2019 Draft thread

Surely Will Ashcroft would choose the club his dad played over 300 games for and won 3 premierships?

These NGAs really are a complete farce, I thought they were for disadvantaged kids from remote areas, there was never any doubt that the Marcus Ashcroft and Chris Johnson boys were going to play AFL and receive plenty of coaching/development. It really is a f....g JOKE!

Surely Will Ashcroft would choose the club his dad played over 300 games for and won 3 premierships?

These NGAs really are a complete farce, I thought they were for disadvantaged kids from remote areas, there was never any doubt that the Marcus Ashcroft and Chris Johnson boys were going to play AFL and receive plenty of coaching/development. It really is a f....g JOKE!
GC,s Academy is a bit different to an NGA though.
He has lived there for more than the 5 yrs and trained with their academy so he is well within his rights to choose them.
But with Johnson and the Bombers and no training or development then it is a sham and is a blight in the AFL.

Will Ashcroft is in Gold Coasts academy. It’s not an NGA.

He has lived there for more than the 5 yrs and trained with their academy so he is well within his rights to choose them.
But with Johnson and the Bombers and no training or development then it is a sham and is a blight in the AFL.
Yer I was so wild I got all confused, age and senility is my only excuse, lucky you pointed it our Dlions, I was just about to post it on the main board, you got to me just in time, I adjusted it to be only about Chris Johnson's boy. Thanks mate.

Yeah there is a pretty obvious difference - without the GC academy there wouldn't be a strong junior development pathway, whereas for quite a few players eligible under the NGA there are plenty of alternate development opportunities. The Age reported last year that some clubs are just asking TAC cup players within their zone to check their family history to see that they qualify - not exactly bringing in new players.

Not quite what it was designed for!
But I guess the VFL gets its way again!

Not quite what it was designed for!
But I guess the VFL gets its way again!

Gotta love it! The predictable response I've seen to the article about Chris Johnson's son is that all academies are rorts which is an incredibly dumb take.

Sydney being successful and their academy developing Heeney and Mills has really broken some people's brains.

Gotta love it! The predictable response I've seen to the article about Chris Johnson's son is that all academies are rorts which is an incredibly dumb take.

Sydney being successful and their academy developing Heeney and Mills has really broken some people's brains.
And that is 2 players!
How long has their academy been up and running for?

And that is 2 players!
How long has their academy been up and running for?

It's 3 now with Blakey, but that is 3 first round players in 5 years? We have had 2 in the same timeframe and I think GC have only had 1?

GWS is a bit of a different case but that eligibility issue has been addressed. Plus they keep offloading some of them each year to Carlton so they haven't all been homeruns either.

It's 3 now with Blakey, but that is 3 first round players in 5 years? We have had 2 in the same timeframe and I think GC have only had 1?

GWS is a bit of a different case but that eligibility issue has been addressed. Plus they keep offloading some of them each year to Carlton so they haven't all been homeruns either.
Blakey was a bit of a bonus for them though.
Being a Father/Son for 2 other clubs and only going to them because his Dad is now a Coach there!
Little bit lucky for them that 1.

Blakey was a bit of a bonus for them though.
Being a Father/Son for 2 other clubs and only going to them because his Dad is now a Coach there!
Little bit lucky for them that 1.

Yep, but again if the Swans academy wasn't there would he have developed the way he did? Maybe, but it would have been harder. Of course the other completely ignored thing the northern academies might be doing is improving local footy with players who don't quite make the AFL grade. You only need to look at how Hammelman has gone in the NEAFL to maybe see some evidence for that.

Of course local competitions in inner-city Melbourne don't quite need the same boost!

FYI our academy is playing the GIants academy today and it is being live streamed:

Lions running away with it now - up by 30 points with 10 mins to go. Will Martyn having a handy game with 28 touches and a goal.

Gotta say the new NAB League App is really great - adding in real time stats for all games is a big improvement.

No, but he can choose as Nick Blakey (Syd (Academy) or North / Brisbane (Father / Son)) and Bailey Scott (North / Geelong (Father / Son) or Gold Coast (Academy)) did.
And indications are it won't be us he chooses.

Lions running away with it now - up by 30 points with 10 mins to go. Will Martyn having a handy game with 28 touches and a goal.

Gotta say the new NAB League App is really great - adding in real time stats for all games is a big improvement.

Tom Wischnat is a unit, absolutely solid block of muscle and very good hands in marking contests. It makes him very difficult for defenders to move and he positions himself well. He is an awkward size too, not tall but too big and strong for a small defender. If the Lions didn’t take him as a rookie I think another club could consider him.

Bruce Reville, Noah Cumberland and Blake Coleman (Keidan's brother) also impressive.

Noah is a very tough footballer who has excellent instincts on where to be and when. Good skills while maybe not the silkiest, but definitely hard at the contest and one of those players who just knows how to have an impact on a game.

Coleman looks really good. Seems to have a high work rate too.

You don’t believe Wischnat is good enough for the National Draft?

He’s one kid I was really hoping would step it up this year for the academy.

You don’t believe Wischnat is good enough for the National Draft?

He’s one kid I was really hoping would step it up this year for the academy.

If he is good enough I would think we will take him in the ND as a later pick. If not I think we or someone else would rookie him. Early days though but he looks the type of player who is worth a shot. He does have to build his defensive side and it would be good if he can really take a game by the scruff of the neck sometime this season.

2019 Draft thread