BuntonRules
long term substance abuser
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions

- Other Teams
- Whitsunday SeaEagles
In Brisbane Monday. Would love a training session to roll up too.

I imagine they will be at Yeronga again on Monday morning if you can get there for that.In Brisbane Monday. Would love a training session to roll up too.
Agree, however l don't agree with the honeymoon cut short. Only get 1 and they should cherish it. However they could have postponed it till the christmas period tho...I just don't get it. If I was a post 4th year fringe player like Walker, Taylor, lester. et all I would be at training day one (like Mitch R). The afl dream can slip away so quick that starting back at work two weeks earlier doesn't seem like too much of a burden. Some might say Taylor isn't fringe but I recon he might be this year (look what happened to Sam). Lester might be on his honeymoon - who cares - have a shorter honeymoon or have the honeymoon over Xmas break. Ultimately wouldn't it have been a statement to all the other teams if ALL our players turned up day 1!
Ultimately wouldn't it have been a statement to all the other teams if ALL our players turned up day 1!
Wishes he hadDid Dayne Zorko return prematurely.
Would be surprised if the whole list wasn’t doing something fitness wise for a while now. Makes little difference if the more experienced return to the club later, since the early sessions are generally assessment of the new players and building their base for AFL footy.
I just don't get it. If I was a post 4th year fringe player like Walker, Taylor, lester. et all I would be at training day one (like Mitch R). The afl dream can slip away so quick that starting back at work two weeks earlier doesn't seem like too much of a burden. Some might say Taylor isn't fringe but I recon he might be this year (look what happened to Sam). Lester might be on his honeymoon - who cares - have a shorter honeymoon or have the honeymoon over Xmas break. Ultimately wouldn't it have been a statement to all the other teams if ALL our players turned up day 1!
Adams pumping iron already?Lions Instagram stories show Linc McCarthy and Adams taking part in a gym session at the club
The guy is huge.![]()
They all have a fitness program
I know one year Daniel Rich actually ran the Noosa triathlon in his off season which I think was on again last weekendWould be surprised if the whole list wasn’t doing something fitness wise for a while now. Makes little difference if the more experienced return to the club later, since the early sessions are generally assessment of the new players and building their base for AFL footy.
I reckon your right but i don't think the club would have had to beg Hodgy. I saw an interview he did last year where a few ex-players were bagging him about coming out of retirement to play again and how was he going to get the old body working again. "no worries" he said, "i was training to run a marathon anyway". Best put down ever I dad laugh at the looks on their faces. Nick Reiwold was one of them I recall.reality is we don't know why certain players are there and others aren't.
various players mentioned might have had a quick check up with the club doctor and been told to rest a little niggle for another couple of weeks. some non Queenslanders might have asked/been encouraged to spend 'another week at home', Lester, Lyons, Neale on honeymoons etc.
In the modern club environment any of the players may have unpublicised mental health issues and quietly said to the club they need to take the full break this year to recharge the batteries.
the club would also have had conversations with every player about this.
While Hodge "loves it" I don't doubt the club begged him to be down at the club with the young guys sharing his knowledge for an extra 2 weeks. Maybe Robbo after 10 years in the system knows that he trains best in a group and likes to get in early. Conversely Taylor or others might prefer to train solo but its known at the club they always turn up at the required fitness so they don't 'encourage' them to get down to training early.
Like any organisation some flexibility is required so that the number of different personalities there can stay sane.
Would any of us work at an organisation that implied our earnt additional leave (eg. long service leave) was not allowed to be taken?
I know one year Daniel Rich actually ran the Noosa triathlon in his off season which I think was on again last weekend
He did, in a team. And then Walks backed it up and did the whole thing solo the next dayPretty sure he did it again this year with Walks and Bewick.
Gee that's impressive from Josh Walker, hopefully his football shows the same consistency and improvement in 2019 as his hairline did this year.He did, in a team. And then Walks backed it up and did the whole thing solo the next day
Yeah, he did the bike leg.Pretty sure he did it again this year with Walks and Bewick.