2018 general discussions

• Thread starter Thread starter SUNS

Yeah Yeal I’ll be there. These events have been very carefully organised in the past though and not allowed the opportunity to ask any hard questions of The Coach or Staff.
Don’t get your hopes up of being able to delve below the surface.
Don't people usually just say stop kicking it backwards? Kinda ruins it for the real fans

C'mon Bods, what would you ask if given the chance? 1 question.

Mr Dew-from your short time here have you been able to diagnose as to why our blokes are so physically weak and can’t apply themselves for four quarters week in and week out? How confident are you that we can have that eradicated from our culture prior to round 1?

Don't people usually just say stop kicking it backwards? Kinda ruins it for the real fans

That’s all the blokes over 60 that ask that at the Suns Forums, it takes them 5mins to Ask the question too because they first have to tell us how long they have followed AFL, where they originally come from, what team they used to go for, how long they have been a member and how they are a total legend in whatever section it is they sit in, then finally they ask about kicking backwards followed by a round of applause by fellow over 60s.

Yeah sadly those people ruin it for everyone. Imagine an event like this for Collingwood or Essendon fans. They feel entitled to do whatever they want.

Mr Dew-from your short time here have you been able to diagnose as to why our blokes are so physically weak and can’t apply themselves for four quarters week in and week out? How confident are you that we can have that eradicated from our culture prior to round 1?
Dew - "Well Bods it's simple. Every player we've recruited this year has 'Endurance' as their weakest points".
It's actually the question I'd love to have answered too.
But yeah it will be hijacked by old blokes who'll say we just need to kick it more....

Safe to say you're not an oldie

Suns fans have grown into a pretty cynical group pretty quickly. I wouldn't go as far as to say pessimistic (I'm looking at you, Demons fans) because after a win or a close contest there is no shortage of praise. I can't really blame the Suns PR for being cagey about Q&A opps because it could turn into a real mess pretty quickly. The GC Media is bloody ordinary and we all know how the Melbourne media can get creative at the slightest whiff of controversy.
I mentioned the Demons because a mate is a fan, plus he worked for the AFL for a while, and he says their forums are so toxic that he hoped that players never read any of it. At the same time, he hoped that Demons management was listening to the fans because they continually felt shut out.

The point is that the Suns should be a lot more open to involving fans in social media and engage with criticism head on. I realise there isn't a budget for it, but Suns TV should be producing a tonne more content, showing re-mixed highlight reels of matches the following day instead of the same dull package, putting players in front of the camera in far more relaxed environments, getting coaches analysis the day after matches, and generally innovating to get more hits on their website. More traffic means more sponsorship and more content means more fan engagement.

For the meantime, this forum will continue to be one of the places fans come to vent and share news. It will evolve in time, you just hope that the Suns can innovate and create something to capture the passion of its fans and give them some avenues to contribute. The 49ers publish match reports in Spanish and have hours of video footage, photos and team news, but only a few years ago it resembled the Suns site.

My take on The Suns external communications is that its sporadic and not consistent, their social media strategy is weak and under resourced which lends to a sense of appearing second rate, tentative and scared

Unfortunately I think until we are doing the heavy lifting on the field the rest of the edges of the clubs brand will continue to be backyard

I believe in the club and the AFL and Mark Evans have taken their lumps, made hard decisions and changed an enormous amount about the club in the last 6 months since the first blow was struck with Rodney Eade being non renewed. The club has made more step changes in culture and staff in the last six months than in the last 6 years but we have to wait for some traction and also to ensure that the new players and staff members can effect a positive change and influence

I think the goal for us in 2018 should be to do what Brisbane did last year and have the AFL world commend them on being competitive, to have a impressive young group playing good footy and be recognised as being a ship that has turned the corner, I think if we get anything better than that it's a bonus.

Brisbane lost a lot of matches, finished as wooden spooners and yet were not berated or smeared in the media or by commentators because its pretty clear they are on the way back and that started with the two Tassie boys, Fagan and Devine (who I played schoolboy footy against back in Tassie) making the big calls.

We have a lot to be genuinely hopeful about and also 41 players training currently uninjured

My take on The Suns external communications is that its sporadic and not consistent, their social media strategy is weak and under resourced which lends to a sense of appearing second rate, tentative and scared

Unfortunately I think until we are doing the heavy lifting on the field the rest of the edges of the clubs brand will continue to be backyard

I believe in the club and the AFL and Mark Evans have taken their lumps, made hard decisions and changed an enormous amount about the club in the last 6 months since the first blow was struck with Rodney Eade being non renewed. The club has made more step changes in culture and staff in the last six months than in the last 6 years but we have to wait for some traction and also to ensure that the new players and staff members can effect a positive change and influence

I think the goal for us in 2018 should be to do what Brisbane did last year and have the AFL world commend them on being competitive, to have a impressive young group playing good footy and be recognised as being a ship that has turned the corner, I think if we get anything better than that it's a bonus.

Brisbane lost a lot of matches, finished as wooden spooners and yet were not berated or smeared in the media or by commentators because its pretty clear they are on the way back and that started with the two Tassie boys, Fagan and Devine (who I played schoolboy footy against back in Tassie) making the big calls.

We have a lot to be genuinely hopeful about and also 41 players training currently uninjured

I think when gc digital was running the site we where all happy with the content , but I just don’t know if has been replaced yet or he has been replaced by someone no where near as good , but agree something needs to be done with our website , it’s getting to the stage it’s not really first pint of call for suns info .

Kieron went to the crows end of last year..

In an age where digital media is the norm, I see no reason why the Suns shouldn’t be investing resources into it. Particularly when the club is performing poorly, it’s a key resource that can promote hope, or at least focus on the highlights/positives. I look at the Suns app daily at the moment hoping to see some clips from training or a write up on a player. Most days it’s met with disappointment. Lucky for me I have you guys as saviors for any new information. The club really needs to up their game here.

Agree wholeheartedly with this. I have just emailed them asking for improvement to our Homepage. The latest news item is from the 27th and today is the 30th. Not good enough.

Completely agree.
I've been checking their site regularly for the last 2 years since kieron left looking for a job opportunity for thier social media. But nothing. While I don't have any experience or credentials for this type of position I think being a passionate fan that knows thier way around the latest technology and topics with a bit of inside access is all that's really needed. I'd love to see a club podcast back again. Heck I'd do it myself for free I've got the tools would just need access to club insiders.

W5OE7LK.jpg

Found this out of curiosity. Then our numbers.

4kXlxcz.jpg

JuvuVQO.jpg

So it looks like we have about half the registered male club participants that rugby league has and considerably more women playing our game when compared to rl. BUT we're growing at a much faster rate which is exciting!

Haha! yep there is, and I'm well past it....;););)
I think they want to work me to my death paid 2.5 times the average wage in tax this year and before anyone has a go I’m sure that’s more than Packer

At this rate I will fund everyone else’s retirement but not afford my own

Maybe I need to live with Choppers

Unfortunately Iva, it seems that's the way our Country is heading. I don't want to get into the politics of it all, suffice to say i'm happy with my lot and do not envy anyone trying to bring children up in the climate we're heading into.
I've had a saying for a long time when speaking to ex-pats over here that "you can't help where you're born, some of us are just luckier than others". Mainly in response to the Poms who keep calling us Aussies convicts.
Maybe it's time to change it to "you can't help where and when you're born etc.".....Cheers