Autopsy 2019 Bulldogs Fixture

What timeslot do you prefer to watch the footy?

• Thursday Night!

Votes: 4 4.4%
  • Friday Night!

Votes: 17 18.9%
  • Saturday Afternoon!

Votes: 32 35.6%
  • Saturday Twilight!

Votes: 6 6.7%
  • Saturday Night!

Votes: 18 20.0%
  • Sunday Early!

Votes: 7 7.8%
  • Sunday Afternoon!

Votes: 5 5.6%
  • Sunday Twilight!

Votes: 1 1.1%

Gridlock'd

Dec 17, 2002
Tassie
SA Spurs, Leeds, Renault
There is a picture doing the rounds of the leaked Round 2 schedule. We are slated for an away game vs the Hawks on Sat night.

Tassie? Don't think we have played the Hawks at the G since 2012. (Home and away)

Our 2 JLT/pre season games have been announced, Gold Coast in Mackay & Saints in Ballarat

Hopefully the AFLX has just been canned altogether as a s**t idea
The top two wooden spoon candidates for 2019.
We'd want to be winning both of those games if we're to achieve anything in 2019. Unless of course we are just giving our youngsters a run.

Jun 5, 2013
The Stoop
MCFC, Lakers, Phillies, NY Rangers
Good Friday likely to be between North and either Essendon or Richmond. Because neither of those two already have blockbuster big stage games???
AFL HQ are so f*ckin pathetic. They are permanently under the thumb of Kerry Stokes and Channel 7.

VogonProsthetnic

Apr 26, 2010
Beaufort
Good Friday likely to be between North and either Essendon or Richmond. Because neither of those two already have blockbuster big stage games???
AFL HQ are so f*ckin pathetic. They are permanently under the thumb of Kerry Stokes and Channel 7.

Doubt many Essendon supporters will be able to afford to see their team play soon. They already have to fork out mega $$$$ to see Anzac Day. Guaranteed to AFL will be introducing their Flexi- price policy for reserved seats for this game.

Hoping we gat a Ballarat game over Easter, though guaranteed it will be Easter Sunday in Cararra or somewhere.

NoName

Jul 15, 2003
Dogs to host Lions, Crows in Ballarat

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-10-30/dogs-to-host-lions-crows-in-ballarat

The Western Bulldogs will host the Brisbane Lions and the Adelaide Crows as their two Ballarat opponents next season.

The AFL has revealed the Club’s two Mars Stadium matches ahead this Thursday’s official release of the 2019 fixture.

The Dogs will host the Lions in Round 8 on Saturday, May 11 at 1.45pm, and the Crows in Round 23 (the league’s floating fixture, with a date and time yet to be announced).

It will be the first time Brisbane and Adelaide have travelled to Ballarat for an official AFL match, with the Bulldogs having played Port Adelaide (twice) and the Gold Coast Suns in their previous three encounters.

The Club will also play a JLT Community Series match against St Kilda at Mars Stadium on Sunday, March 10.

“We’re excited to continue our partnership with the City of Ballarat and the State Government by hosting two AFL premiership season games in Ballarat in 2019,” said Bulldogs’ CEO Ameet Bains.

“We’ve worked closely with the AFL during their fixture process to ensure our games at Mars Stadium in 2019 are scheduled to best maximise the opportunity for Bulldogs fans and the Ballarat community to enjoy the spectacle.

“It’s pleasing that our first game on May 11 has been confirmed in the earlier time slot, and scheduling our second match in the final game of the home-and-away season will hopefully enhance the opportunity for a large attendance.

“We are also excited about the opportunity to host a pre-season JLT Community Series match at Mars Stadium in March, which will build excitement for the home-and-away season.

“Along with the success of playing AFL games in Ballarat over the last few years, we’re proud of the work we’ve done with our schools, youth leadership and men’s and women’s health programs in the region, which we’re committed to delivering again in 2019.”

The AFL has also locked in the Bulldogs’ Round 1 opponent for the 2019 season – a home fixture against the Sydney Swans at Marvel Stadium on Saturday, March 23.

VogonProsthetnic

Apr 26, 2010
Beaufort
Dogs to host Lions, Crows in Ballarat

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-10-30/dogs-to-host-lions-crows-in-ballarat

The Western Bulldogs will host the Brisbane Lions and the Adelaide Crows as their two Ballarat opponents next season.

The AFL has revealed the Club’s two Mars Stadium matches ahead this Thursday’s official release of the 2019 fixture.

The Dogs will host the Lions in Round 8 on Saturday, May 11 at 1.45pm, and the Crows in Round 23 (the league’s floating fixture, with a date and time yet to be announced).

It will be the first time Brisbane and Adelaide have travelled to Ballarat for an official AFL match, with the Bulldogs having played Port Adelaide (twice) and the Gold Coast Suns in their previous three encounters.

The Club will also play a JLT Community Series match against St Kilda at Mars Stadium on Sunday, March 10.

“We’re excited to continue our partnership with the City of Ballarat and the State Government by hosting two AFL premiership season games in Ballarat in 2019,” said Bulldogs’ CEO Ameet Bains.

“We’ve worked closely with the AFL during their fixture process to ensure our games at Mars Stadium in 2019 are scheduled to best maximise the opportunity for Bulldogs fans and the Ballarat community to enjoy the spectacle.

“It’s pleasing that our first game on May 11 has been confirmed in the earlier time slot, and scheduling our second match in the final game of the home-and-away season will hopefully enhance the opportunity for a large attendance.

“We are also excited about the opportunity to host a pre-season JLT Community Series match at Mars Stadium in March, which will build excitement for the home-and-away season.

“Along with the success of playing AFL games in Ballarat over the last few years, we’re proud of the work we’ve done with our schools, youth leadership and men’s and women’s health programs in the region, which we’re committed to delivering again in 2019.”

The AFL has also locked in the Bulldogs’ Round 1 opponent for the 2019 season – a home fixture against the Sydney Swans at Marvel Stadium on Saturday, March 23.

That's good- we finally play the Crows over here. May mean only one game at AO against Port. Hopefully only Freo once in Perth as well.

Brisbane will be a double up team, though I'm wondering if we play the Suns twice and where.

Reckon Swans could be a double team as well since we didn't play up there last year.

Sep 27, 2005
Footscray
Wasn't there an issue with late winter darkness at Mars in our match against Port this year? Yet sure enough we're playing there in Round 23 in late August. If the match time is 3.20, then the AFL aren't taking it seriously.

Gotta love the current incompetent AFL administration who have had to push the fixture release back 24hrs as some clubs aren’t happy with a few things.

Seen earlier that Essendope requested to play Thursday before Good Friday, but as mentioned they have been rumoured to get the Good Friday game...

Draft Pick

Jun 17, 2004
Should play at Whitten Oval.
Not saying this is a bad idea or good idea, but it is very interesting how we are probably the only club who want to play home games at our traditional home ground.

EDIT: I thought you were talking about the season proper not the JLT.

Whoyagot

Sep 18, 2018
Not saying this is a bad idea or good idea, but it is very interesting how we are probably the only club who want to play home games at our traditional home ground.

EDIT: I thought you were talking about the season proper not the JLT.

I think Peter Gordon said something a while back about the stand development hopefully allowing the capacity for afl games at Whitten Oval. Wouldn’t be regular by any means but if we’re playing Gold Coast and GWS I’d love the opportunity to host them there. Fingers crossed it’s something we can look forward to in the future!

Golden_6

Aug 15, 2014
Chicago Bulls
Wasn't there an issue with late winter darkness at Mars in our match against Port this year? Yet sure enough we're playing there in Round 23 in late August. If the match time is 3.20, then the AFL aren't taking it seriously.
The match last year was scheduled for Round 19, this one is Round 23 which is around a month later. I'm pretty sure the AFL have received the memo not to repeat last years debacle.

Freshwater

Oct 30, 2014
Late August is often just as cold as mid year. But the days have lengthened some what by then. Shortest day is June 21/22.

Jun 5, 2013
The Stoop
MCFC, Lakers, Phillies, NY Rangers
Essendon getting Good Friday proves the AFL is biased.
It definitely proves they have no interest in equality of opportunity for each of the 18 clubs. The AFL is run by a bunch of self interested campaigners, no different to Cricket Australia.

VogonProsthetnic

Apr 26, 2010
Beaufort

Weather is extremely hit and miss that time of year. Ballarat games should be in April.

Other issue is that it potentially could be a finals deciding match. You could get a decent crowd at Marvel. Would not even mind playing r 1 vs Swans up there tbh.

So we are giving up 2 games against interstate clubs we actually draw well against to play in a stadium that will hold around 7,000 of our 40,000 plus members around an hour from our home base!!!!!!

And this is supposed to also build local support.

How is this going to be a benefit again?

Jun 19, 2016
So we are giving up 2 games against interstate clubs we actually draw well against to play in a stadium that will hold around 7,000 of our 40,000 plus members around an hour from our home base!!!!!!

And this is supposed to also build local support.

How is this going to be a benefit again?
Last few years a really strong rivalry has developed with the Crows. Playing the game in Ballarat makes no sense.