Review 2019 AFL National Draft

Rowell had 36 and kicked 4 for Carey in the last round of the APS.

We finish 17th, Tankers 18th.

Adelaide therefore have 1st pick. Do they go for the local outstanding kid from S.A. or the Victorian gun who may want to come home after 2/3 years ? Quandry.

( this is hopefully based on the fact that Sydney don't flog Buddy back to Hawthorn and receive picks 2 & 3 as compensation )

Adelaide therefore have 1st pick. Do they go for the local outstanding kid from S.A. or the Victorian gun who may want to come home after 2/3 years ? Quandry.

( this is hopefully based on the fact that Sydney don't flog Buddy back to Hawthorn and receive picks 2 & 3 as compensation )

I'd be surprised if Adelaide took Gould at #1.

2019 isn't 2018 when it comes to SA talent.

A top 2 pick secures one of Rowell or Anderson though. Potentially top 3 if Adelaide throw a spanner.

As every week passes, I think Rowell is the standout. He's a goal kicking, tackling machine in the Sloane/Selwood mould. But he has a turn of pace.

Am tipping, in our usual unlucky timing with FS etc, that the academy system will change.....Something along the lines of "if the father has played more than 200 games or is a premiership player, then that club retains first access".....but we will get to watch on in horror for next 10 years as Blakey becomes a star for Swans.

They are similar in many ways as players: both hard-working and long-running midfielders, tough ball-winners, and extremely consistent. They both starred for Vic Metro as bottom-agers last season, and then were influential in the Chargers' under-18 finals series (Rowell won the best afield medal in a losing side in the Grand Final).

"When he's around the ball he's got that ability to get it and then get somebody else in a better position, or he can get through a few players and then find that target," Rowell said.

"Whenever he's got the ball I feel safe when it's in his hands."

But they have their differences. Anderson is taller (190cm to Rowell's 178cm) and a more regular goalkicker, while Rowell is a bigger clearance specialist, with an explosive burst.

If Rowell has more grunt, Anderson has more flash. Rowell wears his footy jumper tucked in; Anderson has a mullet that at times has caught the ire of his schoolteachers.

Who do others see as high up in the draft other than the obvious 2

Will Gould I mentioned earlier as someone I would love. Good size and kick, is classy, has an afl ready body

Mitch O’Neill I like also as a pretty complete mid, trained with us as part of the ais academy also

You do realise what position Gould plays?

No way I'd be using our first on an undersized key defender.

You do realise what position Gould plays?

No way I'd be using our first on an undersized key defender.
Sicily and Hurn go alright as undersized key defenders, don’t let his big size fool you he can be extremely damaging by foot, reads the play well and has an enormous workrate. Doesn’t need to play as a key defender to have some worth.

Adelaide will use that pick for Grundy.

Sicily and Hurn go alright as undersized key defenders, don’t let his big size fool you he can be extremely damaging by foot, reads the play well and has an enormous workrate. Doesn’t need to play as a key defender to have some worth.

Hurn & Sicily are 3rd talls. The two of them egenerally only play as genuine key defenders due to injury. Hurn usually has McGovern & Barass there for support, while Sicily has Frawley and Stratton.

I'm not criticising Gould, he is a good prospect and I've seen how damaging he can be, its just that from a list manaagement perspective we need to sort out our future midfield before we worry about anything else.

Hurn & Sicily are 3rd talls. The two of them egenerally only play as genuine key defenders due to injury. Hurn usually has McGovern & Barass there for support, while Sicily has Frawley and Stratton.

I'm not criticising Gould, he is a good prospect and I've seen how damaging he can be, its just that from a list manaagement perspective we need to sort out our future midfield before we worry about anything else.

We won't be finishing 17th or 18th, so scratch the idea of Rowell or Anderson, and focus on the 5 to 9 rankings for draftees.

A good play maker type at half back would be a welcome addition to add to a future defence of McKay, EVW & Crocker.

We won't be finishing 17th or 18th, so scratch the idea of Rowell or Anderson, and focus on the 5 to 9 rankings for draftees.

A good play maker type at half back would be a welcome addition to add to a future defence of McKay, EVW & Crocker.

I don’t think we’ll end up there either but in saying that we’ll have a better gauge of what direction Shaw will be taking us at selection tonight.

If we are in the 5-10 range you simply have to take best available.

Adelaide will use that pick for Grundy.

Anderson in Collingwoods system would be ******* devastating.

A forward line of De Goey, Stephenson & Anderson.

Good luck.

I'm not sure they'd need Rowell with Adams, Treloar, Cripps, Maynard, Sier etc.

Anderson would hold more value forward and all 3 of De Goey, Stephenson and Anderson could rotate through the midfield during the game.

Anderson in Collingwoods system would be ******* devastating.

A forward line of De Goey, Stephenson & Anderson.

Good luck.

I'm not sure they'd need Rowell with Adams, Treloar, Cripps, Maynard, Sier etc.

Anderson would hold more value forward and all 3 of De Goey, Stephenson and Anderson could rotate through the midfield during the game.

We ain't getting him mate.

Focus on the next bests