Game Day 2019 AFL Draft

I wasn't sure where to put this, and I'm still not sure the fairest way to analyse each power rankings vs. draft order or whether to leave it as is. Anyway:

20191129 draft completed.jpg

15 players were taken which were not in any sampled Power Rankings, meaning they were outside of the 83 players I had listed. These players were, in order of number taken:

Keidan Coleman (Brisbane at 37)
Chad Warner (Sydney at 39)
Francis Evans (Geelong at 41),
Ronin O'Connor (Adelaide at 42)
William Martyn (Richmond at 44)
Sam Ramsay (Carlton at 47)
Lachlan Gollant (Adelaide at 48)
Josh Morris (Hawthorn at 57)
Ben Johnson (WCE at 58)
Jaxon Prior (Brisbane at 59)
Jy Farrar (GCS at 60)
Minairol Frederick (Fremantle at 61)
Lachlan Johnson (Essendon at 63)
Leo Connolly (St Kilda at 64)
Thomas Hutchesson (GWS at 65)

Best players remaining:

Rank - Name (Standout rankings)

29 - Mitch O'Neill (Davo-27 Rank: 21, Pie 4 Life Rank: 26)
35 - Darcy Cassar (Chris25 Rank: 24, Matt Balmer (Bishop) Rank: 28, Pie 4 Life Rank: 35)
38 - Joshua Shute (Davo-27 Rank: 27, Knightmare Rank: 29)
41 - Karl Finlay (Chris25 Rank: 22)
42 - Dyson Hilder (Chris 25 Rank: 31)
48 - Cooper Sharman (Matt Balmer (Bishop) Rank: 39)
52 - Fraser Phillips (Pie 4 Life Rank: 33)
56 - Angus Baker (Knightmare Rank: 35)
57 - Daniel Mott (Pie 4 Life Rank: 40
58 - Darcy Chirgwin (Pie 4 Life Rank: 41, Matt Balmer (Bishop) Rank: 50)
60 - Ben Sokol (Knightmare Rank: 36)

Top "Sliders"
1. Cameron Taheny. Ranked 25, Taken at 50 by Geelong (-25)
2. Trent Bianco. Ranked 22, Taken at 45 by Collingwood (-23)
3. Trent Rivers. Ranked 16, Taken at 32 by Melbourne (-16)
4. Finn Maginness. Ranked 15, Taken at 29 by Hawthorn as a F/S (-14)
5. Deven Robertson. Ranked 10, Taken at 22 by Brisbane (-12)
6. Will Gould. Ranked 14, Taken at 26 by Sydney (-12)
7. Ryan Byrnes. Ranked 40. Taken at 52 by St Kilda (-12)
8. Josh Worrell. Ranked 17, Taken at 28 by Adelaide (-11)

Top 5 "Bolters" (excluding those unranked)
1. Callum Jamieson. Ranked 82, Taken at 49 by WCE (+33)
2. Mitch Georgiades. Ranked 47, Taken at 18 by Port Adelaide (+29)
3. Louis Butler. Ranked 80, Taken at 53 by WBD (+27)
4. Kysaiah Pickett. Ranked 30, Taken at 12 by Melbourne (+18)
5. Nick Bryan. Ranked 55, Taken at 38 by Essendon (+17)
6. Sam Philp. Ranked 38, Taken at 20 by Carlton (+17)
7. Flynn Perez. Ranked 50, Taken at 35 by North Melbourne (+15)
8. Thomson Dow. Ranked 36, Taken at 21 by Richmond (+15)
9. Charlie Comben. Ranked 45, Taken at 31 by North Melbourne (+14)
10. Sam De Koning. Ranked 33, Taken at 19 by Geelong (+14)
11. Miles Bergman. Ranked 26, Taken at 14 by Port Adelaide (+12)
12. Noah Cumberland. Ranked 54, Taken at 43 by Richmond (+11)

So reading the pies social media apparently we got 3 guns after pick 40.....lol. talk about setting unreal expectations.

What exactly were they supposed to put out there? Imagine how the draftees would feel if the messaging was “it was a pretty average outcome we got them about where they were rated” first day on the job I know which I’d prefer!

Has anyone checked in on Matt_352? If you were flat that poor bugger must be in the foetal position 🤣
He was the first one I thought of when the GWS ‘incident’ happened.

Mate of mine is friends with Tassie boy Mitch O'Neill. Apparently Richmond was at his house last weekend telling him the plan was to take him with the 3rd rounder. He's utterly confused about what's going on.

Just saw this post. Outrageous that he wasn't picked up based solely on Bigfooty power rankings.

Great to see we filled the list needs of midfield and HBF!:D

But outside that sounds like it's prob the best we could do with our pick ranges so not overtly crying in my weetbix, although a agile pacy xfactor small crumbing fwd wouldn't of hurt.
Look, I’m actually rapt with our selections overall, don’t get me wrong, but I felt like Riccardi could have made an impact for us at senior level next year. Instead he’ll be rotting in the NEAFL for the next two years while Cameron, Himmelberg and Finlayson run around in the seniors unless they lose one of them to cap squeeze (Finlayson is my bet).

Your thoughts on Bianco drifting? Defensive game? Size? Or circumstances? As above I’m no draft expert, but my feel from what I’ve taken in is that he was perhaps on the wrong end of a series of 50/50 calls and perhaps too much of a focus on what he doesn’t do rather than what he does.
Yeah I would say the combination of defensive game and size. It's one of those things - he's such a terrific ball user and mover that not having a huge defensive game is not an issue. It's been more of a role thing throughout his junior career moreso than him choosing not to be defensively minded. I agree I think he just was unlucky to miss out at a few clubs. His areas of improvement aren't massive red flags or anything, he can use the ball off either foot well and plays in a multitude of positions. It's just one of those things where I think others went inside mids and talls and he fell.

Look, I’m actually rapt with our selections overall, don’t get me wrong, but I felt like Riccardi could have made an impact for us at senior level next year. Instead he’ll be rotting in the NEAFL for the next two years while Cameron, Himmelberg and Tomlinson run around in the seniors unless they lose one of them to cap squeeze (Tomlinson is my bet).
I think you mean Finlayson. They lost Tomlinson to the Dees this year.

Bucks needs a player for the 'now' so he/we can challenge for a flag. I would absoloutley love to bring in Sokol or H Bennell as a Rookie. I guess if Dunn has 1 year left in him, the club will keep the faith. BTW, very excited about our 3 draftees. Go Pies!!
By my maths - we can do both. 2 slots vacant on rookie list currently

Very disappointed given the talent that is still on offer early in the rookie draft. We do still have time to decide what to do with that last rookie spot now, as a lot of clubs look like they might be hanging onto one or two spots given the success some of the late-signed rookies have had in 2019.

Having said that if someone like Fraser Phillips, Emerson Jeka or Cooper Sharman was invited to come and train at the club with a view to adding them as an SSP prior to the start of the season then I wouldn't be displeased at that notion.

I guess there is a bit of a "people" aspect to the Dunn situation, given how involved with and committed to the club he has been (not to mention how good he could be if his knee holds up), but at this point we need to be looking towards the future with our last rookie spot and Dunn should only be a potential "break glass in case of emergency" SSP (preferably mid-season).
Totally agree. Dunn is a 1 yr at most player. Coming off 2 recos and 34 yrs of age.
I’d rather take a chance on a young kid who may turn into something.

It’s his. I just can’t see us selecting a rando not training with us (if it’s even possible) ahead of him.

I’m in no way a “draft expert” so I can’t speak on whether there was better players on the board and the player comparisons are on the back of 60 second clips. What I do feel confident with is that I’m as immersed as anyone in the makeup of our list and I don’t think we could have had things go any better for us last night!

Rantall brings with him a unique mix of running power and contested game, scope for improvement and ball winning. Long term he just feels value. My favourite pick and he’ll get games next year.

Bianco felt so right. Skill, leadership, footy smarts and you will never ever question his commitment to the cause (the kid is legit living all our dreams). I guarantee he’s one of us and surely he’s the boards sponsored player next year! I didn’t give a player comparison for Rantall because his type is unique, but Bianco just gives me a Salem* vibe (it was the weighted kick to the leading player off half back that twigged that reference).

Ruscoe was a great flexible selection for where we sit because I’m sure he’ll be comfortable at either end. Love the competitiveness, marking ability and he seems to have some skill about him. Anyone concerned by his size just keep in mind he turned 18 just 3 weeks ago so he’ll be bigger by the time he’s ready and I’ll be surprised if he didn’t wind up legit KP size (if he isn’t already). I think it’s the movement and competitiveness, but he seems to have a touch of May* about him.

I went in with the belief mid and small defender were our greatest area of needs. We ticked those boxes then went taller so it was one of those well rounded drafts that gets me excited for next year. Once you add Noble, Wilson and Cameron you get a more complete picture of our 2019 additions which makes for solid reading, IMO. Good luck to the boys and stay healthy!

*I don’t expect them to be as good it’s just the guys that come to mind watching their clips.

Edit: on a separate note how ******* shit was the coverage for people without Fox? The delays in picks and the lack of detail on trades were horrible. I still don’t have full disclosure on how we wound up with Hawthorn’s 3rd (I think it was a straight deal on Essendon’s 3rd which is funny as fu** because it means both clubs expect them to be shit in 2020) or the deal with GWS. I know it’s not a spectacle, but jeez it was crap. Also I might have missed it, but did two locks in our best 22 go undrafted, again?..
Like you I know nothing of these recruits other than news articles and the 60 second highlight clip. What I like is we’ve focused on attitude whether that be competitive, leadership or a passion for footy. Bianco vs Murray comes to mind in respect to rumoured attitude and foot skills.

Bring on the practice games and VFL season so I can form my own assessment.

Look, I’m actually rapt with our selections overall, don’t get me wrong, but I felt like Riccardi could have made an impact for us at senior level next year. Instead he’ll be rotting in the NEAFL for the next two years while Cameron, Himmelberg and Finlayson run around in the seniors unless they lose one of them to cap squeeze (Finlayson is my bet).
He will slot into the GWS forward line after Cameron signs with Collingwood next October

It's all part of Dekkas plan. In two years time we wont have to waste pick 55 on him. He'll be a fully developed bargain DFA.

So we keep drafting, trading midfielders and a few defenders. When will we try fix the apparent achilles heel of ours in tall forwards?
Wilson and Cameron have been added this year and Will Kelly is training as a fwd so far this pre-season. Riccardi was probably one we could have taken but the rest of the decent ones were picked up before we got a selection. Would much rather us go for best available than to go for needs by reaching down the order.

So we keep drafting, trading midfielders and a few defenders. When will we try fix the apparent achilles heel of ours in tall forwards?

We already have in Kelly and Wilson. It’ll take time and one more option this time next year 👍

Game Day 2019 AFL Draft