennell.

Below is the review from the Herald Sun and Gary Buckenara, and his verdict is opposite to others in the Melbourne media.

IN: Anthony Miles, Corey Ellis, George Horlin-Smith, Jack Hombsch, Sam Collins, Josh Corbett, Chris Burgess, picks 3, 6, 24, 80, Brisbane’s 2019 first-round pick, Richmond’s 2019 third-round pick, Adelaide’s 2019 fourth-round pick

OUT: Tom Lynch, Steven May, Kade Kolodjashnij, Jack Scrimshaw, Aaron Hall, picks 19, 59, 2019 second-round pick, 2019 third-round pick, 2019 fourth-round pick

Draft picks: 2, 3, 6, 24, 29, 80

GARY BUCKENARA SAYS: On paper it looks like a disastrous trade period for the Suns but I don’t see it that way given the high-end picks the club has been able to secure in a really strong draft. Yes, their co-captains in Lynch and May have left but to get pick Nos.3 and 6 for them is great value. The challenge now is to nail the selections and retain players who should be stars for the future. Miles, Ellis, Horlin-Smith, Collins and Hombsch will all walk straight into the best 22 and will no doubt be committed to work as hard as they can to make AFL careers for themselves given they are on their second chance and in the case of Hombsch, his third opportunity. That can only mean good things for the Suns.

GRADE: A-

This this this.

I agree, he can be your Jason Akermanis. Aker had a gigantic ego but by gum he could play.

This this this.

Stevenson at pies cocky as **** kicks a lazy 38 goals in his first yr
10more then our leading goal scorer..

Didn't jarrod garlett want to be drafted by us?
Yeah that is how I remember it. Was stoked to be a Sun for a few years, retired mid contract and now is aparently happier playing for Carlton. Drafting anyone based on what they think they want as a 17/18 year old is a risky game at best.

No. Bennell was nothing like Rankine in personality and not as talented. Rankine is a super freak talent. If we pass on him we will live to regret it.
Think you are underselling Harley big time. He should be a top 5 player in the AFL with his talent and athleticism. For obvious reasons he will never get there but he was just as talented as Rankine imo and had better size for current day AFL

Yeah that is how I remember it. Was stoked to be a Sun for a few years, retired mid contract and now is aparently happier playing for Carlton. Drafting anyone based on what they think they want as a 17/18 year old is a risky game at best.

Nice username :thumbsu:

Think you are underselling Harley big time. He should be a top 5 player in the AFL with his talent and athleticism. For obvious reasons he will never get there but he was just as talented as Rankine imo and had better size for current day AFL

Nope, Bennell is an incredible talent that was wasted but was a huge talent. Rankine is on another level to Bennell. Bennell couldnt even win contested ball.

Bennell won plenty of contests playing for the Gold Coast. Sure he was more dangerous on the outside - but he would regularly chip in for 9-10 contested possessions a game.

How long you reckon Rankine stayed if GC draftee him ?
My answer : 1-2 years .
Says repeatedly he’s happy to move interstate (even in shorts where no one has actually asked him that question), we have a good history with SA boys, we have really good indigenous leaders like harbs and Ah Chee and we’ll be drafting his good mate Lukosius, so i’d be confident he’d stick it out for a bit longer than that

Alright take Rankine at 2 or 3.

If they take Rankine I'll back the club in but if they don't take I will 100% understand the reason why.

The kids we get need to be self motivated professionals who embrace a team and whole of club ethos, and not lazy lime light seeking prima donas

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

If they take Rankine I'll back the club in but if they don't take I will 100% understand the reason why.

The kids we get need to be self motivated professionals who embrace a team and whole of club ethos, and not lazy lime light seeking prima donas

Hope we interview their dads too this time.

Much more confident on him after his ‘tomorrows heroes’ feature.

Also our team could use some flair. He definitely provides that