2018 general discussions

• Thread starter Thread starter SUNS

28537530_10156267666288086_363172584_n.jpg

Not surprised at this, they don't rate us and that is why we are going to smash some more fancied teams this year, you watch the media turn on which ever team is under performing and we will become their darlings.

He's pretty well on the money. The Suns defence was very frugal in their own 50 and often the Cat's shots came from low percentage outside 50 bombs. Imagine what it will be like with Steven May?!

When Eade had a healthy list his best backlines were very good, but lacked cohesion. They were either stacked with May, Thompson and Leslie, or else depleted and relying on rookies. I thought we were getting good run out of defence with Saad, Hanley and Harbrow, but they didn't have the cohesion that goes with time practicing and playing together. Hanley especially, was erratic and seemed to negate his team mates. Harbs had a down year, which only got worse after his drink driving offence, while KK had concussion issues. The upside was that plenty of Defensive players got blooded and lots more were recruited (Nutting, Weller, Wigg, Heron).

It all augurs well for Dew's game plan because now if a player gets injured or isn't executing their task, the next player up can step into the roll, unlike last year where things just fell apart.
I reckon we have to give Andy Lovell, the backline coach, some kudos as we become a better overall team that back 6 is going to look better and better

I'm pretty sure it's what Eade would have been trying for, the players have to buy in and they didn't

Couldn't sell the message - it's called coaching, he didn't have it anymore - he just screamed like a lunatic as opposed to teaching kids who wanted to learn

I actually think Kolo looked out of place, and hope he finds his feet in JLT2. Looked indecisivie and weak at the contest/effort. Same goes for his brother at Geelong!
Don’t know what it is with KK. For a supposedly elite athlete, he always seems to lack strength for a 6’2” footballer. Regularly ill - needs more vitamins ;)

Had another look and caught some of the passages I'd missed yesterday. One 4th Quarter passage went Bowes to Witts to Nicholls to Day to Young from defensive 50 to forward 50, which Young should have had a shot for goal but tried to be cute to Sexton and turned it over. The finish wasn't the point, rather chain of passes that you will never ever see again. Changed my mind about Holman, who I liked in AFLX but yesterday thought he turned it over to much. However, today I'm thinking some of his kicking to marking targets was actually ok even though it looked bad live.
Another observation is the bench rotation of players through the midfield really suited some players, especially the fringe guys playing for spots who perhaps in the past got stuffed into roles they weren't up to. This game wasn't too fast for fellas like Fiorini, McPherson and Lemmens, although I still think Bowes, Brodie and Ainsworth are still a bit light of frame and slightly shy to throw themselves in with intent.
Sexton was easily the best forward and can be forgiven his poster and other gaffes because he made opportunities from anything the team gave him, which you can't find that easily. By the end the makeshift Cats defence was paying him huge respect.

Ha Ha that’s a good point WOD. What if what you are screaming out like a lunatic is absolute gold information.
I've worked in Education for 20 years, mainly teaching young adults, and I can guarantee you that screaming at your students and swinging into wild fits of rage will only ever achieve results like the Suns last 3 ladder finishes. Coaching wise we can thank Eade for mentoring Paul Roos, who mentored John Longmire, who mentored Stuart Dew. We will also thank him should we win a flag, not because of his ranty coaching style, but because teams he's coached slump at the end of his tenure and then win it all a few years later.

So I take it that you have swung into wild fits of rage then and it hasn’t worked?
You can’t say acting like a lunatic doesn’t work unless you have fully given it a go.
How about for the rest of your classes today you just be a complete screaming nut job who still gives out the same information that you normally would.
Then you can report back to us on the educational efficacy between calmness and screaming.

If anyone is keen for a big day of footy this Sunday , our NEAFL team is playing at Bond Uni against Broady at 10am , followed by maingame at Sharks at 3 , big day of footy.

Don’t know what it is with KK. For a supposedly elite athlete, he always seems to lack strength for a 6’2” footballer. Regularly ill - needs more vitamins ;)

iEbqJh6.gif

Just look at Jobe Watson's stats in his Brownlow year if you doubt the efficacy of James Hird's supplement regime.

Who would have predicted it, "Kade, Brownlow medalist".

So I take it that you have swung into wild fits of rage then and it hasn’t worked?
You can’t say acting like a lunatic doesn’t work unless you have fully given it a go.
How about for the rest of your classes today you just be a complete screaming nut job who still gives out the same information that you normally would.
Then you can report back to us on the educational efficacy between calmness and screaming.
I am an English Language teacher and my students are full fee paying adult learners, so it wouldn't be appropriate. Fun, but still inappropriate. In fact, I'm actually the boss, so I don't venture into the classroom as often as I used to. I did yell at a guy the other day, but he deserved it on account of him being a total jerk, although he did not listen to anything I said and is still being a jerk. However, I have learned that the best way to make students do what I want them to do is to lecture them condescendingly until they are very uncomfortable and promise never to repeat that behaviour. Adults are way naughtier than teenagers, always shagging in the bathrooms (sometimes the Muslim prayer rooms), smoking out the window, losing their tuition fees at the Casino (one guy dropped $117K on Baccarat) and getting themselves arrested. Come to think, that does sound like teenagers.

Who would have predicted it, "Kade, Brownlow medalist".
Nobody ever predicted Jobe Watson would win it either. But seriously, KK had glandular fever, which takes 6 months to pass, so between it and concussion he had a dog of a year. Give him a chance to play his way back into form and he'll be fine. Some think he looks jittery and nervous, but I think he's just that kind of positional player who is usually under pressure and once he decides on a target he delivers with an urgency bordering on rushed. On Sunday, in what was the Suns best 6 backmen sans May, I thought KK was fine. His stats didn't do him justice and he played his role well.

I am an English Language teacher and my students are full fee paying adult learners, so it wouldn't be appropriate. Fun, but still inappropriate. In fact, I'm actually the boss, so I don't venture into the classroom as often as I used to. I did yell at a guy the other day, but he deserved it on account of him being a total jerk, although he did not listen to anything I said and is still being a jerk. However, I have learned that the best way to make students do what I want them to do is to lecture them condescendingly until they are very uncomfortable and promise never to repeat that behaviour. Adults are way naughtier than teenagers, always shagging in the bathrooms (sometimes the Muslim prayer rooms), smoking out the window, losing their tuition fees at the Casino (one guy dropped $117K on Baccarat) and getting themselves arrested. Come to think, that does sound like teenagers.
Hey i did a few of those things at school

Nobody ever predicted Jobe Watson would win it either. But seriously, KK had glandular fever, which takes 6 months to pass, so between it and concussion he had a dog of a year. Give him a chance to play his way back into form and he'll be fine. Some think he looks jittery and nervous, but I think he's just that kind of positional player who is usually under pressure and once he decides on a target he delivers with an urgency bordering on rushed. On Sunday, in what was the Suns best 6 backmen sans May, I thought KK was fine. His stats didn't do him justice and he played his role well.

Didn’t he have some sort of abdominal issue too which was hospitalising him regularly???
I have come to the conclusion that for a first round draft pick he is unfortunately a bust. Mainly due to Kade just having one of those bodies that is always in the Wars. It’s nobodies fault, just unlucky.

I've got an acquaintance who was one of the best soccer players in the country as a junior went and played Premier League in the Uk- about 10 games- still 10 games at the top level is pretty good
But.....injuries
He reckons the difference between the guys who make it and the ones who don't is the ones who are out on the park week after week- their bodies don't let them downI actually impress this on my boys- there are so many facets to making a champion- and I've posted it here before
Strength, endurance, skill , speed, reliability

I've got an acquaintance who was one of the best soccer players in the country as a junior went and played Premier League in the Uk- about 10 games- still 10 games at the top level is pretty good
But.....injuries
He reckons the difference between the guys who make it and the ones who don't is the ones who are out on the park week after week- their bodies don't let them downI actually impress this on my boys- there are so many facets to making a champion- and I've posted it here before
Strength, endurance, skill , speed, reliability
Kaz Patafta??

to the contrary, I can confirm that yelling like a lunatic is actually the best way to receive information.
I have no idea where you are getting your info from mate.