List Mgmt. 2019 Draft/Trade/FA Thread - Final Wrap

I imagine whatever we get from Brisbane for Ah Chee will go for Greenwood.
Live trading on draft night would be really interesting. Add another dimension.
We could find a team at Ah Chees pick really wanting to jump in and draft a kid and are willing to trade a slightly later pick in addition to next years 3rd rounder to move up.
We could then flip either one of those assets for Greenwood.

I kind of think we'd probably get taken advantage of..make draft night a hell of a lot more interesting though.

We could find a team at Ah Chees pick really wanting to jump in and draft a kid and are willing to trade a slightly later pick in addition to next years 3rd rounder to move up.

I kind of think we'd probably get taken advantage of..make draft night a hell of a lot more interesting though.
Hard to do when you need permission to trade players. But you are right would be interesting.

I really hope we keep picks 1 & 2 during trade period. I believe the kids have indicated that they will sign extended contracts and seem like ripper lads. Don't do anything silly if Crouch wants to come to the Suns. The days of bending over for other Clubs need to stop. He is not worth picks 1 or 2. Would love him at the club but not for overs.

We aren't trading 1 or 2. We were all worried last year with 2, 3 and 6 after previous stuff ups but I'm confident those days are over.

bet my ass the AFL announces rookie contracts are now three years before the draft as well just to help us a bit more

We can't trade players on draft night, can we? If we get draft picks in a trade on draft night, wouldn't it be too late to trade any of them for Greenwood? Maybe I am misinterpreting your post.

we can't, but that would be the idea - live trading. Like in the NBA and I'm presuming NFL.

No worries. I thought that might have been what you were getting at, but it is hard to keep up with all the changes in this scene. It sounds like there might be another trade window between the end of 2020 JLT series & round 1 of the proper season, where clubs can trade pretty much anyone, except category B rookies & 1st & 2nd year draftees (coincidentally, Lukosius, Rankine, King, Rowell & Anderson).

Profile on will day - sams cousin that we’ve been linked to on some mock draft platforms

“Commonly deployed as a third or fourth tall defender, given his 187cm height, Will exemplified excellent composure when rebounding from half-back, coupled with a natural ability to read the play and intercept opposition forward entries. Also a precise ball user with either side of the body”

STRENGTHS:
Athleticism
Kicking efficiency
Footy smarts
Rebounding
Upside
IMPROVEMENTS:
Strength
Inside game

Cam Ellis-Yolmen just said on trade radio that Greenwood will be going to GC, then stepped it back and said 'may be going to gc'
Was excited that his good mate will be playing just down the road.
Almost a certainty you'd suggest.

Lloyd on trade radio saying if the Swans get picks 5 and 9 they should trade them to GC for King

But if he was GC he wouldn’t do the deal.
As we already have excess picks.
But players of Kings abilities are rare.

Kings marking, kicking, below the knees and speed make him a highest value commodity.

^^^
Wowee we need to sign this kid to a buddy franklin type deal.

'Hands off': Suns' King, Lukosius warning

Suns list manager Craig Cameron told RSN this morning:
“We’re not trading Ben King."

Quizzed about whether Gold Coast's interest in Brad Crouch could lead to Lukosius returning to South Australia, Cameron added:
“He’s hands off, don’t touch him. We’re not trading Jack."

Cameron said the club was keen on Brad Crouch, however a deal would be "difficult" to complete.
“Brad is obviously contracted to Adelaide. He’s just won their best and fairest. We have got interest in Brad because he’s an A Grade player," he said.
"But he’s an Adelaide player and it would be difficult to get anything done during this trade period, I would have thought. He is a free agent next year."

The Suns are "confident" of signing Hugh Greenwood and have "briefly" spoken to Carlton about Jack Martin.

Profile on will day - sams cousin that we’ve been linked to on some mock draft platforms

“Commonly deployed as a third or fourth tall defender, given his 187cm height, Will exemplified excellent composure when rebounding from half-back, coupled with a natural ability to read the play and intercept opposition forward entries. Also a precise ball user with either side of the body”

STRENGTHS:
Athleticism
Kicking efficiency
Footy smarts
Rebounding
Upside
IMPROVEMENTS:
Strength
Inside game

Would make me think we don’t rate Jez if we head down this direction.
We need a one on one lock down defender.

Not more running defenders, see what happens I guess

Lethlean on Ben King: We've spoken to his management because his brother is managed by the same company. That's a pretty clear-cut one. He'll be playing at Gold Coast next year. But if he doesn't sign next year, then we'll talk to him

Would make me think we don’t rate Jez if we head down this direction.
We need a one on one lock down defender.

Not more running defenders, see what happens I guess
They absolutely do rate him. Great kid family has moved up might take a little longer but will be Vlastuin type in time IMO.

'Hands off': Suns' King, Lukosius warning

Suns list manager Craig Cameron told RSN this morning:

Brad Crouch seems very unlikely now. Interesting though, Cameron makes it sounds like Brad is keen to come cos he mentioned him being a free agent next year as if we will just grab him then.

Although I agree it's starting to look unlikely, that may be a posturing tactic from Cameron. Essentially pointing out we could get him for free next year so the asking price shouldn't be as high as the Crows have suggested.

sounds like posturing on both sides, the sound bites that clubs throw out when they are chasing gun players are so fake they talk about "quick catch ups",
"chats", reaching out etc and they are busy with lots going in.………….FFS this is the time of year clubs have to make their targets stick and there is no way these deals get done without shitloads of meetings. negotiations and wooing it drives me mad how blasé they all want to sound and how little discussions have been had

Anyone know exactly what range of percentage, I assume, of a players contract an agent gets ongoing would like to know what the players give up out of their salary to the management companies

Although I agree it's starting to look unlikely, that may be a posturing tactic from Cameron. Essentially pointing out we could get him for free next year so the asking price shouldn't be as high as the Crows have suggested.
I reckon the situation in Adelaide is worse than we know and B Crouch would be looking for a deal to get out while keeping his nest warm there in case he cant ......….CEY gave them a pretty good spray about the camp and culture today already