List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

I suspect that's the right strategy though, if you're rebuilding you should bring forward your picks by trading out future picks so that you can get a mass of raw talent in ASAP, while if you're already on top it's better to trade in future picks because you'll have more list spots to fill in future. The only problem is our rebuild is interminable.

It's like going to the pawnbroker though, no team is going to give up pick one for a future pick. You usually have to give up a likely top 4 pick for a mid first RDP etc.

I would rather them just use the draft picks in their current year and ideally if we are rebuilding get a player like Hill and use the rest in the draft. This year we are looking at trading Bruce, Carlisle and Gresham because we want access to the draft while still bring in established GOPs from other clubs.

To me it's not ideal list management. It's a bit of patching the list so we don't go backwards then stepping backwards anyway and then pretty much stepping away from the draft which is the traditional way sides in the bottom half rebuild their list.

there's trades too.. bruce, sinclair, lonie, long, dunstan, ross, etc could all find new homes. Not saying I want them to, just saying we're not gonna have any trouble turning the list over. If the eagles and the tigers can keep their list turning over, I'm sure we'll manage
Id say the chances of us trading Seb Ross put is close to zero

there's trades too.. bruce, sinclair, lonie, long, dunstan, ross, etc could all find new homes. Not saying I want them to, just saying we're not gonna have any trouble turning the list over. If the eagles and the tigers can keep their list turning over, I'm sure we'll manage

We will have around three players left from before 5 years ago after this draft by the look of it. The fact we are still doing a mass churn is concerning to me. We should have a base and be adding quality to fancy it up. Not going a hard prune. We will have plenty go anyway but the idea we have to churn is an indictment on the recent past list management and recruiting.

I very much doubt we are trading all those players. We will probably trade put 1 to 3 players tops imo.

It would be interesting to see who we ended up with if we land pick 12 from the Dogs.

Robertson is rated around that mark by a lot of experts, but you'd expect Freo to reach for him if they have 2 top ten picks.

Stephens is another but I wouldn't expect him to get past Port.

We are said to be very keen on Cody Weightman who Twomey has tanked at 12, but I don't think we can afford to not take a mid.

Can Kemp slide that far after his knee injury?
I hopeful for kemp at 12 if not weightman seems like a good pick. Can go through the midfield but can be a dangerous small. Bytel is a new pick and I'm hopeful next year we could try for Caldwell.

It would be interesting to see who we ended up with if we land pick 12 from the Dogs.

Robertson is rated around that mark by a lot of experts, but you'd expect Freo to reach for him if they have 2 top ten picks.

We are said to be very keen on Cody Weightman who Twomey has tanked at 12, but I don't think we can afford to not take a mid.

Robertson is blue chip, he's probably got the least gamble of any outside the top three but like Worpol some see him as at his ceiling which is very high already. If I was Freo I'd grab him with 6, he's not going to run off interstate, almost a guaranteed good player and just what they need after so many mids are gone. Safe as houses selection.

yeah, which is a bummer in my eyes, don't think he's that good. Had some absolutely shocking games this year while still racking up the touches
We'd be stupid to trade him out, especially when we are losing Stuv.

I hopeful for kemp at 12 if not weightman seems like a good pick. Can go through the midfield but can be a dangerous small. Bytel is a new pick and I'm hopeful next year we could try for Caldwell.

I'd take Weightman over Kemp, we just can't afford the slow build up like we have been doing. I love Kemp but there won't be any members left if we have to wait 4 years for another shot at finals. Weightman is a little ripper too. I reckon he hits the ground running.

yeah, which is a bummer in my eyes, don't think he's that good. Had some absolutely shocking games this year while still racking up the touches

I think he's underrated. His kicking is poor at times and good at others. Most of the good mids are hit and miss anyway.He's probably the least of our problems to be honest. He would also leave us with the worst midfield ever assembled as well IMO.

he doesn't do anything well, apart from accumulate, and he's not even that good at that. He can hit some nice kicks, but when he does I feel genuine surprise. Before we know it he will lose the touch of zip he has (though rarely shows) and he'll be a crab in and out of the team. He's a lovely guy and a good role model but If we could get a decent pick for him I'd do it. But we won't, because no one would pay more than a second rounder, which proves my point imo

I doubt anyone would think you could get him for a second rounder. That would be up there with Jarrod Lyons as a mystery of modern stupidity if we did that. He's a 2 times Band F winner, stand in Captain and last year he was 13th in the league is total disposals despite playing up to 6 less games than the guys above him and most of whom are the elite players of the comp. The only guy above him on less games was Laird who got 12 more disposals but played one less game. Paddy Cripps got 20 more for the year but played one extra game.

He's underrated by Saints fans who had his papers stamped when he was a slow burn early on. He's not particularly defensive or contested in his footy which seems to shit people too. Nicky Dal was never either of those either and had his critics.

I doubt anyone would think you could get him for a second rounder. That would be up there with Jarrod Lyons as a mystery of modern stupidity if we did that. He's a 2 times Band F winner, stand in Captain and last year he was 13th in the league is total disposals despite playing up to 6 less games than the guys above him and most of whom are the elite players of the comp. The only guy above him on less games was Laird who got 12 more disposals but played one less game. Paddy Cripps got 20 more for the year but played one extra game.

He's underrated by Saints fans who had his papers stamped when he was a slow burn early on. He's not particularly defensive or contested in his footy which seems to s**t people too. Nicky Dal was never either of those either and had his critics.
I agree, I'd do it for an early second. Pull the trigger lethlean!!!

where the hell is VDS? I need some bloody back up, I'm being overrun!
Not sure even VDS would even consider trading him for a 2nd rounder.

Pretty confident there's be plenty of clubs happy to hand over their first if you said he was on the table.

Perhaps I'll restate.
We'll find ourselves trading depth players to achieve the compulsory draft numbers.
Probably a good scenario when you think about it...

Yep.

I think top 5 are;

1. Rowell
2. Anderson
3. Ash
4. Serong
5. Young

Yeah i'd love Robertson. There have just been so many reasons for so many years that we aren't in the relevant part of the draft.

Well it’d be Stevens and Steven all over again if we have Roberton (crossing all fingers and toes) and Robertson 😉

where the hell is VDS? I need some bloody back up, I'm being overrun!
Nar you're on the money with this one. You've just landed in in the middle of our curmudgeon group all too afraid to step outside their front doors.
If we could get an early 2nd for Seb I'd drive him there myself.
Let's hope the club don't just look at possession stats like some of the hobbyists on here..