Opinion 2018 Non-Crows Discussion Thread

So did they, or didn't they, announce they've got a major sponsor at their season launch?

If they didn't, Port are STILL without a major sponsor a) weeks out from the season opener and b) after promising for yonks to announce one soon.

And not one peep out of the SA media to keep them either honest or under pressure to be financially viable. You would think the leading footy newspaper or leading footy radio station might have mentioned it, considering they all hate Port Adelaide so much and are desperate to give everything to the Crows. #portlogic

So did they, or didn't they, announce they've got a major sponsor at their season launch?

If they didn't, Port are STILL without a major sponsor a) weeks out from the season opener and b) after promising for yonks to announce one soon.

And not one peep out of the SA media to keep them either honest or under pressure to be financially viable. You would think the leading footy newspaper or leading footy radio station might have mentioned it, considering they all hate Port Adelaide so much and are desperate to give everything to the Crows. #portlogic
To be in such a situation after four seasons talking up how great the China Strategy is in regards to corporate support is quite damming.

Oh well all hail the reign of KT and Kochie.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

To be in such a situation after four seasons talking up how great the China Strategy is in regards to corporate support is quite damming.

Oh well all hail the reign of KT and Kochie.

I've found this works with my PAP mate: drop another club (not us) into that scenario.

Me: "Did you know that Essendon don't have a major sponsor and it's March?"
PAP mate: "Obvious no one wants to go near them. Joke of a club."
Me: "Who's your major sponsor?"
PAP mate: "It's coming. Should be announced really soon, and it's going to be huge."
Me: o_O

That they managed to accept a paragraph in Rucci's whisper column saying they've got one and it's going to be huge on face value pretty much tells you where they're at.

It's akin to us grasping at the Danger is hosting a 5AA listener on his boat straws.

Nope, that's for the SAWFL team they have that has struggled big time over the past couple of years to field a team. To my great pleasure though, because my very first game of footy here, I got to play on Alberton Oval in a team that beat Port by 24 goals.
Well, at least no one could complain they don't score goals in women's footy .

That they managed to accept a paragraph in Rucci's whisper column saying they've got one and it's going to be huge on face value pretty much tells you where they're at.

It's akin to us grasping at the Danger is hosting a 5AA listener on his boat straws.
Rucci gets told what to write by the Port Power Propoganda team. Afterall he gets a nice trip to Shanghai each year with a stop over in Hong Kong to sip Brandy at that exclusive club.

If they had any sponsor in the pipeline it would have been done before the season launch and team foto day. Team foto day is when they take the fotos for all the player/club profiles the club and AFL use.

Whoever is announced in the lead up to the season proper is just scrapped together to save face. Regardless of what the China Cheersquadders suggest. The new sponsor (if there is one) has missed two key events that relate to branding in the kead up to the season.

Well played by Oak though. Maximum exposure, minimal outlay in one of the biggest .markets for highly sugared flavoured milk in the world. No not China, here in SA.

IBEW%20Local%20236%20logo%202.jpg

IBEW is the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. Their 1500+ membership includes inside electrical wiremen, and employees working in cable television, electrical equipment servicing, government, radio-television broadcasting, and the telephone industry.

Ollie Wines works for the Power, but he isn't part of this union. Why not? Why is he against unions?

You can say what you like about us Greg, but we don't have to sit here and listen to you bad-mouth, the United States Of America! Gentlemen!

236 days. Why hasn't Ollie signed yet?

IBEW is the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. Their 1500+ membership includes inside electrical wiremen, and employees working in cable television, electrical equipment servicing, government, radio-television broadcasting, and the telephone industry.

Ollie Wines works for the Power, but he isn't part of this union. Why not? Why is he against unions?

You can say what you like about us Greg, but we don't have to sit here and listen to you bad-mouth, the United States Of America! Gentlemen!

You missed this golden opportunity for Tuesday :(

239.jpg

Netflix - A Futile and Stupid Gesture. Search

Thank me later

Well, at least no one could complain they don't score goals in women's footy .

To be fair we started the game with two more players on the field than them, and ended the game with four more than them because two went down with an injury.

Bloody hell, someone ripped off someone between the Electrical Workers and Power in terms of logos.

Dear AFL Media in this town,

It's quite easy. There are three questions to ask at a Port Power press conference:
  1. Why don't you have a major sponsor just weeks out from the AFL season when you've promised for months you would be announcing something soon?
  2. Why is Port Adelaide so unattractive to sponsors considering the China Strategy is supposed to be world-class and groundbreaking?
  3. If you do have a sponsor and just haven't announced it yet, why would you wait until AFTER your season launch?
At least try asking one of them. You might find this whole journalism thing to be new and scary but give it a go, you never know.

Sincerely,

People who no longer buy your rag or listen to your radio shows

PS: Oh, and here's a 4th: deaneus wants to know when Ollie will sign. Can you let him know? He'll spend hours on Google finding images until he gets an answer.

Didn't Port have a meeting several years ago with the media? Can't remember if it was a KT initiative.

Basically outlined to them that the media talking Port down (going broke, moving to Tassie, coach getting sacked etc) was destroying the club. Made their own fans think negatively about Port, less likely to go to games. Harder to get sponsors. Chance the club would go down the gurgler. Would ultimately be a bad thing for the media in this town if Port folded.

It was in everyone's best interests for the media to report more positively about Port rather than just kick them when they were down and prey on an (at the time) easy target.

Since then any reporting on Port has been saccharine in nature.

Wilson on AA last night. Scroll forward towards the end for the discussion about AFL paid ambassadors.

I heard something that made my ears prick up. 4 paid AFL player ambassadors, 3 in Melbourne. Dodgy AFL again. Its no wonder we cant keep our players when more benefits in Victoria.

Dear AFL Media in this town,

It's quite easy. There are three questions to ask at a Port Power press conference:
  1. Why don't you have a major sponsor just weeks out from the AFL season when you've promised for months you would be announcing something soon?
  2. Why is Port Adelaide so unattractive to sponsors considering the China Strategy is supposed to be world-class and groundbreaking?
  3. If you do have a sponsor and just haven't announced it yet, why would you wait until AFTER your season launch?
At least try asking one of them. You might find this whole journalism thing to be new and scary but give it a go, you never know.

Sincerely,

People who no longer buy your rag or listen to your radio shows

PS: Oh, and here's a 4th: deaneus wants to know when Ollie will sign. Can you let him know? He'll spend hours on Google finding images until he gets an answer.
5. Why is Portz such a shitcan franchise?
6. When will Kochead get rid of his shiteating grin?
7. When will Portz stop getting fondled by Jay and the Portboyz SA Govt?
8. When will the AFL stop wasting money on Port'z slow boat to China?

I heard something that made my ears prick up. 4 paid AFL player ambassadors, 3 in Melbourne. Dodgy AFL again. Its no wonder we cant keep our players when more benefits in Victoria.
We are disadvantaged in many ways. The trouble is that some of our own supporters just accept it and you get "If you're good enough you win it anyway".

Sure, but when they can just be good and win and we have to be great then get used to being less successful.

Rucci gets told what to write by the Port Power Propoganda team. Afterall he gets a nice trip to Shanghai each year with a stop over in Hong Kong to sip Brandy at that exclusive club.

If they had any sponsor in the pipeline it would have been done before the season launch and team foto day. Team foto day is when they take the fotos for all the player/club profiles the club and AFL use.

Whoever is announced in the lead up to the season proper is just scrapped together to save face. Regardless of what the China Cheersquadders suggest. The new sponsor (if there is one) has missed two key events that relate to branding in the kead up to the season.

Well played by Oak though. Maximum exposure, minimal outlay in one of the biggest .markets for highly sugared flavoured milk in the world. No not China, here in SA.

Fotos :)

Never gets old.