2019 Expectations

• Thread starter Thread starter Cobbler

Again I can't really comment because I can't see the whole field. I do agree however, that when teams do man up (ie 6 6 6) the game flows better and generally scores more. I am taking the commentators word for that (ie when teams are doing it). I think it makes sense to do that when you think you will win the balance of contests around the ground.

What I will say is you should never invite pressure when you have the momentum. I reckon that applies in every sport. If you are on top, go for the jugular in the most attacking way reasonable. Not doing that in the last 3 minutes is what cost the Pies the flag.

I'm hoping the 666 rule plus the recruitment of new forwards transforms us completely, but I should know better than to get my hopes up.

Agree with the second paragraph, the opposition can't score when the ball is in our forward half. Sitting back playing defensively in your own half carries the risk that any mistake or turnover could you a goal because the opposition are there. Playing attacking footy can turn the balance of that risk in your favour.

Plus it's just more fun to watch.

Sure hope Blakeley’s knee is ok for the start of next season. Missing the second half of last year has me nervous. Hopefully he’s primed and ready to go.

Our midfield is a strange collective and definitely far from proven consistent performers.

From the top Fyfe is outstanding but becoming injury prone and Mundy is still our next best but turning 33.

The Hills have both played a lot of football but have never really been A-graders. At their best they should both solid B's but both have had years where they didn't make that grade.

Langdon was damn good this year but has only done it once so still not a proven consistent performer but really good signs.

Blakley's biggest mistake as a midfielder was getting 30 odd possessions against Carlton a few years back as a tagger. He was then relegated to the backline to teach him to be more defensive. Now we're crying out for a 30ppg mid and praying he's the one. That's just stupid coaching IMO. He's shown patches but never a full season.

18ppg Conca doesn't make us better but hopefully makes us less **** after the loss of Neale.

Then our depth is the potential of the kids.

If injurys, development and consistency can be achieved from this bunch then I think we can make finals. But my gut feeling is that if Fyfe goes down we're bottom 6 again.

With Belly moving on crabs like Sheridan and Sutty, no more D Pearce maybe we can hit passes and actually rebound well without butchering it, if we continue with no forward game plan with Hogan up there its gonna be infuriating, im thinking we can go top 6 if we get it right
Yep it’s the turnovers thru skill errors usually by foot that has been hurting us 2016-2018. I think 10 wins is realistic with 12 wind being a bit of a Hail Mary. As our midfield is a bit shallow we can’t afford lengthy injuries to Fyfe, Hill bros, Mundy & Blakely. I think Tucker has the opp since Neale’s departure to seize the moment in the midfield is a leftie and can kick. If Sheed can take his opp once Gaff was out so can Tucker. Also one of the best kicks in the side is MCCarthy he needs to push for a high half forward possie.

Yeah I see Tucker as the biggest wildcard re: midfield discussions/prognostications. Good size, neat kick and a decent sidestep and being his 4th year in the league it's time we found out what his ceiling could be. I'm not sure if he has the tearaway speed to play on the outside but I'd like to see him thrown on the ball during the preseason to see if he's capable. I think we have quite a few better options at HB so I'm really not sure where else he can make it

Tucker/Crowden/North/Giro are the young mids I'm most intrigued by right now. feels like we're going to need at least 2 of them to give us decent production next year but maybe more importantly we'll see their roles and potential a little more defined. I don't know what to make of that group as a whole tbh and I'm not even sure all are even midfielders

Redden, Sheed and Cripps (who plays mostly forward anyway) have played over 400 games between them. Compare that to our midfielders that need to step up and tell me it is the same. Redden in particular had played almost 200 games including many at a good level previously (at Brisbane).

Tucker (~50), Cerra, Brayshaw and Banfield (20 each) etc flat out can't be expected to make that step at this stage. Sure it is possible, but also really unlikely. Tucker doesn't look like he even has it in him at all, let alone this year.

I agree you could get away with inexperienced small forwards.

The only way we play finals is if we keep all of the good players on the park all year. If we are relying on 0-30 gamers to carry loads for more than a few games, you lot are all going to be disappointed.

Tucker, Cerra, Brayshaw and Banfield won't get a lot of midfield minutes if Fyfe, Mundy, Blakely, Hill, Hill and Langdon stay fit though. We could potentially see Sandilands, Mundy, Fyfe and Stephen Hill at the first centre bounce in 2019, what's the average age/games played of that quartet?

We know what we're going to get from Fyfe and Mundy, if the Hill's find their best form and if Langdon and Blakely improve only slightly on their 2018 form we're in good shape.

Tucker, Cerra, Brayshaw and Banfield won't get a lot of midfield minutes if Fyfe, Mundy, Blakely, Hill, Hill and Langdon stay fit though. We could potentially see Sandilands, Mundy, Fyfe and Stephen Hill at the first centre bounce in 2019, what's the average age/games played of that quartet?

We know what we're going to get from Fyfe and Mundy, if the Hill's find their best form and if Langdon and Blakely improve only slightly on their 2018 form we're in good shape.

Agree - although I expect Brayshaw and Cerra midfield minutes to increase on last year.

We were carrying soldiers like Sheridan and Grey at the death last year when Fyfe, Mundy, Langdon, Hill x 2 and Neale were all fit.

It'll take more than that. Billy and Langdon are outside only. We have very little inside quality past Fyfe, Mundy, Blakely and arguably Shill. We need somebody/ies to step up to inside to make a difference. I am happy with the outside players.

I know it is fashionable to bash the Eagles midfield, but they were superb in the second half of the season and are comfortably ahead of us as it stands. Doesn't help that we can't keep Fyfe and Blakely on the park and Neale left.

2018 :
dot.gif
Ranked 15th in Kicks Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 15th in Disposals Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 16th in Points Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 16th in Tackles Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 16th in Inside 50s Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 14th in Goal Assists Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 15th in Clearances Per Game
Ranked 17th in least Opponent Kicks Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Handballs Per Game
Ranked 17th in least Opponent Disposals Per Game
Ranked 16th in least Opponent Marks Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Points Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Inside 50s Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Goal Assists Per Game
Ranked 17th in Team to Opponent Kicks Per Game Diff.
Ranked 13th in Team to Opponent Handballs Per Game Diff.
Ranked 16th in Team to Opponent Disposals Per Game Diff.
Ranked 13th in Team to Opponent Marks Per Game Diff.
Ranked 15th in Team to Opponent Points Per Game Diff.
Ranked 12th in Team to Opponent Tackles Per Game Diff.
Ranked 16th in Team to Opponent Inside 50s Per Game Diff.
Ranked 14th in Team to Opponent Goal Assists Per Game Diff.
Ranked 5th in least Opponent Clearances Per Game
Ranked 1st in least Opponent Rebound 50s Per Game
Ranked 3rd in Team to Opponent Rebound 50s Per Game Diff.

Believe me or not, but this tells a simple story that we were far from good enough in 2018. People can blame the coach and this and that but the reality is we could not get the footy enough, we used it poorly, we had a lack of targets and we basically fielded half a WAFL side, which could not even make the finals in the WAFL comp. Why? Well our depth was pretty terrible.

The concerning stats to me are the fact that we were not winning the footy, and we still have one of the lowest tackle counts. This points to the young team we fielded, but we need our kicking, disposal efficiency and tackle count to improve a lot. That happens with a healthy list I expect to be pushing for the 8 in the final 3 rounds.

Regardless, with the recruiting and a different look structure, I am looking forward to watching some good footy!

EXPECTATION : Average 12.5 goals per game. That should be enough to be pushing for the 8, and well up on the 10.2 we averaged in 2018.

2018 :
dot.gif
Ranked 15th in Kicks Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 15th in Disposals Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 16th in Points Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 16th in Tackles Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 16th in Inside 50s Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 14th in Goal Assists Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 15th in Clearances Per Game
Ranked 17th in least Opponent Kicks Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Handballs Per Game
Ranked 17th in least Opponent Disposals Per Game
Ranked 16th in least Opponent Marks Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Points Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Inside 50s Per Game
Ranked 14th in least Opponent Goal Assists Per Game
Ranked 17th in Team to Opponent Kicks Per Game Diff.
Ranked 13th in Team to Opponent Handballs Per Game Diff.
Ranked 16th in Team to Opponent Disposals Per Game Diff.
Ranked 13th in Team to Opponent Marks Per Game Diff.
Ranked 15th in Team to Opponent Points Per Game Diff.
Ranked 12th in Team to Opponent Tackles Per Game Diff.
Ranked 16th in Team to Opponent Inside 50s Per Game Diff.
Ranked 14th in Team to Opponent Goal Assists Per Game Diff.
Ranked 5th in least Opponent Clearances Per Game
Ranked 1st in least Opponent Rebound 50s Per Game
Ranked 3rd in Team to Opponent Rebound 50s Per Game Diff.

Believe me or not, but this tells a simple story that we were far from good enough in 2018. People can blame the coach and this and that but the reality is we could not get the footy enough, we used it poorly, we had a lack of targets and we basically fielded half a WAFL side, which could not even make the finals in the WAFL comp. Why? Well our depth was pretty terrible.

The concerning stats to me are the fact that we were not winning the footy, and we still have one of the lowest tackle counts. This points to the young team we fielded, but we need our kicking, disposal efficiency and tackle count to improve a lot. That happens with a healthy list I expect to be pushing for the 8 in the final 3 rounds.

Regardless, with the recruiting and a different look structure, I am looking forward to watching some good footy!

EXPECTATION : Average 12.5 goals per game. That should be enough to be pushing for the 8, and well up on the 10.2 we averaged in 2018.

You’re making a lot of excuses for that terrible level of performance but it was simply because we had a shit game plan, didn’t make enough effort to ensure our players were at an appropriate skill level, and through poor strength and conditioning management had too many injuries that lasted too long.

It won’t matter how good our list is, until we fix those issues, we’ll never succeed.

Yeah I see Tucker as the biggest wildcard re: midfield discussions/prognostications. Good size, neat kick and a decent sidestep and being his 4th year in the league it's time we found out what his ceiling could be. I'm not sure if he has the tearaway speed to play on the outside but I'd like to see him thrown on the ball during the preseason to see if he's capable. I think we have quite a few better options at HB so I'm really not sure where else he can make it

Tucker/Crowden/North/Giro are the young mids I'm most intrigued by right now. feels like we're going to need at least 2 of them to give us decent production next year but maybe more importantly we'll see their roles and potential a little more defined. I don't know what to make of that group as a whole tbh and I'm not even sure all are even midfielders
Tucker has been terrible for 4 years mate. Think you're pushing shit uphill expecting him to come good but would love to be proved wrong.

Gameplan Gameplan...if it all gets down to a gameplan then the Subiaco seconds should be recruited and we will win most games. Okay a bit of sarcasm but heres the thing....:think:

Most teams that are doing well have six quality well experinced mids with mature bodies. If any team cuts into their best four (in terms of the guns with mature bodies getting injured) then it becomes a really hard task. Fyfe, Neale, Blakely and Mundy Cerra and Brayshaw got us excited until one or two of the big four were injured. Three years or so back Barlow, Fyfe, Neale, De Boer, Suban, Mundy, Crowley and others gave us depth.

So it is both gameplan but with the capable mid group to get it started ...otherwise forget any gameplan it means sweet little

I should add....just look at what hawthorn are doing....they only recruited a few novice but potential mids. Where they can they are going for the mature body quality mid through trade.

You’re making a lot of excuses for that terrible level of performance but it was simply because we had a shit game plan, didn’t make enough effort to ensure our players were at an appropriate skill level, and through poor strength and conditioning management had too many injuries that lasted too long.

It won’t matter how good our list is, until we fix those issues, we’ll never succeed.

Not sure I was making "a lot of excuses". I am simply pointing out that out list was not good enough. Same with Gold Coast, Carlton, Brisbane, Saints and Bulldogs.
The ones that should be really angry are GWS, Geelong, Port and Adelaide. They should have been contending.

One thing is a certainty in sport. Some people are naturally faster than others in running, swimming, riding etc. Some are higher jumpers etc.
No matter how much you train or "learn" these techniques, some are naturally better. Same with skills. That is why some golfers, tennis players, formula 1 drivers win over others. It gets to an elite point of not training and learning, because they all do that. It simply comes down to elite performers.

With sport, some players are just naturally better than others. Someone may do much more work and effort in everything, but simply not be as good.
You can simply look at the draft and the elite players in the comp and when they were drafted. It is hard to pick. Someone might be fast, but simply cannot kick. Someone might be an elite kick, but slow. Lachie Neale is one example. So is Fyfe (draft position).

Take the blinkers off and look at every clubs injury list in the AFL at any given point. This is an AFL issue. We had a terrible run, but most clubs were there with us, they just had better players to come in and fill the holes.

Finally, we came close to a premiership. We also finished top of the ladder with Ross. That is better than we had done ever, and there were a few years before that we had a decent team with some disappointing results.

How do you explain Collingwood suddenly making the GF - is Buckley suddenly a genius, or did they get a decent draw, and had some break out performances?
How did Hardwick go from about to be fired, to what is a very strong team.
What about Bevo and the Dogs - coach of the decade to most likely his last year. Simpson from the Eagles was one of the lowest rated coaches at the start of the year according to their fans. Don Pyke is in a similar situation. Stuart Dew was meant to be the savior for the Suns. Bolton, the smartest and freshest coach going around for Carlton.

Sorry for the long reply, but "ensure our players were at an appropriate skill level, and through poor strength and conditioning management had too many injuries that lasted too long" is a bit naive in my opinion. Skills is simply a thing they have, they generally will not develop elite performance in high pressure through training. That is why Harley Bennell is still on our list. He went pick 2 in 2010. We took Pitt at 20 and WCE took Darling at 26. Our next pick was Viv Michie. Pitt had a heart problem and Michie was a hard worker. Sheridan was a hard worker too, as was Sutcliffe.

Score more goals or defend better the 50+ pt losses the last couple years have made me feel like a GC supporter with no hope
It worries me that rtb has reduced the defensive game plan only to let more goals in but not improve scoring at all
If we can rock up every game I will be happy I went to the AO and mcg humiliations in 2018 and its not fun

lobb 60 goals that would be amazing
mundy Hogan walters
iHill lobb tabs
if function might become the best in competition