May 21, 2014
ACT
Sydney Sixers
Locked @ D6 if named round 1

Think he was still getting over some glandular fever when he was drafted by Geelong, but there was a training video like 2-3 weeks ago which showed him in a full contact drill tackling someone so you’d think he’s over that if he’s being involved in a drill like that.

I reckon he’ll debut very early on in the season barring injury, hopefully that’s Round 1 :devil:

Think he was still getting over some glandular fever when he was drafted by Geelong, but there was a training video like 2-3 weeks ago which showed him in a full contact drill tackling someone so you’d think he’s over that if he’s being involved in a drill like that.

I reckon he’ll debut very early on in the season barring injury, hopefully that’s Round 1 :devil:
Thoughts on Fort/Constable/Atkins?

Yes/no for round 1?

Daniel McL

May 21, 2014
ACT
Sydney Sixers
Thoughts on Fort/Constable/Atkins?

Yes/no for round 1?

Fort - Pretty much locked in as my R3. Considering how inconsistent & injury-prone our rucks have been for years it wouldn’t surprise me to see Fort early in 2019. At the moment I’d say Stanley is still the No.1 Ruck based on his 6-8 week block of great footy last season. Huge JLT watch on Fort, if he’s being given plenty of time as No.1 Rick in JLT then lock him in your side. Don’t think he should be anyone’s R2 unless you’re feeling risky as f*** but should be plenty of peeps’ R3. Probably our best tap ruckman already, now just needs to bring enough around the ground to get him that No.1 Ruck spot.

Constable - Will probably be on my MID bench. Was very unlucky to not make his debut last year. Seems to be doing everything right so far this preseason + is one of the 6-7 players who the Cats have working with a specialist sprint/running coach to work on his spread away from the contest because at the moment he’s pretty much an inside midfielder only so they want to add another string to his bow on the outside which would help his chances of being picked in the seniors as well. Could really go either way, could play from Round 1 straight away & never lose his spot, or could just be very unlucky again with all the other midfielders we have & not make his debut for a while. I’m leaning towards him debuting early on and hopefully doing enough to keep his spot. On MID bench at best for now though.

Atkins - Was an inside midfielder who was a tackle machine for the VFL side but with all the midfielders we have they’ve said he’s training as a pressure forward. Could debut early on as he’s a mature age player but not sure how good his scoring will be playing in a new position in the seniors. Would have to lay lots of tackles + kick enough goals each game to be worth it as he might not get much of the ball. Currently won’t be in my side.

Fort - Pretty much locked in as my R3. Considering how inconsistent & injury-prone our rucks have been for years it wouldn’t surprise me to see Fort early in 2019. At the moment I’d say Stanley is still the No.1 Ruck based on his 6-8 week block of great footy last season. Huge JLT watch on Fort, if he’s being given plenty of time as No.1 Rick in JLT then lock him in your side. Don’t think he should be anyone’s R2 unless you’re feeling risky as f*** but should be plenty of peeps’ R3. Probably our best tap ruckman already, now just needs to bring enough around the ground to get him that No.1 Ruck spot.

Constable - Will probably be on my MID bench. Was very unlucky to not make his debut last year. Seems to be doing everything right so far this preseason + is one of the 6-7 players who the Cats have working with a specialist sprint/running coach to work on his spread away from the contest because at the moment he’s pretty much an inside midfielder only so they want to add another string to his bow on the outside which would help his chances of being picked in the seniors as well. Could really go either way, could play from Round 1 straight away & never lose his spot, or could just be very unlucky again with all the other midfielders we have & not make his debut for a while. I’m leaning towards him debuting early on and hopefully doing enough to keep his spot. On MID bench at best for now though.

Atkins - Was an inside midfielder who was a tackle machine for the VFL side but with all the midfielders we have they’ve said he’s training as a pressure forward. Could debut early on as he’s a mature age player but not sure how good his scoring will be playing in a new position in the seniors. Would have to lay lots of tackles + kick enough goals each game to be worth it as he might not get much of the ball. Currently won’t be in my side.
Thank you for the detailed reply.

I’ll do a quick Saints rookie summary:

Matthew Parker - Richo said Parker’s pace & energy will suit Marvel Stadium. Should play half fwd with Kent in a new look fwd line. 117k fwd - locked on my fwd bench.

Nick Hind - Reminds of JJ. Run & carry - we need pace desperately so I’m expecting to see Nick fast tracked on a wing/half back to give us that run & carry - 117k mid - currently on my bench - very outside so scoring ceiling may not be high

Robbie Young - Apparently impressing the coaches the most out of the new boys. Pressure small fwd, very pacey, him v Lonie at this stage IMO for round 1. 117k fwd rookie - Opted for Cavarra/McAdam instead at this stage

Callum Wilkie - Roberton back up - but boy he looks too good to leave out - Sam Fisher mk II - If named round 1 JUMP ON! - 124k def - not in my team atm - McKay etc instead

Daniel McL

May 21, 2014
ACT
Sydney Sixers
Thank you for the detailed reply.

I’ll do a quick Saints rookie summary:

Matthew Parker - Richo said Parker’s pace & energy will suit Marvel Stadium. Should play half fwd with Kent in a new look fwd line. 117k fwd - locked on my fwd bench.

Nick Hind - Reminds of JJ. Run & carry - we need pace desperately so I’m expecting to see Nick fast tracked on a wing/half back to give us that run & carry - 117k mid - currently on my bench - very outside so scoring ceiling may not be high

Robbie Young - Apparently impressing the coaches the most out of the new boys. Pressure small fwd, very pacey, him v Lonie at this stage IMO for round 1. 117k fwd rookie - Opted for Cavarra/McAdam instead at this stage

Callum Wilkie - Roberton back up - but boy he looks too good to leave out - Sam Fisher mk II - If named round 1 JUMP ON! - 124k def - not in my team atm - McKay etc instead

Cheers mate! Is Parker a mature age player or just a regular draftee age? If his game isn’t based on just pressure & he can rack up enough of the ball in that half forward spot then he’ll probably be on my FWD bench too!

Like Hind he’ll probably be on my MID bench.

Cheers mate! Is Parker a mature age player or just a regular draftee age? If his game isn’t based on just pressure & he can rack up enough of the ball in that half forward spot then he’ll probably be on my FWD bench too!

Like Hind he’ll probably be on my MID bench.
Parker is a mature age pick up with elite endurance & speed

Daniel McL

May 21, 2014
ACT
Sydney Sixers
Parker is a mature age pick up with elite endurance & speed

D77DBEAF-A26B-4BC9-AE93-E73B093E0517.gif

Keg on legs

10k Posts St Kilda - Doulton Langlands Player Sponsor 2020 St Kilda - Robbie Young Player Sponsor 2019 St Kilda - Nathan Freeman Player Sponsor 2017
Oct 5, 2014
The beer fridge
Neck tatts
Arm sleeve

Confirmed 120+ pig

Just watch your tone pal. Parks will bite your feckin face off

images.jpeg.jpg

Seriously though, this guy is already a fan favourite. He's done it tough, had some run ins with the law when young but come through the other side. One thing is for sure- he won't take this opportunity lightly.

Locked on fwd bench for me

Who are the super fast players with great vision who regularly hit targets 50 metres+ away whilst running at full tilt? :think:

Sorry but there's no bush footy shitkickers SC running this year so you can't pick me Andrew Birch , a real shame.

Wonder if teams will try to get speedy players to take kick ins now? Imagine the fastest guy in the teams defence getting the ball and playing on ASAP. Gain 20-30m and then kicking 50.
Not sure, will be interesting to see from team tactical perspective and also whether any adjustments to scoring system will come. If not, DEF line players who benefit can shift balance of higher scores a bit.
For me, e.g., was maybe looking at a Harris Andrews, but Witherden might be the better bet if he gets a kick-in bonus.

Keg on legs

10k Posts St Kilda - Doulton Langlands Player Sponsor 2020 St Kilda - Robbie Young Player Sponsor 2019 St Kilda - Nathan Freeman Player Sponsor 2017
Oct 5, 2014
The beer fridge
Not sure, will be interesting to see from team tactical perspective and also whether any adjustments to scoring system will come. If not, DEF line players who benefit can shift balance of higher scores a bit.
For me, e.g., was maybe looking at a Harris Andrews, but Witherden might be the better bet if he gets a kick-in bonus.

Had Witherden since version 1. He and Whitfield lockedy lock locked

Dec 3, 2017
Just watch your tone pal. Parks will bite your feckin face off

View attachment 603403

Seriously though, this guy is already a fan favourite. He's done it tough, had some run ins with the law when young but come through the other side. One thing is for sure- he won't take this opportunity lightly.

Locked on fwd bench for me

His eyes say he'll shank you without a second thought.