List Mgmt. 2018 Draft Watch - Depth Chart In OP

Latest mock draft by Cal twomey has
Stocker - 18
Valente -22
Ely Smith - 29
Interestingly Smith finished top 10 in yo-yo and agility testing at the combine. 188cm 86 kg very similar size to Dusty as a junior
I'd think if Stocker is there at our first pick, we'd pick up our jaw on the floor and select him.

Too risky at our first pick
I remember people looking puzzled when the Doggies took the Bont so early, given his height and questions on if he was worth the pick in which he was taken........ the Dogs knew.....

Not sure if The Bont had questions on his tank though......

Love your point to open up some different discussion.
Suggesting it's actually more Shane Edwards or Daniel Rioli types may be what we need ?
Possibly Shai can get there, or Butler/Castagna have turns through the midfield.

Someone who analyses the game more than me needs to give their input.
I still just lose my shit over us allowing an unmarked man 20m out on the boundary as an easy option for the opposition kick-in, despite there probably being a good reason why they allow it.

Sheds style of guy- Yes please. I think we need more contested ability. But it wouldn't shock me if we go for more of a hybrid than pure inside mid. Basically a player like what Conca could have been with a bit more luck (luck for us in him sticking to his high side of capability). A Sheds type would be awesome.

I reckon Shai is a mid, resting forward, just waiting for him to develop physically and in maturity. If he can get the repeat sprints up to a good level I reckon he could become a star. As a forward he always seems to me to be buzzing around but not in high return ways. You see our starting small forwards and they get to the right spot really well, Shai not so much. But when Shai gets some space (not much needed) he looks like a running mid to me.

Dan will become a mid sooner rather than later. He's got star written all over him as well.

For our drafting I'm expecting us to go midfielder, then quality medium/smalls. I wouldn't be surprised if a super running small forward gets picked up. We need spare ones to ensure our game plan is always viable if injury hits.

I see a lot of Role changes in the midfield next year, there has to be lol, Cotch will probably go back to his more natural game of see ball, get ball, Lambert will play on-ball, more midfield time for Caddy, hopefully Graham can advance and Higgins will only get better. Maybe Grigg and K.Mac can go into the guts. Its going to be interesting.

interesting stats but to me they lie. actually think caddy needs to really pull the finger out because he is not fast enough for a mid or does he have the tank and we have a bloke called tom going forward. He may find himself in a pinch hitting role
Caddy clearly changed his role the last 18 months to play as the second marking target, but was recruited as a hard running inside midfielder. He has 6 months to drop some weight and build his tank back up. Not sure why everyone is panicking without preseason training begins.

Now kids in drafts, i have no idea so now its my turn to flood the boards with pressure posts. Dont test me as I am also prone if you get it wrong to write strongly worded emails!

Which kid is like a Graham type, big body and can play in the guts straight away. To me that is more of a issue to address then a ruck
Luke Parker..... :p

Didnt people say that about Dusty, Cripps, Oliver?

Oliver and Cripps had high skin folds but could still run. Dusty always found plenty of the ball at junior level but he was a top 3 pick so clearly not on the same level as RCD.

I remember people looking puzzled when the Doggies took the Bont so early, given his height and questions on if he was worth the pick in which he was taken........ the Dogs knew.....

Not sure if The Bont had questions on his tank though......
The only people who looked puzzled were those who had no idea.

Looks like after our pick at 37 the Swans, lolnOrf, and the Filth have 13 picks between them. I reckon most of those will be used with the likes of Blakey (Swans) Thomas (norf) and Quayner and Kelly (Filth) This will effectively move our 64, 68 picks into the 3rd round. More points for live trading and better picks.

Stocker - 18
Valente -22
Ely Smith - 29
Interestingly Smith finished top 10 in yo-yo and agility testing at the combine. 188cm 86 kg very similar size to Dusty as a junior
It's not a mock draft but more a power ranking at the moment. He releases a mock draft generally in draft week.

Caddy started out as a hard running scoring midfielder if I recall. He's become more selfish as a player and we should just exploit that near goals. I think every team needs a selfish, just wanna kick goals forward somewhere in the mix because as Caddy has shown, there were games when we needed that as we finessed and missed shots. Caddy marks well for his size too. Short stints up the ground won't hurt to keep him hungry.

As much as I would like Valente, Crows and Power have too many picks for him to fall to us. While Clubs will still pick interstaters, I think the go home factor is starting to enter the sub-conscious a bit more. If all things are really close to equal, Clubs will choose local talent. God knows GC needs to. Being r*ped and pillaged us Qlders!

I'm very confident Ely Smith is on the board at Tiger Central. RCD or Stocker would be great gets.
Be great if the Crows/Power take Valente before 17 because it means a more highly rated kid gets through to us.

Stocker - 18
Valente -22
Ely Smith - 29
If it falls the way Twomey rates them (astonished he doesn't have Bailey Williams in his top 30), our first pick will be pushed back to 21, with Sydney (Blakey), Norf (Thomas), #injuries (Quaynor) and the Dogs (West) all butting in front of us. Two of those are certainties, so our first pick at best will actually be 19.

Smith is ideal for us.

I would be offering next year's first to Gold Coast for 24 (likely to end up pick 27-28) and 29 (likely to be 30-31).

Devil's advocate. Not necessarily what I think, but for discussion.

Major focus on big bodied mid on here. Our game plan is not based on winning the contested ball. We have to provide a contest and stop easy ball out or else our structure falls apart (see Pies game). So Nank doesn't have to win the tap, justs top the opposition ruck from hitting his man. We don't have to win the contest, we have to stop the ball moving freely if we don't. So what we really need is a mid that can contest the inside ball, but is great at pressure, high footy smarts and can run both ways. As long as they can make the contest it's their ability to shark the ball around the contest, shut down the opposition and break fast that matters. That is a very different player to what this thread I talking about.

I wonder if come draft day people will melt down because we get someone that isn't that monster inside mid. But over time we might look back and say ' they knew what they were doing getting this all round mid that makes our system work better.'
We desperately need inside help for Cotchin, Martin and Prestia. Pressuring the other team's clearances worked in 2017 but was one of the areas we fell down in in the prelim.

Not to harp on Smith but he is a big-bodied clearance winner who tackles (5.5 per game at TAC level this year), with the tank to run both ways.

I still just lose my shit over us allowing an unmarked man 20m out on the boundary as an easy option for the opposition kick-in, despite there probably being a good reason why they allow it.
Because it's easier to defend the next kick.

Now kids in drafts, i have no idea so now its my turn to flood the boards with pressure posts. Dont test me as I am also prone if you get it wrong to write strongly worded emails!

Which kid is like a Graham type, big body and can play in the guts straight away. To me that is more of a issue to address then a ruck
*returns fire with* is there any word on if we are looking to improve our picks? ;)

Maybe one of the king twins in there they badly need a key position
I actually think they will take both the King boys and maybe there team mate Bailey Smith or the premier Vic country midfielder in the draft after Walsh.. Reckon they will start trying to use the Lions recent stragedy to mitigate the go home factor...

Devil's advocate. Not necessarily what I think, but for discussion.

Major focus on big bodied mid on here. Our game plan is not based on winning the contested ball. We have to provide a contest and stop easy ball out or else our structure falls apart (see Pies game). So Nank doesn't have to win the tap, justs top the opposition ruck from hitting his man. We don't have to win the contest, we have to stop the ball moving freely if we don't. So what we really need is a mid that can contest the inside ball, but is great at pressure, high footy smarts and can run both ways. As long as they can make the contest it's their ability to shark the ball around the contest, shut down the opposition and break fast that matters. That is a very different player to what this thread I talking about.

I wonder if come draft day people will melt down because we get someone that isn't that monster inside mid. But over time we might look back and say ' they knew what they were doing getting this all round mid that makes our system work better.'
IMO reckon we change our setups & add inside mids to help accommodate the change in style, it was a clear weakness this yr & it's something we need to fix or Clubs will exploit it

Caddy clearly changed his role the last 18 months to play as the second marking target, but was recruited as a hard running inside midfielder. He has 6 months to drop some weight and build his tank back up. Not sure why everyone is panicking without preseason training begins.
Blokes just don’t drop that weight at his age- his body is done as it is- my point is if he is going to be more of a mid he needs to bloody work hard at it - we need him and I think caddy shack needs to lift

No kidding he'll have to work hard, but it's not that much of a stretch for him to lose a couple of kgs. Riewoldt lost 3-5kgs in one summer when they trimmed him down to become more mobile.

List Mgmt. 2018 Draft Watch - Depth Chart In OP