2nds 2018 Suns Reserves and NEAFL

Emmanuel Baru kicked 16.3 from 14 games. Very handy medium tall. Could be worth a Category B spot.

Brodie Foster was Mr Consistent, playing every game and was second only to Jacob Dawson over the duration. This chart does Foster no favours at all as he was everywhere from halfback to forward flank keeping the NEAFL team in most games without a recognised ruckman or tall forward. I fear Foster will be lost to the system, but there should be a Category B spot for him if there's any justice.

Max Spencer should take himself straight to Southport, tell them he wants to play regular NEAFL and try to win a rookie contract again over the next couple of years. His stats here speak volumes for how good he was. Wouldn't even be surprised if he just gets re-rookied or even taken by another club in the draft.

There are some quality players who will slip out of the system like Kwaby Boakye, Timakoi Bowie, Harry Simington and Harrison Arnold who were picked for the Allies at least once over their time at the Academy. They can look forward to careers in the QAFL unless an AFL recruiter likes what they see and takes a speculator.

The Suns will have between 1 and 3 Category B spots open depending on whether Jacob Dawson and Jacob Heron remain Category B or if one or both are promoted to Category A Rookies, or potentially given a senior list spot. My preference would be to give Academy players every chance to succeed, but if Bailey Scott, Dirk Koenen and Caleb Graham are the only players taken this year it is still a good year for the Academy. If those 3 are all taken at the National Draft, a 4th Academy player can be taken in the Rookie Draft. Lachlan McDonald was chosen to go to the State Combine, which indicates that he has attracted interest from at least 2 other AFL clubs.

Several Draft eligible Suns Academy players will miss out on the Draft due to injury disrupted seasons, however, I can see the likes of Matthew Conroy, Matthew Smith, Cooper Portelli, Rainsford Stone, Tui Lowah and others really coming on as U19s and getting a lot of oppotunities with the 3 levels of competition in 2019.

Emmanuel Baru kicked 16.3 from 14 games. Very handy medium tall. Could be worth a Category B spot.

Brodie Foster was Mr Consistent, playing every game and was second only to Jacob Dawson over the duration. This chart does Foster no favours at all as he was everywhere from halfback to forward flank keeping the NEAFL team in most games without a recognised ruckman or tall forward. I fear Foster will be lost to the system, but there should be a Category B spot for him if there's any justice.

Max Spencer should take himself straight to Southport, tell them he wants to play regular NEAFL and try to win a rookie contract again over the next couple of years. His stats here speak volumes for how good he was. Wouldn't even be surprised if he just gets re-rookied or even taken by another club in the draft.

There are some quality players who will slip out of the system like Kwaby Boakye, Timakoi Bowie, Harry Simington and Harrison Arnold who were picked for the Allies at least once over their time at the Academy. They can look forward to careers in the QAFL unless an AFL recruiter likes what they see and takes a speculator.

The Suns will have between 1 and 3 Category B spots open depending on whether Jacob Dawson and Jacob Heron remain Category B or if one or both are promoted to Category A Rookies, or potentially given a senior list spot. My preference would be to give Academy players every chance to succeed, but if Bailey Scott, Dirk Koenen and Caleb Graham are the only players taken this year it is still a good year for the Academy. If those 3 are all taken at the National Draft, a 4th Academy player can be taken in the Rookie Draft. Lachlan McDonald was chosen to go to the State Combine, which indicates that he has attracted interest from at least 2 other AFL clubs.

Several Draft eligible Suns Academy players will miss out on the Draft due to injury disrupted seasons, however, I can see the likes of Matthew Conroy, Matthew Smith, Cooper Portelli, Rainsford Stone, Tui Lowah and others really coming on as U19s and getting a lot of oppotunities with the 3 levels of competition in 2019.

Hey 17er, thanks for your thoughts on this.
It is probably been detailed previously but could you please summarise (or point me to another post) what will happen to the NEAFL team next year without academy kids.
They seemed to make up at least 50% of our NEAFL team this year.
What happens if we have a number of injuries again next year?
Lack of continuity using different top ups from other random clubs every week certainly doesn't help development.

Watched young Crossley today very impressive. As was Joyce and Wingrave.
Can you expand on this? My understanding is these three and Budarick from Labrador are our best prospects for next year. Are they all midfielders? Inside? Outside? Are they quick? How tall? Does Ashton have a big body like Brayden? etc etc

Crossley = Zorko
Wingrave and Joyce are skillful hard running half backs who could go forward mid sized could also be turned into mids.

Crossley = Zorko
Wingrave and Joyce are skillful hard running half backs who could go forward mid sized could also be turned into mids.
How many year you estimate they will come good in AFL level ? Do you think they will play better against Tac Cup opposition next year ?

Not sure 2 to 3 years. Crossley is a Zorko clone he's a ripper.
If GC drated Mitch Maguire this year and Aston Crossley next year , GC could end up with two Zorko clone. Surely can pay out Lemmann and Shoenfield contract early then .

Crossley bros could be the next Curnows. One a big forward and the other a hard mid. I cringe at Zorko comparisons because there's some serious character flaws going on that the younger Crossley doesn't deserve to be saddled with. Let's say he's the next Luke Power!

How exciting! Having a taller, bigger bodied version of Zorko could be a serious weapon. We're crying out for more inside bulls to cleanly dispose the ball and utilise our speed on the outside so here's hoping guys like Ashton Crossley and Will Brodie can provide that for us over the next 10 years.
Sounds promising. Could easily grow a few more centimetres and already a solid lad by the sounds of it.
If he's already 182cm, his brother is 198cm and his father is 194cm then there's a good chance Ashton has some growth left in him. The dream would be for him to reach around 190cm and keep up with other tall midfielders in the league.

Crossley bros could be the next Curnows. One a big forward and the other a hard mid. I cringe at Zorko comparisons because there's some serious character flaws going on that the younger Crossley doesn't deserve to be saddled with. Let's say he's the next Luke Power!
I meant running style size and shape comparisons.

At first I am pretty excited then...... , How many 18-21 years old going to run around like headless chook without the mature age players in NeAFL , presume this year GC draft 4 top 30 pick and Koenan and Graham. . Once you put it on paper these team will get trash week in week out in NEAFL.
1) Jacob Dawson
2) Heron
3) Nutting
4) Koenan
5) Graham
6) Shoenfield
7) Lemmann
8) Sheer
9) Scrimshaw .
10) Brodie.

At first I am pretty excited then...... , How many 18-21 years old going to run around like headless chook without the mature age players in NeAFL , presume this year GC draft 4 top 30 pick and Koenan and Graham. . Once you put it on paper these team will get trash week in week out in NEAFL.
1) Jacob Dawson
2) Heron
3) Nutting
4) Koenan
5) Graham
6) Shoenfield
7) Lemmann
8) Sheer
9) Scrimshaw .
10) Brodie.
For a start, only a few of these players will be top 22 in Round 1 next year unless injuries or outstanding form puts one or two of them above the remaining 25 on the list. 3 of them have never played senior footy and Scrimshaw didn't play AFL this year. There will be players traded for, brought in through free agency and possibly some mature aged talent recruited, but you can't expect miracles there. If the club decides to delist 12 players and then chooses 8 players in the draft, then your fears might be founded, but that still means that only half these players would be regarded as top 22 and even then the top level draftees will be AFL ready. There isn't a poor player on this list either, so your negativity is entirely misplaced because this is the future core of players that will be developed over the next couple of seasons.

Then how GWS, Sydney , Brisbane manage their NEAFL team . If you have a culture that are worse at everything you won't go up . GWS , Sydney , Brisbane make it to GF in NEAFL at some point. That winning feeling are very important . Look at Melbourne and Casey Demon , Richmond and Richmond VFL team .

Hey 17er, thanks for your thoughts on this.
It is probably been detailed previously but could you please summarise (or point me to another post) what will happen to the NEAFL team next year without academy kids.
They seemed to make up at least 50% of our NEAFL team this year.
What happens if we have a number of injuries again next year?
Lack of continuity using different top ups from other random clubs every week certainly doesn't help development.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-08-17/tac-cup-set-for-major-overhaul-in-2019

So this is the article that outlines the new comp. With 18 teams and a month of rep footy, you'd imagine the comp will be 17 rounds with clubs playing each other home and away over two seasons. Alternatively, because there is the magic number of 18 teams, the comp might very well comprise three divisions of 6 teams, NEAFL, Eastern Vic and Western Vic (or Vic Metro and Vic Country) with every team playing each other once and divisions playing each other twice (12 plus 10 = 22).

The stated aim for non-Victorian teams is that they want to give young talent as much exposure against men as practicable, however, that is certainly not the way they do things in Victoria. With NEAFL Academies plus NT and Tasmania joining the Victorian U18s comp, there is a serious question as to how these teams will be able to field junior, NEAFL and a senior team with such limited numbers should injury strike to anything close to the level the Suns have suffered over the years. Part of the answer comes in this article where it says that more U19s players will be eligible for TAC Cup. What it does not say is how NEAFL Academies will fill so many teams given their current player allocations.

If injury puts even 10 Suns out of action by National Champs and 10 players are selected for Allies, there will only be 14 AFL listed players for NEAFL and 9 taken away from the Academy, leaving U17s and U16s to play for TAC cup. Perhaps the TAC Comp will go into recess during Nat Champs and there will only be 17 games to fill and no player shortage while they are on rep duty.

One thing is for sure is the Suns need a longer list, both to develop talent and to ensure that the NEAFL side is competitive. Robbing from the Academy to make up the numbers for NEAFL means that that make up players will have to come from somewhere.

Then how GWS, Sydney , Brisbane manage their NEAFL team . If you have a culture that are worse at everything you won't go up . GWS , Sydney , Brisbane make it to GF in NEAFL at some point. That winning feeling are very important . Look at Melbourne and Casey Demon , Richmond and Richmond VFL team .
Your argument is self-defeating. Brisbane's NEAFL team just got annihilated and bundled out of finals and their AFL team is rubbish even with next to no injuries to their list. GWS missed finals in the NEAFL and will get smashed by Sydney in the seniors because they are decimated by injury. You keep kicking this can of bringing in mature aged players but how has it worked out for the Suns recently? Ryan Davis? Keegan Brooksby? Sure, Holman worked out ok, but if the players you mentioned step up in 2019 then he'll be delisted, so why do you want 4 more like him? The AFL look likely to give us access to a couple of them, but if they don't come with extra list spaces they could end up being list cloggers. Rischa will take one Rookie spot and 2 others are taken up by Heron and Dawson. If you give away 3 spots to mature aged players then you throw away opportunities to bring in Academy players that could grow into future stars. All 10 of the players you named played really well in the NEAFL and can only get better with more exposure to 2nd tier footy.

Have a look at the same bloke liking all of your posts in response to me. Not much of an endorsement.

Without the large injury list Suns NEAFL would have gone close to winning the Competition.. They beat Swans Giants and Lions even with injuries and then the injury list got ridiculously long and they reached tipping point.

Winning 7 Games out of 19 ? Why the injuries get so long , those 18-20 years old don't know how to prepare ? Or they get promoted too early playing AFL due to injuries to senior players .

Cordy was very underwhelming apparently and poor relationship with other fitness staff.

I agree because this year's NEAFL team had wins against all the noteworthy teams and even defeated Sydney when the rank were extremely thin. It emerges that Brisbane, Sydney and GWS have been using top-up players all year, including drafting players from other NEAFL teams on a bye, while all the Suns could muster was 16 year olds, Thomas Motlop and Eddie Sansbury. Hope we can get some further clarification from the AFL about things like list length, TAC Cup, rules surrounding NEAFL top-up players etc. Rumours about Andrew Swallow coming in to coach and play are encouraging and a good way to keep veterans at the clubs to mentor the youngsters.

Cordy was very underwhelming apparently and poor relationship with other fitness staff.
I don't know all this injuries thing , Weller and Harbrow apparently play all AFL games this season .