Pick 54 Tiziani
Pick 58 De Boer

Pick 11. Bonar
Pick 27. Daniels
Pick 28. Taylor
Pick 56. Langdon
Pick 64. Shipley

Too soon

Not sure whether GWS are any better than other clubs in terms of recruitment. Particularly given the high draft picks they have enjoyed in each draft.

Special shout out to Dave our very own TradeDraft who had a wonderful thread idea of the draft as a game day.

and excellence in having the welcome threads all good to go.

take a bow good sir.

ps don’t forget tomorrow morning at 10am.
though unsure we’ll have much activity unless Jeka is on the radar.
tall thing that he is.

That was quick. The fact they were at Marvel shows they were highly rated. Not a bad job. Any highlights of “Meat Trey”?

Here you go.

MEAT40C-2.jpg

Mate of mine is friends with Tassie boy Mitch O'Neill. Apparently Richmond was at his house last weekend telling him the plan was to take him with the 3rd rounder. He's utterly confused about what's going on.

They obviously thought Ralphsmith wouldn’t be there and maybe expected StKilda to match the bid for Nyuon?

Riccardi was right there.. right in front of us. I don't get it at all. But it's not my job to get it so it doesn't really matter.

Getting two kids that were rated in the top 30 is excellent. Whilst midfielders who can't kick the ball are probably in abundance at Collingwood, Rantall looks like a decent enough prospect. Bianco is the real win for me. Time will tell if Trey goes the way of McLarty, Gault, Paine flops, or ends up in the Langdon, Scharenberg, Goldsack mould.

I don’t get being a smart Alec (can never be a smart stephen) and biding for players unless you REALLY want them.
you cop your right whack.

i have a feeling richmond were being clever by half, same as Carlton (there’s a tautoly).

just bad business.

Riccardi was right there.. right in front of us. I don't get it at all. But it's not my job to get it so it doesn't really matter.

Getting two kids that were rated in the top 30 is excellent. Whilst midfielders who can't kick the ball are probably in abundance at Collingwood, Rantall looks like a decent enough prospect. Bianco is the real win for me. Time will tell if Trey goes the way of McLarty, Gault, Paine flops, or ends up in the Langdon, Scharenberg, Goldsack mould.
And maybe the view was simply Riccardi is a nice player but nothing particularly special.
we have Mihocek of tough durable medium level talent. Maybe they just didn’t want him that much?

we desperately need a gun Big forward, but not just another medium type.

I don't care what anyone says, I'm very happy with what we got with our selections. There will always be players who will slip through, but you can't get them all. It's not like we were using high draft picks or anything either. All I'll say is I trust Hine; he may not nail every single draft pick, but I trust him. Not once in his 16 years at the club has there been a slight thought of wanting him gone. Just have faith and be patient; they know a lot more than we do.

Not sure whether GWS are any better than other clubs in terms of recruitment. Particularly given the high draft picks they have enjoyed in each draft.
[/QUOTE]

This is what GWS received when they joined the AFL. Not difficult to pick half-decent players in a compromised draft heavily in their favour.
Greater Western Sydney concessions
The Greater Western Sydney Giants were to join the AFL in 2012, and were provided with several draft concessions, including additional draft selections, early access to recruit 17-year-old players, and access to uncontracted and previously listed players in this offseason. These concessions were similar to those provided to the Gold Coast Football Club, which entered the league in the previous season.

Greater Western Sydney was permitted to recruit the following players directly, without the need for any draft:
  • At the end of 2010, up to twelve 17-year-old players (born between 1 January – 30 April 1993), who were too young to enter the 2010 AFL draft. These players were not eligible to play senior AFL football in 2011, and would continue to undergo junior development, either in Sydney or their home state (Jeremy Cameron, Adam Treloar, Dylan Shiel, Tomas Bugg and Jack Hombsch just to name a few).
  • Up to ten players who were not on an AFL list but had previously nominated for a national draft. These players could be recruited at the end of either 2011 or 2012, with no more than ten players recruited in this manner over the two years. Greater Western Sydney could immediately trade any players recruited in this manner.
  • Up to sixteen players who were on an AFL list, but were out of contract at the end of the season. Again, these players could be recruited at the end of either 2011 or 2012, with no more than sixteen players recruited in this manner over the two years, and no more than one player recruited from any other club. Clubs who lost players in this manner received compensatory selections in the national draft; the number and value of these selections was determined based on age, contract size, on-field performance and draft order, and were permitted to be used in any year between 2011–2015.
  • Up to sixteen players recruited from the New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory zone, recruited at any time between 2010–2013, and from the Northern Territory zone, recruited between 2011–2013.
Then, in the drafts, Greater Western Sydney had the following selections:
  • In the 2011 national draft, the first selection in each round, and picks No. 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 in the first round.
  • In the 2011 rookie draft, the first eight selections.
  • In the 2012 rookie draft, the first selection in each round.
Additionally, at the end of 2011, Greater Western Sydney had the ability to trade the only four selections in a once-off "mini-draft", which could be used to recruit 17-year-old players (born between 1 January – 30 April 1994). Greater Western Sydney could only use these draft picks as trade currency; the club was not permitted to use the picks for its own list development. Players recruited and traded in this manner were not eligible to play senior AFL football in 2012, and would continue to undergo junior development. This specific concession was unique to Greater Western Sydney; Gold Coast did not have the same concession the previous year.

Greater Western Sydney began with an expanded list size of up to fifty senior players and nine rookies, to be gradually reduced to a standard list size of thirty-eight senior players and nine rookies by 2019.[4]

During the 2011 AFL season there was speculation about several players who would be uncontracted at the end of the season, including Tom Scully, Rhys Palmer, Callan Ward and Taylor Walker.[5] In August 2011, Phil Davis from Adelaide was the first player to announce a move to Greater Western Sydney as an uncontracted player signing.[6] After the season had ended, Palmer, Scully and Ward also announced moves to the Giants. As compensation, Scully was rated as a top-level player, resulting in Melbourne receiving both a first-round and a mid-first round draft pick as compensation. Davis and Ward were rated as second-level, earning Adelaide and Western Bulldogs a first round compensation selection, and Palmer was rated a third-level player, giving Fremantle an end of first round selection.

1574940031274.png

Very pleased with our first two picks. Wouldn't have expected to be that happy with 40+ selections.

Also glad we continue to not waste picks on players simply for their height. I'd definitely not want a tall ahead of our first two. Our third pick may be a potential KPP but also looks to have mobility and there didn't seem too much left at that point.

Very pleased with our first two picks. Wouldn't have expected to be that happy with 40+ selections.

Also glad we continue to not waste picks on players simply for their height. I'd definitely not want a tall ahead of our first two. Our third pick may be a potential KPP but also looks to have mobility and there didn't seem too much left at that point.

Last Pick was Draft for Need

WE HAVE OUR FUTURE FIRST ROUNDER!

(for trade currency next year)

Yeah that’s a bonus. Hopefully pick 18. If the pick looks like being needed to match McInnes we can always try and split it.

Anyone have a list of what we’ve now ended up with for the 2020 draft. Off the top of my head I think we have our own first, Richmond’s 2020 2nd and 2 future 3rd rounders. Not sure after that.

Anyone else disappointed we have committed to talking Dunn as a rookie?

I feel for the bloke with his recent injures but he’s had his time. Would love to use the rookie draft to take a speculative kid. To me that’s what the rookie draft is for.

If we get desperate for a mature KPD during the year bring one in via mid season draft.

So do we know IF we where Trading out of Pick 40 or not as where where on the Phone and waited to the last 10 Seconds to send pick in

Overall for what we had, three later picks, we made off with true value.

say we had picks 20, 24, 28 and landed those three, I think the feeling would be, very tidy nights work.

rantall and Bianco was the big bonus.

ruscoe from what I’ve heard is a contested beast. Sounds very likely type to make a go of it.

interesting comment from Kevin Sheehan, a positive man, exceptional knowledge and never biase.

he said Rantall “will set high standards at training.”

isn’t it Just fantastic to bring in talent that all points to incredible self discipline and sensibility.

and the guy can run,
and run,
and run,
then run some more....

Guys , how many rookie spots do we have? for the guys that know? is there any chance we may get a key positional youngster?

Lyndon Dunn is our only pick tomorrow

Overall for what we had, three later picks, we made off with true value.

say we had picks 20, 24, 28 and landed those three, I think the feeling would be, very tidy nights work.

rantall and Bianco was the big bonus.

ruscoe from what I’ve heard is a contested beast. Sounds very likely type to make a go of it.

interesting comment from Kevin Sheehan, a positive man, exceptional knowledge and never biase.

he said Rantall “will set high standards at training.”

isn’t it Just fantastic to bring in talent that all points to incredible self discipline and sensibility.

and the guy can run,
and run,
and run,
then run some more....

Hopefully Rantall High Standards at Training can Equal to what he does on GameDay.

Agree Bianco and Rantall where very good value Picks

Anyone else disappointed we have committed to talking Dunn as a rookie?

I feel for the bloke with his recent injures but he’s had his time. Would love to use the rookie draft to take a speculative kid. To me that’s what the rookie draft is for.

If we get desperate for a mature KPD during the year bring one in via mid season draft.

I think you do make a good case there.

i suspect unless there’s a particular player they are just too keen on (that they can’t say no to) they’ll keep Dunn.
one thing with Dunn, he’ll give it everything, could be a real handy back up if fit (in case) and will be wonderful around the place for our fresh meat....

So do we know IF we where Trading out of Pick 40 or not as where where on the Phone and waited to the last 10 Seconds to send pick in
I reckon we wanted both Rantall and Bianco. Just working out the best way to do it. We were obviously concerned that Bianco might be taken at 45, so part of the wait for Rantall would have been thinking about how to do a deal to trade up from 46.

We clearly wanted Bianco so it makes no sense to say we weren't keen on Rantall seeing as we took him earlier. A good sign to me that we were pretty keen on both.

Hopefully Rantall High Standards at Training can Equal to what he does on GameDay.

Agree Bianco and Rantall where very good value Picks
Both, assuming fit, will play senior football.
whether straight away or in a year or two, we’ll wait and see.

rantall just looks all up a long term senior player. Stunned he lasted as long as he did. Thought he’d be about 15 plus,
thats a bingo for us.

(equally stunned about Bianco. Thought hed go late first round early second round.)

Not to bring up old sores, but say we kept the “Beams” pick this year, we might have picked Rantall anyway.

id have thought he’d be around that mark.

funny how things pan out.

might be a real contender for steal of the night.

I reckon we wanted both Rantall and Bianco. Just working out the best way to do it. We were obviously concerned that Bianco might be taken at 45, so part of the wait for Rantall would have been thinking about how to do a deal to trade up from 46.

We clearly wanted Bianco so it makes no sense to say we weren't keen on Rantall seeing as we took him earlier. A good sign to me that we were pretty keen on both.

and Reports saying Richmond was also Keen on Bianco