List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

I’ll repeat what I said, we can’t trade our first for next year unless we get one back somehow.

If we’re going to trade our future 1st we’d need at least a future 2nd back so we’d have to aim late in the first round and probably at a team with multiple picks.

Say GCs pick 15 or Geelongs pick 17. Don’t see it happening personally

Yep they will match it but if the Swans bid on Green at 5 then the Giants have to use pick 6 which they absolutely do not want to do. They want to draft a gun with 6 and use later picks to match the bid.

The Crows should bite given they can get one of the local SA kids at 6 but they might really was Ash/Flanders as well.

Given our good record with GWS trades I think we can talk to them about getting something done to benefit both teams.

Interestingly the 3 recruiters ( WC / Ex Stk / ADL )I was sitting with all think Green is extremely overrated,

They all love Hayden Young but all thought he had avg championships which hurt his standing

They all love Liam Henry , Elijah Taylor, Lachie Ash , Gould

Reckon we look to try and swap firsts with someone for next year and get back in the late first round early second ?
I reckon we'll word up the other clubs that we're happy to trade that first in any favorable deal should they find themselves in need.
We'll keep a good eye on the top talant to see if we can snaffle a value slider like Kemp at 15, but there will be others too.
Failing that, we'll be hoping biggy falls past our first pick, although by then it hardly matters.

Our draft position isn't too bad within limited expectations.
We can upgrade a rookie with p100, and Biggy can also be taken with a no points pick because points can be syphoned from the future 4ths.

Having p51 and 4ths for live trading would potentially let us move up 10 or so places if we saw something we liked, but 51 is also tradeable for a future 3rd and a 5th round this year if there's nothing we like by then.

I could see something like a late 1st Kemp or other, Biggie p80, Wilkie p100.

2020 picks:
1x 2nd, 1x 3rd, 2x 4ths

We'll take Brownie or a mature ruckman as a rookie.

Personally I'm looking forward to seeing what they come up with. Libba's crew can spot talant pretty good, and Lethers, Gags and Gubby can swing a deal.

I reckon we'll word up the other clubs that we're happy to trade that first in any favorable deal should they find themselves in need.
We'll keep a good eye on the top talant to see if we can snaffle a value slider like Kemp at 15, but there will be others too.
Failing that, we'll be hoping biggy falls past our first pick, although by then it hardly matters.

Our draft position isn't too bad within limited expectations.
We can upgrade a rookie with p100, and Biggy can also be taken with a no points pick because points can be syphoned from the future 4ths.

Having p51 and 4ths for live trading would potentially let us move up 10 or so places if we saw something we liked, but 51 is also tradeable for a future 3rd and a 5th round this year if there's nothing we like by then.

I could see something like a late 1st Kemp or other, Biggie p80, Wilkie p100.

2020 picks:
1x 2nd, 1x 3rd, 2x 4ths

We'll take Brownie or a mature ruckman as a rookie.

Personally I'm looking forward to seeing what they come up with. Libba's crew can spot talant pretty good, and Lethers, Gags and Gubby can swing a deal.

This year is a lottery .. Kemp & .Cooper Stephens there are a lot very even

We may come early for Bing. All Bing did was secure financial tenure on big $$$. Protecting himself against injury and form.

Doesn't mean he won't ask to be traded.
Since Bing is more of a 2022 project, that pick has become a luxury.
We'll be hovering over this draft like vulchers l hope..

Hopefully Biggy gets through to 82/rookie. Would really like that 3rd round pick to be an inside midfielder

Any chance that Ryan Byrnes can slide that far?
I heard he drinks too much.
and kicks innocent kittens.
and says rude things to his mum.

I’ll repeat what I said, we can’t trade our first for next year unless we get one back somehow.

AFL rules are only really guidelines...

If it helps GWS, head office won't stand it the way. They'll just say we need to trade back into the 2nd round next year or face a penalty (which is unknown and never has been enforced despite Geel and Haw both breaching the 'rule').

We may come early for Bing. All Bing did was secure financial tenure on big $$$. Protecting himself against injury and form.

Doesn't mean he won't ask to be traded.
As long as it's not in his playing contract we're we have to pick up the bill.
The problem is, the longer we wait the less likely he is to come over. But his signed till 2022 on mega bucks, so why would he give that up?? It's a tricky one..

If it helps GWS, head office won't stand it the way. They'll just say we need to trade back into the 2nd round next year or face a penalty (which is unknown and never has been enforced despite Geel and Haw both breaching the 'rule').

Gil in charge ,nyuk nyuk nyuk.. ( Done with a voice resembling Disney's goofy ).

Different rules. The rule that Geelong almost breached is using a first round pick once every three years. Not sure anyone has broken the rule about trading future picks in the first and later rounds.

Ajang is one i would be keen on ... really raw talent and fantastic athletisim as STCi mentioned has a bit of mongrel about him as well not afraid to get dirty ... he would be a fair way off AFL standard but would be heaps closer to than Alabakis is to playing AFL level ...

i kind of think we might see some over agers come in .. we have late picks and the draft doesnt bat deep from my reckoning so maybe one of those "cant believe he's stil playing VFL/WAFL/SANFL " types finally get their shot ... looking at the Subi WAFL squad i reckn theres at least 3 guys in there who could come in and make AFL level as a short term option

i dont think it will be us but does a club take a punt on Harley Bennell ? he has a mountain of problems but is a skilled footy player far too skilled to toss away ... would take a club with some serious leadership and out of club support to fix the wrongs on him though ...

We probably need to try and target a key forward in the rookie draft.

We cant really just have Mayo as the only target at Sandringham, I don't think that's great for his development.

A forward/ruck type would be good. Hopefully there's another Rowan Marshall running around some where

With 51 we try and find the best mid, whether that's an 18 year old or a mature type I don't mind.

i dont think it will be us but does a club take a punt on Harley Bennell ? he has a mountain of problems but is a skilled footy player far too skilled to toss away ... would take a club with some serious leadership and out of club support to fix the wrongs on him though ...

wouldn't want him anywhere near our group

51 - Biggie
82 - VFL ruck
100 - Wilkie

How are Goodard, Ajang & Strnadica from the WAFL StCicatriz ?? Worth a late punt as younger rucks?
As far as I understand it Wilkie does not require upgrading from the rookie list this year, but Joyce does.

Hopefully Biggie is 82 and hopefully he is good enough to be considered as the 3rd ruck for us this year so we can go for a mid/best available (non-HBF) with 51

Are we assuming Newnes is going to be rookie'd or do we think the contract offer has been withdrawn altogether and we will have a rookie selection as well?

We probably need to try and target a key forward in the rookie draft.

We cant really just have Mayo as the only target at Sandringham, I don't think that's great for his development.

A forward/ruck type would be good. Hopefully there's another Rowan Marshall running around some where

With 51 we try and find the best mid, whether that's an 18 year old or a mature type I don't mind.

Biggy?

FWIW , Howard has also played ruck in the SAFL and chopped out in the AFL.

( 21 and 15 hitouts rounds 4 and 5 2018 - so maybe not far off Tom Hickey ability anyway ).

Biggy has rucked, but at 195 probably can't be anything more than emergency at AFL level.
Joyce rucked at least one game of VFL, it probably didn't go well.

Full back as a chop out ruck probably doesn't work too well.
You can't just wander off from the tall forward when Marshall goes to the Bench like a tall forward can.
But if we needed Howard in the ruck, he can play ruck/forward, and have Joyce/Carlisle, Joyce/Battle or Carlisle/Battle.

If we had injuries to all of Ryder, Marshall, and Howard, we'll be screwed without Acres. :D

If Harley has left behind all the shenanigans that our WA insiders have alluded to then why not.

Especially with Paddy on board as a leader of the indigenous boys. It would be interesting to hear Hill's take on Harley.

As far as I understand it Wilkie does not require upgrading from the rookie list this year, but Joyce does.

Hopefully Biggie is 82 and hopefully he is good enough to be considered as the 3rd ruck for us this year so we can go for a mid/best available (non-HBF) with 51

Are we assuming Newnes is going to be rookie'd or do we think the contract offer has been withdrawn altogether and we will have a rookie selection as well?

We are currently set for the senior list but we have to take 3 picks in the draft inc rookie upgrades. If we can keep Wilkie as a rookie while upping his pay then that's perfect.

Brown, Newnes, White and Rice are out of contract.

The club have said they want to find a place for Brown which may come down to Newnes. Newnes has a deal in front of him if he chooses to stay but might want to look at nominating for PSD to head elsewhere. If Newnes leaves then Brown stays on the senior list. If Newnes stays then we will delist Brown and look to take him as a rookie. Clubs are generally very good with letting these moves go through without issue.

White and Rice are both gone IMO

We can then draft Biggy, upgrade Joyce and use either 51 or 76 on another ready made player, preferably another ruck to help out in case there is an injury.

The only grey area for me how it all works with Marsh and Mayo. Presumably Rowe is delisted but Marsh and Mayo are both longer term options. Do they just slide into the empty rookie places of Joyce and Pierce?

If Harley has left behind all the shenanigans that our WA insiders have alluded to then why not.

Especially with Paddy on board as a leader of the indigenous boys. It would be interesting to hear Hill's take on Harley.
This is a good point. Also having Parker, Longy and Young, who have all done it the hard way, might help him wake up to himself.
I'm not keen on him, but for a moneyball rookie pick it's not a big risk.
If he plays up, pay him out and eff him off.

wouldn't want him anywhere near our group
thats why i said not us ... but a team who rate their leaders to drive standards and rate their off field welfar as strong enough could potentially get a fantastic player for next to nothing all be it at a HUGE risk and a lot of off field work