List Mgmt. 2019 Draft/Trade/FA Thread - Final Wrap

Collingwood considered an audacious play by Gold Coast to lure star midfielder Adam Treloar to the Suns.
The Herald Sun can reveal the secret talks between the two clubs in the second half of the season were abandoned after Treloar emphatically refused to entertain the trade.

The Suns’ stunning recruiting raid came after Treloar had put pen to paper on a lucrative four-year contract extension in July.

While the trade is now dead, the Suns’ approach shows the battling club is sick of their own list being plundered and are eager to initiate their own recruiting raids as they chart a path up the ladder.

The Treloar conversation started when Collingwood asked Gold Coast what it would take for them to part with their prized No. 1 pick.

[

But Crow till I die says surgery has fixed his groin and he isn't an injury risk going forward.

I have to agree - Brad Crouch averaging say 15 games a season is good enough for me AS WE STAND CURRENTLY.
We need some elite talent, and whilst Brad isn't Fyfe,Martin or Whitfield, he's still a bloody good footballer with no baggage that I'm aware of.
What could he teach Bowes or Fiorini? - Heaps.
A 30 disposal midfielder coming into our side, who will help develop our younger players is essential.Greenwood gives us grunt,Crouch some class and takes a load off Swallow and his shot knees.
#15 and future 2nd for Crouch with Crows future 3rd round coming back would be worth it and show some ambition.

WE should throw our future 1st at St Kilda for Max - put the shoe on the other foot for a change!

What’s all this about ?
Bloody paywall

Edit - thanks Jen2310

This is a little bit more

The Suns have never had any intention of parting with a first selection they are desperate to use on Victorian wonderkid Matt Rowell.

But it was in those discussions that Treloar’s name was raised. There are conflicting versions around which club raised the idea first, but multiple sources said the Pies considered the trade “for a little bit”.

It was a sarcastic comment about Crouch's injury history - no doubt he is a big risk but definitely willing to take the chance for the reasons you stipulated below.
I'd do the crouch deal without adelaides pick coming back in a heartbeat.
I have to agree - Brad Crouch averaging say 15 games a season is good enough for me AS WE STAND CURRENTLY.
We need some elite talent, and whilst Brad isn't Fyfe,Martin or Whitfield, he's still a bloody good footballer with no baggage that I'm aware of.
What could he teach Bowes or Fiorini? - Heaps.
A 30 disposal midfielder coming into our side, who will help develop our younger players is essential.Greenwood gives us grunt,Crouch some class and takes a load off Swallow and his shot knees.
#15 and future 2nd for Crouch with Crows future 3rd round coming back would be worth it and show some ambition.

WE should throw our future 1st at St Kilda for Max - put the shoe on the other foot for a change!

This is a little bit more

The Suns have never had any intention of parting with a first selection they are desperate to use on Victorian wonderkid Matt Rowell.

But it was in those discussions that Treloar’s name was raised. There are conflicting versions around which club raised the idea first, but multiple sources said the Pies considered the trade “for a little bit”.
Fair bit of a nothing article.

I'm not disagreeing with you my friend.
The only thing I'm sure about is that l'm unsure about Crouch. And that's for sure.
I know and I love your work eppo, I’m not upset at you mate, I think you’re awesome with our intel I’m just flabbergasted that this is how we wold spend our riches when ever other club is out to win every trade, as examples

It’s almost certain we will take under for Martin and AcHee then we paid a premium for both

I know and I love your work eppo, I’m not upset at you mate, I think you’re awesome with our intel I’m just flabbergasted that this is how we wold spend our riches when ever other club is out to win every trade
Attracting a guy like Crouch is a little bit about talent, a little bit about hope and a little bit about landing a big fish
You can't just see it through the prism of performance- unfortunately
It's the flow on effect

I know and I love your work eppo, I’m not upset at you mate, I think you’re awesome with our intel I’m just flabbergasted that this is how we wold spend our riches when ever other club is out to win every trade, as examples

It’s almost certain we will take under for Martin and AcHee then we paid a premium for both
The Club see winning games as EXTREMELY important in 2020. EXTREMELY IMPORTANT.

IF we get to 2023 and have

Midfield: Crouch, Fiorini, Brodie, Bowes, Macpherson, Rowell, Anderson, Davies, Greenwood, Swallow, Miller, Powell, Witts, Ellis
Forwards: King, Wright, Sexton, Rankine, Ainsworth, Holman + another recruit here
Defenders: Collins, Ballard, Weller, Lukosius? + another recruit here

Fringe / Potentially breaking into team: McLennan, Lemmens, pick 15 2019, pick 20 2019, pick 11 2020

Giving up 2020 1st round - even one of those other picks in the hope of achieving this - We're going to potentially lose a handful along the way... but god, its the makings of a good team.

I don't think we're going to see us climb out of the bottom 4.
But if we can start to turn potential into performance - it will be so good for us.

No doubt the AFL will provide a friendly early schedule to help us get these guys on side.
If we're 4-5 wins and 5-6 losses before the bye, really gives us our best shout of resigning these key young's and breaking this cycle.

[

But Crow till I die says surgery has fixed his groin and he isn't an injury risk going forward.
he did. 2018 he had the osteo pubis flare up badly and the club went down the path of rest rather than surgery. It was a running joke on our board as he started out being listed for something like 4 weeks, then 4 weeks would go by and it was 3 weeks then that would go by and then he was listed as indefinite and it was not till midway through the year the club finally bit the bullet and sent him for surgery and he missed the rest of 2018 season but was able to come back to light duties to start preseason. He then finished the preseason with good loadings and has played every game this year from memory and had no distress and even he himself said he is feeling really good. We have good reason to believe he is over the groin injuries that have plagued him over his career - so much so that before surgery he was considering whether to leave to see if another club could not sort the issues out.

The Club see winning games as EXTREMELY important in 2020. EXTREMELY IMPORTANT.
Wouldn’t we all love to see that, looking like I will be back up there permanently by the start of the season

MERMAID BEACH HERE I COME

Crouch is a jet, was a pre selection pick and has shown when he gets on the park he can play, was big for them 17 and bnf in 19, he is in his prime, you will need a top5 pick, he will be in robbos top 30 of his top 50.

Unfortunately with the draft system with only 2 year contracts, you get the feeling unless gc are close to a premietship, their managers have a quiet word in their ear and say dont worry, do your two years "service" and we'll get your back and they let their home clubs know. As its pretty evident st kilda and adelaide are lurking and pretty confident. Top 10 picks should have 5 year deals and first rounders a 4 year minimum, where its the clubs decision if they want to trade, as this will just keep happening, which is crap for footy and the afl have to step in.

I would like to see the suns go on the offensive and get max king, through pick 15 and 2 metre peter, or martin and pick 15. Otherwise it just looks like ben king and lukicious will pull up stumps at the end of the year.

Its actually good to see some spirit by suns supporters, on here and for the good of footy i hope you guys hold onto king, rankine, luko and mclennan for 5-7 years and you play finals in the next 3 years.

I think you need a mix of young talent, recycled players who wanna save their career and a couple of a graders in their prime. You have to think pick 2 was given to bring in an a grader to help their young list.

There should be limit to desperation to get A midfielder. Where will you stop? Brad is not elite. If Crows believe we are desperate, they will ask for world.

I bet 90% Crows fans would do a deal for next year first round pick alone (realistically 1-4).
Personally, I could live with next year first round alone even though it's way overs. 2nd round back would be more reasonable and still overs.

Similarly I could live with 11 + 15 but more reasonable 11 + 20.

If Luko and Ben would base their decision on only number of wins something is not right.

Wouldn’t we all love to see that, looking like I will be back up there permanently by the start of the season

MERMAID BEACH HERE I COME
Awesome getting busy around there Iva.
I got offered double $$ to move back to Melbourne recently. I just laughed to myself and walked off l think they took it as a no.

Not shooting the messenger here but that is a god awful trade, our first next year is overs by itself.

Welcome to ‘Back to the Weller part 2’ a shocking drama that will make you cry and bring joy and laughter to others
So we just need Adelaide to throw in a pick around #40 and find ourselves another Charlie Ballard equivalent as the steak knives = Winning :p

you know what would help us win games next year
A pacy, skilled player in their prime, played about 100 games who can hit the scoreboard.

Anyone think of someone round the league like that?

Screen Shot 2019-10-07 at 7.11.30 PM.png

God damn it Jack.

Really hope we stick to our guns here - unless you’re a free agent you’ll go where we can get the most value

Good lesson for those off contract with us at the end of 2020
PSD hasn’t been used for awhile but perhaps with Jack Martin it might be time? Would need to know the reasons behind the request for the trade. Is it because Carlton have offered him heaps or because he is really unhappy on the coast?