Game Day 2019 AFL Draft Day- RD1, RD2 + beyond

So we have 3 spots in the Rookie draft. Going by Wells, we will have
1 for Brownless. 1 for........... and save 1 for a train on player.

Pissed we didn't take Sharp :( Time will tell - 11 is a good deal but we'll see - reckon Sharp will be a champion and GC got one right for a change

Please direct all Rookie draft disucssion here

This thread will stay open concurrently for National Draft discussion.

Go Catters

Hoping our 4 picks do well. Seem to have created enough of a buzz to get cat fans talking. Will any of the 4 play in 2020?

Tahenys played senior footy well in SA. If fit hes a chance.

Unrelated but not.....but Crows head of recruiting just passed comment on SEN SA saying he quite likes next yrs draft, despite what others are saying. Augers well if SW decides you use the 3 picks in the first round [emoji848]

Taheny by a mile.
By a mile..? We will see I guess.. Said it before I dont think anyone is a chance till I see and read reports on how they handle the PS . I tend to feel we have picked this kid for a reason ..so all in to support him.. Close too ... give the mystery bags a chance...

So Mitch O'Neill wasn't drafted. I'm wondering how? Like Sharp he went dual AA didn't he? What's the story anyone know?
Mitch is one of my wife's students.
Great kid and great player.
Also plays for the same club as my daughter.
It's a shame he had to wait so long, and now has a long trip ahead of him.
His injury may have put recruiters off, but I think there is a sad general disrespect for Tassie footballers at the moment.
He is not the only draftable player in this state, but for some reason recruiters' eyes are not currently focussed on football in this state.

Disappointing TC I thought you were going to break into some Captain Matchbox Whoopee Band with Taheeeeny in wine, Wangaratta

I like you post .. although you have gone way over my head with it LOL Taheeeny in wine at Wanga ?

Anyway..like with all our picks I wish them all the bets and hope they become our best player on our list.. Is Sauce his nickname? If he can come ou and kick 3 goals ina PS game he will probably confound the experts and having them proclaim swells as swarmi type yet again..

I like you post .. although you have gone way over my head with it LOL Taheeeny in wine at Wanga ?

Anyway..like with all our picks I wish them all the bets and hope they become our best player on our list.. Is Sauce his nickname? If he can come ou and kick 3 goals ina PS game he will probably confound the experts and having them proclaim swells as swarmi type yet again..

LOL ..I think thats one of those youtube vids that you had to be there .. ... Is that something from the Aunty Jack era? looks like a bunch of dags on stage having a laugh ....all good fun ... thanks far that.
That was their reuniting tour. They were a fine band back in the 70s. Brilliant musicians who put together ridiculous tunes for the non commercial listener.

Knightmare gave us an "A" for our draft report card:

Cooper Stephens adds to Geelong's midfield as a physically very mature ball winning midfielder with explosiveness out of stoppages and excellent endurance. Geelong took a chance by drafting late blooming project key defender and younger brother of Carlton's Tom, Sam De Koning. De Koning if given enough time could develop either as a key defender or as a ruckman. Geelong traded very well, securing the Suns 2020 pick 11 via the AFL's assistance package and pick 64 at the time of the trade in exchange pick 27. The Cats also made their own trade up to secure dangerous forward Cameron Taheny with pick 50, who represents strong value. The surprising speculative selection of Francis Evans is Geelong's most questionable decision as someone who was more suitable for selection as a rookie. Evans based off the small sample size of two NAB League games where he averaged 2.5 goals but struggled to find the ball averaging just nine disposals. making him more suitable for selection as a rookie until there is more football against good competition to base an evaluation on.

Grade: A

So as it stands after the Tarheeeny trade... which appear to have been ... P50 for P64 , FR3 (GC) , FR4(GFC)

So we look to have 4 potential estimated picks of .. P11 , P14 , P17 and P35

View attachment 786695

We're the only finals contender in that top six there. I expect Brisbane will slide down the ladder this year with a tougher draw too. Very, very good work from Wells here and it could get even better given clubs will want to move up/down the order depending on academies in such a compromised draft.

LOL ..I think thats one of those youtube vids that you had to be there .. ... Is that something from the Aunty Jack era? looks like a bunch of dags on stage having a laugh ....all good fun ... thanks far that.
I saw these blokes live at Kardinia Park back in the 70s (along with Matt Taylor).
They were awesomely stupid.