2019 Draft

I think people often over think the fact there’s so many potential academy/father son picks next year.

If clubs are so desperate to have the picks and draft points to bring in these players shouldn’t that make a first round pick even more valuable.

The Giants, Dees, Port, Saints and West Coast have all already traded away their first round selection for next year. If any of these clubs have a highly touted academy player or if any other club ends up with multiple early sections they’ll all of a sudden come knocking.

Its interesting the tigers are one of the few teams to hold all its 2020 draft picks at the moment

Reckon the guy that does Richmond picks in the Mock Draft is trolling us

Pick 21 and 41 traded to Norf for 29 and 32
Pick 39 and future 2nd round pick for Sydney's 27 and 44
Overall traded 3 out of first 4 picks ( 21, 39, 41) and future second for 27, 29, 32 and 44

Pick 27 - Dylan Williams (still available - Ellijah Taylor, Jay Rantall, Cooper Stephens)
Pick 29 - Nick Bryant (still available - Jay Rantall, Cooper Stephens, Sam Phipp, Mitch O'Neill)
Pick 33 - Dyson Hilder (still available Cooper Stephens, Sam Phipp, Mitch O'Neill, Mitch Georgiades)

What amazes me is the vision on the web is limited on the draftees, then you have these idiots on the sidelines propping themselves up with stats and guides and commentary to blow their own trumpet trying to tell us they are relevant!!

I could see us back trading but we would be crazy chasing a ruck let alone a back when really we can show a bit of patience

And then there is this kid who could be very special - I hope we take him with a late one if he is still there - we can afford the risk!:

Class of 2019: Tough year fails to shake 'X-factor' forward's belief
Callum Twomey

AS THE Oakleigh Chargers roared towards their NAB League premiership win over the Eastern Ranges, Dylan Williams was watching the Grand Final from the sidelines at Ikon Park.

A year earlier, he was out there for the Chargers – that time in a hard-fought Grand Final loss to the Dandenong Stingrays.

That defeat was no fault of the 17-year-old Williams, who booted four goals as part of a dazzling finals series that saw him kick 14 goals and establish himself as one of the highly rated talents for the following year.

Williams celebrates one of his goals in the 2018 TAC Cup Grand Final.
williams1TGFDSOC180192.JPG

Playing as a deep forward, the 185cm prospect took high grabs, created chances from nothing, was dangerous at ground level and nearly every opportunity he got around goal he converted. He kicked 26 goals from 16 games last season, proving himself as one to watch.

But Williams spent more time doing the watching than he would have hoped this year, making him one of the most fascinating players in this year's crop.

"I'm definitely frustrated. I had a pretty poor start to the year and then on top of that I had injuries in the middle and back-end of the year that held me out. Overall it was a pretty hard year," he told AFL.com.au.

The challenges started early. After struggling for form to begin the season, he received a knock to his leg in the first game for Vic Metro and then had a groin injury in the second game. He was limited to only two appearances in the carnival.

His championships, therefore, didn't reach the heights he had hoped for.

Following the Vic Metro carnival, Williams had another setback: a stress fracture in his back that saw him miss the final 10 weeks of the season, including Oakleigh's charge to the flag.

"They thought it was a muscular issue for a while, so I trained after I felt it and played the next week but I couldn't move," he said.

"I pushed through but then I said I thought it was something else, so I got a scan and I had the stress fracture.

"Initially I was told my season was over and we went to see a specialist and I hoped I could get back for the preliminary final or maybe the Grand Final.

"But two weeks before the Grand Final they said I was healing really well and it was better for my future to rule out a return and keep my rehab up."

It leaves Williams' draft position as a mystery. His talent is undoubted by recruiters, but they wanted to see him improve his endurance this year, run more and control games rather than dip in and out.

"I definitely have to work on it. With my back injury I've been doing a lot of rehab, so conditioning on the bike or swimming. I'm feeling the fittest I've ever been and the strongest I've ever been which is really good," he said.

"I've dropped 10 on my skinfolds since I've been in rehab so that's a result of working hard."

What Williams has is game-turning ability. Close to goal he can change a result – obvious earlier this year when, after three quiet quarters, he kicked three goals in the last term against Calder Cannons to win Oakleigh the game.

He has also spent time in the midfield, where he has impacted, and across half-back, where his vision and game sense helps sets up the play.

But after kicking more than 40 goals in the NAB League over the past two seasons, Williams is most proven in attack. He's aware of his flaws, but also believes in his tricks. He hopes clubs see and think the same.

"I think my point of difference is my X-factor," he said.

"I like the big moments and I like the pressure, when all eyes are on me and thinking 'Is he going to do it?' Or that pressure that they don't think I'm going to do it.

"I'm always still really confident in myself. At the start of the year I was playing badly but I always have the confidence that I'm the best player on the field when I'm there and I have game-winning ability."

Bianco looks tidy too i reckon

Reckon we're just sitting back watching this all unfold and realising that with 4 picks inside the top 40 we don't have to jump in to bed with just anyone, we can wait it out and see how the draft unfolds and then swoop in or take what comes.

Unfortunately i dont see many clubs coming for our later picks now that the latest trades have happened and the club's needing points are sorted, We can only trade them out for 2020 picks if clubs are desperate with a player they like still on the board , But i would rather trade out our 2020 picks than trade in picks for next year.

Despite all that BF Posters say and outcomes of phantom drafts, there is still a real chance that injured players like Kemp, Cooper Stephens & Dylan Williams slide. Many clubs will be interested in immediate impact. Richmond more likely than most to play the long game.

No Chance Kemp is still on the board past ports pick #16 (unfortunately unless we move up he wont see punt rd)

Reckon the guy that does Richmond picks in the Mock Draft is trolling us

Pick 21 and 41 traded to Norf for 29 and 32
Pick 39 and future 2nd round pick for Sydney's 27 and 44
Overall traded 3 out of first 4 picks ( 21, 39, 41) and future second for 27, 29, 32 and 44

Pick 27 - Dylan Williams (still available - Ellijah Taylor, Jay Rantall, Cooper Stephens)
Pick 29 - Nick Bryant (still available - Jay Rantall, Cooper Stephens, Sam Phipp, Mitch O'Neill)
Pick 33 - Dyson Hilder (still available Cooper Stephens, Sam Phipp, Mitch O'Neill, Mitch Georgiades)

Firstly the guy doing the Richmond picks is either snake_baker or Groin Guru and he has as much idea about richmonds needs as my left sock

The picks are just stupid and no other way to describe them , Why would we take a Ruckman with Nank,Soldo,Chol,CCJ,Balta on the list and leave
Cooper Stephens, Sam Phipp, Mitch O'Neill, Mitch Georgiades,Jay Rantall on the board at #29 ??
I would have all these players ahead of Bryan.

Also if we had these picks with the players mentioned above still available
Cooper Stephens
Jay Rantall
Sam Philip

The problem with this market option is there are many looking to go up the draft, and strangely, so few wanting to go down in the draft. Laws of supply and demand strike again!

6 Adelaide
7 Fremantle
8 Fremantle
9 Carlton

I reckon one of those might be get-table if the club wanted if badly enough

those clubs are still early in the rebuild and might like several assets instead of the 1 pick; 19 / future first / steak knifes

I could see the crows thinking about it to further profit from the liam stocker deal

Melbourne might swap #10 too for a more picks?

6 Adelaide
7 Fremantle
8 Fremantle

9 Carlton

I reckon one of those might be get-table if the club wanted if badly enough

those clubs are still early in the rebuild and might like several assets instead of the 1 pick; 19 / future first / steak knifes

I could see the crows thinking about it to further profit from the liam stocker deal

Melbourne might swap #10 too for a more picks?

No Chance freo would trade their 2 picks and they have done extremely well to get them , They will be getting 3 players that are top 10 picks
why swap ?

Can’t say Cooper Stephens or Trent Rivers do much for me - albeit off limited viewing.

Probably be superstars now I’ve said that.

I would be very happy to have either Rivers or Stephens

No Chance freo would trade their 2 picks and they have done extremely well to get them , They will be getting 3 players that are top 10 picks
why swap ?

I would be very happy to have either Rivers or Stephens

7 or 8, not both

They might feel 19, 38, future first is better than 8, less eggs in the basket - They would still have a top 8 pick and a number of other options. might be a more balanced rebuild?

with Melbourne holding 3 and 10, ten is more realistic i think

7 or 8, not both

They might feel 19, 38, future first is better than 8, less eggs in the basket - They would still have a top 8 pick and a number of other options. might be a more balanced rebuild?

with Melbourne holding 3 and 10, ten is more realistic i think
Freo would just lose picks 19+38 (which looks to be more like 22+40 after bids) in a bid for henry so would effectively be giving up a 1st rounder at 8 for next years 16-18 which after academy's would be swallowed up

Unfortunately i dont see many clubs coming for our later picks now that the latest trades have happened and the club's needing points are sorted, We can only trade them out for 2020 picks if clubs are desperate with a player they like still on the board , But i would rather trade out our 2020 picks than trade in picks for next year.

No Chance Kemp is still on the board past ports pick #16 (unfortunately unless we move up he wont see punt rd)

Firstly the guy doing the Richmond picks is either snake_baker or Groin Guru and he has as much idea about richmonds needs as my left sock

The picks are just stupid and no other way to describe them , Why would we take a Ruckman with Nank,Soldo,Chol,CCJ,Balta on the list and leave
Cooper Stephens, Sam Phipp, Mitch O'Neill, Mitch Georgiades,Jay Rantall on the board at #29 ??
I would have all these players ahead of Bryan.

Also if we had these picks with the players mentioned above still available
Cooper Stephens
Jay Rantall
Sam Philip
Yeah when listening and hearing the 2 trades that we did I was a bit skeptical. But then after seeing how their draft unfolded and what was available at our picks I was all for it. Bummer about the picks though.

When they said we drafted 5 midfielders that were the same type last year that's when I switched off. Yeah mate we drafted 5 RCD types at 190cm each

Freo would just lose picks 19+38 (which looks to be more like 22+40 after bids) in a bid for henry so would effectively be giving up a 1st rounder at 8 for next years 16-18 which after academy's would be swallowed up

i assumed they could use

bidding on henry?

tbh i havnt paid much attention to how the biddin system works

edit:

i think i get it now. freo are going to lose the late picks, due to lack of list spots?

hence cant use late picks as points for henry?

Can’t say Cooper Stephens or Trent Rivers do much for me - albeit off limited viewing.

Probably be superstars now I’ve said that.
I've watched a few clips of the highly rated players and on that small sample size, Rivers disposal really stood out for me. He was hitting the targets with pace but they were the more difficult kicks which would open up the ground out of defence - A very important aspect in AFL... unfortunately can't see him lasting to our pick without live trading.

My extremely amateur opinion IF we keep our first pick:
1. Trent Rivers
2. Trent Bianco
3. Will Gould --- Worth the punt IMO if he's in the right environment, which we are elite at.

I've watched a few clips of the highly rated players and on that small sample size, Rivers disposal really stood out for me. He was hitting the targets with pace but they were the more difficult kicks which would open up the ground out of defence - A very important aspect in AFL... unfortunately can't see him lasting to our pick without live trading.

My extremely amateur opinion IF we keep our first pick:
1. Trent Rivers
2. Trent Bianco
3. Will Gould --- Worth the punt IMO if he's in the right environment, which we are elite at.

i like bianco looks class and a natural footballer

super short people worry me however

i like bianco looks class and a natural footballer

super short people worry me however
I'll take a midget who can play over a tall mid who is taken on "potential" but can't find the footy. Bianco has the best disposal in the draft, his height doesn't bother me when he will be the one delivering the ball, not extracting it.

Bontempelli, Fyfe and Cripps have created this myth about tall midfielders but they are the exception to the rule, not the rule.

Having said all that, I think Bianco will end up at Port Adelaide or Gold Coast.

I'll take a midget who can play over a tall mid who is taken on "potential" but can't find the footy. Bianco has the best disposal in the draft, his height doesn't bother me when he will be the one delivering the ball, not extracting it.

Bontempelli, Fyfe and Cripps have created this myth about tall midfielders but they are the exception to the rule, not the rule.

Having said all that, I think Bianco will end up at Port Adelaide or Gold Coast.

reminds me of a bigger caleb daniel

one of the best OG in the flag outside of Rowell, i thought

It's about time we ballsed up a draft. Been a while.

the last three years of drafts (Free agents... trades...) looks pretty impressive at the moment....

Pickett, Stack, RCD, Ross, Turner, English, Aarts, Townsend, Chol,
Higgins, CCJ, Balta, Naish, Miller, Baker, DES, Lynch
Bolton, Graham, Garthwaite, Stengle,

The club that wants our picks are GWS but they have nothing to give not even future picks at least to get out of deficit.

It looks like we missed an opportunity there to get better picks as part of those trades because they screwed themselves over on points with their trades of draft picks that they did.

Has the club overvalued these later picks in comparison to the other picks in the draft?

If the players we want are gone by our pick who will trade future picks for our picks we do not really want to use?

With the Gold Coast handout, and clubs going up the draft some of the picks have gone back at least 4 picks

2019 Draft