2019 Draft

To me our most pressing need is a Riewoldt replacement, Georgiades or the like, mobile marking x-factor 2 forward would be no.1. Running half back like Rivers next and a tall Astbury replacement third. Reckon we are okay for inside mids as Ross and RCD will be big bodied mids next season or the one after.

Not the most pressing need in my coaching book at all...
I reckon JR8 could go around for 3 more good years...and secondly if he were to leave early I reckon CCJ has an oppo to show how good his hands are playing up forward! Georgiades would be a great get i reckon!
I reckon our more pressing needs are for another key position backman for Astbury and then Rance... 👍

It would be nice to have another pick in the early twenties.Reckon we heve a real need for mids and imo if there at our first Stevens would not only be a need but best player available.Stevens ,Philip and Partington would fill our midfield roster and not detract from other needs.

I agree on Riewoldt not sure if Georgiades projects as a kpp though.But hes a real talent and very good in the air and if he grows a bit could fill the Riewoldt role.

The one type we have absolutely none of is medium fwd apart from rotating dusty and to a lesser extent Caddy thru there.Hence Phillips and Sokal fill that list hole even trey Ruscoe would help in this.

Hilder if there covers Astbury it depends on how the club itself thinks Garthwaite and Miller are going, personally i wouldnt have all my eggs in that one basket but we do have Balta who i think most people are bullish about.

I have followed drafts and (phantom drafts in the lead up) with huge enjoyment over the years and have found that it's much more difficult now with live trading - to an extent.

I think speculating our pick #20 is a safe bet, but its the #38, #39, #41 which I can't seem to commit to as who knows if we will trade these to move up in the order... on a positive note, it gives the draft night an extra edge between picks as we could trade at any time.

We hear it every year this draft isn't strong but i think theirs heaps of talent right up to the 40's
If we are looking for a medium-sized defender then Day or Rivers are the most likely, we can't go wrong with either.
I'm a rap for Cooper Stephens good running ability and hard at it for our first pic.

Is there any way he could slide to late 30's cause i think the club has the mindset of a running defender for pic 19

Can you imagine if we nabbed one of Day or Rivers then Stephens then Ralphsmith.
For our 4th pic, a tall forward either Riccardi or Georgiades would be a great get to compliment CCJ, Balta, Chol etc
Well I'm leaning to Georgiades but not sure if he lasts to pick 41
Not a fan of Day just dont like taking overly skinny kids with first rounders.
But a big wrap for stevens and Rivers. There is a chance one of them could slip to us at 19.

If we want georgiades id say we need a pick in the twenties.

It would be nice to have another pick in the early twenties.Reckon we heve a real need for mids and imo if there at our first Stevens would not only be a need but best player available.Stevens ,Philip and Partington would fill our midfield roster and not detract from other needs.

I agree on Riewoldt not sure if Georgiades projects as a kpp though.But hes a real talent and very good in the air and if he grows a bit could fill the Riewoldt role.

The one type we have absolutely none of is medium fwd apart from rotating dusty and to a lesser extent Caddy thru there.Hence Phillips and Sokal fill that list hole even trey Ruscoe would help in this.

Hilder if there covers Astbury it depends on how the club itself thinks Garthwaite and Miller are going, personally i wouldnt have all my eggs in that one basket but we do have Balta who i think most people are bullish about.
It's hard to follow the draft this year as it seems a lot more difficult to get hold of footage other than grabs or NAB Champs games.

If Hilder is there at a good pick and he is a similar type to Astbury (with a bit more pace would be nice), then I think it is a definite need. Miller is a forward from what I've seen, and Garth is too short to play on the 200cm forwards of which there are plenty these days. Balta is as you say in the wings, but you really don't want to see him being a dour stopper with all his attributes.

I think our forward line is functioning well with two talls. I think Martin will play more and more down there and by the time Jack goes, Martin will be there even more. So Georgiades or a similar type who plays tall but also medium like Jack is perfect. No need for a third medium unless they have real x-factor and speed.

Reckon our biggest need is a real hard running class half back who can replace Houli. Geelong went with Jordan Clarke last year and he looks a ripper. Would love a similar type.

It's hard to follow the draft this year as it seems a lot more difficult to get hold of footage other than grabs or NAB Champs games.

If Hilder is there at a good pick and he is a similar type to Astbury (with a bit more pace would be nice), then I think it is a definite need. Miller is a forward from what I've seen, and Garth is too short to play on the 200cm forwards of which there are plenty these days. Balta is as you say in the wings, but you really don't want to see him being a dour stopper with all his attributes.

I think our forward line is functioning well with two talls. I think Martin will play more and more down there and by the time Jack goes, Martin will be there even more. So Georgiades or a similar type who plays tall but also medium like Jack is perfect. No need for a third medium unless they have real x-factor and speed.

Reckon our biggest need is a real hard running class half back who can replace Houli. Geelong went with Jordan Clarke last year and he looks a ripper. Would love a similar type.
On the running half back. We have in our system youngsters D-E-S Naish Turner plus Stack who will probably play elsewhere.Pickett who can really play the role Markov who has struggled and then theres the two in the team Short who i dont rate and Broad who will have to become more attacking.
As far as numbers go we are well and truly over represented on the list for this type.It will be a worry if one or two of these players cannot play the role well.

On the running half back. We have in our system youngsters D-E-S Naish Turner plus Stack who will probably play elsewhere.Pickett who can really play the role Markov who has struggled and then theres the two in the team Short who i dont rate and Broad who will have to become more attacking.
As far as numbers go we are well and truly over represented on the list for this type.It will be a worry if one or two of these players cannot play the role well.
And Baker

Agree fully about a Houli replacement (although the club would have high hopes for Naish). Will Day would be my choice there if he gets to us. Rivers would be very good but might be gone. There's also Jeremy Sharp but he might be a reach as he's expected to go mid 20s.

As usual I reckon the Tiges will pick who they see as next best player available on their board.

This is who i think WILL BE A DECENT CHANCE TO BE AVAILABLE at our picks,

This is your post Mopsy, but with my comments in bold/italic

19 in order.
Cooper Stevens 188/83 mid VIC. What ive seen i really like and as usual with me a bigger bodied mid. Despite injury early on and missing most of the season i think he could be best mid left available .Imo we have room for three genuine mid spots on the list so fits a need. Powerful great size decent ball use and a good mover.
:heavycheck: Broken leg for Stevens, we'd need to look hard but he'll definitely slip. I'd love to get up the Draft a bit to have a crack at Dylan Stephens - a lot of Lachie Whitfield about him - just so balanced. But he'll likely be gone here so prefer Deven Robertson if best available then maybe even Dylan Williams. Someone will slip through I hope with so much available between 10 to 30.

I do like east freo's
Trent Rivers 188. hes a defender but can also play midfield and win a bit of contested ball.Im hoping one of these two get to our first pick
:!?: This is a bit high for me, but, given he had Glandular Fever at the start of the year, he could go anywhere if a Club loves his upside. I guess we might too because he gets the ball a fair bit.

Sam Philip 187 . Hard at it mid who brings both pace and a big tank .Would be a good get here as he would help us out with clearances.
:heavymultiply: I'd be taking Hilder here, just think he is one not to miss, though Philip tested brilliantly across the board. Like you I liken it to when we took Astbury, a good steady, highly skilled pick that looks every bit a 200 game player.

Mitch Georgiades 191 Tall /fwd This pick is a stretch i dont think he will get past pick 25. We need a tall fwd on the list.
:heavycheck: But as you say probably taken by now. and I really like Ruscoe too and happily take either as our 3rd selection

Trey Ruscoe 190 Utility versatile hard at it and can play either end or mid and a very nice size.
:heavycheck: Very good tank, what you want in a utility. Or maybe an Elijah Taylor if still on the table - huge upside still, and good size. Ruscoe or Taylor with our 4th.

Not sure we'll do much more than that.

Fraser Phillips 187 MED/FWD. Seems he may be the medium fwd left who has the most upside.I think the list clearly is wanting for a medium sized fwd with x factor.

56 dyson Hilder 196 KPD To me hes our Astbury replacement. Lovely height and size and looks like he will be capable of playing on the bigger fwds going around.Looks to be very good one v one. Atall defender around pick 41 - 56 if available makes sense to me as im not over confident about Garthwaite and Miller making it.
:heavycheck: I wouldn't risk missing him, would take him earlier.

75 Luke Partington 181cm mid, Ticks all the boxes for me as far as a mature recruit goes.Ready to go mid and have no problems useing such a late pick on him.

77 Ben Sokal 186cm medium fwd who topped the wafl for goals this yr. he also ticks most of the boxes for a mature recruit and actually fills a gaping list hole as we dont have one genuine med fwd on the list apart from a mid or two who rotate thru there.

Will reiterate it is a not very informed opinion Mainly just looking at snippets and looking at list needs and trying to guess who will be available where.
[/QUOTE]

I have followed drafts and (phantom drafts in the lead up) with huge enjoyment over the years and have found that it's much more difficult now with live trading - to an extent.

I think speculating our pick #20 is a safe bet, but its the #38, #39, #41 which I can't seem to commit to as who knows if we will trade these to move up in the order... on a positive note, it gives the draft night an extra edge between picks as we could trade at any time.

Same Roky - at 20 someone good will be waving pick me, someone will slip that we can't resist. Though, have said a couple of times Hilder from SA could prove a steal in years to come.

I would be very happy to see Stack played at HB, but more happy to see him on the wing graduating to the midfield down the track. Although Pickett has played there, I think he is earmarked for midfield. Only saw a bit of him at HB in the VFL, but once moved into the midfield looked a much better player.

DES might make it. He has class and a great kick, so yes perhaps, but he at 180cm, like Naish might never be a strong one on one type which I think you need to be. It look Houli years before he was strong enough to not be a bit of a defensive liability one on one. Naish has a long way to go as he really needs to build up because he is so outside. Baker is great but not really the classy rebounding running type.
Trent Rivers at 188cm & 85kg would be a great get, or Jeremy Sharp as YeOldTiger mentioned 189cm & 79kg.

I would be very happy to see Stack played at HB, but more happy to see him on the wing graduating to the midfield down the track. Although Pickett has played there, I think he is earmarked for midfield. Only saw a bit of him at HB in the VFL, but once moved into the midfield looked a much better player.

DES might make it. He has class and a great kick, so yes perhaps, but he at 180cm, like Naish might never be a strong one on one type which I think you need to be. It look Houli years before he was strong enough to not be a bit of a defensive liability one on one. Naish has a long way to go as he really needs to build up because he is so outside. Baker is great but not really the classy rebounding running type.
Trent Rivers at 188cm & 85kg would be a great get, or Jeremy Sharp as YeOldTiger mentioned 189cm & 79kg.

Yeah, Pickett at HB seemed out of sorts a lot of the time in those last 5-6 games at VFL, was in good spaces but probably wasn't moving enough to be a receiver, yet, when he went on the ball he just became the go to man. Really can't see him playing back, DES has another year of development still easily too. Naish, while good on a wing, may well get some game time off half back this season. Meaning a role opens up all year at VFL perhaps.

This is your post Mopsy, but with my comments in bold/italic

19 in order.
Cooper Stevens 188/83 mid VIC. What ive seen i really like and as usual with me a bigger bodied mid. Despite injury early on and missing most of the season i think he could be best mid left available .Imo we have room for three genuine mid spots on the list so fits a need. Powerful great size decent ball use and a good mover.
:heavycheck: Broken leg for Stevens, we'd need to look hard but he'll definitely slip. I'd love to get up the Draft a bit to have a crack at Dylan Stephens - a lot of Lachie Whitfield about him - just so balanced. But he'll likely be gone here so prefer Deven Robertson if best available then maybe even Dylan Williams. Someone will slip through I hope with so much available between 10 to 30.

I do like east freo's
Trent Rivers 188. hes a defender but can also play midfield and win a bit of contested ball.Im hoping one of these two get to our first pick
:!?: This is a bit high for me, but, given he had Glandular Fever at the start of the year, he could go anywhere if a Club loves his upside. I guess we might too because he gets the ball a fair bit.

Sam Philip 187 . Hard at it mid who brings both pace and a big tank .Would be a good get here as he would help us out with clearances.
:heavymultiply: I'd be taking Hilder here, just think he is one not to miss, though Philip tested brilliantly across the board. Like you I liken it to when we took Astbury, a good steady, highly skilled pick that looks every bit a 200 game player.

Mitch Georgiades 191 Tall /fwd This pick is a stretch i dont think he will get past pick 25. We need a tall fwd on the list.
:heavycheck: But as you say probably taken by now. and I really like Ruscoe too and happily take either as our 3rd selection

Trey Ruscoe 190 Utility versatile hard at it and can play either end or mid and a very nice size.
:heavycheck: Very good tank, what you want in a utility. Or maybe an Elijah Taylor if still on the table - huge upside still, and good size. Ruscoe or Taylor with our 4th.

Not sure we'll do much more than that.

Fraser Phillips 187 MED/FWD. Seems he may be the medium fwd left who has the most upside.I think the list clearly is wanting for a medium sized fwd with x factor.

56 dyson Hilder 196 KPD To me hes our Astbury replacement. Lovely height and size and looks like he will be capable of playing on the bigger fwds going around.Looks to be very good one v one. Atall defender around pick 41 - 56 if available makes sense to me as im not over confident about Garthwaite and Miller making it.
:heavycheck: I wouldn't risk missing him, would take him earlier.

75 Luke Partington 181cm mid, Ticks all the boxes for me as far as a mature recruit goes.Ready to go mid and have no problems useing such a late pick on him.

77 Ben Sokal 186cm medium fwd who topped the wafl for goals this yr. he also ticks most of the boxes for a mature recruit and actually fills a gaping list hole as we dont have one genuine med fwd on the list apart from a mid or two who rotate thru there.

Will reiterate it is a not very informed opinion Mainly just looking at snippets and looking at list needs and trying to guess who will be available where.
[/QUOTE]
I too liken Dylan Stephens to Lachie Whitfield

[/QUOTE]

He's a cracker at his age level, such a tearaway. Doesn't always translate into AFL, but his smarts will translate, like Whitfield.

Best avaible for me at 19 and needs at 38 39 41.I wouldn't discount Pickett at our pick either he looks class.
Reach for the sky. Lol. Why the hell not, we're Premiers. We have a fat list so why not get out and grab some X Factor ?? Like you say, there will still be needs based players hanging around for our group of later picks.

I really have to get off the Bigfooty/Draft addiction and spending way too much time here as im starting to have dreams about the draft FMD

My dream last night

* Richmond traded picks #38+#56 to Hawks for #30
* #19 Cooper Stephens
* #30 Sam De Koning
* #39 Mitchell Georgiades
* #41 Hugo Ralphsmith

I should really stop drinking the Vodka/RedBull prior to bed
Pretty good mix, although would prefer Philp at pick 30 and go for a KPD in the Rookie Draft.
1573633246435.png

All I'll say is that with our great culture at the club, I reckon parents of every kid in the draft will be pleading and begging for Richmond to take their son.
Win win.

Not the most pressing need in my coaching book at all...
I reckon JR8 could go around for 3 more good years...and secondly if he were to leave early I reckon CCJ has an oppo to show how good his hands are playing up forward! Georgiades would be a great get i reckon!
I reckon our more pressing needs are for another key position backman for Astbury and then Rance... 👍
Agree that CJ is aged to make a OK transition into JRs spot. No one really for Rance & Astbury replacement. I'd look for a tall defender

From what I’ve been reading not a great draft for talls. We’ll do well if we pluck a half decent kpf/kpd with a later pick.

Of our current spine
Astbury - pick 35
Rance - pick 18
Jack - pick 13
Lynch - pick 11.

History probably says it’s unlikely

Pretty good mix, although would prefer Philp at pick 30 and go for a KPD in the Rookie Draft.
View attachment 778617
Warming to the idea of taking this kid at our first pick if Cooper Stephens/Rivers aren't available. Rated elite for endurance speed consistency and contested possessions he reads as the perfect Richmond pick given he also has shown a willingness to tackle. Alongside Graham Ross & RCD would give us a very handy midfield group for the future with a nice blend of ball winning, run and spread & defensive accountability.

Also liking the look of Jay Rantall from GWV Rebels with one of our picks in the 2nd/3rd round as a balanced midfielder who could slot on to a wing given his elite endurance and good mix of inside and outside game. While Darcy Cassar is another who shapes as another Richmond type pick with his ability to play multiple positions.

Throw in Dyson Hilder and Emerson Jeka as the taller types and I'd be quite pleased with our draft

2019 Draft