Review 2019 AFL National Draft

Jul 26, 2007
The Tree
Arsenal, Coney Island Warriors
Still dunno how I feel about trading our first for Polec, though. Hung jury on that one personally.

You're going mad if you don't know if we won that trade.

Sep 21, 2008
Vic
but that's the point, isn't it? swap our first next year for another first this year?

My mistake mate, Thought you were saying to swing this years first for next years, not the other way round.

Considering the number of NGA picks next year that could work in our favour. Especially if a certain team thinks we will fall down the ladder heavily.

Adelaide or GWS might be ones who will end up with a few picks inside the top 20 once all the trades ect have gone through.

Black2Blue

Aug 15, 2013
Question to those in the know...as a midyear draftee, does Hosie move onto the rookie list?

With CZ moving to the senior list (currently at 39) and with Thommo, Wright, Hrovat, and Watson the departures, it looks like we effectively have 4 draft picks (7, 25, 43, 71) and 0 rookie picks. Is that our likely starting position pre trade & draft?

Feb 19, 2016
Question to those in the know...as a midyear draftee, does Hosie move onto the rookie list?

With CZ moving to the senior list (currently at 39) and with Thommo, Wright, Hrovat, and Watson the departures, it looks like we effectively have 4 draft picks (7, 25, 43, 71) and 0 rookie picks. Is that our likely starting position pre trade & draft?

Yes.

I reckon we will delist McKenzie to get a first round rookie pick

And hope we get the McGuinness guy or other NGA players to fill the cat B rookie spot

Pykie

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Pokemon is Life North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship
Sep 17, 2006
Lord's
Leeds United
I reckon we will delist McKenzie to get a first round rookie pick

And hope we get the McGuinness guy or other NGA players to fill the cat B rookie spot

McKenzie was a first round rookie pick in a stronger draft.

Waussie

Nov 26, 2017
He's tall enough to play ruck. Goodes was only about 192. Jackson can play that mobile Ruckman role or play as a third KPF and spend time in the ruck helping out an aging Ruckman. Means Larkey can play 100% as a forward.
Jackson's all around ability and mobility are more valuable than some plodding ruck.
Totally agree.

Ok guys, what's the knock on Tom Gribble, if any?

See below

Tom Gribble just win the JJ Liston. I called for us to rookie him back in 2012

Classic case of a kid who’s good at everything but maybe without that one elite trait that recruiters look for. He’s still relatively young, gets lots of ball, no obvious flaws (at least that I’m aware of). Worth a rookie pick?

Edit: Good runner, averaged 30 touches and 7 clearances. What’s not to like?
Possibly Partington is a better kick. There were questions on Gribble’s kicking during his draft year, but he was actually a good kick as a junior and I believe it’s an aspect of his game he’s continued to focus on.

But I reckon we’re screaming out for an athletic onballer who can win heaps of it and contribute at clearances (aka the Gribbler).
Very poor kick and from what I’ve been told doesn’t have the best attitude either. Same reasons Jye Bolton and Hayden Scholithe haven’t been picked up.

Sep 21, 2008
Vic
Sep 21, 2008
Vic
Looks as though it’s going to be a very very light on year for key defenders!

Couple of profiles the Nab League App
66AA8B0B-51C9-4E6E-A446-61B3A580DB76.jpeg
12E81348-06C2-4985-A651-1B44D17FA071.jpeg
F6F7E4D4-32C8-47F9-9844-A76B272739E2.jpeg
BCCE3E2E-83C4-4B38-ACAC-C55EAFA43C1E.jpeg