List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

Do you notice a trend with our recruiting now that Gallagher is in on the act. Young and Wilkie from Sth Aust state league that's 2 from 4.
Our trading Ryder and Howard S Aust players...the rest wanted to come back to Victoria and Butler well he was available.

My bet is we draft someone from SA either delisted or state league. Luke Partington may be an astute get at 51. If he lasts that long.

Mention about Crouch as a free agent next year...that Sth Aust connection again appears again.

Delicious pick swap with GWS to frustrate Freo go the Gubby connection. It seems that past connections matter in the AFL.

Who would have thought.

Probably find that Lade had a lot to do with it too.

I want Tyson Milne now.

Lays heaps of tackles. Good kick from half back. Would roll into Geary's spot in a couple of years. Paton can play higher up the ground.

Get it done Saints.

Pick 51 - Milne
Pick 82 - Nyoun
Pick 100 - Joyce
Pick 120 - Wilkie
Pick 140 - Lobbe
Milne will surely slide to the rookie draft or we get him for free.

Also we might hold the pick for the preseason draft

Rupert Wills is still with out a contract, a mature body and a contested big bodied beast. With Blake going we're a bit small in thie midfield would provide some great depth and support for Jack steele?

thought/?

Yes. Yes. Yes. Get this poster a recruitement job.

Apologies if already posted:

Bigoa Nyuon
Dandenong Stingrays | Ruck/Key Forward
18/05/2001 | 196cm | 86kg

Stats:
14 disposals, 6 marks, 2 tackles, 2 rebound 50s, 5 inside 50s, 15 hitouts, 1 goal

Our scouts said: “Nyuon had some good moments in the ruck and forward for the Stingrays… He was able to expose his opponent once the ball hit the ground, spreading to space to create an option forward or get in intercepting positions.” – Craig Byrnes

Verdict: The raw and athletic tall continues to show glimpses of his best form, with enough there to suggest he’ll be an easy choice for St Kilda come draft time as a Next Generation Academy (NGA) member. His combination of aerial ability, ground level cleanliness and winding runs make Nyuon an exciting prospect, with his versatility in the key position posts an admirable trait. He loves a goal and celebration too, and seems a much-loved teammate.

Was more thinking depth. But I get what you are saying.
It is pretty much what Murray will be also.

Either way I reckon we need another inside mid. If more than 1 of Steele, Ross, Hanners or Dunstan go down we could be looking real fragile in through the middle.

It's not the worst idea seeing as we delisted Newnes and Acres pretty much. Leaves us very exposed. Hanners played 5 games, Dunstan 18. Hill and Ross will play plenty, Gresh is an ordinary mid and Bytel has played zero games. We aren't drafting any this year and unlikely next as well. Otherwise we need Hunter to play straight away.

Having a back up mature mid would be handy.

Gresh is an ordinary mid
Cmon! 2019 was his first year as a mid. He was only 21 and had a limited tank. Still averages 23 touches, 4 and a half clearances, 5 I50s and nearly a goal a game.

At St.Kilda he was 1st overall for goal assists, 2nd for center clearances (just behind Marshall), 2nd for I50s and 3rd for contested possies (1 behind Steele)

For context, he was 12th in the league for goal assists and top 30 in the league for center clearances and I50s

At the same stage, Ross was playing about half the games per year and averaging about 15 touches and 2 clearances. Jack Steven about 20 touches and 3 clearances. He is about our best performed young mid since Luke Ball. Christ even Ablett was averaging less disposals and clearances a game as at the same stage.

He is anything but an average mid mate ...

Cmon! 2019 was his first year as a mid. He was only 21 and had a limited tank. Still averages 23 touches, 4 and a half clearances, 5 I50s and nearly a goal a game.

At St.Kilda he was 1st overall for goal assists, 2nd for center clearances (just behind Marshall), 2nd for I50s and 3rd for contested possies (1 behind Steele)

For context, he was 12th in the league for goal assists and top 30 in the league for center clearances and I50s

At the same stage, Ross was playing about half the games per year and averaging about 15 touches and 2 clearances. Jack Steven about 20 touches and 3 clearances. He is about our best performed young mid since Luke Ball. Christ even Ablett was averaging less disposals and clearances a game as at the same stage.

I probably agree, but you should use stats per game to measure it, surely?

4th for kicks behind Ross, Hanners, Billings.
8th for handballs.
4th for disposals behind Ross, Billings, Hanners.
7th for effective disposals.
26th for disposal efficiency ahead of Steven, Long, Kent, Lonie.
1st for clangers.
1st for turnovers.
11th for tackles.
3rd for contested possessions behind Dunstan and Roma, equal with Hanners.
8th for uncontested possessions.
4th for clearances behind Dunstan, Marshall, Hanners.
3rd for centre clearances behind Dunstan, Hanners, equal with Marshall.
6th for stoppage clearances.
3rd for bounces behind Hind and Ross.
4th for metres gained behind Ross, Billings, Savage.
1st for inside 50s ahead of Ross and Dunstan.
24th for rebound 50s.
2nd for goal assists behind Kent.
3rd for score involvements behind Ross and Membrey.
8th for goals (0.8/game).

My conclusions from that are:

- he's getting a bit of the ball.
- he's not using it particularly well.
- he's playing inside but isn't very defensive (low tackles).
- his clearance work is just ok (low stoppage clearances).
- he's playing forward half mid rather than back half.

At the moment it looks like he'd be best suited to playing as an outside mid / high half-forward but we're playing him inside. That might turn out to be a good call, he might bulk up a bit further and perfect his craft in contested situations. Or it might be a waste of a great offensive player.

Remember this was only his 21 year old year, so I probably agree with you that he's tracking pretty well as a mid. Definitely a lot of improvement left in him.

I think he's star as a small forward but only an okay mid. He's wasted. The club weren't against trading him, if he was star mid they'd hammer the lid closed on him leaving under any circumstance. He's got time to become a gun mid but you wouldn't want to base your side around his midfield minutes.

I probably agree, but you should use stats per game to measure it, surely?

4th for kicks behind Ross, Hanners, Billings.
8th for handballs.
4th for disposals behind Ross, Billings, Hanners.
7th for effective disposals.
26th for disposal efficiency ahead of Steven, Long, Kent, Lonie.
1st for clangers.
1st for turnovers.
11th for tackles.
3rd for contested possessions behind Dunstan and Roma, equal with Hanners.
8th for uncontested possessions.
4th for clearances behind Dunstan, Marshall, Hanners.
3rd for centre clearances behind Dunstan, Hanners, equal with Marshall.
6th for stoppage clearances.
3rd for bounces behind Hind and Ross.
4th for metres gained behind Ross, Billings, Savage.
1st for inside 50s ahead of Ross and Dunstan.
24th for rebound 50s.
2nd for goal assists behind Kent.
3rd for score involvements behind Ross and Membrey.
8th for goals (0.8/game).

My conclusions from that are:

- he's getting a bit of the ball.
- he's not using it particularly well.
- he's playing inside but isn't very defensive (low tackles).
- his clearance work is just ok (low stoppage clearances).
- he's playing forward half mid rather than back half.

At the moment it looks like he'd be best suited to playing as an outside mid / high half-forward but we're playing him inside. That might turn out to be a good call, he might bulk up a bit further and perfect his craft in contested situations. Or it might be a waste of a great offensive player.

Remember this was only his 21 year old year, so I probably agree with you that he's tracking pretty well as a mid. Definitely a lot of improvement left in him.

Not to excuse him but when you're playing exclusively inside mid and as an attacking half forward you are going to have more clangers and turn overs than guys who play outside, half back or defensively.

He certainly looks more damaging at half forward imo but has time to develop in the midfield. Given our lack of other inside midfield options I'd like to see him start in the midfield and split his time 50/50 between midfield and half forward at this stage personally.

I think he's star as a small forward but only an okay mid. He's wasted. The club weren't against trading him, if he was star mid they'd hammer the lid closed on him leaving under any circumstance. He's got time to become a gun mid but you wouldn't want to base your side around his midfield minutes.

He has the ability to compete with DeGoey as one of the best small forwards in the contest.
Degoey would also be one of our best mids if he was to play Midfield at StKilda.
Probably Eddy Betts would too.

It's not the worst idea seeing as we delisted Newnes and Acres pretty much. Leaves us very exposed. Hanners played 5 games, Dunstan 18. Hill and Ross will play plenty, Gresh is an ordinary mid and Bytel has played zero games. We aren't drafting any this year and unlikely next as well. Otherwise we need Hunter to play straight away.

Having a back up mature mid would be handy.

Gresh is our best clearance mid. We'd be in pretty poor shape if he was ordinary...

No he's not.
Dunstan is easily our best clearance mid.
Gresham gets a similar amount to Ross and Steel. ( and less than Marshall , can Marshall be the mid while Paddy is the Ruck )?

But that was kind of the point.
If Jones can come in and be the coal miner at the work face and do the clearance work , Gresham could get out of there and work more creatively.

Steve Johnson could have played midfield, but damn it was good for the Cats being able to play him as a forward.
( in 2010 Johnson averaged 19 disposals playing as a forward. He kicked 63 goals. In the following years as Geelongs midfield was less dominant , Johnson obviously played more mid time, averaging 12 contested possessions , but kicking less goals in 2013 )

I still rate him as average at best. He might be okay but our others are just shit. He doesn't pass the eye test as a mid. There has only been a couple of games where he looked above average as a midfielder. His forward craft made him look elite there.

Like many, I regard Gresh as a much better small forward than mid.

It has been midfield class where we have the biggest hole. So I understand the logic in trying him there. But to me he just looks ok as a mid, and does not have the impact that he has up forward.

Meanwhile the club has recruited/drafted a swag of small forwards. None as good as Gresh. So hopefully Hannas can be fully fit this year and along with Hill, Jones and Bytel free up Gresh to play more as a small forward with just some runs through the midfield.

Clark too may get more time in the midfield in 2020.

No he's not.
Dunstan is easily our best clearance mid.
Gresham gets a similar amount to Ross and Steel. ( and less than Marshall , can Marshall be the mid while Paddy is the Ruck )?

But that was kind of the point.
If Jones can come in and be the coal miner at the work face and do the clearance work , Gresham could get out of there and work more creatively.

Steve Johnson could have played midfield, but damn it was good for the Cats being able to play him as a forward.
( in 2010 Johnson averaged 19 disposals playing as a forward. He kicked 63 goals. In the following years as Geelongs midfield was less dominant , Johnson obviously played more mid time, averaging 12 contested possessions , but kicking less goals in 2013 )
Actually. Per centre bounce they attended this year, gresh had the highest clearance rate.

Like many, I regard Gresh as a much better small forward than mid.

It has been midfield class where we have the biggest hole. So I understand the logic in trying him there. But to me he just looks ok as a mid, and does not have the impact that he has up forward.

Meanwhile the club has recruited/drafted a swag of small forwards. None as good as Gresh. So hopefully Hannas can be fully fit this year and along with Hill, Jones and Bytel free up Gresh to play more as a small forward with just some runs through the midfield.

Clark too may get more time in the midfield in 2020.
Gresh wasn't a small forward in his draft year. He wasn't highly rated for his work as a pocket. He was and is a goalkicking mid, how about we give him more than half a year to readjust after playing almost exclusively forward the last few years.

No one's saying we shouldn't give him on ball time but he's better forward at the moment. If he never develops into a gun mid he's still a gun forward.

I dont rate as a gun forward, he is good but wastes far too many shots on goal with his insistence on check side shots and like Lonie gets run off too easily with his lack of pace. He needs to find the balance IMO.

How many small forwards kick 35 . Gresham did in 2018.
I think he has potential to beat that.

He was going at 30 goals in his second season and 35 in the next year, his last full season as a forward. I think he was our highest goal scorer that year (2018- his third year) without Bruce to foil for Membrey. If that's all he's got and doesn't improve he's good enough for me.

He and Lonie are the exact reason we went and got Butler with elite pace and provides great forward pressure.

Gresham plays like a selfish U16 and as I said, similarly to Lonie provides poor forward pressure. If he ever gets himself truly fit and stops 'show boating' he could be elite, but he has a long way to go IMO.

Where did you get this info from ,,