List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

Was thinking about this since this arvo. But seriously beyond the first two picks how unbelievably shit is this draft.

The quality is extremely poor.

Not sure about this. Good players are in every draft. They aren't all created equal but there has to be some law of statistics that means good players are available in every draft and more likely near the top. Something to do with normal distribution.

Was thinking about this since this arvo. But seriously beyond the first two picks how unbelievably shit is this draft.

Cal Twomey said during the season that Rowell said the only guy in this year draft who would have definitely gone top 10 in last years draft. Anderson could have scraped in at 9 or 10 but it could be debated.

Not the worst year to trade our first pick.

I think he’s a gun, he doesn’t look athletic and sometimes people over analyse the situation.

I think the knock on Gould is that he’ll just be a third defender at AFL level blah, blah. Hype, last night the team on fox likened every player to some of the best footballers going around, it started with Rowell who was compared to Voss then Anderson with Fyfe and on it went.
They do that every year. It is hoped that player e.g. 86 does not have an over inflated ego

I will confess i dont follow the under age kids but seriously , anyone who says that there are only Two decent players in this draft is taking a lend of himself and just being a sheep following what others have said .
They may not have instant impact but i bet there will turn out to be plenty of quality players in this draft

Whomever it is we pick first up, i just want to see an emphasis on the most skillful ball user!
Actually make that all 3 picks......With the way our list is shaped and the likely game plan going forward
We can't get enough of them to be honest, a bit of mongrel wouldn't go astray either!
I reckon if you are trying to get really skilled players at those pick numbers they may lack things like the ability to actually get the ball. Surely the number thing at those picks is the ability to get the ball. Rather that than kicking it well but never getting it to kick.

Draft over two nights is crap. Interviews and hugs it should be called. Much preferred getting it all done in one night with each club announcing their picks tabled amongst one another. This new format is super lame and as dull as an advanced Word training workshop.

Tape it. Then fast forward. I reckon we would love it if we had a pick or two

I will confess i dont follow the under age kids but seriously , anyone who says that there are only Two decent players in this draft is taking a lend of himself and just being a sheep following what others have said .
They may not have instant impact but i bet there will turn out to be plenty of quality players in this draft

Can anyone name one draft where there were only two decent players in the draft? Even if there were only 5 decent players. It's not going to happen, there's talent in all of them.

Whomever it is we pick first up, i just want to see an emphasis on the most skillful ball user!
Actually make that all 3 picks......With the way our list is shaped and the likely game plan going forward
We can't get enough of them to be honest, a bit of mongrel wouldn't go astray either!
It is what the new coach has clearly stated he wants, if you can't kick you wont get a game

Cal Twomey said during the season that Rowell said the only guy in this year draft who would have definitely gone top 10 in last years draft. Anderson could have scraped in at 9 or 10 but it could be debated.

Not the worst year to trade our first pick.
That’s what people say every year.

Can anyone name one draft where there were only two decent players in the draft? Even if there were only 5 decent players. It's not going to happen, there's talent in all of them.
Closest was the McCartin/Petracca draft and that was more they were the two best then daylight.
Look how that turned out. Many better from that draft

Dunno what the definition of "decent player" is, but in 1998 there were only 4 AAs taken in the combined National, Rookie and Pre-Season drafts:

- 3xAA: Brendan Fevola, Lenny Hayes
- 2xAA: Craig Bolton
- 1xAA: Brett Kirk

A few others played 200+ games from that year: Jude Bolton, Heath Scotland, Andrew Embley, Brady Rawlings, Mark McVeigh, Tyson Stenglein, Josh Carr, Stevie Baker, David Wojcinski, Antoni Grover. All solid B+ graders IMO.

I reckon it's fair to say that year there were only 4 A-graders.

Or taking an even tougher line, look for those who made AA more than once, which removes Brett Kirk from 1998. Then the worst year is 2003:

- 2xAA: Heath Shaw
- 1xAA: Adam Cooney, Sam Fisher, Michael Johnson, David Mundy, Beau Waters

Maybe Chips is a bit unlucky in that list, he's better than those others. But taking them all into account, it's reasonable to say there were very few stars in 03.

I'm going to go way back, 2003 draft.
We had Cooney and Walker.

The rest of the top ten were :
Farren Ray, Brock McLean , Kepler Bradley, Kane Tenace, Raphael Clarke , David Trotter, Ryley Dunn.

David Mundy was pick 19.
Jed Adcock was pick 33.
Zac Dawson pick 41.

Then, the good picks started to come in.
Heath Shaw F/S at 48.
Sam Fisher at 55.
Ben Hudson at 58.
Michael Rischietelli at 61
Andrew Carazzo , Rookie pick 2.
Aaron Davey , Rookie pick 3.
Nathan Foley, Lovett-Murray and Lovett , Rookies.
Setanta O'Hailpin.

Bizarre.

It is what the new coach has clearly stated he wants, if you can't kick you wont get a game

Yet we got jones who isn’t anything but an average kick. Of course we would love 44!skilled players but we will certainly draft average kicks if they elite in other ways. If clubs had that attitude Fyffe wouldn’t be playing. Expected.

Farren Ray, Brock McLean , Kepler Bradley, Kane Tenace, Raphael Clarke , David Trotter, Ryley Dunn.

David Mundy was pick 19.
Jed Adcock was pick 33.
Zac Dawson pick 41.

Heath Shaw F/S at 48.
Sam Fisher at 55.
Ben Hudson at 58.
Setanta O'Hailpin.

Bizarre.
If we get a player that works out as well as Sam Fisher did, i'm sure we will all be very happy!

Setanta O'Hailpin should not be included in any list that claims to be positive!

David Mundy was pick 19.
Jed Adcock was pick 33.
Zac Dawson pick 41.

Heath Shaw F/S at 48.
Sam Fisher at 55.
Ben Hudson at 58.
Setanta O'Hailpin.

Bizarre.
You can get very good players at any pick but the recruiting has improved greatly from 2003. The chances of us getting a good player are very low but it’s better to try and fail than to not try at all

If we get a player that works out as well as Sam Fisher did, i'm sure we will all be very happy!

Setanta O'Hailpin should not be included in any list that claims to be positive!

Come on we could use him to keep the junior's in line.
Joyce totally missing the aggro feral approach.

You can get very good players at any pick but the recruiting has improved greatly from 2003. The chances of us getting a good player are very low but it’s better to try and fail than to not try at all

We did OK with our late picks last year i thought.

Not sure about this. Good players are in every draft. They aren't all created equal but there has to be some law of statistics that means good players are available in every draft and more likely near the top. Something to do with normal distribution.

how many good players were in the 2012 draft's first round? compared to say 2013?

of course there will be good players, but how many is the question and if we will find ones better than Brad Hill, Ryder, Howard, Jones.

So maybe our recruiters actually DO know a thing or two when deciding it didn’t matter about having earlier picks in this draft.

(Still can’t believe the Dees took a ruck at pick 4)

It maybe a little early to have a go at the draft as de facto has or the picks. There are good and average drafts but all drafts get plenty of good to great players. Anyway I noticed Caro had finnis as the best ceo in the afl and leathlean top 4 footy manager. Probably does suggest they have posters on here covered in knowledge. Great time to become a member if you can afford it and are a true saints supporter.

Yet we got jones who isn’t anything but an average kick. Of course we would love 44!skilled players but we will certainly draft average kicks if they elite in other ways. If clubs had that attitude Fyffe wouldn’t be playing. Expected.
Our problem isn't getting the pill or inside 50's even it's our skill factor which is why i was against Jones in the first place
But at least he does give us something else we need in some dash and a little toughness apparently. But going from
What the Coaching group have identified, we seriously need some silk to finish off our work!

Efficiency is something that the Saints have not done well at over the journey!
Just makes the game a hell of a lot easier for the whole group to play if we can snag some quality finishers!

It maybe a little early to have a go at the draft as de facto has or the picks. There are good and average drafts but all drafts get plenty of good to great players. Anyway I noticed Caro had finnis as the best ceo in the afl and leathlean top 4 footy manager. Probably does suggest they have posters on here covered in knowledge. Great time to become a member if you can afford it and are a true saints supporter.

Was really more a vote of faith for our club management decisions in all areas this year.
As for me, I’m a member...just rolls over every year.

Our problem isn't getting the pill or inside 50's even it's our skill factor which is why i was against Jones in the first place
But at least he does give us something else we need in some dash and a little toughness apparently. But going from
What the Coaching group have identified, we seriously need some silk to finish off our work!

Efficiency is something that the Saints have not done well at over the journey!
Just makes the game a hell of a lot easier for the whole group to play if we can snag some quality finishers!
As you said jones gives us something else. That is one simple reason you don’t limit your recruiting to skilled players otherwise let’s redraft LJ conners and sippos.